218896 User submitted reviews online!!
PA Dutch Country Campground, Outdoor World was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (717) 665-2500
CGID10236

PA Dutch Country Campground, Outdoor World

Camp Information
Sites
243
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   6   5   6   8   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$23
Rate is with Ready-Camp-Go. Park location: -- Great for exploring Amish Country and Hershey. -- Some noise from the gun range but only during the day. Sites: -- most were not level (we had to use boards as well as leveling jacks) and utilities required long cords/hoses. -- Hard to get satellite reception as it is very woodsy. Amenities: -- Mostly paved roads - narrow, but passable for our large Class A. -- Restrooms clean and good water pressure for showers. -- Pool closed Labor Day even though it was almost 90 deg and the pool was still full/clean. -- Nice mini-Golf area. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
PA Dutch Country campground is very nice. It is located within easy reach of the PA Renaissance Faire as well as othe Lancaster County attractions and the PA Turnpike. Check in was easy. The office was clean and the staff was helpful. There are a lot of sites, with permanent sites mixed in. They have a really great pool and a good ice cream service. The down side to the park is the need to pick your site when you arrive. We toured most of the park finding nice sites that then turned out to have electric meters (permanent sites) and OK sites that were a little trickier to get into. We settled in D16, near the bath house. The site was roomy and combined gravel and grass. Only issue, and it was the case with most of the sites was it was not level enough. Rather than go to Lowes for cinder blocks we left the rear stabalizers up. Water pressure was good, and power never dropped of dimmed. There is a cabin area called Renaissance Ridge that we should have explored. It is a quieter area, has much more level sites mixed in with the cabins and a cool Yellow Submarine style play area for the kids. It is not far from the pool and facilities. The bathhouse was nice and clean. Plenty of hot water. We would stay again, in the Renaissance Ridge area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
We came a day early but called ahead. There are no signs pointing you in the right direction when entering. The young woman that answered the intercom simply said to go to the trading post. Once there, she had no paperwork for us. Told us to go to the managers office, that she was closing. Up the hill to see the manager. A little disorganized but advised us to go pick out our spot , get set up, and let the ranger know. Sites are not very level, some being so that our fifth wheel would not fit. Not practical to drop it, pick a site, then go back to get it. Finally picked one, went to tell the ranger, but he wasn't there. There are cable hook ups at the sites but no cable. There is no wi-fi unless you pay through the provider. At $43 per night, there should be better service. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$40
This campground is OK. It has a few nice campsites. The sites are mostly wooded and are gravel. I am not sure why other reviews don't mention this more, but this campground is very close to some sort of gun range. The shooting is loud and goes on for several hours everyday we've been here. I don't know how anyone relaxes with this constant noise. It goes on to about sunset. They have paid internet that I haven't tried. The Verizon cell modem coverage is awesome! Other than that, the campground is getting a bit run down, the adult center is getting full of junk, the game room is nasty, the store is nice, bath house I checked out was pretty run down. The roads in certain loops are very narrow and somewhat difficult to navigate. Mini golf is very nice. This appears to have been a nice place at some point. If it wasn't the only one available near the Hershey RV show I would leave, but only because of the guns noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
We belong to Thousand Trails so we stayed for nothing. Most sites are not level, some are VERY unlevel. You have to find your own site so you leave your rig and drive around till you find something you like. A number of seasonal folks and they seemed to have the sites where you got satellite reception. Laundry was clean, pool was busy over Memorial Day weekend and the campground was packed. The staff was helpful and the manager helped us find a spot. We probably will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$40
This is a very wooded and hilly campground. Staff was nice when checking in. You pick your own site so get there early. We didn't have a problem because it was off peak time, but I can imagine in the summer could be a problem. We used this as a home base to go to the Ren Faire which is very close. Pool was closed, but the kids played mini golf. They have equipment you can use for free such as basketballs etc. A few activities were planned such as bingo and an auction. We had a nice time. The Amish come on Sat. morning to sell baked goods, that was nice. All of the food we bought was so good!! It was not very crowded while we were here and very quiet at night. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
Stayed here Memorial Day weekend. The staff was very friendly and seemed to know what they were doing. There were plenty of fun events going on. Lots of activities at no cost: 2 bands, bingo, crafts, hay ride, Men's beauty pageant, breakfast events and more. This is why we did not rate it lower. The pool was very small. Numerous sites were extremely unlevel, one class A's front wheels were at least 2 feet off the ground. We were in section E, a very quiet area. Fortunately for us our section was the only one who had water on Sunday. Also, sewage problems, we were barely able to empty tanks because of trickling effect. Internet was only available in the store and adult lounge, was out Sunday due to campground issues, not the internet provider. Jungle Gym in our section was not taken care of, weeds, mud inside and somebody's clothing. Adult lounge's projection TV was old and needed new charge or something, generally I was the only one in there because of the Internet. Most of the buildings looked as if they've been let go. Numerous campers told us usually nobody comes to this campground and they've never had this many people here. There were two tiny sites left in our section. Everyone we ran into was complaining about their sites and lack of upkeep at this campground. As for the gun sounds, we heard them a few times, but no big deal but we were the farthest away. As a note, you must pick your own site so arrive early and have somebody stay at the spot you picked so somebody doesn't take it. We will not be returning: if this is what Outdoor World has to offer, we won't be signing up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$1
We arrived here on 6/21/2009 and found the campground to be gated. A key pad is there to enter the code to open the gate. Very nice. We came here as an Outdoor World member so there was no charge for our visit. The staff checking us in couldn’t have been nicer. The roads are paved through most of the park. The sites are gravel and we found a fairly level site. The B section all have 50 amp. As for satellite reception, there are very few sites here that can get satellite. We were in site B23 and were able to use the rooftop dish. There are a couple of other sites in the B section that might be good for satellite. You might need a tripod dish at other sites. Check with the staff for other areas, They mentioned the upper F section might be good too. The Pool is a bit small but adequate. It is in very good condition with plenty of tables and umbrellas. The registration office has camping supplies and some food. It has a grill there too I think they use on the weekends. There is a putt putt course that is free. A nice member adult lounge. Badminton, horse shoes, basketball court, jungle gym areas and shuffle board. Plenty of stuff to do here. There are planned activities on the weekend that are fun for all. During the week there weren’t too many campers, but the weekends get busy. Those are the positive things. There really is only one negative. Right next door there is some kind of shooting range. No bullets entered the campground or anything like that. But, they start shooting in the early afternoon and don’t stop until dark. Not just a shot or 2 once in a while. A constant barrage the whole time they are there. It sounds like a little war zone. It’s that annoying to us that we decided not to come back here again. It’s too bad because it’s a nice place other then that. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com