224152 User submitted reviews online!!
Kankakee South KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (815) 939-4603
CGID1015

Kankakee South KOA

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   7   5   8   6   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$37
This campground has a lot of loud late night activity. Large loud social groups outside, and teens running up & down the roads yelling to one another. We should have used a water filter as the water at the site was rusty (in color, smell & taste). Some concrete site pads are available, but otherwise the roads and sites are dirt, which can be very soft & muddy after a rain. The landscaping is generally neglected. Lots of anthills are at every site. A teen in a golf cart leads drivers to their sites, but does not have enough experience to be effective, even leading bigger units into sites from the wrong direction. Staff was pleasant and gladly answered questions, and the country setting could be beautiful, which is how we came up to the "3" rating instead of "1". We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
This park was difficult to find which is unusual for any KOA. The sites were long, but not too level with mostly dirt. The checkin was quick and friendly and we had an escort to our site. Lots of big trees so maneuvering was tough in our 40 foot fifth wheel, but we managed. Bathrooms were clean and due to a rain storm we did not use pool. Just make sure of your directions before trying to find this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$29
I find myself going to this park more & more. The owners live on site and are very accommodating. They have a pavilion for use if needed. Some sites are tight, but will still fit large camper & car or truck. Fire ring & table at every site. Fire pits are cleaned regular. I seem to see the same people camping for a weekend. The park must be doing something right. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Nice quiet park, not handy to the Interstate. Sites are level, but sewer connection is higher than your coach drain on nearly every site. Verizon phone was almost useless here and using your own satellite was impossible because of trees. Park is not maintained as well as it should be. Water faucets have been run over. We had no water pressure at our site and the manager had to bring a hose down and run it from a site 25 yards away from ours. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$29
We love this little KOA and consider it our "home camp" because it is only 40 minutes from our house, but far enough to feel like you are on vacation. The staff is VERY nice and the park grounds are very tidy. They have recently updated their bath facilities and the stalls are now a little bigger. Our only notes about this campground would be the following: 1) It is located next to an old landfill. Though the breathing air is fine (no odor at all), the water had a very pungent sulfur smell. So make sure to bring your own drinking and cooking water. 2) The bathrooms could be cleaned more often. It seems that the floor is often wet (from the pool and showers) and dirty. They do get cleaned on schedule. Just adding another cleaning when their campground is booked up, (more campers = more use), would do the trick. Great camp to use during Chicago Bears Training Camp, Kankakee State Fair and if you are going to the races. Fair/Race location is just a couple miles away! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Good basic amenities for an overnight stay while going from point A to point B. Nice level shaded sites. Easy in-and-out park and pull-through sites so didn't have to unhook the toad. The staff was helpful-gave good driving/timing tip for getting through Chicago/Indiana to Michigan. The pool looked good, but was totally overrun with screaming kids--pretty much what you would expect on a very hot summer day! Fortunately everything quieted down at sundown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
This park was good for us for overnight. There were a lot of weekenders here and we were rather close. But, the folks were friendly and the sites relatively level. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
The only issue we had with this campground was that the randomly closed the office and campground store while delivering ice and firewood to other campers. Overall it was a nice, clean and friendly campground with some large oak trees and level sites. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Nice family campground. Had a large level site. Would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$29
This park has come a long way since these owners have taken over. They have got rid of the riff raff that used to live here. The sites are small with a table and fire ring, grass in most sites. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. A new Wal-Mart has sprung up about 10 minutes away. The campground is 10 minutes off I-57 but it's very quiet and dark at night. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
Sites are close together and during the holiday this place was crowded. Interior roads are narrow and hard to navigate when park is crowded as there were multiple cars at each site. No additional parking available. Metro stop is a 30 minute drive away and it's an hour ride into the city. Few other choices if coming to see Chicago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
This is absolutely the worst KOA I've seen, and I've seen quite a few awful KOA'S. Thanks to previous reviews, I took a brief stroll through the campground before paying for the night, and found the information to be accurate, including the foul tasting well water. And as for the clientele, now I know where Jerry Springer goes to find guests for the show. Needless to say, I did not spend the night there. However, I did want to credit the nice young guy behind the desk who was polite, helpful, and in general, did his best to put a positive spin on a bad situation. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
