206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Collier Memorial State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (541) 783-2471
CGID10216

Collier Memorial State Park

Camp Information
Sites
68
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   8   7   7   6   8   7   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Loop B is all full hookup RV sites and is reserve-able. Loop A is first come/first serve part tent sites and part RV sites. Our site in Loop B had a partial river view and river access (for kayaks and canoes). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$22
We loved this park! The RV pads are paved and the sites are gravel/dirt with many beautiful trees. We were surprised to find full hook ups in such a beautiful natural setting. It is close to the Williamson River and Spring Creek. There is an interesting logging museum that you can walk or ride a bike to. All sites have fire rings and firewood is sold at the park. It is an easy 34 mile drive to Crater Lake. We kayaked upstream to the headwaters of Spring Creek. It was an easy and beautiful paddle and very interesting to see where the creek begins. Loop A is first come first served and reservations can be made for Loop B. We would definitely like to stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Collier is a very nice state park that can provide access to Crater Lake as well as the really neat pioneer museum adjacent to the campground. Only downside is that the interior roads, although neatly paved, are somewhat narrow which makes backing into some sites difficult if vehicles are parked directly across. All sites provide full hookups and are plenty large enough to accommodate large rigs. When we were there this time the park had just opened for the season so it was still quiet with few spaces occupied. We always enjoy staying at Collier and will continue to stay here in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$17
This a great park for a couple of weeks. After the first of October the rate is only 17.00 per night full hookups. They have a clean park, laundry and lots of hiking. The logging museum is within walking distance from the campground. The only downfall is the pine squirrels. They will get in your vehicle and eat wiring and insulation. We bought moth balls and put under the hood to try and keep them out. Otherwise a great park to stay and have fun. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
Camped here with a big group, were able to get a group of sites together and a couple of the sites were big enough for everyone to gather. Nice interior roads for walking & bike riding. Beautiful surroundings right on confluence of river & creek, nice fishing and hiking trails. Very interesting historical logging museum across highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$22
Stayed here after Labor day so it was very quiet. Even tho it is off the Hwy, you can still hear road noise, but it is not overwhelming. Stayed in A22-very nice. Spacious sites, treed, shaded. Please note change - only A loop is 1st come. B loop is by reservation . Williamson river very pretty. Logging museum is cool. Camp hosts on site so we felt safe. Restrooms /showers clean but very very old. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$22
This is a very nice campground. There are plenty of trees (which does prohibit Satellite TV reception) & paved pads. It is very clean & well patrolled by the rangers. There is no Wi-Fi, but if you have your own air card you can get internet. You can walk or bike to the logging museum, which was very interesting & had tours on the weekends. You can also walk or bike to the nearby creek, which has some rapids if you have a tube or something. We've never camped in Oregon's state parks before so I didn't know you need to make sure your rig & car can fit on the pad. I assumed there was a separate parking spot, but there isn't & there are big rocks along the roadside. We didn't use the restrooms, but did use the laundry, which was clean & reasonable, $1 to wash, $.75 to dry. Make sure you're stocked on groceries, because there isn't much close by. I guess there is a little store in the nearby town, but we didn't go there. We would definitely stay there again if we were to be in the area. It's a good place to stay if you want to go to Crater Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$22
For a State/Public camp ground we really like Collier State Park Camp Ground. The staff was very friendly and they kept the grounds clean and spotless. Oregon has a very user friendly campground system for RV's and Collier is one of the best. Many sites are well shaded. The roads and sites are all paved with hook ups to meet all RV'ing needs. Many sites have a nice buffer of trees and shrubbery between sites but others are out in the open. Still the spacing is not uncomfortable. There are a number of drive through sites but most are back in. Some are a little tight to get into as the narrow road and trees can make it challenging for novices. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$24
This is really a fine campground. It is convenient, quiet, has reasonably large sites, nice restrooms & showers (free) and has an abundance of trails for walking and dogs. There is also a super logging museum that is part of the park within walking distance, plus it is a perfect place to camp for access to crater lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
