223557 User submitted reviews online!!
Pere Marquette State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (618) 786-3323
CGID1009

Pere Marquette State Park

Camp Information
Sites
80
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   8   7   8   9   9   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
Sites 2-30 are reservable,, the rest are first come, first serve. There are also two rustic cabins. This park is our favorite short-drive getaway (we live in St. Louis area) no water or sewer but there is a dump station. The campground is wooded and lots of shade. Not a lot of cell service with Sprint, no wifi. Most of the first come sites are very spacious and not too close to neighbors. A few of the sites that back up to the old cemetery are not level at all, the rest are fine. Each site has 20, 30, or 50 amp. Each bathroom has stall toilets and showers. The showers can be kind of nasty, depending on usage and who is cleaning them, otherwise they are just ok. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
This was our first visit back in 20+ years. The trees that were planted in the campground are now mature and provide a pleasant shady canopy. Around 30 sites are reservable and the remaining 50 are first come, first served. Some of these are sunny, which would be good off season, or if you need satellite reception. This is a popular park, and while we stayed Tuesday and Wednesday nights without a reservation, by checkout on Thursday it was starting to fill. The park is Illinois' largest, at 8000 acres. The lodge, cabins, and restaurant were built by the Civilian Conservation Corp (CCC) in the 1930s and is known for it's fried chicken dinners. We went for breakfast, had a great omelette and enjoyed watching all the hummingbirds! The hiking was great, several trails to overlooks of the oxbow lakes and the Illinois River. The park also has a boat ramp and slips on the river. Maybe next time we'll take our kayaks, as there wasn't too much current in the river. We took our bikes so we could use the bike trail and ride to Grafton, about 6 miles each way. Grafton is neat with lots of waterfront restaurants. There was also horseback riding available in the park. If you go, consider riding one of the ferries from Missouri. We rode over on the Golden Eagle Ferry (Missouri to Calhoun County, IL across the Mississippi--toll) and the Brussels Ferry (across the IL river, free!). Going home we rode the longer Grafton Ferry (across the confluence of the Mississippi and IL rivers- also a toll). It cuts the driving time down to St. Louis and is fun!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
We found this to be a very nice park. The interior roads are paved and the sites are gravel. Lots of space between the sites and many are shaded. Most sites are level. The lodge has a great restaurant and that is a short walk thru the park. The lodge is where you must go to use the Wi-Fi. Restrooms and showers were just OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Great very scenic state park with spacious campsites although there are a few not level. No hookups except for electric, but water is available and there is a dump station. The park has great hiking trails and views of the Illinois and Mississippi rivers. The park's lodge has a good dining room that serves some of the best fried chicken prepared anywhere. The restrooms are clean but have the aggravating push button showers. It is also a great park for site seeing. St Louis is about a 40 minute scenic drive away, even shorter if you use the ferry. We will return and stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
Electric only sites, but most are big and shaded. Big, beautiful lodge on property with a dine-in restaurant and winery. Lots of hiking trails with beautiful bluff views. Campground is flat, great for small kids riding their bikes. If coming from the west, consider riding the ferry over for a fun experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$20
Pere Marquette is a very large state park with miles of hiking trails. Located at the point where the Illinois River joins the Mississippi, the park also has a lodge (open all year) with rooms, cabins and a restaurant. While Wi-Fi service is not available in the campground area, campers are welcome to use the facilities in the lodge which offers good free Wi-Fi service. There is minimal cell service available in the park. One must go looking for a spot where a signal is available. Staff members can assist you in locating such sites. The park can serve as a base for exploration of the St Louis area, although it is a long drive to the nearest river bridge in Alton, IL. Alternately, there are several ferries within a few miles that eliminate the long drive. The fare for a round-trip was $15. Sites in the campground are well spaced and laid out in an interesting manner. Looping drives avoid the typical rows of parallel sites. While all pads have power, water is available at only a few central locations which are set far away from individual sites. There are no sewer hookups at individual sites, but a dump station is available on the premises. Sites 2 to 30 are reservable, while numbers 31 to 80 are available on a first come, first served basis. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Fantastic park, huge lots, friendly hosts, very helpful. Would stay in again. We parked here for a week with 4 other rigs to ride bicycle trails in the area. Easily done, hilly ride to Grafton but very nice. Easy to get to Madison County trails, Rte. 66 at Chain of Rocks into St. Louis our favorite. Nice playground at park for kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
This is a nice, quiet state park with exceptionally large sites. The paved interior roads loop around the back-in, gravel sites of various sizes. Roughly 30-40% of the sites will accommodate rigs to 45', and 29 of the 79 available sites are available for reservation online. Roughly half of the sites are level; the remainder would be a challenge for most RVs to level. All sites have electric service, with about 20% spread throughout having 50 amp circuits. The park hosts are friendly and helpful, and there is a large play area for kids. Water is available from spigots placed between a few sites, and at the two-lane dump station up the hill in the tent area. Very few sites are satellite-friendly in this grove of old elm trees, and cell service (Verizon) was almost non-existent. There isn't a specific dog run, but we had no issues with our pets. As with many state facilities, maintenance is lacking in some areas, particularly in the bath houses and trimming of tree limbs; we scraped unavoidable branches several times on the way in and out. When a cowboy maintenance worker did come through to mow, he covered the side of most rigs with grass clippings. The cost noted includes the non-refundable online reservation fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Lovely park with nice roads and easy access, including to the dump station. Beautiful area, sites are in good condition. The only drawback is having to fill the water tank and no sewer. There is a long bike path and hiking paths, and a beautiful lodge built by the CCC in the 1930's. The Illinois River runs past it, across the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$15
Some of the sites offer 50 amp service. Water is available at the few water spigots located throughout the campground. The dump station is double sided but with only one sewer dump and the potable water spigot wasn’t working the weekend we were there. The roads in the campground are paved but the sites are gravel and some require leveling. The campsites are nicely spaced and the campground has plenty of grass area and lots of shade trees. There is a separate campground for tent camping but there were more tents in the RV area than the tent campground. Sites 2-30 are reservable and the remainder are first come first served. There are two camping cabins in the campground that can be reserved too. The bathrooms and showers were clean but in need of paint. There is a nice playground for children and a picnic area also. The campground hosts were friendly and helpful. Not far from the campground is the beautiful state park lodge and restaurant. There is also a paved bike path that runs from the park to Alton, IL. For the gamblers there is a casino and OTB parlor in Alton, IL located about 20 miles from the park. This park isn’t far from the St. Louis, MO area so the campground is usually filled on weekends. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2002
$11
Nice, clean, inexpensive. Very nice circa 1930s lodge with good inexpensive meals. No water at sites but there are 4-5 spigots in the campground. Take a long hose (I used 70') and fill up your tank as needed. Nice trees, grass, lots of birds, etc. There are very nice bike trails that go for miles and miles. Close to St Charles, Mo. A must see. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com