214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Bow Valley Provincial Park - Bow Valley Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (403) 673-2163
CGID10343

Bow Valley Provincial Park - Bow Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
173
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   10   9   8   7   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Excellent 30 amp power. The water pressure was good. There are trains every so often, but they are not loud enough to bother me. The sites are close together, but still left a feeling of privacy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Very calm campground (we heard only the train but very far away). Fire pit. Very kind people at the desk. Store with lot of stuff. On the less good side : there is NO LAUNDRY in the campground and no sewer connection for the RV, so you need to go to the other RV campground which is about 10 minute drive (but too far to go there by foot). The sites are nice but the roads are very narrow which makes it a challenge to back into with larger units. Also a little bit too far to visit Banff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is our favorite park in Alberta. The sites are private, the playground is a great spot. There are several hiking trails in the campground and along the river. The showers are clean. The loops D & E are best to stay in for privacy / shade. There is a active amphitheater and children's program here during the week / on weekends. I highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Unfortunately, you must reserve to come here now. That is often difficult. The campground is right on the river. Some of the best tenting spots are river side. The setting is breathtaking! Located not far from Canmore and Banff. Sometimes there are weekend parties which is loud. The washrooms are clean and you must pay with tokens to use the showers. Often you line up. Go early. The hand dryers in the ladies washrooms never seem to work. Great spot with lots of great hiking trails and bike trails. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Very nice campground. Our site was furthest from the Bow River, but closest to the shower house and store. Sites are fairly close together but private enough. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
A nice campground with beautiful views of the mountains and lots of mature trees. The sites are nice but the roads are very narrow which makes it a challenge to back into with larger units. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$34
Although the campsites where very nice, we were disappointed in the washroom facilities or lack thereof. There is only one shower house with a total of 6 showers, 3 for women, 3 for men for the entire campground. While we were visiting the women's showers were down to 2 working and no attempt in the week we stayed to repair the broken one. Also disappointed that a provincial park would charge to shower. It was $2.00 for 5 minutes and this required tokens only sold at the park office. This got expensive with a family of 4 showering everyday. Lastly, flush toilets exist only at the front entrance of the campground, very far from the majority of sites, not within walking distance and there is only one outhouse located at the back of the campground. Staff were not very knowledgeable and misleading when we booked. There were 3 families, one of which was tenting and we were advised that the sites were suitable for ground tents: not so. Every site is covered in gravel and you were not allowed to place your tent in the grass. If your planning on touring Banff, this campground is quite far, at least 40 minutes depending on traffic. Sites were private and treed which we liked. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This is a nice park but the sites are small and the roads are somewhat difficult to navigate with bigger units. We have stayed here numerous times and will be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This was our second stay in the past three years. Aside from a lack of even 30 amp power and sewer, this place has us returning. The sites are treed and mature in a breathtaking Rocky Mountain setting. There are miles of paved pathways through the forest to walk or bike on. Park staff are very amiable and for the most part younger summer workers. We switched sites twice to get out of the wind and it was no problem at all. Ahh yes, the wind. I think the park is in some sort of wind tunnel coming off of the mountains and onto the prairies. The wind does seem to abate later on in the summer, but make sure you get yourself a site deep in the trees to avoid the brunt of it. The park is situated a half hour drive from Banff and all the touristy activities and money pits inherent to them. If you've never been to Banff it is worth the day trip. The best Sunday brunch we have ever had was at the Banff Springs Resort in Banff. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com