221660 User submitted reviews online!!
Pawnee State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (402) 796-2362
CGID10296

Pawnee State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
199
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   7   7   8   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$25
The rate reflects a $20 per night camping fee for electrical hookup and $5 per night entrance fee into Nebraska State Parks. The first issue is getting to the park. Most GPS units will take you down either dirt or non-existent roads. You want to take NW 84th Street off of Route 6. Follow the, very small, signs to the campground, called Lakeview Campground. There are electrical hookup sites and dry camping sites. There is no water at the sites, but there is a fill station as you enter the electrical hook-up sites area. Most of the electrical sites can be reserved but there are a few that are first-come. The sites are pleasant and reasonably well separated but there is little vegetation for privacy. We were there just before Memorial Day and, even though there were many posted rules against; many folks came out and put something into a site to “reserve” it. There are camp hosts, but they are really not a presence in the campground. There are many things to do in Lincoln. We would definitely stay here again for an extended time. We would make reservations as the reservation sites are a little nicer and have 50 amp service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$23
The rate reflects $18 camping fee for a 30 amp electric site plus $5 for the daily use fee. This is a nice, large Nebraska State Park about 10 miles outside of Lincoln. Even though it is close to Lincoln, it has a very rural feel. It is a bit difficult to get to from Interstate 80. Do not blindly follow your GPS or you will end up on gravel roads. Do study a map. Like most Nebraska state parks, the signs are confusing. We were there off-season so had no problem finding a site in the electric hook-up area. The sites are well separated, but there is little vegetation for privacy; however, the park is very nicely landscaped. Most sites do not have views of the lake. We were able to find a site with satellite reception, but many would have trees blocking the sky. There is fresh water fill as you enter the campground. The dump station is not in the campground, but is south of the campground near Park Headquarters. Our Verizon phone had good reception and 4G data. There are hiking trials in the park. Overall this was a very nice park and we would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
This is a very nice park. There is only electricity at each site, no water or sewer. There are 30-AMP and 50-AMP sites. There is access to water to fill your tank near the entrance and there are also water faucets scattered throughout the park every 5-6 sites. It is a very clean and well cared for state park. It as located within walking distance of a nice lake. All sites are paved and level. They are well spaced out with lots of grass and trees and also each site has a nice picnic table. We would definitely stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
Even though the park was not filled with campers, finding a spot was horribly frustrating. About 90% of the camp sites were identified as available for reservations; so we could camp at those spots for one night. Reservations had to be made 3 days in advance. Park staff refused to tell us which spots were reserved for the second night we'd be here even though they had to have known. It clearly was a system to maximize their profits due to the $10 reservation fee. This was a horrible beginning to our stay here. It turned out to be a nice quiet place to camp with no traffic or trains. In addition there was good walking available. The bathrooms were very acceptable. We'd probably camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$17
For a state park, excellent! Paved roads in great shape, and paved campsite pads very level: easy to get 35' MH around in. Sites were very large and lots of mature trees/bushes offered privacy: didn't feel like folks walking past were looking right in your site. Bathrooms clean but a bit dated: showers were the "push button for a short period of water, but can't adjust temperature" type. Also, the showerhouse didn't have much room for changing, etc. Playground didn't have much for children, but for as large as the sites were, the kids had plenty of room to play in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
We stayed at the Lakeview Campground two nights while visiting Lincoln. This is a quiet, clean and spacious campground. No highway noise. Interior roads and sites are paved. There is plenty of space between sites. Grass is green, thick and mowed. Some picnic tables are on cement pads. There are 67 sites with electricity. Sites 39-52 and 71-73 have 50 amp service, others have 30 amp service. Potable water is available at the campground entrance and at the dump station located at the Pawnee SRA headquarters about a mile away. This campground is near a lake. The park ranger told us the campground fills up on Nebraska football weekends. We rated this campground compared to other state parks having limited facilities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
Excellent state park with trees and grass galore. The sites are electric only so do not forget to fill your fresh water tank on the way in (don't ask). The lake has a great beach. We had a kayak with us so the kids had a great time in the water. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$17
We live in the area and this is our favorite park for a weekender by a long way. Pretty lake, lots of space between sites, nice hikes (very important to us), water sports available on the lake. This kind of place will dispel the notion that Nebraska is just flat farm fields. In fact, Nebraska has a large amount of river miles and there are lots of good campgrounds because of it. Negative: the lake has blue-green algae problems in hot weather so check in if water sports are your thing. Like all Nebraska state parks, electric only. Non-electric sites are available for $12 for self-contained rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com