223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Walter Johnson Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (620) 252-6100
CGID10238

Walter Johnson Park

Camp Information
Sites
118
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$8



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   5   4   5   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$8
I found this to be a very good place to stay. Huge sites that are easy to get into and out of. The grounds were clean and level. The WiFi is excellent and reasonably priced, $2.50 a day or $5 a week. Plenty of room, with picnic tables at each site. Very close to grocery and gas as well as other stores. I honestly can find nothing bad to say about staying here other than the lack of sewer hookups. If you need to do your laundry, you have to drive to the west side of town, as that is the closest laundromat. First come first served with an easy self pay box. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$8
I moved here mid-season while working at Amazon. Walter Johnson is more like a "park" setting with large trees, grassy areas and squirrels running all over the place. It's actually in town and convenient to everything, including Walmart. I had mail forwarded to the City Activities Center which was on the park grounds and they always left a note on my door telling me I had mail. The park staff was very friendly and helpful. This park would have rated 5 stars, but there are no sewer hookups. I found that to be a very minor problem compared to issues at another park in the area. I highly recommend Walter Johnson Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$8
Great place to stop for the night. Not a weekend destination. Good water pressure, electric, plenty of level sites. Easy self-registration; only $8.00 a night. Can't beat that! The town also has Wi-Fi that costs $2.50 for 24 hours use. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$8
Good place for a one night stand and the price is right. Other reviews talk about it being muddy, but I came during the draught so water wasn't a problem. Local traffic and railroad nearby, but it didn't seem bad at night, plus I wear earplugs when I sleep. No picnic tables and only a few sites provided any shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$8
I love this park for the price, and the staff are really friendly. I was here last year, and have returned for a second year. The pecan trees don't seem to have pecans this year. Not sure if that is an every other year event, or why there are no pecans dropping, but so far there aren't. I also parked on the opposite end of the row this year, because the site I had near the stock yard buildings last year flooded so badly. It's easy to tell that this space has been muddy, but right now it is dry. The flies are still bad, but also not as bad as last year. The Wi-Fi is $40.00 per month this year. Cell and air card coverage for Verizon is excellent here, however. I don't know about other providers. Sadly, even though the city now has an animal control officer, this year the wild dog problem in this park seems to be even worse than last year. Last year there was one stray dog that hung around because somebody kept feeding it. The other night, my dog and I were accosted by a pack of 6 wild dogs while I was walking him on leash around the park. No one was injured. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$8
These sites floods with very little rainfall. The closer you are to the fairgrounds buildings, the more water seems to accumulate on the sites, and directly in front of your RV door, no matter what. Washrooms and showers are locked unless you ask the care taker nicely. Only if there is a city event, or when "enough" seasonal workampers check in, then they will be unlocked all the time. Even then, you might have to beg the staff at City Hall to get the water heater turned on, and the showers are the 5 second type that shut themselves off when you have soap in your eyes. I have never seen so many flies in all my life. I think they grow them as a crop here. Of course, this is also a fairgrounds, so that may be why. Other than that, it really is a pretty decent place to park. If you want shade, park under the pecan trees. If you don't want to be under trees, there are plenty of bare spots to park. Note: Pecan trees do drop pecans. Birds in pecan trees drop something else. Lots of wide open space to walk and play with dogs. Playground for kids. It is also tent friendly. This side of the park does NOT have sewer hookups. For that you want to go around the block to the other side of the park. But there is a dump station in front of the showers, and there is also a local honey wagon guy you can call for $15.00. Enjoy your stay. It's not the worst place in the world to park, and close easy access to downtown and eateries, or up the road just a minute to Wal-Mart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$8
Choice of many long, level, graveled spaces in sun or shade. Great value. The advertisement we read said showers, but they were locked all the time. Park is hard to find due to no signage. Turn at the locomotive to enter park. Bring plenty of insect repellent. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$8
Hidden semi-precious jewel in Kansas for the price. Very nice RV park on the edge of a larger municipal park. Large shade trees, excellent water and while most of the sites have 30 amp service a few have 50 amp service but they are not marked. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com