This is a nice state parrk right along Highway 97 but far enough back from the road that we did not hear any road noise. Our site (B3) has a view of the Williamson River out the back of the trailer. The logging museum is an easy half mile walk from the campground which we did multiple times on our stay. The sites are full hookups which is really nice to have. The bathrooms were nice and clean. The hiking trails are great. Some of the sites are pretty tight for bigger rigs to get into. There are many trees and some are somewhat close to the road so certain angles on certain rigs will make parking a challenge but possible. Our kids (and dog) loved having the wildlife around. The museum trail was fun to walk through and see all the old time equipment and cabins. We stayed here in June and the mosquitoes were out and active so bring your bug spray! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Another fabulous Oregon State Park located along US97 on the Williamson River. The sites are large and was quite peaceful. You do get some highway noise even though it is a quarter mile away. Great place to stay when visiting Crater Lake National Park which was about 35 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Great little park. Not all sites are big rig friendly. Our 38' 5er did OK but some sites and turns were a little tight. Staff is friendly and helpful. Casino with gas and diesel a few miles south on 97 is big rig friendly. Will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Excellent example of the beautiful state parks in Oregon. Well off the road so no road noise, along the Williamson River, but not able to see it from the campsite. Hiking trails, wood available, spaces are far apart. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$22
Very nice campground. Lots of trees, so lots of shade. Nice walk down by the river over to the museum. All-in-all a very nice quiet campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$17
What a delightful surprise. This 525-acre park sits at 4,200′ elevation. We arrived in time to walk along the aspen-lined Williamson River Trail that runs between the campground and logging museum. This is a first-come, first-serve campground and is open between April-Oct. 31. There are 50 full hookup ($17/night), 18 tent ($14) (maximum site 60 feet), 4-corral primitive horse camp. There are laundry facilities ($1.25/washer, $1/dryer), free hot showers, recycling, chipmunks and the promise of a river otter. Family, pet-friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Another great Oregon State Park campground. Quiet, large sites spaced well apart in the forest with easy access from the highway. Good base from which to explore Crater Lake area. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This is a pleasant Oregon State Park set amid an open pine forest. We only spent the night as we were just passing through, but this made a good quiet layover. My husband enjoyed the logging museum. We would stay here again. You really can't go wrong with any Oregon State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$21
Another gem of an Oregon State Park! All the prior reviews are accurate although I'm not sure about the ability to make reservations, I think it's limited as to number. We went through the Oregon parks system. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
One of the best campgrounds we stayed in the last 6 months. Nicely spaced, paved sites in pines. Very clean grounds and facilities (laundry available too). Many hiking trails along Spring Creek, Williamson River and to the Logging Museum. About 45 minutes to Crater Lake National Park or to Klamath Falls for provisions. Hosts were wonderful at providing information and had wheelbarrows full of firewood for $4. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
A good stopping point while traveling. Oregon state parks all seem to be very good, and this is no exception. Very quiet spot with sites in the shade and nicely spaced. Several campground hosts but seldom saw any of them. This is a no reservation park. Would stay here again if passing through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
We stayed 3 nights here in our travel trailer (28') and enjoyed the spacious (though a little too open) area between the campsites. There were clean facilities, and clean sites, what Oregon State Parks are noted for. At $21.00 for full hook ups, it is a bargain. Spring Creek, Williamson River, and the Museum gives you plenty of things to see and do. Mosquitoes are near the Williamson River, so the camp sites closest to the river will feel them more then those sites farther away. We stayed in site A-18 which was near the river; had shade and no one behind you. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
