214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Wayne Fitzgerrell Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (618) 629-2320
CGID1013

Wayne Fitzgerrell Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
243
Date of Stay
June 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   9   9   9   9   10   8   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
With some advance planning, this campground is very nice. One needs a full water tank and empty sewer and gray to start. 50 amp is the norm. The sites are great, some on water, all in shade. Length is no issue. There is a motel-like inn and a restaurant on the property, and I could see using this park for a family reunion: some folks camping, others in rooms. The lake is scenic and large. I'm not sure about boat rentals, etc. Check out the website. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is a really nice campground. There are 5 loops, only 1 (Bay Area) can be reserved (via Reserveamerica.gov). The camp hosts are located within Shady Loop and Lake View loops. One host is on duty at any given time. The interior roads and sites are on asphalt and are very wide. Almost all of the sites are around 60 feet long. A 40 foot motorhome with a tow can easily fit into most of the sites. Most of the sites are fairly level and there is lots of room between each site. All sites have electricity: most have 30/15 amp service. There are sites scattered around the park that have 50/30 amp service. Water is available at the dump station and there are a few water spigots in each loop. You would need a very long hose to access them. There is only one sewer at the dump station for the entire park. The bathroom/showers are the typical state park facilities. They are usable but not very appealing. We chose not to use them. There is also a nice bike path circling the campground. Be aware that there is no signage on the bike path. Verizon air card and cell phone service worked well here. We would definitely come back here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is a beautiful park. It's too bad they don't take reservations, but it's very large and I saw no sites I would be disappointed with. The sites are very well-spaced, with many mature shade trees. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This is a lovely state park campground located on Rend Lake and part of the Rend Lake Recreational Complex. The campground has five different areas that resemble fingers all going out to the lake. The sites are all huge. Some are paved but most are gravel. There are picnic tables and fire rings with a big grassy area. The showers are older but clean and handicap accessible. There is only electric hookups. There is water available and the only negatives I saw were that the water sat back off the road. You may need a long hose to fill up. There is one dumping station. There could be a line and wait for it. When checking in you have to know to find one of the campground host sites. Shade or sun sites are available. All of them are very nice. Deer are everywhere. You can sit at your site and watch them. If it has been raining some of the sites will have water standing on them. I would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
We stayed just before the July 4th weekend for six nights and loved it. The sites are well spaced and some have waterfront views. Although with being all first come first serve it's hard to get the ones right on the water, but we were able to (got there on a thursday AM). The shower house was clean and maintained. Trash was picked up several times throughout the day/evenings. The loop we were in had access to the lake nearby and a small beach so we were able to swim close by. There are two public beaches nearby also. The Campground is located two miles away from I-57 but it is easy to find. You are on the northern edge of Rend Lake. Being our first time here I would say we would come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$15
The vast majority of the sites are large, paved back-ins with 30 amp power (central water and sewer). There are a handful of 50 amp sites. Lots of mature trees, so satellite access can be a problem. We were there during a very wet time of year, so the ground was pretty soggy and muddy in places. The ranger picks up your trash from your site each day. Not all sites are suitable for big rigs, but plenty were. A very attractive park, at an excellent price. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$16
Great place to stay! Large sites, lots of grass and trees. Deers, fox, quail, squirrels, rabbits, turkeys, lots of wildlife to view! Also have close by restaurants for good eating out! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$15
The is a great state Park on Rend Lake! But there was water everywhere as two storms had just come thru the area. More rustic than most State Park now, as they had no water or sewer hookups, but the beauty of this park far out weighs that as far as we were concerned. Lots of trails for biking, hiking, horse back riding, etc. Sites were large and level especially the lakefront ones. There was grass every where with fire rings and tables. We will stay again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$15
All sites and roads were black topped. Well spaced. Nice big playground located by the large bathhouse. There are two other bathhouses. There bathhouses could be a bit cleaner. (This is why I did not give a 10.) They have two hosts. The swimming area is located away from the campground. There is a nice bicycle path. This is a nice campground with views of the lake. We would make the trip again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2001
$11
I only reason I don't give this park a 10 is that it does not have full hook-up. However, it also has a lodge, cabins, boat rental, and a restaurant. All of these are clean and affordable due to that they are operated as state facility. Get there before Thursday afternoon to get your waterfront sites. Definitely worth your while stay here! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com