221698 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Massac State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (618) 524-4712
CGID1025

Fort Massac State Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   5   8   8   2   7   6   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
This is a lovely park with lots of trees and grass. It is very spacious and quiet. Only hookup is electric. Water is available as is a dump station. We found a large site with 50 amps that was fairly level and had a southern sky exposure for our satellite antenna. Camp host friendly and helpful. Location along the Ohio is a plus. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Restrooms currently have a new water heater, which they did not have 2 years ago. If you are going to use the showers, take a lawn chair with you to put your clothes on, as there are no benches or hooks in the shower area. Due to a flood at the campground, new power pedestals have been installed at some camp sites. The campground hosts are also new, very friendly and are out and about more often than the previous host. We were here for the Superman celebration in Metropolis and enjoyed our stay. No problems with the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
February is the off season for this campground. We were the only campers in the entire campground. Sites were level and good sized but all were out in the open with little privacy. Site was a back-in, and we were able to keep the pick-up hooked up for the night. We used this as a stopover on our way south for the winter. The visitors center was open so we spent some time in there. We also visited the fort which was interesting. There was no charge for touring the fort. Also no entrance fee for the state park, so the price for camping was reasonable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
I am so amazed at what people consider good parks around here. When I see the other reviews I have to shake my head. Typical of Illinois State Parks is no water at sites but electric is available. No privacy here, no shade trees, people driving through till late hours who are NOT campers. Ant problem with sort of lax hosts at our site. They charge an extra $5 to use dump station. Camp road next to some sites where kids drive through and make lots of noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
My wife and I, daughter and two grandson stayed and enjoyed this area. There were plenty of shade trees. Whole park was mowed. We had no problems with the electrical hookup as previously reported. We have stayed at Fort Massac several times in the past but not recently. All stays here were very enjoyable. The one thing that the park could use, is an update to the bath and shower rooms. They were clean but getting old. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
This is the first time my wife and I have stayed here. The sites were mowed and the trails were maintained. The showers and restrooms did not have hot water available while we were here. Carried a roll of our TP with us to the restroom (was not always stocked). The campground host had a full time job in Metropolis, so he was only available in the late afternoon and evening. Campground had wood for sale, but it was lying on the ground, rotten and being sold by the piece (a "leave your money in the box" arrangement). I would recommend buying your campfire wood in Metropolis. Most stores sell it. Overall: we were very disappointed in this park. Not sure if we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
The State of Illinois should be ashamed for letting this park get in the shape it is. The grass was 10" high, the doors in the bathroom will not close and no TP to be had. Was told when we complained about the condition of the park that they only have one employ to take care of everything in the park. Said the State was broke. Will stay in Paducah the next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$20
Well shaded big level sites. Friendly helpfully people. They have a reenactment at the Fort every Oct. We arrived the night the reenactment was breaking up making it hard to get in the campground. If you can avoid the reenactment weekend or arrive well before the reenactment, this is a nice park. We rated this way because there are only 5 50amp sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Not a place I want to camp in again. Had to change sites 2 times because of problems with electric. Bathhouse was not clean. Camp host unfriendly and unwelcoming. The only redeeming feature was the Fort was within walking distance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Where do I begin? No reservations allowed. Only 5 sites with 50 amp. No electrical hookups would work on 30 amp using the 50-30 adaptor. The less than helpful "park host" said it was a problem with OUR rig!!! NOT. The park trash cans were full to overflowing. The grass was not mowed. The "park host" told my husband that the sites had GFI plugs and that they had lots of problems with breakers tripping. So beware if you have pets in your RV and leave them for any length of time in the summer heat. Will NOT attempt to stay here again. We saw two other motorhomes leaving the park on Saturday. They came to the (another) park where we stayed, and stated they had the same problems. These were brand new rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$20
Very large state park with many picnic areas, and a replica of a fort visited by Lewis & Clark. Quiet and peaceful, lots of squirrels. Water available but not at sites. Good dump station. We would go there again. Metropolis promotes tourism as home of Superman. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
Well-kept park on the Ohio River. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
Such a very peaceful relaxing place, - lots of trees, park like setting, spacious sites. We camped here on a lovely weekend in September and yet there were lots of spaces available. Easy walking distance to the river and the fort but no walking trails along the river, - some trails in the woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$11
We have stayed at this park several times a year for the last several years. The sites are huge, lots of space between camp sites both rear and both sides. You can walk to the Ohio River, Fort Massac site, or to Big John's grocery store. The staff lean over backwards to help everyone. Very relaxing, restful campground for a day or a week or more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2004
$15
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$11
The staff will go out of their way to help you. They are teriffic people! A nice place to stay if you have transportation. No car rentals nearby. The park is clean and offers nice hiking trails. A nice place if you you want to enjoy nature, but full service it is not! We have stayed there three years in a row while passing through the area. They do have a good dump site with water, so you can drain and top off before leaving. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com