206486 User submitted reviews online!!
Lena KOA was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (815) 369-2612
CGID1017

Lena KOA

Camp Information
Sites
72
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   8   10   7   7   7   9   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
You can tell that the owners of Lena, KOA must love camping because it is very evident in the beautiful park they have. Well groomed and maintained grounds with soft lush grassy sites (no camping carpets, please!) and flowers and landscaping everywhere. The sites are adequately spaced and many boast mature shade trees. The pool was well maintained, fairly large for a mid-size KOA and even had slides for the kids to enjoy. There was a jumping pillow, sand volleyball, tetherball, basketball, playground and pedal bike rentals - so plenty for the kids to do! Though the campground is right off of Hwy 20 with Galena/Iowa traffic, the campground is quiet and peaceful (if you are a light sleeper, ask for a spot past the main building - you don't hear a thing out there!). The owners and staff are very nice and helpful and ice and wood is delivered to your site. Their Kampstore is very cute and has a great selection of local wines and Kampy decor. They can accommodate any size RV/camper, have three sizes of Kabins, sand-pit tent sites and even tee-pees - KOOL! This is a VERY nice KOA, owned and maintained with pride. We will go back OFTEN! Also, only 30 minutes from Galena (watch your speed though on Hwy 20-drops from 55 to 35 often!!). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$36
Lena is an exceptionally well managed and maintained KOA about 35 miles east of historic Galena on Hiway 20. It is a quiet, flower-landscaped campground with both wooded and grassy areas surrounded by farm fields. The staff is friendly and helpful. The park has the usual KOA facilities (heated pool w/slide, WiFi, shower/restrooms, laundry, camp supply store, camping cabins, pool, playground, game room) all of which were clean and in good shape. Lena also sells LP gas which is another big plus since most RV campgrounds don't any more. Most campsites were typical for a KOA, fairly level, fairly close together, some with shade. Our elec & water hookups worked well. About 20 channels came in on Antenna TV. Quite a number of sites were taken by what appeared to be seasonal campers with wood decks and a lot of golf carts and ATV's. Their Kamping Kabins surround a large outdoor Kamping Kitchen/Gazebo (40 person seating with three sinks with hot and cold water, two stove tops, one small grill and one large group grill: great for groups/reunions). In addition new this year, they also had two of what they call authentic "Sioux" style Teepees to rent for a rustic Native American camping experience. Activities include bingo, sand volleyball, horseshoes, pancake breakfasts, barbecues, ice cream socials, "hey" rides, live music, weekly movies, etc. Besides the usual KOA fun-bikes and pedal carts to rent, they also have a giant inflated jumping pillow. They describe it as crossing a trampoline with a bounce castle. Wristband purchase required to use. Check their website for full details. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Our experience with KOA's has been that they are generally OK for overnight stops but do not offer much more for us. This Park is an exception. It is a wonderful little park, well maintained and managed by a very friendly and helpful staff. The park has of course all the typical KOA facilities (cabins, pool, game room, c-store), none of which we needed for an overnight, but they all seemed to be in good shape and clean. The restrooms and showers were also very nice. The grounds were very well maintained. As is typical the sites were fairly tight, but more than sufficient. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$36
Another nice quiet KOA. Well maintained and the owners are truly interested in whether you enjoyed your stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$40
As indicated by most of the previous reviews: this is a well run, popular KOA with lots of activities for kids and families. We were surprised to find it full the weekend after Labor Day. Turns out that it was customer appreciation weekend so many of the regulars and seasonals were there for a final summer getaway. Actually, it probably was just as well to have a lively park for the last night of our 2+ month trip. The park itself is nice but has what could be problematic for some. There is no cable TV and, since most of the park is heavily treed, only a few sites are satellite or big rig friendly: and those appear to be taken by seasonals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Park is clean. Owners and workers are efficient and pleasant to deal with. It is a "keep on adding" park so extra charges for bounce pillow, etc. Sites extremely tight - one site we had difficult to level side to side. Lots of kids, lots of activity. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$42
This park is pricey (but it is a KOA so there shouldn't be any surprises there) for what you get. The people are nice and the store was well stocked with all the essentials. Pros: Well maintained, nice park with thoughtful little things (like the dog walks having waste scoopers and trash bins to make cleaning up easy, or the recycling program). Cons: Sites are tight, water pressure wasn't spectacular and the shore power tripped our GFCI's in the trailer. They, of course, said it must be our trailer. Never had that problem before, and didn't have it since, hmmm. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
This campground is very well run and our kids just loved their very first real camping experience here. There were many activities for the kids, the pool was very clean and all the facilities were well maintained. Only complaint would be road noise that bothered my husband, but it didn't make that much difference. Owners were so friendly and out to make sure we were happy and comfortable, even though we were only there with our little tent for the weekend. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$40
