223092 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Livingston/Onalaska KOA (formerly Lakeside RV Resort and Marina) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (936) 646-3824
CGID10060

Lake Livingston/Onalaska KOA (formerly Lakeside RV Resort and Marina)

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   9   3   9   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$40
This is a wonderful place to stay. Great pool and hot tub. Great lake view sites. Spotless grounds, restrooms, etc. Only problem was the Internet service came in and out even as I was using. It was very exasperating. I would go back again any time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$47
Very clean and nice park. Staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't have a boat so we fished off the bank. Not much luck. Not much else to do in the park or in Livingston. However, the sunset and waterfowl views were stunning. We rented Space 74. The hookups were on the wrong side because it was meant for motor home and staff told us ahead of time. We managed just fine. No shade but great view. Highly recommend and would ask for space 74a next time. More shade. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
This is a lovely campground, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We wished we had paid more and taken a waterfront site and will the next time we come. Not all sites in the Tall Timbers area are level, so you need to look around. We had two issues that kept us from rating the park a 10. One was the garbage dumpster--only one area for the entire park, and it was down by the office and not at all convenient when leaving the park. It was attractively screened, and I'm sure it was for appearances. Most KOAs we've stayed in have had on site pick up, and there seemed to be lots of people riding around on golf carts who could have picked up trash. Another was the TV cable/satellite. We have two non digital TVs with converter boxes which have worked with the cable in every resort/campground where we have stayed. Not at this one. The Workkamper who came promptly to help us when we called the office said that their system was screwy, and we would have to use their box, which he brought, but since our TV was built into the wall, he couldn't get into it to plug in without taking all our wiring apart. We felt this was not in keeping with the otherwise flawless operation of this park. We definitely will come back here, but after 4 days in the national forest, we were ready for some good TV. Had no problems with ants as others mentioned. With the palm trees and huge lake, you do feel as if you are down on the gulf. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$44
We stayed here over Thanksgiving for a total of three nights in a motorhome. First, the staff was incredibly accommodating. We were immediately informed a a Thanksgiving potluck starting in a couple of hours. We didn't take advantage, but it was nice to know they were going to the trouble. When I originally booked the rv site they did not have a waterfront spot available, but when we arrived we were offered a pull-in waterfront site (#74). It was amazing. We had incredible sunrises and sunsets the entire stay. The lake is huge, and we kept commenting that it looked like we were actually on a bay on the water. The park itself is very well laid out with smooth paved roads and very level paved concrete pads. Each had a fire ring and a picnic table. I will say that if you aren't waterfront you will spend most of your stay staring at rvs in front of you and wishing you were, so spend the money and book early. They also have a boat ramp and marina, so if you wanted to bring your boat you would have a slip. The small store onsite had firewood for sale, and when we went to buy some they immediately offered to deliver it. This was great because we didn't have another vehicle. There is also a restaurant and bar onsite with great lake views. We ate there one time, and it was okay. Prices were reasonable, service was great, and the food was okay. They also offer boat rentals, a pool, beach, playground and spa which we did not take advantage of due to the season. However, there were tons of birds and even a huge bass that kept jumping up in front of our site. It would be a very happy fisherman to catch him. I did give the resort a 9 for a couple of reasons. First, we were surprised to find the sites did not not have charcoal grills and, though the resort is quite large, it only has one dog park tucked in a far corner. Overall, a great experience that I would recommend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$34
Finally came back after this was known as Bridgeport KOA in the 70s'. Nice clean park with a few sites near the beach. Most are north of the office where bath facilities are. East Texas has ants and stickers, so expect some and staff will help on pests if found. Onsite restaurant only open weekends for lunch and dinner now. Groceries, food, gas etc., very close in Onalaska. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
We paid $52 per night to stay here over July 4th. The sites were dirty when we arrived, argentine ants invaded our camper as well as several others very badly!!! The park has water front access but we had an incident with some drunks yelling at my wife and son...lots of boats come and anchor right in front and by the afternoon there is nothing but a bunch of drunks!! We will be reporting this to the local sheriffs office and the parks and wildlife! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
Park has beautiful view of lake with waterfront sites available. Sites were level with concrete pads. Most of the interior roads are paved. Staff was friendly and helpful. Restrooms were clean and well maintained. Some previous reviews have mentioned ants. Ants are common in this part of Texas and while we did not have a problem we've learned to carry some spray and ant granules just in case, though most park managers will treat your site if you bring the issue to their attention. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
