214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Holiday Acres Camping Resort was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (815) 547-7846
CGID1006

Holiday Acres Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
460
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   7   2   8   7   7   3   10   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
There is a pool but they don't fill it. There is a playground but it's old and missing boards. There is a "kids barn" with activities which was a plus, but this is not a family friendly campground. The noise level is ridiculous & the seasonal campers are bad examples of how campers should behave. There are rules, but none seem to be enforced. There were many unleashed dogs, tons of people in the river when the rules state "no swimming in the river", there is a curfew for teenagers, but there were roving packs of them everywhere at all hours of the night, and there are quiet hours that everyone seems to ignore. We had to complain twice about the noise after quiet hours and to the owners credit, they did come out and take care of the loud people. The fact that anyone would loudly blast music at 1 AM and think that's OK, is ridiculous. This campground has a lot of potential, but you can tell that they just don't spend money on it. Everything needs remodeling and painting. The roads need paving and the bathrooms and showers need lots of work. Many of the toilets were clogged all weekend. The showers were old and we couldn't regulate the temp on any of them. It went from screaming hot to freezing cold within seconds. If you like to party and not be bothered with rules, then this is the place for you. If you want to camp with your family in a nice quiet campground, with nice facilities, then this is not the place for you. We camped here in a Tent.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$38
Nice sized campsites here. The catch and release ponds were nice; but the bathrooms leave something to be desired. People were frendly and our stay was quiet. Overall we had a nice time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
Overall a positive experience. Gravel roads mean dusty conditions. Restrooms were not real clean but usable, campers can handle them. Very difficult dump station access. We didn't use it, luckily. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2008
$38
The Website for this campground was deceiving. The campground does have a pool, but you have to walk across a street to have access. The campground is in need of a major cleanup and update. Most of the permanent sites were ancient and in complete disrepair. This added to the unsightly appearance to the park. The restrooms and shower houses are OLD. I think this adds to the opinion that they were disgustingly dirty. The park employee have their own bathrooms and shower stalls. Maybe their's were much cleaner!? We camped with friends, so we had two sites. Both were entirely under water after a rain. We could not stay the second night, the fear of West Nile was too great! We needed a raft to get from one site to another, or to even get to dry ground. Always a good rule, don't believe what you see on a website...always look for the reviews of other campers, especially those with your type of camping vehicle. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
The staff and owners are very friendly. They are family oriented. They have a lot to offer all ages. The campground is clean and maintained nicely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
Nice and peaceful. Loved the fish fry and the people were real nice. Plan on going again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$27
Good campground. Sites are level, plenty of shade, yet access to satellite was fairly easy. Charge $1 per day per person for use of pool, but it's excellent. Also have stream running past which is good for tubing and canoeing. 14 miles from Rockford, which has lots to see and do, including excellent, low cost bus service to downtown Chicago, about 90 minute ride. See VanGalder Bus Lines website. Game room was terrible. Store was fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
Not big rig friendly. MH's stay away. Mud and very soft ground especially in spring or after rain. No sewer sites. Tree's not trimmed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$35
I thought the activities were great for smaller kids, but they are in need of activities for older kids. Teen dances and things like that would be great. Very friendly people!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
We have a long association with this park, having had a seasonal spot here many years ago. Many things have changed over the years, but the friendly, family oriented atmosphere hasn't. Kids love it here, with the arcade, mini-golf, pool, hayrides and daily activities ... not to mention lots of other kids to play with! The on-site store and restaurant/bar are also very handy. Not very big rig friendly, but with planning, several sites work out well for big rigs. No sewer hookups, but there's a honey wagon on site for pumpouts as needed. If there's been a lot of rain recently, big rig owners should be sure to ask for a dry site. The Kishwaukee River runs right through the campground, so the ground can get very soft after heavy rains. We nearly got our 39' 5er stuck one year (most sites are grass parking, with no pads). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$25
As a family of 5 with 3 small children and a quest for nice family oriented, reasonably priced campgrounds, we found Holiday Acres to be a really nice place with friendly people. It was laid out nice with enough amenities and activities to keep the kids busy with a game room, pool, mini-golf, hay ride, big playground. It also has a nice little store with very friendly staff, and nothing broke the bank by any means! Magic waters (very nice water park!) is only 20 minute away and large stores 10 minutes. With us the lack of fishing was the only main thing. We will be going back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2004
$30
Our experiene here was not very good. Although the staff was friendly and tried very hard to find a site that would accommodate our needs, they had a very difficult time finding a site for us. They have a limited number of pull-throughs and finally, they found one for us as we had requested, but it had a lot of low hanging trees and only 20 amp service. We were able to manuever around the interior of the campground with our 55 feet of truck and RV, but it was not easy. Anyone with really big rigs might want to make inquires before rushing into this campground. By the way, in the middle of the night, there is a train that went through the area very closeby with loud whistles that woke us up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com