223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Lehman's Lakeside RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 42 user reviews. Phone: (815) 923-4533
CGID1022

Lehman's Lakeside RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
295
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$46



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   5   7   7   7   8   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$46
We were using this spot for a one night stop on the first day of our travels. We had borrowed my brothers travel trailer and this was our first set up. Telling the owners, he accompanied us to the site and gave advice for draining the gray and black lines, etc. We chose this site because it was just slightly off I-90 but far enough away to avoid traffic noise. The campground is heavily wooded, sites were level and well spaced. This is a very well maintained, campground with clean tile showers. The only negative is they advertise wireless Internet but there is a note taped to the front desk that reads, "Internet is down. If you know someone who can fix it let us know." That makes me think it's been down for a while. Other than that we loved this campground and would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$46
This is a nice campground. However, the WiFi doesn't work and neither does the cable TV. We did have cell phone service though. Besides the these two advertised items, everything else was great. We will probably go here again just knowing we won't have any WiFi access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$45
Average campground. Nice friendly staff. Helped us to our site and accommodated our group (we came here for a 3 family outing). Hook-ups and sites were nice and spacious. Sites that we were at were padded and level (not all are). There were many permanents. Shower and restroom facilities were immaculate. There were some nice nature trails for biking and the lake was nice. My issues with the campground was in the upkeep. The grass at all the sites appeared as though it hadn't been cut in months. Combined with rain and standing water around our sites, everything remained soaked for the entire weekend we stayed. There was garbage and dirty underwear in our site's spigot well. Our neighbors also had trash left at their site. The dumpsters smelled and were all overflowing. This was extremely disappointing. The rec hall was old and very moldy. The game room had one game that worked. Some of these things are acceptable, but for a discounted $45 nightly rate, I expected better. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Very nice campground. Staff was very friendly and directed us to our site. This campground is mostly for long term rigs. Took a walk around the lake and it looks like some campers had been there for years. Very clean but some long term sites need to be cleaned up. The short term sites are in the sun with little or no shade. Some pads are concrete and others are gravel. All sites appear to have cable TV, even the tent sites. All short term sites are pull through so it makes it very easy in and out. We used this as a base camp for our stay. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Nice campground. Staff was friendly and helpful. They even took us to our site. The place where we stayed looked like it was more for overnight campers instead of week or weekend long campers. There was a section in another area that seemed to be more for longer term campers. They had a band playing on Saturday night and a small lake to swim in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
Impressed with the service from the office - walked us over to our site and when we had issues with the electric, they were there right to solve it. Only downside was the cleanliness with the male restrooms - metal bottle caps in the shower stalls and not flushed toilets - women's restrooms were excellent. Was great to be able to use the canoes and paddle boats - lake was a bit murky with lots of seaweed, but otherwise clean. Noise from the highway was minimal...the bull frogs were louder. Would stay again We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Nice large campground. Lots of extended stay, but all very neat. We used as a base camp to commute to St Charles / Elgin Area. Long P/T with FHU. Rate was with a cash discount. Stayed for 6 nights and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$39
Been a few years since we stayed here. Not much has changed. Paved main road in need of repair. Some sites gravel and a few with concrete pads. Very slow Wi-Fi. Laundry room very clean. The section near lake with gate for rentals is better maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$45
We stayed here out of necessity. We sold our house in March and were living full-time in our RV. There were no other parks open. That being said, it was also off season. The park has many full time residents. The office had limited hours and I got no help when I complained the cable was not working. The Wi-Fi is slow and best when you are in the laundry room. The laundry is small but clean and since there was no one else in the park we had no trouble getting a machine. It is only a $1 to wash & $1 to dry, so much cheaper than the laundromat in town. Not a bad place for an over night stay if you don't want anything more than a place to park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$43
Nice manager, led us to our site. Nice pull through with easy and clean full hookups. Open Midwestern field, side-by-side set up. Perfect for the three days we stayed as I had business meetings near O'Hare. Easy access to I-90 but road noise not too bad. We'll come back when we need to stay near the western suburbs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$43
Limited big rig pullthroughs, so call ahead. We stayed overnight in 44' motorhome towing a Jeep. Site accommodated our rig. Older park with nice trees and large grassy areas. Would overnight again. Good water pressure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
