220520 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Tahoe KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (530) 577-3693
CGID10307

Lake Tahoe KOA

Camp Information
Sites
58
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$65



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   5   2   7   8   9   2   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
The staff was extremely friendly and the park is close to South Lake Tahoe. The campground is heavily wooded and it's a little tight to maneuver. The camp store is very nice and has a lot of items, including snacks and drinks. The only real negative is the proximity to the highway, which is right next to the campground (Highway 50). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$65
Stay if you can live with a little road and flowing creek noise, some slightly tight sites with poor cable and weird Wi-Fi but also great people, beautiful setting, nice clean pool, restrooms and showers. Lots of primitive tent sights right on Echo Creek. Don't come if you expect the Hyatt Regency. Leave room for us! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
This is an old camp with small sites, very uneven, poor Wi-Fi at best, not big rig friendly in a pretty wooded setting by a stream. The managers are very nice, but it is 8 miles from Lake Tahoe. At this absurdly high price, this KOA is a 5 at best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$65
Would not come back. Horrible night sleep - this park is right next to Hwy 50 and the park management has no problem charging $65 for a space right next to busy highway with traffic rolling through all night long. Even with nicer spot available, we were given noisy, uneven site. No phone reception to boot. Would have preferred to have taken the extra 5 miles down Hwy 50 to another park in the area that looked quieter. Very disappointed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$75
Friendly helpful staff, who make their guests feel welcome. Great location near South Lake Tahoe and activities. Shady sites with huge trees include BBQ, fire pit, and table. Sites are close together, but campers are polite about being quiet. Well equipped store. Clean place. Expensive. Their rates go up quite a bit on a holiday weekend. Free wi-fi is limited to one hour a day. Extra time must be purchased and it is extremely slow. No 50 amp sites. Laundry is fine. Dryers are not very efficient. Road noise at night. With the stream and forest in the rear of the facility, it's got a nice forest feel. The sign is a little bit back from the road and we missed it and had to double back. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$90
This is a great park and close to everything Lake Tahoe has to offer. Our favorite for the family is to drive to Camp Richardson Beach, great water play for the kids, great food and bar on beach and live bands on the weekends. Ten minutes max to this beach from the KOA. I noted the in town parks were nice enough but crowded. The owners of this park and staff are all friendly, helpful and just nice people. The sites are not typical of most KOA as they offer the real feel of camping. We stayed in our trailer which is 30+ feet long and had no problem navigating the park or spot. I would recommend calling ahead versus booking on line if you have a huge rig as they will make sure of the fit. I watched as staff even helped people back in. The pool is not big but met the needs of my four kids plus one friend. The park has a great feel and away form the hustle and bustle at night. Some road noise but minimal at night. You can hear the creek more than anything. Hookups were above average, WI-FI cost money and is not super fast but will suit your needs. As with all campground stores the cost of items is high but in a pinch they have what you need. Laundry room is adequate, dryers not super great. The nice part about this park is the staff actually make you feel welcome. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$70
Expensive campground, but definitely worth it! Quiet and peaceful, very clean. Close to Lake Tahoe. Beautiful stone fire pits and sounds of the rushing river. Lots of quaint campsites and nice pool area. Large, spacious campsites compared to most KOA's. Wi-Fi worked well, but was not free. Staff was very friendly. Would definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2009
$49
My intent was to stay at this campground based on web information. What became immediately apparent is that the campground is very poorly designed for large rigs. I missed the registration sign and got on a park road that was near impossible to navigate with my 38' rig and ended up scraping one of the many hazards, in my case a tree stump, followed by a very large rock. The mountain setting was nice, but I cannot recommend this park for anyone with a large rig. The staff offered no help navigating the very tight spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
This was our first experience "fifth-wheeling" across state lines. This campground was a pleasant surprise--very well treed near a stream that really made you feel like you were in the woods. Quite busy when we were there in August, but park handled the crowds well. We camped with 2 dogs and the manager gave us a recommendation for a dog beach at the south end of Lake Tahoe. It was beautiful and the dogs loved the water. Would highly recommend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$71
I chose this park over several others because it seemed cheaper and nicer looking, but I was wrong. We arrived in the middle of a thunderstorm and after checking in they told us where our site was and no-one helped us park.The site was either a back-in or pull-through and after driving to it decided to go around the park and pull-in. This place has a WHOLE bunch of tight corners and several LARGE boulders to get past. I believe this is the tightest place I've ever been in. Finally got parked and the slides out. The front slide cleared the utilities by 6" and the rear cleared a two foot tree by 2". The tongue is 4" off the ground and the rear jacks are on 12" blocks and all the way down. It is dirty, dusty, the cable doesn't work properly (you have to plug in each TV separately. So we have cables running through the windows, and it was still snowy). Paid $71 basic fee per day, plus $5 per day for one extra person, plus $5 per day for our cockier puppy, plus $5 per day for cable, plus $10 for three days of Wi-Fi. I will say that most of the staff was friendly and the CG was full for the holiday weekend and was basically quiet, even with lots of kids. Also when we got back from the day, there was a note on the door that we were late check-out and to come to the office to take care of the extra day. Did that and discovered that they had only charged me three days DEPOSIT and not the whole four day stay and they weren't very nice about it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com