223558 User submitted reviews online!!
Scott AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only) was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (618) 256-2067
CGID10134

Scott AFB FamCamp (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
24
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   5   6   5   7   4   7   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$20
Mediocre FamCamp. There are 2 sections, site #s below 10 are nice, roomy, and more forested. Site #s above 10 are cramped and have fewer trees. We loved site 9. The water was far away and required an additional hose beyond our normal 25ft. The bathroom/shower/laundry facilities are disgusting. The toilets are steel prison bowls with no seat. There's no playground or WiFi, but we picked up 17 TV channels over the air. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$20
We have stayed here many times and it is OK for an overnight stay but would not work for extended stay. None of the sites have sewer hook ups and it is not really big rig friendly. We have a 43 foot RV and it was tricky getting into the largest parking spot they have. The road to the dump station has some tight turns and a big tree limb hanging down low. I had to drive around the tree and back up to the dump station. For the price I can't complain too much though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
This is a lovely setting for an RV park with tons of grass, two ponds, and huge trees. Unfortunately, the planning wasn't good and we found water on one side of our site and electricity on the other. The lack of sewer also makes it difficult. We did check out the laundry room and found it was dirty and the machines were old. The trees make getting a satellite signal impossible and some people had phone problems. We were able to use the lap tops with Verizon broadband and our phones worked as well. The famcamp was convenient for us while visiting family and we will use it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
We did a one nighter at Scott Famcamp about three years ago and the place hasn't changed one bit, ie. no improvements (no WI-FI, roads in/out narrow and dated ). Our Verizon Mi-Fi did pull in a strong 4G signal. I'm amazed they could run our credit card as they had our name wrong on the site post. Their information packet was barely legible- very old ink cartridge. Their one dumpster was not convenient to the sites and the bath/shower facilities would not be adequate if the place were full. The camping fee is too high - even for a military W/E only campground. Two night prior we paid 10.00 at a Corps of Engineer park in TN for a spacious W/E site. The only plus is that they are "reasonable" when compared to the next closest campground - the E. St. Louis Casino campground. To reach the campground via GPS, plug in their golf course and drive past the club house ( Cardinal Creek GC ) and look for the signs. When we entered Scott Lake Rd both of our Garmin' emitted a high pitched noise and flashed up a 1 MPH red square on the screen. The CG speed limit is a posted 15 MPH. Very strange. They do have a nice BX/Commissary, but their golf course looked crowded and only mediocre. The campground is a distance from Mainside, so we were blasted with reveille in the morning. We won't write off this facility for the future, but only if we can't find something more modern and less out of the way. I doubt this place will ever win Military CG of the Year much less even be considered for this honor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Good location by little lake. Park like setting. Level paved back in sites-very quiet. Water could be warmer in the shower. Clean rest rooms/showers. Good place for a few days in the St. Louis area with access to base services. Safe and secure and well maintained. would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$15
Spent 2 nights here in Nov. 2011, easy access, level paved sites. There were 3 other rigs there during my stay, but only one ever had a vehicle at it. The restrooms were clean, but the showers were almost unusable, they put out one straight stream of water, no hot or even Luke warm water during my stay, due to no cable, no Wi-Fi and no hot water I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
Typical military FamCamp. Some shaded sites some out in the open for satellite users. Cautions about being in the right lane at the gate did not apply at this time. Went straight through. Directions given at the main (Shiloh) gate vary. No matter what they say turn left at the first light around the end of the runway past the golf course. There is a small sign on the right pointing to the left for the FamCamp turn off. Reservations recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
For a FAMCAMP at only $15 per night for 50-amp elec and water service, no complaints! Sites were paved and very level; bathrooms and laundry were very clean. Easy access to amenities on base. Would stay here again without hesitation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This is a very busy place for long stays, so we had to move often to stay 60 days. We also had to leave for 2 weeks to continue the two months. We're here for family soit is very convenient. There's a dump site, laundry, shower. They're clean but not excellent. It's great for the St. Louis area, and being on base it's safe. You need your own internet connection like MIFI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
This campground is a reasonably priced place to stay while visiting the St Louis area or for a quick overnight stay. There are no sewer hookups, but there is a dump station. It is advisable to call ahead for reservations as it is a small FamCamp and the Outdoor Recreation, Bldg 3176, (618)-256-2067 is NOT located near the campground. They will take reservations and charges over the phone Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Your receipt and Scott AFB paperwork will be waiting at your site clipped to the site post. Be aware that when approaching the main gate they really mean that oversized vehicles are to approach the gate in the far right-hand lane even though the lane has barricade posts. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Small campground with back in sites only. Worth the money for a night or longer stay. Away from runways and other noises. Lake near by with pavilion and grills. Tried to get in on the earlier and found it full, a wedding party going on. Would stay again for an extended stay with St.Louis 19 miles close. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com