220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Ferne Clyffe State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (618) 995-2411
CGID1008

Ferne Clyffe State Park

Camp Information
Sites
59
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   10   10   10   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
Ferne Clyffe is a truly beautiful park. This is not an RV Park/Resort it is a campground. It does accommodate large RV's with some pull through sites. There are electric sites, tent sites, and backpack camping opportunities. Most sites were fairly level, we were able to level without any blocks, others used some but didn't seem to struggle. All sites have some shade. Clean, spacious campsites. Potable water located throughout campground. One set of pit toilets on each campground loop and a nice and clean bathroom and shower house in the middle. Aluminum recycling and garbage dumpster. Sewer dump station. Multiple playgrounds, picnic areas, and shelters throughout the park. Excellent hiking trails; if you don't do any you at least need to do the one at the back parking lot that leads to the waterfall, this is a nice level path, more like a maintenance road. Gorgeous rock formations, butterflies, and other wildlife. Stream is big enough to splash in but not swim. Lake is for fishing only, no boats - not even kayaks and no swimming. The lake is very pretty. Some folks took their kayaks to Cache River Wetlands and reported they had a good time. If you like some beer etc while camping make sure you bring it with you. The nearby town of Goreville is dry. Also, there was no campground host while we were at the park so get your ice in Goreville and your firewood from the boyscout, on your honor, wood lot in Goreville, across the road from Cheers gas station and behind the other local gas station. At the time we were there it was $4.00 a bundle and you put your money in the lock box. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$20
This State Park is a bit of a drive from the Interstates, but worth it for us to be in a nice park. The roads to the campground are all good but a bit lacking in directional signs. The interior roads are paved and the pads are gravel. There are two camping areas, one along a road paralleling the main road and one on a more-traditional loop. We thought the second area was nicer so chose it for our camping spot. Several of the sites were not very level, but we found a relatively level site since the park only had ten or so other campers during our off-season visit. The sites are relatively well separated but there is not much vegetation for privacy. A very nice and helpful attendant came by to collect our camping fee. There is no water at the sites, but it is available at the dump station. There are several nice hiking trails in the park and nearby is a nice wildlife refuge (Crab Orchard) and wonderful bike trail (Tunnel Hill – start in the town of Vienna and go north to the tunnel). The campground is heavily treed, but we were able to find a hole in the trees for our portable dish to work. Our Verizon phone and data (4G) worked well. We had originally planned on staying only one night but extended our stay because of the attractions in the area. We would certainly stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Very nice State Park. The sites look nice: big, and level. Campground hosts were very nice and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
I got here late and left early due to travel restraints. Wished I could have stayed longer. Grass was mowed and neat. Lots of shade. I stayed in a tent in an RV site in case I needed a fan. Everything appeared in great shape. Hope I get the chance to visit again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Now THIS is what I call camping, everything you need, NOTHING you don't. Its the perfect place to take the family, relax and enjoy the outdoors. Close to everything Southern IL has to offer. Would stay here anytime we are around this area, absolutely PERFECT!!!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
Nice park. Has 30A service. About 2.5 miles off I-24. We were here just overnight but would stay longer if we had a chance. Appears to be a nice area to explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Deer Ridge Campground: attractive & shady; sites reasonably large, newer electric (20, 30 and 50 amps available). Sites graveled, some level. Two loops; the one with the playground is more popular & fills up more on weekends. Trails are nice, though could be somewhat better marked. (Trails in the disconnected section of the park, west of the town of Goreville, are another matter, and users will need a high-clearance 4WD vehicle to access the road to them!) Fishing lake in the park as well. Campground is popular with locals but still had room the weekend we were there. Restroom facilities etc. typical of Illinois state parks, kept clean. Campground hosts friendly. Firewood can be purchased in town. TV reception (via antenna) surprisingly good, perhaps because of the CG's location on top of a ridge. The (separate) tent-only campground was mostly walk-in sites, some close to the parking area & some way back in the woods - very nice. Pit toilets in that area; users would need to drive to Deer Ridge for the showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$15
We were here in chilly November and still liked the park and area. It is not fancy. There are lots of trees and deer. The Ferne Clyffe and the trail that takes you to them is a must see! Most sites were level, tree covered, with 30 amp service. We camped in a 40 foot motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$18
What a pleasant and well maintained campground. However, the thing we liked about the location was the easy access to the very attractive trails. The most scenic trails are within 15 minutes walking distance from campground. It's also an easy walk to the lake. The campground is at the top of the escarpment so you do have a steep but not backbreaking climb back to the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$11
Very nice state park on the edge of the Shawnee National Forest in southern Illinois. Campground was under beautiful mature shade trees and sites were very spacious. Bathrooms and shower house was clean and modern. The campground hosts were most helpful and courteous. There are hiking trails, a small lake for fishing, a nature preserve, and a small bike trail outside the park. We used this park as a base for exploring the southern Illinois region, from the Tunnel Hill State Bike TRail in Vienna about 15 miles away, to Golconda on the Ohio River, and The Garden of the Gods south of Harrisburg. This is one of Illinois nicer state parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com