218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Lake RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (208) 946-3361
CGID10090

Blue Lake RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
32
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   8   8   5   7   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
$35.75/night was for a pull-through full hookup level gravel site in the full sun (trees have been planted which will grow to provide shade) with a fire ring and picnic table. There are sites with full shade available. The owners and their staff are VERY accommodating, friendly, and helpful—they forwarded mail for us without batting an eyelash and gave us tips for local hiking trails and scenic drives. They have many activities in the campground—from swimming in the lake, lounging on the decks, playing chess on an 8’ x 8’ patio block board, swings, horseshoes, etc. to an evening wine bar for the adults. There are miles of walking/hiking/bike trials nearby in the national and state forests as well as in nearby Bonner’s Ferry and Naples. The International Selkirk Loop scenic drive in ID, WA, and British Columbia, Canada is indeed very scenic. There are railroad tracks nearest the pull-through full sun sites and when they blow their whistles at 2 AM it can wake the dead but we love trains and their noises so they were not a problem for us. The railroad tracks that pass on the other side of the campground are much further away and are not annoying at all. Free Wi-Fi is included in the rate and it worked well. AT&T and Verizon cell service is great. We received 13 over-the-air digital TV stations. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$29
Park sits back from main road about 5-6 hundred yards. Northbound entry to park is tight but doable. Just North of park entry is a wide space for an easy turn around. Southbound entry easy. Entry is the only drawback to a park that was a pleasant surprise. Owners have put a lot of work into their facility and it shows. The lake is swimmable and abounds with turtles near the bank. Laundry was small, only two washers and dryers but not crowded. As full-timers we would stop here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Great place. Although we only stayed overnight it would be great to stay and play. Great access from the highway, easy to get to town for shopping. This is not your typical parking lot side by side RV resort. It is more like a county park with trees, grass, a lake open space and the sites have ample room. The owner is friendly and went the extra mile to make sure everything is OK. Every service worked great, including Wi-Fi from the rig. One of the best places we have ever stayed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This was just a one night stop along the way for us. Nice park, sites were plenty wide and tidy. Reasonably close to the highway, but not much noise at all. I'm not sure there are a lot of local attractions that would beckon a long stay, but a great place to stay en route. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$46
While this park is a bit rough around the edges we have stayed there before and would do so again. The roads and sites are dirt or gravel. Our site required a minimum of leveling. The premium sites all have small grassy areas. The shade present varies widely between sites. As mentioned it is not too far from the railroad and there is some rail noise, but not enough to bother us. Some of the sites are a bit close together if you have jerks for neighbors. Most kids seemed to be having a lot of fun. The presence of a deep lake and the railroad requires that people keep a good eye on their children. Had a bit of a problem getting WiFi inside the trailer, but it worked well sitting at the picnic table. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a nice, small laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
This is not a “resort”. It would pass as a nice state type “park” as it is clean, but roads are gravel, steep, and narrow, and the amenities are minimal. We were not happy that we booked a 50 amp full hook up for our 43' big rig, and after driving the whole day, found out that we only had 30 amp and water. And the site was level only if you were under 20’. The front desk was apologetic and nice to help us find something more appropriate, but the misunderstanding could have been side-stepped had the person that took the reservation actually paid attention to what we said and what we repeated back to them before we ended the call. I am not sure I would refer this place to friends and family unless they were local and could visit first. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Our site was up on the hill & we were pretty much alone, so that was nice. We were able to get a satellite signal there but I'm pretty sure you wouldn't in the treed area. If you don't like the sound of trains, don't stay here. The tracks literally run on the property & start at 4:00 AM. There is an off leash area for dogs but it wasn't usable. It is an old vineyard strewn with barbed wire & overgrown grass. The laundry is so-so on cleanliness and one of the dryers barely put out any heat. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and the park is within an hour of the Canadian border. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
