214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Jacob Lake Campground - USFS was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (928) 569-2333
CGID10269

Jacob Lake Campground - USFS

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
May 2013
Latest Rate
$9



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   9   9   9   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$9
Great place to park a big motorhome and drive a tow vehicle to the North Rim, as long as you realize there are no hookups or dump station. Sites are big. Many are OK for satellite. Verizon data service is good. We loved it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$14
Very basic place to stay but its usually in a good position as we head north from Phoenix & we like to avoid Page. Plus, its right across the street form the Jacob Lake store where you can view some wonderful Native American weaving & other goods as well as get the best milkshake you've had in a long time. Vault toilets were clean, dirt/gravel roads & fairly level sites. Surrounded by pine forest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$9
This is a convenient campground en-route to the North Rim Grand Canyon. There is drinking water available, but no fill up for rvs, so bring your own. The Verizon cell phone worked great here. It is a pretty forested area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$9
Large, 2 loop NFS campground, just off the main highway, with sites for all types and sizes of camping rigs, from tents to motor mansions. IMO, better than private park just down the road as sites are bigger, wider and more space between. Just that there are no hook ups. The rate reflects Access Pass rate. When we arrived on a Sunday afternoon in August, there was no one here but the friendly camp host. Good verizon air card, no AT&T cell at all, DirectTV was good through the trees. Wish there was a dump site though, but water spigots are at each bathroom, and bathrooms (pit toilets) were clean and lighted at night. There is some road noise from the main highway located next to the campground and some light spills into the South loop from the gas station complex located across highway from campground, so you're not totally in the dark at night here. We definitely would stay here again if we were coming this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$9
Price reflects use of access pass. I second everything the previous poster said, it's a great place to camp if you can live without hook-ups. This is an especially good choice if you have a toad, rather than drive the extra 44 miles each way in the RV to stay in a campgrounds that are more expensive and hard to maneuver in at the North Rim park, stay here and drive the car in. The road's a lot more fun and way cheaper driving a car instead of your whole rig. And the North Rim campground only allows generators 4 hours a day; this park let's you run it all day except from 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
This is an awesome campground if you don't mind dry camping! Numerous big roomy sites - most with good shade. The sites are graveled and very clean. There are sites of various size and shape to suite everything from a tent to a camper van to a fifth wheel to a large motor home. You can run your generator except for quite hours (10:00 pm to 7:00 am). I checked out one of the restrooms (chemical toilets) and it was very clean. There is a water spigot outside each toilet building but is it not threaded and so you cannot attach a hose. I was able to use my Verizon cell phone and broadband modem. There is a gas station and cafe a few yards down and across the street. The Grand Canyon North Rim entrance is a beautiful 40 mile drive. I would give this campground a "10" except to dump and/or top up your fresh water, you need to visit the private campground about 4 miles away. Not sure what they charge because we did not have to do either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$17
Park has widely spaced sites, and is convenient to explore North Rim of Grand Canyon. Limited water is available (all trucked in). There is a nice restaurant/bakery across the road. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$9
This is a nice USFS campground; dry camping only. The only amenity is a picnic table and fire ring. There is no dump station, but then most USFS campgrounds lack them. It’s laid out well with large, wide, gravel sites. They are all level. The campground appears to have been designed around the tall pine trees which did sacrifice a bit of shade but added to the aesthetic quality. There are 50 plus campsites, but the recreation.gov website doesn’t list any of them and you can’t make reservations. Rating based on like dry camping parks. Rate reflects Interagency Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$8
This a nice NFS park in a nice high altitude (cool) location. Sites are not very level and there are not as many trees as there should be, but other than that it is a good place to camp out. The camp host are friendly and helpful. Not a bad place to boon dock on your way to see the canyon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$9
This National Forest Service campground is at 7,920 feet elevation on the Kaibab plateau 33 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon. It offers two loops of dry camping only, no hookups, directly accessible from Route 89A. It is about one mile from Jacob lake itself. At the adjacent road junction are a gas station, shop with limited groceries and a restaurant at the Jacob Lake Inn. The rate quoted is the senior passport rate;otherwise the base fee is $17/night. The campground was remodeled two years ago and is in excellent condition with tables, fore rings and gravel pads. It is a bit dusty however. The vault toilets were as clean as any we ever saw which admittedly is not a high bar to jump. Hosts were quite visible and friendly and the practice is to simply find a site and settle in ans wait for the host to come by, sign you up and collect the fee. Not too much road noise. Some weekend informational programs and gorgeous pine forests make this a great spot for an over-nighter or longer visit. However, there is no dump station and the nearby commercial RV park no longer permits dumps by Forest service campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com