220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Country RV Resort and Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 16 user reviews. Phone: (707) 488-2181
CGID10276

Elk Country RV Resort and Campground

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   7   6   4   10   5   5   6   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
This is the most difficult to review RV Park I have run across in over six years of travel. It is by no means a "resort" but staying here has some unique benefits. First the good...yes their are elk present either actually in the park itself or very nearby. There is a pasture full of trail horses adjacent to the park. This provided great entertainment for the grandkids. Roads within the park are mostly gravel and easy to navigate with any size rig. Sites are large and the amount of space between them provides a degree of privacy. Now the not so good...on the one day I visited them, the bathrooms were filthy. Sites are old gravel that needs to be renewed. This made leveling more of a challenge than it needed to be. Many long term residents who seemed to be friendly but some of the rigs were dilapidated at best. Price was high compared to similar parks but this may be the norm for this high cost area. I believe the park has a new owner. With a lot of hard work this park can become a destination but right now it has a way to go. Unless improvements are made I would probably look for a different park in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
Gave it a 7 because it was a field with Elk droppings everywhere. That being said I actually picked it because of the possibility of being able to see Elk right up against my RV. Back in 2006 I was passing through here and spotted around 50 Elk in the campground. I said then that if I ever had the chance I would stay here, so I did. Elk didn't come in the night we were there but I did spot 5 across the highway right before dark. Wi-Fi worked and the restrooms were very clean. Very helpful people at check-in and the things they sold out of their small grocery was very reasonably priced considering how far we were from town. Far enough from the highway that noise was not an issue. Also we were led to our site so finding it was easy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This park has two different areas; one in a heavily wooded area and one in a large field. Since the weather was cool we stayed in the field. The pull through sites are overgrown gravel, long, and generally level. The services and Wi-Fi worked well and the Elk Herd that visits during the early morning is large and very interesting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This RV park is very rustic and has a western feel. There is horse pasture backing part of the property and horses will greet you at the fence line if you have a treat for them. There is a herd of wild Elk that come into the campground daily, which is quite amazing. There is a little bit of elk droppings, "so watch your step!" The campground has seen better days but is good for an overnight stop. The manager bakes the best blackberry pie I have ever eaten, the pie is worth the stop! They are extremely friendly and helpful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$27
Poorly maintained. Pads covered with grass. Animal waste everywhere. No one in the office during our 24 hours in the park. Sewer connection was so far back that I waited till we left, then moved the trailer further back to connect and dump. We left money in an envelope in a simple box at the door. Anyone could have reached in the slot to take it. Not our problem. Long time campers said that the park was either in bankruptcy or nearly so. On a positive note, it's a nice setting, with elk roaming around, fog rolling in from the ocean. Dry Lagoon State Park was a one mile walk, starting just across the road. Sites were wide, though no shrubbery or trees separated the sites. Note that earlier reviewers said they take Passport America. But PA does not list them now. $27 was too high for this park. I would pass this one by in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
Park has nice grassy areas to park on, very clean camping areas with picnic table and quiet. It's also close to the beach access. The girls in the office are very nice and funny. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
We paid $38 to park our 5th wheel for the night. When we hooked up, we discovered there was no cable tv or wifi, only electric, sewer, and water. The site was a large pull-through but was just grass, no trees or separation between sites, and we needed to use leveling blocks. The people in the office were very nice and friendly. The store is not well-stocked. I needed a box of sugar and a gallon of drinking water. They didn't have either. We will try another park next time we go that way. I wouldn't recommend this one. It's too expensive for what you get. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$27
From the road the park looked nice but once we got in, it was OK. the grass needed mowing badly but they were slowly working on it with a bush hog mower. In talking with some people that were members of the park, they understood the park was having monetary problems and would possibly be closing. The back part where the shade trees are, was closed and this is where the members were suppose to be parked but they were in the open like we were. The plus to the park is there is a herd of elk that come through the park at dusk and stay the night. It was neat to have them all around. Only watch where you walk since the grass was not mowed. The store is not well stocked but if they are on the brink of closure, that could be understood. This could be a very nice place if kept up. The people were very friendly. The restrooms were closed so if you needed them, sorry. Thank goodness we are fully contained and did not. Not really sure on actual number of sites since some were closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
RPI rate. Resident herd on Elk is fascinating. Canoeing on lagoons. Verizon available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
The park is up for sale and it shows. Maintenance has stopped and the place is going down hill. I have a surge protector that cuts off the AC power to my coach if the voltage is high or low. The voltage at our site, and I assume all other sites, was 133+ volts. My surge protector constantly cut off and on for the four days I was there. It was a real pain. The wifi was down the entire time we were there. The place has a lot of potential, but uninspired management. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$26
As we take this 10000 mile journey, I've learned 2 things about my Passport America membership, 1) it only takes 1 night to pay for it (thank God,) and 2) many of the campgrounds that are PA sites NEED it to compensate for their complete lack of desirability. This campground is no exception. They say the normal rate is like $40 so you get full hookups for $20. When we were there, it was mostly empty. The park is dirty, sites are all grass and dirt, light poles are missing or have burnt out bulbs and are covered with cobwebs. You have to have a key for the bathrooms/showers, which means if you're leaving early the next day, you either shower in the coach or give up your $5 key deposit. This worked for us basically for the overnighter we were there, but I wouldn't recommend it at all. If you drive up the coast a bit closer to the Redwoods area, there are many more parks in this price range that looked much nicer from the road. One positive, don't miss the Palm Cafe in Orick, it was great diner food, and the folks were great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$12
Very nice RV park. We stayed in the Stone Lagoon portion of the complex. Would not want to stay in the Redwood Trails area as it is completely covered with trees and very dark and damp. Stone Lagoon portion is out in the open and very nice. Elk roam throughout the facility. WiFi available at the "barn" and is user friendly. Would stay here again with our RPI membership. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
This is a Passport America park, and the above rate reflects that. I believe they were charging $25 to non-Passport folks. DO NOT arrive here after dark, or if you do, make sure to check things out on foot before driving your rig down a dead end road, as we did. Turns out that the road is marked with a small sign with non-reflective paint. Anyway, the meadow is definitely a safer and easier place to park at night, though it is not particularly level. The whole place is very poorly lit, though this is not an issue if you go in the summer or arrive earlier. The office was closed when we got there (5:30), and there were no maps. WiFi works, though the signal is weak and did not reach to our coach. The Elk were a definite plus to us. We'd stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$10
We've camped here twice in our 40' big rig. It's a wonderful spot because of the resident Roosevelt elk herd that feeds and often sleeps in the meadows nearby. On our Sept. 2007 visit, the herd walked right through the motorhome section and many of them posed for photos. Even though the park is just off Hwy 101, we've found it to be quiet with friendly management. Great spot for wildlife; sites are in a large meadow. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This is a nice park in the redwoods. Nice staff. Resident Roosevelt elk herd to take pictures of. Very green and a nice walk over to the beach. We will stay here again. Plenty of room for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$8
We reserved 7 days here and only stayed 1. The site was covered with large dropping from the elk. The park is nothing more than an uneven grass field, no trees, with a few gravel roads. There was no cable TV. It was right next to the highway. We were very disappointed and will not stay here again. The rate was based on Coast to Coast membership. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com