While I liked this park, I wouldn't rate it as high as the previous reviewers have. On the plus side it has a lot of charm in an old-fashioned campground sort of way. There are a variety of camping options from full-service 50 amp sites to bare bones tent sites. Some of the RV sites are in a forested setting which reminded me of a state or forest service campground. Other sites are out in the open and have a view of the small lake the resort is named for. There is also one cabin for rent as well as a tepee and a tent cabin. There's lots for families to do here - swimming in the lake, kayaks for rent, a mini-golf course, horseshoes, games to check out, etc. The Wi-Fi was pretty good. On the minus side I found things a bit rough around the edges. Although the restrooms were clean enough, I don't think anyone on the staff checked them the entire time we were there (2 nights) because the one I used still had the same scraps of stray toilet paper on the floor on the last morning as it did on the night we checked in. The bathhouse is set up nicely though with individual unisex rooms that have a toilet, sink and shower. The heated floors are nice but the showers are not so nice. They have a push button flow control and you get 10 seconds (I counted) of hot water and then you have to push the button again to get more water. Seems weird to pay to take a navy shower when I could do that in my own rig. The resort adjoins a farm and we sometimes got some farm smells, but it really wasn't anything offensive. The wild vineyard is really just a little patch of grape vines that is not being tended and is getting overgrown with weeds. At one time there was deer fencing surrounding it, but the fencing has fallen down in places and so although it's available as an off leash area be aware that it is not truly enclosed. The train noise was rather loud but fortunately the trains don't seem to run too frequently. Although it's not perfect we enjoyed our stay here and would use this campground again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
A small, very clean, family owned CG w/lots of amenities for families including a wine-tasting on a newly built deck overlooking Blue Lake. Sites were gravel and level. Hookups all were convenient and good Wi-Fi, although slow at times. We would stay here again in our MH. However, multiple rail lines are in the area including one right next to park: with the blowing of the obligatory engineer's whistle for a grade-crossing which is the entrance to CG. Scares you intially, but after that it was fun to also watch trains go by: many during the day, only 1-2 at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
Site D2, c.$33 +7 We like Blue Lake: its small [32 sites]; heavily treed, gravel, with forest floor type terrain in between sites; level [but uphill to get onto the site]; eclectic, so the sites are not all in a row; very near a small, very deep pond [Blue Lake]; far enough away from the highway so that the noise is not a problem; very near a railroad track, but the trains ran infrequently, and not at all at night; -3 most sites do not have a sewer hookup, but a vacant site is used as a dump. The entrance is not clearly marked, so one needs to look closely for the gravel road to the park. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This is a really nice little, family-run CG whose owners have been improving it over the four years they have owned it. The owners and work campers were all extremely nice and helpful with respect to finding things to see and do. It's in a wooded setting a few miles south of Bonners Ferry. We had a pull through for our 40' RV and were able to get satellite TV without issue; although, some other sites will be too shaded. There is some road noise, but we didn't find it objectionable. There is some infrequent train noise, but we found it kind of pleasant. The sites and roads are gravel and ours was reasonably level. The Verizon signal was 4G and strong! The CG provides excellent directions but there is one omission for northbound travelers. The left turn to Blue Lake Road is extremely tight and we were lucky to have made it with our toad connected. It turns out there is a truck pull-out /turn around about 1/4 mile further up US95. It would be much easier for longer rigs to turn around there and come back south to the campground road. The price cited is for a weekly rate and a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a nice little place right off the highway. Very easy in and out. We had a pull-through site with plenty of room. We stayed here for three nights so we could drive the Selkirk Loop in our car. Great Wi-Fi (one of the best places we've encountered). The trains could be an issue if you really don't like that kind of noise, but we rather enjoyed them and they didn't bother us at all. The owner has worked hard to make this an enjoyable place to stay. He came by our site each night to ask if everything was OK or if we needed anything. Very friendly and eager to please. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
Nice little place right off the highway, easy in and out. Had a back in site that had plenty of room to back in a 35' 5th wheel. We stayed here as an overnight stop, but would stay longer to visit some of the local interests. Good Wi-Fi and power voltage, kids enjoyed swimming in the lake, they need to stock it up a bit to really be a catch and release place though. The trains are just part of it, and like a previous reviewer, we enjoyed them and didn't find them all that disturbing. You can tell the owners care about the place as it's in good maintenance shape. Would stay again and recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This park is nice. Small. Husband wanted to fish. To much grass in the lake. No cable TV and the Wi-Fi was slow. Ok for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
