219034 User submitted reviews online!!
Kickapoo State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (217) 442-4915
CGID1031

Kickapoo State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
184
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   5   6   9   9   8   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$20
This was an overnight stop for us. We had a nice and level pull-through site. Good space around us, good electric, and some mature trees for shade. Nice not to have to disconnect the toad when overnighting. This is our 2nd time here and will continue to enjoy for our stops. Only drawback - several miles of narrow twisty 2 lane to get to the park. Lots of geese. My kids laughed when, looking at the goose droppings by the river, they realized the relevance of the name....Kick-a-poo! Bathrooms and showers were very clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
Stayed on fox loop site 89. The center sites on this loop are all pull thrus. 75 ft long and 75 feet to next site. Excellent loop and site. Still cold out so only one other camper in our loop. Would love to stay here again for longer. Friendly campground host came around and collected our money. Very clean park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
We stayed in one of their two pull throughs, and the site was very nice, large and near the bathroom. Lots of deer in area. However the bathrooms were not clean, so that is why I give it a 5. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
We did not have a good experience at this campground. The first encounter was with the park attendant. She would not let us pick our own sight but assigned a site. When we later tried to change the site, he acted very put out that we would ask and basically refused to change the site. That set a very negative tone which was made further negative when our neighbor moved in and listened to the radio very loud all afternoon. Finally, there is a lot of interstate traffic noise and they have a very bright streetlight by the restroom. So, if you are looking for peace and quiet, we could not recommend this park. I suppose, it is better than a Wal-Mart parking lot to spend the night, but not a lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$16
We have stayed in this park on 4 different times and enjoy it more each time. Plenty of deer and turkey throughout the park, trails and small lakes all over. It is tucked away so follow the map and not the GPS because a GPS may take you to the local race track and not the campground. The park has several pull throughs. We will stay in this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
After reading the last reviews of this park we almost decided not to go because of the 'go cart racing noise until 1 am'. Boy am I glad we went. It is a beautiful park with NO go cart or any other sounds to bother you. We camped with our group of four 30 to 36 foot fifth wheels and had a good time in spite of the high temperatures and humidity. We had lunch at the cafe and it was very good. We definitely will be going back next year and plan on taking advantage of the canoe rentals if its not so darn hot. A couple of FYI's. The park has started taking reservations through ReserveAmerica since June 2010, and their sites maps list 30 and 40 foot long sites. Actually most of the sites can handle over 40 foot RVs with slide outs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Beautiful State Park, pull through sites are long and have nice grassy areas. Park is very quiet during the week, gets a little full on weekend, but by Sunday night most go home. Good bike riding, trails, fishing. Has a nice restaurant by the water front and local bands Friday and Saturday night during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$8
I grew up camping here, so any trip to Kickapoo I have, may be biased! The outhouses are truly rustic, prepare yourself! There is a cafe that serves during the weekend, along with canoe/tubing trips you can take down the river. We took a trip down the river for 30 bucks, it was the eight hour tour, but could easily go for fifteen hours! They don't care how long you take down the river, as long as you get their canoes back before close. The sites are a bit cramped, and you will hear I-74 traffic, along with the go-carts til about 1am Fridays and Saturdays, but just like any site you stay at, folks are very respectable! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$20
Large pull through sites in the woods with plenty of room between sites. The bath houses were spotless, even though the park was fairly full. There is no reservation system and the Friday and Saturday night racetrack noise is the only detractor from the park. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$25
We arrived at the site after dusk. We were told on the phone to just find a site park and pay in the morning. (Pretty traditional for state parks) We arrived and could NOT find any posted map of the campground. Since it was dark and there was a sign that said all electric sites full, we assumed we should just go to the non-electric sites. We did and woke up the next morning finding ourselves in the TENT only area. The areas are NOT well marked for after dark arrival. (This was not our plan but traffic caused it.) The campground host was pleasant about our mishap and said he doesnt post a map because people shouldnt come after he has gone to bed. The park *SEEMED* nice from what we did see. We stayed here on night just passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
We had a wonderful time at Kickapoo State Park. It is located very close to Kickapoo Landing, where they have canoe, kayak, and tubing rentals for use on the Vermilion River. While the river water was low, (as it usually is in mid summer) we still had a great time kayking the flat water. The prices are very reasonable for camping, as it is $15 for electric hook up, and $10 for primitive. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean, and the grounds are very well kept. It is a quiet and beautiful location to which we will definitely return! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
On our loop of the campground, the sites were spaced well apart. Almost all sites were back in the trees and quiet. There are multiple playgrounds at the campsite for children. Expect to see wildlife! We had a family of deer in our campsite each morning. We also had some raccoons at night. The only real complaint is that Friday nights are LOUD. There is a raceway in the area and you could hear the races until 1AM. The campgrounds have become a yearly destination for a family get together for my family, my parents, my brother & his wife, and sister. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$15
Very nice State Park and reasonably priced as well. A handful of pull through sites but the majority are back-in spaces. Wide gravel parking spaces with only minor leveling required. Some sites were grassy and had some shade, while others were almost full shade and had little grass. Restrooms and showers were clean when I checked for this review. You can hear I-74 depending on the wind direction, and you can also hear a local speedway on Friday nights during the racing season. We didn't find either of these to be a nuisance. From what I was told, this place fills up fast on the weekends during the warmer months so making reservations is highly recommended. Here is where this park falls short. Reservations can only be made in person or by snail mail. We mailed our reservation in and it was handled just fine, but considering today's technology this seemed to be a slow and inefficient way of doing it. I would have rated this park an 8 if I could have reserved on line or by phone. Maybe next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$10
This state park offers four campgrounds, two with electric at $15/night and two non-electric at $8-10/night. Most of the campsites were bunched together and rather open, but the overall beauty of the park, the proximity to the Middle Fork of the Little Vermilion and the numerous lakes and ponds make this state park near Danville a place to enjoy. We plan to return when we can spend at least 4 days camping, fishing and exploring. The park also offers equestrian trails, canoe/kayak rentals, a concession for trips down the river, SCUBA diving, and more. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2003
$11
This large, sprawling state park has something for everyone. There's fishing, canoeing, tubing, hiking, mountain biking, horseback riding and many shelters for picnics and family get-togethers. The campsites are for the most part nicely spaced. Some are in wooded areas and some are in more open area, but none appeared crowded. The pads are gravel, and there are 2 modern centrally located shower houses. There are also comfort stations in every campground loop. There was some road noise from I-74 which borders the southern area of the park, but it's not overly loud. All in all, it's a nice park, but bring bug spray in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com