215236 User submitted reviews online!!
City of Canton - Mississippi River Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (563) 228-7713
CGID10195

City of Canton - Mississippi River Park

Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   9   9   10   8   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
We stopped here for a 2 night stay. Just know that there are pros and cons about staying at this city run park. The train does not have a set schedule, and the train tracks are right behind the RV spaces, and it is loud. The greenery at the sites are weeds, not grass, and while we were there they needed to be cut. Most of the sites are narrow, all are back in sites facing the river. Our slides were about 2 feet from the site to our left, but the site to our right was much larger. We were in site #11, we had no fire ring or grill, which was not an issue, but the picnic table needed attention. In general, the park would benefit from some very basic maintenance and care. Having the Mississippi River at your door was great. We enjoyed watching the huge barges traveling the river through the locks. Even though it's not the season for bald eagles, we saw 3 eagles, 2 landed in the water scooping up fish right in front our motorhome, and the other one was flying over the large pylon that is at the water's edge. There is a County Market grocery store on 61 about 5-7 miles away. We would stay here again, even with the train noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$18
This park is right next to the Mississippi River in front of you and right behind you there is a railroad tracks. There is a ferry just south of the park that goes across to Illinois throughout the day. The train went through 3 times while we were there (about 12 hours). It is very loud and very close. Other than the train the park is very quiet, we had read that the tracks were there so it was not a surprise to us. There is no regular set schedule as to when a barge will be coming up to go through the lock and dam so it is just luck as to when they come through when you are there. They could be lined up waiting to get through or it could be a few hours in between. Overall the park could use a good scrub down and for some black dirt brought in and seeded. Not much grass, but have a lot of weeds. We just put out our carpet and enjoyed sitting by the river. If you are going here they have an address of 700 North Front Street, Canton. Very easy to find and it is off route 16 off of U.S. 61, east of 61. We would stay here again when passing through. It is worth the stop to see the lock and dam, it is a very laid back and quiet place. It is all self registration when you get there. Have cash or check for $18 per night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
The pads are concrete, level, and are within 30 ft (10 m) of the Mississippi River, just below Lock and Dam 20. The barge tows pass within 40 ft (12 m) of the shoreline. This makes for a fascinating closeup view of the passing tows. The towboat engines do make a bit of noise, but not enough that our sleep was disturbed even with the windows open. The trains running by less than 100 ft (30 m) behind the pads were much louder and did disturb our sleep, though fortunately, it was typically multiple hours between trains. The kids enjoyed the playground. Everyone enjoyed watching the barge tows going by, and the price was very nice. We were pleased at the effort the city put into cleaning and clearing the park so soon after the river flood water had the park submerged. If the river stage is above 16 feet it would be a good idea to check if the park is open. Current and forecast river level is available at: http://water.weather.gov/ahps2/hydrograph.php?wfo=lsx&gage=canm7 We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$18
The value for the price is good . . . no real "amenities" except the Mississippi River--you absolutely cannot be parked any closer to the River than you are here. Just be aware of the water level in the Spring and the chance of muddy conditions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
This is a really fun little municipal campground where you can watch barges come/go through a lock; right there to your left. We saw a big paddle wheel tourist steamboat go up river this year. There are no facilities, so you must be self-contained. There's a nice playground. The park gets busy on weekends. Check the board for RSVPs before you select a spot. A few trees but none to block satellite access. All sites have a fire pit. There is also a busy, small ferry going back and forth to Illinois to your left, but weekdays only I believe. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$15
If you want to be by the river this is the place. You are about 50 feet from the side of the river and less than 1/4 mile from Lock & Dam #20 where you can watch all the activity. We loved the park and would stay there again. There are no restrooms, just a Portacan to use. Not a problem for us since we are self contained. Not very much in the town of Canton. They do have a grocery store and several fuel stations but only 1 has diesel. Water pressure was good, voltage was good and the site pads are level concrete. Sites 1-9 only have water and electric. The rest are full hookup. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$15
The good news about this city park is that the back-in sites leave the front of your vehicle about 100 feet from Mississippi River. The Corps of Engineers Lock #20 is just north of the park, so tugs entering or leaving the lock pass very close by. This makes this an excellent spot for watching barge activity on the river. Note that the lock site itself is closed to public. The first part of the bad news is that the sites are very close together. Even worse is the fact that a railroad line is only several hundred feet behind campground area. There is no sound shielding, so trains that pass with their horns blaring take some getting used to. And the trains are both long and appear frequently at all hours of the day and night. Only the soundest sleepers will fail to be awakened by a train that sounds like it is passing right through your RV. A previous post indicated that the Police Department could be contacted for information. This has changed. Call the City Offices at (573) 288-7713. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$14
From US 61 just follow the signs to the Canton Ferry. When you cross the RR the Ferry is to your right, the CG is to your left. Sites 1 through 9 are W/E only, the rest are W/E/S. All back-ins on concrete. Good view to your left of Lock 20 you can sit and watch barges pass through the locks. Look to your right and you can watch the Canton Ferry cross to Meyer IL. When you are parked you are 50' from the Mississippi River. We really like it here. Contact the Canton Police Dept for more information. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com