Apparently changed to new management with KOA, very nice facilities, people were friendly and helpful. Rates were very reasonable. Concrete parking pads on pull-throughs and back-ins. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Nice boat ramps and beach. Camp ground was very unkempt. Our fire ring and our neighbors fire rings were both full of trash. Grass was very tall and not mowed. All this on a holiday weekend when they knew they were going to have a full park. No one bothered to check the sites before we arrived. There were lots of people in "Hello KOA" shirts at the office, but never saw any of them going around the park picking up trash or doing any sort of maintenance. And then there is the ant problem. Ants everywhere that invaded several people's rigs. This place would be really nice if they kept up with it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
Clean park, very friendly staff, marina, over priced restaurant, nice pool and hot tub, small beach area (with a few dead fish), lots of ants, everywhere. We would stay here again if passing through the area. Oh, the grass is coming back (mostly sticker weeds) after the Great Texas Drought of 2011. I think it is under new ownership or management because it is now a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Nice campground. Marina is only a boat launch & dock, we thought it would have boat rentals and tackle & bait. Hot tub was hot but the jets didn't work, from what other people have said it's been that way for a while. The lake was about 10+ feet low, but our 2 dogs enjoyed the water. The best thing this campground has going for it is Bubba's Lakeside restaurant. It is on the property but not a part of the campground. It has wonderful food at a decent price. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
We found this park on Best RV Parks in Texas. Very disappointing. The amenities that were listed, and on the map were not all here. No rec room, and no showers by the rec room. The pool was so plain. The hot tub has algea of some sort growing all in it. The showers and the personnel were nice. The park itself had no grass. The lake was very low and almost unusable by the boats. The fishing was bad. The worst part was the ants. They were everywhere. We had to go to Wal-Mart 13 miles away and spend $15 on chemicals. They still got in the Coach. One other camper told us of many other campers that left due to the ants. The park was exterminated in July but they were coming back. There were no street lights other than the Restaurant/Office area. There were a few lights on the shower room walls. The light at the electric posts were so faint that it would not be enough light to hook up, if you came in after dark. The road where we were was rocks and would not be safe to walk on, after dark. The pool and hot tub has no lights inside or outside the pool, making it unusable after dark, even though it is open until 10PM. There are some low watt lights at the Marina. It is the darkest park we have seen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Rate reflects discount. Very friendly, helpful staff. Nice clean park with large, level concrete slabs with a patio. Sites were easy to access and had plenty of room. We stayed in the newer section called Surfside which had a nice view of the lake, only slightly obstructed. There are some front row sites that have lake view/access but are designed for motorhomes. If you put a travel trailer in those spots, the utilities are on the front of your unit and appear to require and extension cord and double sewer hoses. Access to the lake from our site was through the front row sites which was somewhat inconvenient. One of our group used the restroom/shower facilities and said they were clean. We couldn't connect to Wi-Fi but it wasn't critical. Electrical service was solid (we've been to parks where power was barely adequate to run the AC), and we had no problems. Three negatives would be: 1) A horrible ant problem. We noticed ant baits at our site when we set up and sprayed the jack legs and tires. By the time we left, we had hundreds of ants in our trailer and are going to have to treat the trailer. The ants may be associated with the newer portion of the park. 2) The inconvenient sewer location. Because the north row of sites are on a hill, our sewer connection was uphill from our outlet and we had to manage the tanks then had trouble emptying at the end of the trip. 3) The poor Wi-Fi. All-in-all a nice park and we will return in spite of the ants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
The facilities, boat ramps, restaurant/bar, boat slips, beach swimming area, and pool are the positives for this park. The negatives are very tight RV spaces that are not friendly to motorhomes in excess of 35 feet. The pads themselves are fairly level, but most of the sites have sloped grass camp areas making them less than useful (items roll off the picnic table). Despite other posters dismissing the ants, they are definitely a problem, so bring ant spray, and spray your water hose and power cord, this will REDUCE, but not eliminate, the problem. The very best sites in the park are 70 thru 74A. They have concrete pad and picnic area over looking the water and go for about the same rate as the sloped grass sites from which you have to walk a half mile down to the water. We would not likely stay here again unless we were in those sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
This is a lake lover 's dream campground. The only nightmarish event happened Monday morning at 4:55 a.m. when to our horror the dumpster service came and emptied all the dumpsters with their extremely loud noises. Folks this is sleeping hours, quiet time. We are very shocked that this is being allowed. This interrupted a great night's sleep. Management needs to be all over this. They are located by traffic noise of the highway which we were already trying to overlook; but the dumpster noise put it over the top. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$30
Stayed for 9 weeks. I originally stayed for a week, like it so I stayed a month, then went another month. I think this place is a hidden gem. It's my understanding it is under new management since the old reviews. They are still planting trees. Pros: All the pads look new, bathroom/laundry building is new (I didn't use it), basically everything is new. They built a fenced-in dog area while I was here. The restaurant has good food and plenty of alcohol. Beach is nice and my dog played ball in the lake every day. Lake is huge and gorgeous. Not real busy. Quiet. Excellent Wi-Fi, not intermittent. Cons: No trash cans but one at the covered picnic area. When I picked up the waste after my dog, I'd have to carry it for a long haul before I could toss it. Main trash bin for customers was overflowing every Sunday. Ants (hey, it's Texas after all). No propane fill on site. No supply store on site but there is plenty of shopping nearby, so not a big deal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This is the worst resort I have ever stayed at. The dog area was over run with tall weeds. There was broken glass on the "beach". The pool was green and the ants were every where. This could be a beautiful rv resort if they would live up to their web-site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