I am reviewing this park while still at the campground. We arrived today and were greeted by the most friendly campground owners we have ever met! They walked out and greeted us and were so helpful. They escorted us to our site and helped us back in which I love. It seems very few campgrounds do that any more. I think it is a lovely thing to do. They came back to check in on us later to see if everything was OK. Campground is very clean and super easy to get to. When traveling we love to have the campground close to the route we are on, and this was super easy to get to! The kids were instantly excited to see the mini golf and lake and huge chess set. We were thrilled to see a clean site, grass, lake, trees and my husband was thrilled for the great Wi-Fi. This is the best Wi-Fi of any campground we have been to. Also, they are very pet friendly here. The last few places we have been we could not walk the dog on any grass, so our dog was thrilled at the walking options here! We had a great campfire tonight and the view of the stars, lake and trees was what camping is all about! We can't wait to see all the campground has to offer in the morning. The kids can't wait to get to the lake and play chess and golf. When I think of campgrounds I always think of ones like this. Friendly owners who take pride in what they do make for a great experience. We are going to try to stay longer. Train noise and traffic that others mentioned seems pretty picky to me. We liked hearing the train. It was pretty neat. We have camped at many campgrounds on this trip: near highways and a train and never seems to be a problem. We would come back to this campground in a heartbeat! It's what camping is all about. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
Beautiful lake setting with nice large sites. No cable TV but the Wi-Fi was fast. Like everyone else has mentioned, the trains are loud. We did not see a RV park in the area that was not close to railroad tracks, so not sure you can avoid the noise. We would stay again because the setting is so pretty. We had a premium site, it was expensive for the amenities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
This is a nice, family-run park, and the owners are very accessible and helpful. The park has both shaded and open sites (we chose the latter for satellite TV), and a quiet, laid-back feel (at least until the trains pass by). All interior roads and sites are gravel, and some areas in the back, treed section have some interesting approach angles, but most are easily accessible. Park Wi-Fi was stable and relatively fast. We had an issue with our inverter/charger while there and one of the owners was quick to provide a piece of wire for a bypass. There is a non-producing vineyard toward the front of the Park, which provides an off-leash area for dogs. We visited in mid-September, and that park was 20% full, with several overnighters just passing through. This was a nice stop and we'd stay again, but we did feel that the price (reflecting Good Sam discount) was on the high side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Small park, fine for overnight. Friendly staff. Peaceful lake setting is unfortunately disturbed by noisy trains running very close to the park. Narrow/awkward entrance off a busy highway with no turn lane or shoulders. We thought it was a little over-priced. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
We had some planned activities in Northern Idaho so we stayed here 10 nights. It was a wonderful little park. The owners were very friendly and helpful. They have owned the park for two seasons I believe and are making ongoing improvements. The restrooms/shower units are very nice. There is also a laundry facility that we used several times. There are some sites that did not appeal to us (gravel and no shade), but we stayed in the back section that had some nice trees and was very quiet. There is not a store on the grounds but shopping is just a few miles away in Bonners Ferry. A great stay for us and we would return as there are so many outdoor activities in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
Some sites on a pretty steep hill with lots of trees to negotiate, mine was. Not many work campers here. WiFi worked but is weak in the back lots. Good shade in the back and excellent sites for satellite up front. Lot's of trains behind the hill and they run all night or I would grade this park higher. The sites in back are coarse gravel but adequately level if you can negotiate the trees. Power is excellent 50 amp in the trees. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
Train track runs directly adjacent to the park. Many long, long trains and they blow their whistles at the several close crossings. Very annoying during the night. Lake is pretty but not appetizing as a place to swim. The staff has made an effort to provide activities (oversized chess, checkers, and pick up sticks). Probably a better appreciated park by families than full timers. It was easy to find, easy off the highway. Nice to be able to book on the web and not have to provide all the information again upon arrival. We only stayed one night. We would probably pass this one by the next time due to the train noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
We liked this campground. Yes, the highway traffic and the trains are loud and could be disturbing, but the trains weren't as frequent as some places we've been, and they just didn't bother us as much. The majority of the campsites are in a wooded area that is shady and cooler, but if you need satellite internet or TV access, you'll want to be in the area that's up the hill. That area lacks charm (it's mostly gravel, with little grass except around the perimeter areas) but it's a clear shot to the southern sky. The lake is lovely, with several areas to just sit and enjoy the view or for swimming or boating (non-motorized) in the small lake. The laundry is small, but not busy when we were here and the power and water pressure were fine. We'd stay here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is really a very nice park. The owners have upgraded facilities and utilities and are working hard to continually improve the park. They're great people, very nice and accommodating. Our SAT worked well and the Wifi was strong and reasonably fast. The big problem and there is no way to fix it, is the trains. One line runs directly across the entrance to the campground and another line runs about 1/4 mile behind the property. They are busy night and day and VERY loud. That said, they didn't particularly bother us, but some may find the noise intolerable. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Would have given a "10" but for the railways on both sides of the park and they run all night. Excellent WiFi, great cell service and 3G. No Motosat due to trees, and Satellite will work as long as you ask the owners for the right site. The Owners are "awesome" they came by couple of times a day to see if all was all right. They keep all the facilities clean, and are working to improve. They are a very nice couple and are trying there hardest. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
We loved this resort! Easy access, big rig friendly, and quiet. I've never seen more accommodating owners too - super nice folks. They said they had renovated the entire park last year and it shows. Lovely flowers, beautiful little walk along a little lake with places to sit. The site was very large and we picked up our satellite and Wifi nicely. Easy out too. Although all parks in N. Idaho seem to have trains nearby, the line by this park runs along the highway, not inside the park, and is not heavily traveled- maybe 6 trains went by in a 24-hour period. It didn't bother us at all. This will be the place we return to in North Idaho. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This is an older campground that has been recently bought and is in the process of being expanded and improved to make it more suitable for motor homes and large trailers. Half of the sites are in the open on a hill overlooking a large pond, and the others are among mature pine trees up a slope. The owners are trying hard to please and the park has a friendly campground atmosphere. Unfortunately, some of the sites in the open are very close to the highway and to an active railroad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Great Park! Very beautiful setting, nice country feel to the place. The camp hosts were very nice and accommodating. Only negative could be that the train is very close to some of the sites. Didn't bother us but it could bother some. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
We absolutely loved this RV park. The owners were the most friendly and accommodating we have met. The park was immaculately kept with plenty of amenities. The Wi-Fi worked very well. There was no cable TV but our satellite came in with no problem. We camped in a 37' motorhome towing a car on a tow dolly and had plenty of room. The small natural lake provided swimming, kayaking, paddle boating, and fishing. There is a nice deck and fire pit along side the lake for gathering plus each site had its own fire pit. A foosball and ping pong table along with a giant chess set are offered for entertainment. The many little "extras" the owners have provided make Blue Lake a top rated place to relax and enjoy nature. It is close to the Canadian border and many other places to take day trips. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$31
We stayed here for a week. We really wish we could have stayed longer. Hosts are truly wonderful people. The park is very clean and you can sit on the dock or around the fire in the evenings to visit with other campers. I would recommend this park to everyone, young and old! We have been on the road for some time and this is the absolute best place we have stayed. You really need to check this place out! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We stayed here for two weeks in a 43 footer. This is a quaint RV park that is well maintained. There is a small lake that you can canoe or swim in. The owner managers were very accommodating and were always around. There were lots of flowers planted around the park which added to the ambiance. We will definitely go back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$29
This is an excellent park and I highly recommend it. It is under new ownership and the new owners are doing a fabulous job of updating the park. We found our stay to be very relaxing, convenient to restaurants, grocery stores, and many outdoor recreation activities. A lovely deck overlooking the lake is a great gathering place to meet other visitors or to relax by the water with a good book. The restrooms and laundry facilities are very clean and the wireless internet worked great. There is a train that runs nearby but it did not interrupt our very pleasant stay at all. I am excited to return to see the additional improvements they have planned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
A little pricey: but we were here for 2 whole weeks and you could not have asked for more friendlier people. They were awesome. It was a nice quiet campground. We will definitely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$25
This is the place to stop. Near Sandpoint and Bonners Ferry. New ownership this year. They are doing a beautiful job. Spotless Toilet and showers all in one room, its like being in your bathroom at home. Excellent Wi-Fi, the best we have come across. Friendly and helpful owners, even came over and asked if we would like anything from the store as they were going out. Pet friendly. Laundry spotless also. You can sit on a wooden deck by the lake and relax. Coffee is on at 8:30 am and its good! When they get some spare time, the Vineyard should be up and going and I'm sure you can enjoy some homemade Merlot. We will go back again and encourage all who are looking in this area to stay here. Our price was with Good Sam. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com