We love a campground that has hiking trails leading right out of the campground. This was exceptional in that respect. You can hike all along the river and there are two foot bridges where you can cross the river. One leads to the outdoor logging museum. The other leads to the Collier Memorial Park. This park is a dog's dream come true. Acres and acres of green grass to run on. Of course, leashes are required at this park, however towards the end of the day we found the park to be empty and our dog could run free. There are also plenty of places along the river that have grass so your dog can swim without having to get out into dirt. Friendly camp hosts. I would say this is truly one of those campgrounds where almost every site is a good site. The showers were small and had those horrible plastic shower curtains, so this is the only reason this park does not rate a "10". Nice big sites for RV's. There are some pull through sites but we thought they were situated too much on the campground road, so we preferred a back in site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$21
This is a great park. It was re-done about a year ago with new asphalt driveways and sites long enough for the largest rigs with lots of slides. There is no grass, just gravel around the picnic tables. Camp hosts were exceptional in helping out our friends that had tire problems on their trailer. Verizon cell and 3G broadband worked well. Our friend's ATT cell did not work. Lots of trees so bring your dish with extra coax. We could not get any over the air TV. The camp host said because it is a no reservation park, it is rarely full, even on a Friday or Saturday evening. If Collier is full, the Forest service park on the same road will have room, (Williamson River). It was mid August and there was no one in the Forest service park, it is only dry camping and down a 1.5 mile dirt road. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
Excellent camp. Watch out for the ground squirrels, they get into everything. Mosquitoes were present but not intolerable. Logging museum is a short walk and very interesting. Didn't see many people having luck with fishing. Be sure to check the regs as some times of the year are catch and release only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
What a wonderful state park. Beautiful scenery. Intended on staying 2 nights but actually stayed 5 nights. Nice big open spaces. Many walking trails and we even found an off leash dog run area. We definitely plan on staying here again next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
Located on Hwy 97, 5 miles north of the intersection with Hwy 62. Oregon state parks are always a good value for the money. Collier is no exception. The spaces are fairly well spaced with blacktop sites among the pine and aspen trees on a first come basis. There are easy walking trails from the campground along the nearby Williamson River and beautiful Spring Creek which leads to the Collier Memorial Logging Museum where you can stroll among the many old log cabins and logging machinery or cast a line to try your luck at fishing. Towards evening the camp host came around to inform us that the next day was free camping in honor of "Stay Oregon Parks Day". WOW, you can't beat that for showing customer appreciation. The restrooms were dated but clean. We did not use the shower facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$20
This is one of our very favorite campgrounds. We arrived just after noon on a Saturday and the park was mostly full but the site we had to settle for was still very nice. Campground hosts were great and were constantly on patrol to make sure everything was clean and working properly. There are a number of very nice hiking trails nearby along with a top notch pioneer museum so there is plenty to keep kids entertained. Also, Crater Lake NP is only 35 miles away so this makes a great base camp to explore that beautiful park. The only possible drawback was the fact that the pine needles were falling and after one night of light wind the entire campsite and fifth wheel had to be brooded off. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
We planned on one night and stayed 5 nights. Great forest and river campground with water sewer and electric hookups and nice level blacktop pads with comfortable space between sites. Camp hosts and Rangers were great. You can get Satellite reception if you chose the site carefully. Stick those bounce sheets in your pocket and the mosquitoes will not be too bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This is the second time we've stay here. It's a very nice State park campground. It has hot Showers, Laundry facilities and fire wood for sale along with a good number of campsites. It is sufficiently away from highway 97 that you won't hear any noise. Sites for tents are separate from RV's. They set in a good supply of mosquitoes during our visit, but repellent kept them at bay. Make sure you take some. It is close to Crater Lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
This is a real nice campground with firepits and everything you need. In the Crater Lake area so lots to see. would stay there again any time. Camped there in a 36 foot motor home We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$20
This campground is a hidden treasure. Sites were all recently paved and well maintained. There is plenty of room between sites for privacy and the camp was very quiet during our weeknight stay. Several shorter walking trails within the park. There is an outdoor logging/pioneer museum a short walk from the campground that provides a welcome bit of exercise at the end of a day on the road. We will definitely stay here again whenever we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com