206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Old American Kampground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (509) 447-3663
CGID10352

Old American Kampground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$2



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   6   8   8   9   9   9   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$2
Rate reflects membership in KM resorts. Nice park not heavily used. We had a spot overlooking the river. Staff very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Rate reflects Good Sam discount. 50 amp is available but only at backin sites, not pull-throughs. Sites were rutted and hard to level. Cable TV worked well. Older park, OK for a night on the road. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$0
Mixed feelings. Old park so sites are narrow. Some slideouts touch neighbors' awnings. River view was nice, but arm's length to next rig not so much. Dog walk is drive to river, which is chained. Was not about to drag kayak back and forth to river. Management very nice. Stayed as ROD. Will not stay again simply because the sites are too close for our comfort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$1
This is a membership park, and, as members of the system, we were not charged a nightly fee. Wi-Fi is available, but not at all sites. I had to carry my laptop to the picnic table at the end of the road to get service. We have stayed here before and have always enjoyed this park. The staff is very friendly and the grounds clean and well maintained. Rest rooms are clean, though not very large. This park is at the edge of the city of Newport, so some stores and restaurants are within walking distance. We will stay there again this year and recommend it to anyone else who has access to it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
This is a great little park hidden along the Pend O'Reille River. The managers were very helpful, kind and friendly. The best spots are down on the river bank overlooking the Pend O'Reille. The morning sunrise is absolutely wonderful. Other sites in the park are on a hillside which gives everyone a different view of the surrounding area. This park is rather old and has gravel but with such a good crew working there you don't mind the dust. We will definitely stay again, hopefully for longer next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$1
Very nice park. Friendly staff, clean washrooms, within walking distance of downtown Newport, free Wi-Fi. We stayed under ROD and will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$2
We were here under Resorts of Distinction and thoroughly enjoyed the park and the area. Many sites have wooden decks with great views of the Pend Oreille River. Staff very friendly and helpful. We wanted to stay longer, but the holiday weekend prevented us doing so. We will stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
Our stay here was on an ROD reservation. The only extra cost was for cable TV ($1 per day). This is a very nice park in a great setting. It is VERY convenient to both Newport, WA and Oldtown, ID. In fact, we think the state line ran through the center of our 5th wheel. McDonalds and a Safeway (with diesel fuel) were within walking distance from the park (only a few hundred feet). We were assigned site 4 about 30 feet above and overlooking the Pend Oreille (pronounced "ponderay") River with tall pine trees between our unit and the river. The campground has river front access with a boat launch and docks. We used an inflatable kayak in the river and had little trouble paddling up stream. The host was very nice and accommodating. Newport is centrally located for day trips to some very scenic areas in northeast Washington, northern Idaho and British Columbia, Canada. Don't miss Priest Lake and Coeur d'Alene Lake both in Idaho about 30 to 40 miles away. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This is a nice park. Our space was up at the top in a bare "pie-shaped" area. With no other rigs near us it was great, but when full, the "pie-shaped" area had all the rig front ends almost touching and barely enough room to put down the awning. There are a lot of trees and access to a large river. We had some business in Spokane which is about an hour away. This park is OK for a short stay. We might stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
Love coming to Old American. Staff is friendly, great and helpful. Park is very clean and quiet. Always look forward to coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
This park has great sites along the river and is pet friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
An older, but nice campground. There is a River view from some sites. K&M, C2C, RPI, ROD etc park. The Wifi was weak at site, but we had good Verizon cell and air card reception. We had a 50 amp full hook up for $10 Resorts Park International rate. Sites are mostly back in, and a little tight. There is very nice staff in park. There is no noise from highway or town, and it is walking distance into town. It is a nice little town to check out. They have a hot tub, pot lucks and weekend breakfasts. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
Easy access from RT 2 at the ID/WA border. The host was very helpful about the park and the area. The spots are narrow and most are back-in spots. Nice quiet park along river with no noise from highway or town. Some spots are on a hill away from river. WI-FI was poor. Our Dish and Verizon worked very well. They had a hot tub , pot lucks and weekend breakfasts. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com