The sites were very nice with concrete pads and curbs. The maintenance was the only problem. We stayed there a week and the grass was high when we arrived and they mowed the last day we were there after another camper complained. The pool was dirty and the water color was green. It is a very nice place but just needs some monitoring. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This park has a friendly staff and has wide, semi level concrete sites. The park is very clean, with its own boat ramp. The laundryroom needs upgrading by offering more than 4 washers and dryers. They do not offer quarters, sinks, clothes baskets, or ironing equipment. Our 4 day stay was quiet. The area offers very little in activities, unless you have a water craft. Before you drive to this part of Texas in the summer, think about very high humidity and alot of insects inside your RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$27
Enjoyed our stay. Only beef is that they advertise complementary wireless internet and cable TV. Cable TV was not turned on and the internet was Tangonet (meaning you paid). I was told they decided to only provide cable TV for long term folks. And we noticed some sites were filled with ants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
Very nice RV resort right on Lake Livingston, with a marina. A new facility that is very well planned and laid out. One area of sites still not finished and it can be seen how much careful thought has been put into the layout. The restaurant is excellent with beautiful sunset views. Staff helpful and very pleasant. We had only planned on a quick overnight stay but stayed another day and wish we could have stayed a month. Next visit will be much longer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
I thought this was a great campground to stay at. Granted they are still working on it, but it will be a great park when they are done. As long as they take care of the ants. I had no problem with the service at the restaurant. The people are friendly and the park is very clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Ants, ants, and more ants. Not 38ft rig friendly. Roads are narrow and if the campers directly in front had not left so I could drive thru their site I would have had to back out. Absolutely impossible to make the tight turns. Great WiFi. Due to heavy rains we couldn't get to the pool. Restaurant handled a rally group of 25 Friday night quickly and with extremely attentive service. Did I mention the ants? Would not go back unless for a rally with our friends even though the rally hall that they assured us would be ready by 7/4 hasn't been started. One dumpster located near the office for the whole park. A 3 may be too good a rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
First, let me say: I am not an owner nor have an interest in this facility. I just truly appreciate a good value for the money. We have stayed here twice: most recently for the 4th of July celebration that Lakeside hosted. It was awesome! Even though the temps reached 102 that weekend, we were never far from the water. About the ants: welcome to Texas!! We have ants and they are everywhere, especially in the summer. This park has a beach area, right near the pool, which is just beside their fishing pier. This makes it easy for the grownups to fish, keep an eye on the kids in the pool (at it's deepest only 4 feet) or float around at the beach just a few hundred feet away. There is also a boat launch and a real restaurant. Most importantly, this is a clean, friendly and hospitable park. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because they don't have a store, so you have to go up the road for your bait and ice. Enjoyed the Wi-Fi and free cable TV! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Great place to visit for a long weekend or longer, especially if you have a boat. Some of the corners in the first section are a bit tight for the motorhome (39'). We were also able to rent a covered boat slip for our boat, make sure you plan ahead for this as there is limited availability on the slips. There were a lot of bugs, however, in the wooded areas of east Texas there are a lot of bugs! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
This is a new park that is only partly open. The people working there were very nice and when the park is completed, it will be a great place to stay. I wish they had a rally hall for rallies and meetings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
Stayed at Lakeside during the July 4th weekend. Had problems with ants. The staff was unprepared for such a large turn out and at times there were confusion within the park whether you needed a pass or not to go within the park. I rented a boat stall also and there was an issue with that. The management is below par and needs major help. Could be a nice park if they could get their act together. The restaurant has decent food if you don't mind a long wait for food and getting up and getting your own drink refill. Not sure why they have waitstaff, they never come around. Do not recommend Lakeside until some major changes take place We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
The overall park is OK. However, we ended up with ants all over and in our trailer and caused us to never want to stay there again at any price. Maybe once they finish construction it might be worth another shot. The stay ended up costing us more money then it was worth. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$34
The park is new and is still under construction. It appears that there are no restrictions on what type of RV is allowed at the park. People's pets were freely wandering around the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com