We stayed here for one month in March/April. We were impressed that they were open year-round, and that there were multiple wi-fi connections available. At times, the wi-fi was spotty or unavailable, however. Playground is a bit old, nails sticking out..but it appeared they were working on updating. The lakes are more like large ponds, a bit murky, but there were blue gills for the kids to score. Friendly but reserved staff, friendly seasonal folks. Lots of grass and dandelions, and lots of mowing (every day). Shady but messy (dropping stickers) trees. Hookups were spaced far apart, leveling was tricky. Firewood was available, the path around the "lake" was a nice walk (can't drive through unless seasonal). Propane fills were quick and easy. Very friendly toward the dog. Extremely nice and clean shower/bathrooms, nice laundry facilities (quarters). Camp store was quite sparse (but it was a bit off-season). Why we won't return #1: Crazy $300 deposit that is charged to debit but returned via paper check. For a full-timer paper checks are a drag. #2 Hooking up the electricity with the local power company was not practical. #3 no mail can be forwarded to this campground, and the town is far enough away to be inconvenient to use general delivery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$43
We have a seasonal spot here and have read several of the comments regarding the campground and decided to write a review of my own. First in response to the gate separating the seasonal from the overnight campers being a seasonal camper the gate gives us a sense of security with our children and belongings. We have camped at several other campgrounds where you woke up and there were people there one minute and gone the next. This campground offers many activities for children and families. The restrooms are brand new and clean with wonderful showers. It is truly a family atmosphere. Any concerns we have had have been quickly remedied by the owner. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone who wants an enjoyable experience. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$39
Let's start out by saying it was an awesome weekend to camp! 80F, sunny & October! Anyway, we chose this campground on a whim, necessity to close-up for the season & on proximity, 1 hour away. Our only request was for good Wi-Fi service & on site 16, we had it. We were on the main drag & the site was smaller than past locations we've camped at. We took a walk around the seasonal sites & there really was no site pride. We read a past review that stated, "We've gotten more for less"... Yes, that sums it up for $39 a night. But. Our less than graveled site surprised us with a 0 bubble reading upon 1st back-up. Sewer is located at the rear of the site, so farther than the normal side location. Hwy 90 was just white noise to us, but seasonals are right next to it. There are canoes & paddle boats to rent on the sad lake. They need to add a fountain or aeration of some sorts. We walked our 2 border collies round & wished there were more trash cans around. Bathrooms were nice, neat & new. Other campers were very friendly & mostly passing through. US Cellular & Nextel had good service. Joe's Place pizza was awesome! Firewood at $4.50 a 6 piece bundle. Would say that if you were passing through for the weekend, go ahead & stop in, but no extended stays. We didn't use the dump station, as we had full hook-up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
A bit of a faded glory. Wi-Fi and cable TV connections were a bit weak. We stayed here for a week while visiting Chicago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$43
This is a hard one to rate. The new clubhouse is nice. It looks like the seasonal lakeside site could be nice but you can't go by them as they are in a separate area with a locked gate. So what do you get for a site as a short stay. Concrete pad with gravel on either end. The site was level but you go by the site to register, un hook and then wind your way around buildings to get back to your site. I would stay again but I have been in much better for much less and a few much worse for more money. I guess it is just an average older park with a new clubhouse. The entrance road is narrow, though straight, and if you meet another coach you both will have to use the grass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$43
The is a large attractive park with three sections. A gated permanent section, a nice section for "monthlies" (section B), and a pull through section for over nighters (section A). The "lakefront" sites are not for transients but I asked for and received a nice wide site on a pond in section B. The pull throughs are not very level, the "all paved roads" means main roads, and copious amounts of animal waste litter many sites and common areas. The most undesirable aspect of this park is the foul water which has a metallic odor, taste, and look. One of few parks in the area. Near I-90. Restrooms are adequate but not clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
Very nice campgrounds, the staff was very friendly, accommodating, and went out of there way to make our stay comfortable. The campground is country settings, but it is close to Chicago, also close to transit to Chicago if you choose not to drive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
First thing I must say is that these are the nicest bathrooms I have ever seen in a campground. They really take pride in keeping them clean as well. The only thing I wish is that they had benches in the changing portion of the showers. Great playground for the kids to play in. The sites are a little small but enough room. People working the office are great! I walked to the office to see if they had a light bulb for my porch light by chance, and the worker there went back to his stuff and brought me one of his! You just don't find friendly caring people like all the workers there, and we will definitely be returning here! But be warned, you can end up talking in the office/store there for an hour with the workers like I did a couple times LOL. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
I can't believe our luck. We seen a sign on the highway for a campground and decided to go there because we were too tired to go on. We scored large. This place is so friendly. The management is always helpful, the other campers are friendly, the rates are reasonable considering what is included. I am from Canada and have traveled all over the states and Canada and this is one of the nicer camp grounds. We will be back!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