Got a reservation for Memorial Day Weekend only 2 weeks prior. Called and left message in evening, and received a call back from them early next morning. Great customer service on phone. They only had a few sites left, and he let me have my pick, and that was the site waiting for us when we arrived. Check in was fast, they had 3 to 4 people at the desk checking people in, and they still had someone to escort us to our site and help guide us in. The campground was a pleasant surprise. We were not expecting a lot of trees and shade, but our site was completely in the shade. We were surrounded by huge oak trees. It was very scenic. The restrooms were immaculate, there were even pictures on the wall and hanging plants in them. The activities were great. We did them all. We have two boys, 11 and 6, and they had a blast. The jumping pillow is a big hit. Our younger one loved the playground. We did the bikes, played soccer, tether ball, hay rides, ice cream, and a movie on Sunday night. We have done a lot of camping, both at private and state parks, and this is the best place we have stayed. This couple were great hosts. It is clear they love what they do and are there to make people happy: and we left happy. There are other campgrounds out there that are appealing to families, and offering all sorts of activities, but the ones we have stayed at were all about how many people they can squeeze into the campground. We did not feel like this was the case. Waiting was never an issue: showers, front desk, activities. When we ordered wood, it was delivered to our site within 15 minutes each time. We are already planning 1 or 2 more returns this year and planning our trip for next Memorial Day and hope to get our same site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$35
EXCELLENT!! We called last minute. The owners were very accommodating: even after we asked for a later check out on Sunday. Very clean!! Wonderful activities planned for a late in the season stay. Very family oriented facility. It was about 40 minutes from Galena. Easy drive, and the drive was acceptable to be able to stay in this nice CG. We will be back many more times. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$36
The park was well maintained and excellent place for families with kids. The only negative would be the noise from the traffic on Illinois Route 20. We will be going back and will pick a different site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We have been here several times and find this KOA to be consistently excellent. The big pillow bounce for the kids is great. The owners are friendly and have done a good job in keeping everything clean and up to current expectations. Some of the sites are a little small for big rigs but some help from the owner got us in with no problems. We would continue to come to this park in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$26
Campground is clean, and owners were doing lots of work to get it ready for Memorial Day & summer season. Friendly staff. Unlike our previous stay several years ago, this time it appears that about 85% of the sites are seasonally occupied - gas prices? Most of the seasonals are quite new units, and they are kept neat, so it doesn't feel like a "trailer park." Sites are narrow, typical of private CGs, and some turns in the CG may be tight for big rigs. Lots of family-friendly activities available, and nice country atmosphere. Not much road noise behind the main bldg. Some sites open, others in woods. Good clean laundry facilities with newer machines. Probably busy on weekends (we stayed on a weeknight.) Would camp there again as an overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$39
Excellent facility with fun activities for the family. Will return many times. Very nice people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$38
Nice, quiet campground surrounded by cornfields. The management is very friendly. Nice landscaping and everything is well maintained. Nice camp store with basic supplies as well as woody decor. They offer firewood delivery and on site garbage pick up. Can fill propane as well. Plenty of common areas and kid activities. The only downside was the size of our site. We are right on top of the neighbors and the site also slopes quite a bit. We would request a back in or a partial hook up next time as they seem to have a little more room. About half of the sites are seasonals. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$36
Very friendly & helpful staff, clean restrooms but small showers. I would stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$40
What a wonderful park! The owners are VERY involved in their park and it's kept immaculate! They even guide you to your site, which I thought was a nice touch. The pool is sparkle clean, as are the restrooms. The location is excellent: 38 miles to Galena. The cabin we stayed in was the Kamping Lodge, and while a bit pricey, around $140 a night by the time you added in the dog and an extra guest, it was super clean and very comfy. They do have Wi-Fi, but it was down as often as it was up. This really only bothered our teenage son, but frankly, I was happy! Great place to bring the family. Oh, they even did a hayride on Saturday night. Very very nice! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Very nice family campground. Immaculate bathrooms with very pleasant owners and staff. Clean heated swiimming pool for the kids with volleyball, basketball, game rooms and bicycle rentals. Our kids really enjoyed the campground. We enjoyed the short 30 minute drive to Galena. Would have given a 10 if the water pressure had been better at the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com