The only reason this place rates a 1 is for the somewhat level sites, and that's where the positives end. The staff is very unfriendly. Sites very in closeness to each other. The big rig next to us pulled in and proceeded to start and use their onboard generator. I called the front desk and she had to check if that's allowed in the park. Several campers in our vicinity drank and yelled until after 1:30 am and repeated calls from several of us campers to the office were left unanswered. The water here is terrible. Not sure what the smell is: not egg or sulphur. There is a dump that is closed down right across the street: guess it could be toxic runoff into the well water system. This was the worst nightmare we have had camping. We would never stay here again, ever. I can't believe this is a KOA! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
This park was as close as we could get to Chicago. The concete pad was very short, so if you are towing and don't unhook - the front wheels of the motorhome will be off the pad by about 15'. Once you are off the pad you are in soft black sand, and you will need lots of leveling blocks. The laundry was so old we didn't want to use it. It took us about 1 1/2 to get to the Navy Pier in Chicago. I think next time we would look for another place to use as a base. Price reflects KOA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
We needed a base location within driving distance of Chicago and this fit the bill. The park is older but well maintained. Very friendly front desk folks and a well stocked store. Lots of shaded sites and good pull-thru lengths. All grass, dirt and gravel with the exception of some premium sites which have concrete pads. This is a busy KOA even though the location is rural. A SuperWalmart is about 3 miles away at the Interstate 57 interchange. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
Nice clean, friendly park. The playground was a bit on the older side, but obviously someone cares enough to keep it maintained and working. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
We stay here at least once a year with our camping club. This year we stayed here on the first weekend of June. We were in a fifth wheel.this is a nice little campground close to I-57 easy on and off. Its quiet .there is really not much to do around here shopping is about 20 minutes away all major stores. The pool is nice & clean. They seem to have trouble keeping up with the day to day things that must be done, the campsites were a messy. I mean littered with bottle caps, cigarette butts, food etc. When I advised a worker about the egg shells left on the site across from mine he said oh yea I seen them yesterday. He went on his way without cleaning the site. The owners are nice & helpful they are doing good. The help needs an adjustment. This koa has a nice playground.all in all we always go back and will again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$25
This park will be really good once the new owners do some work. The bathrooms were mostly clean, but so old it was hard to tell. One of the shower stalls was peeling and one seemed not to have hot water. The pool was closed, so I don't know about that. Also, the water has a very odd smell from the metals in it. I for one did not drink it. The wifi was pretty reliable, and when it did go out, they at least knew what to do about it. Sites are a good size, nice and shaded with some grass that could use some work since there's dirt showing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$28
This has to be a '10' for us. The site is what you might expect, from a KOA, but it was our first. We pulled in with Temp plates on the camper and our tow vehicle. Folks gathered from every direction to help out the 'newbies'. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Used this campground as base to visit Chicago, Enterprise picks you up at the campground. A bit far out to visit Chicago took 1-1/2 hours daily to get downtown. Nice park, open spaces, clean. Could use a bit more stone and gravel on the sites as dirt was evident. Did not use the pool (closed for the season). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Koa would be fine for a quick over night stay. The weekend we were there they had some sites rented to guys that had a generator and welder goig all day building a hauler bed on a truck. I was a bit confused, did I book at a campground or a metal fab shop?? I believe that the campground has since changed hands so maybe it has improved. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Narrow sites, expected in a private campground, but grassy, and lots of shade from large oak trees. Very few sites for really big rigs - those we saw had to unhitch tow vehicles or toads to fit in their sites. Friendly new owners (2004) are making improvements, and previous comment regarding seasonals no longer applies. Bathrooms old & a bit worn, but clean, and have had some refurbishment recently. Cg seems to appeal to groups of locals and NASCAR & Bears fans, rather than overnighters. Some nice tent sites around edge of campground. A potential problem exists if there is a strong south wind, as the cg is located just north of a large landfill. Not a problem the days we were there, however. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2003
$28
This used to be a nice park. However, permenant residents now rule the park taking all shady sites, not following rules and running wild at all hours. With two-thirds of the park permenant it is not a place we will be returning. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com