I don't understand some of the other reviews on this campground. This campground is in the country and is very quiet. All the roads are paved, so there is no dust. We found this very nice. The park is located just north of I-90, but where the overnight sites are located (about half a mile away from I-90), there was no excess noise. The bathrooms are extremely clean and well kept up. We had no problems with this park or the staff. If we are ever in the area again, we will stay here again. Their prices are a little high, but they are comparable to the other parks in the area. We really enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$43
Totally over-rated; would never stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
I stayed for 30 days for work. I'm an insurance adjuster so I travel all over the country. This was the first RV park that in have seen that charges a $300 deposit for monthly rental. I paid $440 for the month plus a $300 deposit which took 3 weeks after I left to get back. Additionally I had to pay for electricity which they said I used 619 kWh and charged $0.17 per kWh. I took a photo of the meter before hookup and upon leaving, but my camera screwed up and I can't find the pics. I thought this was high given I was only in my motorhome at nights. Additionally, there were several wireless internet access points, which didn't work very well. One other thing that I thought was very poor service was that their office does not accept Fedex, UPS or US mail for their clients. This was a real issue since I get packages all the time with my work. The distance from the city was also an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$43
We found the park to be extremely clean and well maintained. We have never seen such clean bathrooms at a campground before. We stayed on a site that had a cement pad and patio. There was plenty of room between us and our neighbors. We found the staff expectantly friendly and willing to help us to our site. We enjoyed our stay here very much and would be willing to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
Unable to sleep due to loud parties the first 2 nights. Paid for a week but did not get full hook up site as reserved by phone. When we were moved to full hook up site the manager wanted to charge us more even though the assistant manager had told us the price we paid was for the full hook up. Manager became very rude and unreasonable. They advertise lake lots, but they are for full time campers. Unable to enjoy the outdoors due to so many mosquitoes. The price is more than we normally pay especially considering the aggravation we received from the manager. We would not recommend this park at all. They cater to full time campers a lot more than those that are regular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
Fairly nice park with some asphalt roads (some with large pot holes). The staff was friendly but you cannot receive mail in this park. Your electricity is not paid at the park but through the local electric company where you must establish an account. If you stay a month they want a $300 security deposit FOR WHAT? They have your site payment. It turns out they want to be sure that you don't break anything at your site. We put up a credit card at their request and THEY RAN THE CREDIT CARD using my $300 for the month. They then write you a check for the security deposit refund. But be careful that you do not leave on a Sunday because there may be no one here to write the check. BEWARE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
This was a very nice/clean Camp Ground, plenty of level sites available with W/E/S, not all sites have shade trees some sites have concrete patios. Nice camp store with pleasant staff. Did not make it to the shower/restroom. Plenty to do for everyone including paddle boats and canoes. Dogs are welcomed. A Lot of yearly sites with some of the rigs looking like they have been there for 35 years. The only negative is there is no POOL but a nasty looking lake to swim in, close to the Toll Way can not hear the traffic at the short term sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
The staff was not friendly to either my husband or our children. The campground is in the middle of a cornfield and the lake area has a highway running along one side. The staff came along both days and was telling us to clean-up our site. I didn't realize the "clean-up" nazi's were along for our mini get-away. They didn't like our kids bikes and big wheels. Where did they expect us to put them? After two days of being hounded. I had some good suggestions for the clean-up committee. The kids had fun at the lake, but not enough to ever get us back. We do not recommend for families with kids. They are not kid friendly and they made that very clear. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We stayed here from May 09 to October 09. It's a very nice place. Has a small lake with connecting canals running through the campground: most of the long term RVs are in this area. There are 2 smaller ponds. They have nice clean showers, a convenience store and a laundry room with 4 washers and 5 dryers. On certain occasions they have BBQs and a band down at the lake. This park is located in the country but not far from gas and groceries. We really enjoyed our time here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
Paved roads, gravel site, not level throughout. Friendly staff, though hours seemed limited. New building houses office, laundry, showers. Have stayed here before and had a cement site but they were taken upon arrival. Plan to have new sites in center of campground doesn't look possible due to low nature of land. It's below the road and very wet. Spent eight nights here while visiting relatives near Chicago. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$38
Just an "ok" park. Fine for overnight, but NOT interested in long stays. Staff indifferent, if you can find them; many sites are set up backwards. When you back into your spot, the utilities are on the entry side of the RV and hoses, etc., have to be run under the rig. Roads very bumpy w/potholes. Have stayed at better for much less $$. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$39
Access to lake blocked by security gate. Only residents of the lake area permitted to drive to lake. Office staff indifferent, instead of attending to person in front of them. After taking a friend on a demo run in my bus and pulling back in to my space, one of the staff chased me down and told me I had to check in, even though I had been there two days. The lake is choked with weeds. The new bath house and store is very nice, but the rate charged is way too high. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$39
We are in the only RV in the center area of the park. Lots of park models in the shaded part. I guess the pull through sites are for transients. The people here are nice, but I wonder what they are thinking. They have been mowing the grass right outside our RV for an hour. And we're the only ones here! Close to the highway, but no noise. That part's good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Upon arrival, the check-in office looks promising. Once you walk in you may wonder why they bother to have any sort of 'grocery's' there. Very poor selection. Upon check-in they will lead you to site which is nice. Lot's of locals but the pull through sites seem to be overnighters or weekend party folks. Two or three sites around us had beer cans and bottles on the tables the next morning but we never heard this activity, so they were quite. Office staff was marginal. Not rude, but did not go out the way to be helpful. The lake is far from the pull-through area. Pull throughs are placed near the main road into the campground. Selecting a back-in may lead to a better more private site if you plan to stay longer. There is a TA truck stop about 3 miles away at the exit from the interstate which is nice to have near. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$37
I found the place quite nice. Brand new shower/bathrooms (2 weeks old) store a bit light on product. It is by the freeway, but heard little to no noise. The sites are gravel with room between so neighbor is not in your coach. After a rain a bit sloppy, but interior roads are paved. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
We just got back from Lehmans RV Resort in Marango...REALLY disappointed. The place looks nothing like the web site, the pics are of the private gated permanent sites, not regular rentals. We got put out in the open with no trees, lake or creek. A general store the size of my trailer, and a 'game room' with 3 games (with 1 not working) Also,(I know they cant help this because of recent rain), but the place was submerged-soaking wet. They are expanding with another 30 sites...they NEED to spend money on the facilities. The playground needs work. They have a fishing lake, and the nearest place to buy bait is about 10 miles away! Also nearby I-90 was quite loud. We will not go back again, and I wouldn't suggest it to anyone. Oh well...better than sitting around the house. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$30
I would have rated this park much higher if the admin people actually wanted to help people. Any time we asked a question, it was like pulling teeth. Unfortunately they are the only game in town that time of the year. This park was beautiful and under new management would be great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$36
We camped here for 2 months due to my husband's work--I must say I've never encountered a campground that requested a security deposit along with your monthly fee, but we did get that back AFTER they checked our site to make sure we had weed-eated our site and we didn't kill any of their grass or steal their sewer cap...we endured several catastrophes while staying at this campground--the lawn mowers chewed up several of our tie down stakes (with us WATCHING!) and threw rocks at our camper and brand new truck, the water at this campground is atrocious, it's absolutely horrible--the rust in the water completely takes over the camper with its sulphur like smell and leaves an orange film over the shower, toilet and sink--we had to clean EVERY DAY to get the gunk off! We never felt clean here! The campground staff was courteous when they felt like it, but as said earlier, the office hours were 3 pm - 8 pm which was a big inconvenience for us because of our second shift job--we had never run into this before! Beware of this place--it's just not worth it!!! They charge by the day for wireless internet as well!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
The staff was friendly and directed us to our site. The sites were clean and included a fire ring and picnic table. The playground was in need of repair but was still useable. The lake was weedy, but to be expected of a shallow lake in summer. The campground was busy but very quiet. We would stay here again. We camped in a fifth wheel in July 2006. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2005
$35
Open year round. A good place to go when the other campgrounds in the area aren't yet open for the season. As the other reviewer said, not much for kids as the arcade is lacking in games and the store lacking in stuff. The pull-through sites aren't bad but no trees. We have had pretty good luck fishing in their ponds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2004
$32
This place is good only for the full hook-ups and a overnight place to stay-short term. I was extremely disappointed by the amount of seasonals (this park is available for living in year round,enough said!). Not much for children to do. The baby-park was run down and for toddlers. The lake activities (large dirty ponds) did'nt exist. The canoe and paddle boats were either not maintained,dirty, vandalized,or broken. The game room was a junk room with a 30yo pinball machine. The office was open only a couple of hours a day, not much of a "store" when there isnt anything to purchase. The only saving grace were the clean bathrooms & cable TV. I wouldnt visit this park again, too many other good ones !! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$32
Very pretty location and seems to be laid out well, although strung out. If you have a choice, choose a site near the entrance as opposed to near the lake (the lake is also near the turnpike rumble strips). Nice grassy airplane runway for the kids to play on in the absence of any planes. Nice playground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com