214792 User submitted reviews online!!
Rock Island KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 31 user reviews. Phone: (309) 787-0665
CGID1039

Rock Island KOA

Camp Information
Sites
120
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$55



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   10   5   8   9   9   8   9   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$55
This is the WORST KOA we have ever stayed at. We were in town to visit my husbands sister who is in very ill health. Several other adult family members had also come in to town to see her. We told them at the front desk we would be having some adult family members visiting us in the evening for some dessert. They wanted to charge $5.00 for each visitor! They said they had others in the past come in and swam in their pool. We assured them all of our visitors, 4 total, were 65+ and would not be swimming. Then they, and when I say "they" I mean the manager and his rude wife, told us that it costs money to drive on the gravel and pick up the extra trash generated by the extra guests. WHAT??? However, they did say we could go pick them up at the local drug store and bring them in! They kept coming up with excuses for wanting to charge $5 per person to come visit us for a few hours. We did not pay it and our 4 visitors came in and joined us for what could possibly be the last time we saw one of them. Shame on the owners! RUDE RUDE RUDE. NEVER AGAIN will we stay there and will discourage others from staying with them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$47
This was our first time at this park. We camped here over Memorial Day weekend and the park was completely full but we never felt like it was that busy. Very quiet park. Exceptionally well kept and clean! Very friendly staff! Owners were present every day and very involved with the park and you could tell by how well everything was kept up. We will definitely be back, in fact we made our next reservation before we left! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
As full timers we have stayed at a number of KOA's along with many public and private campgrounds, this is the first we've been nickeled and dimed so much. The rate on the internet (for the cheaper sites) is only good if you reserve online it's more for a walk in, if you want to put your own boat in the lake you have to pay extra. The first site (27) they gave us had an underground concrete holding tank with a large concrete lid and a sewer connection right out the coach door, they did move us albeit reluctantly to a smaller back in site with a concrete pad, very level and a little cheaper. You will need 50' for water hose and 2 sewer hose lengths depending on your rig. The internet password was no good after the first day. There is both short term area and long term sites around, some of which the campers haven't been moved in decades. It is convenient to the Interstate so would be good for an overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Site we had was unlevel; 10" in 40 ft . Close sites. Good location to do John Deere. Bathrooms and showers were very clean. Busy, hot Labor Day weekend. Owners are around and make presence known. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
Rate reflects tax and value card discount. Separate sections for long term and short term. We were in the latter between the two small lakes on a long level site. Services were good including Wi-Fi and cable. Road noise was not an issue, but airplanes overhead could be distracting to some. Interior roads were a little dusty, but not overpowering. Will stay again if in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$37
This is the best of the best. Staff was awesome. Lake was beautiful. I can't wait to return. Everything was great! Location was excellent. We felt very welcome from check in to check out! Great activities for the grand kids. Clean facilities. Pool / hot tub was immaculate. Owner had lots of advice for local activities. I wish all camp grounds were this great. This was home away from home quality! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$52
We had a paved site with a patio. Quiet park but lots are very narrow. You have your neighbors electric, water and sewer right next to your table and chairs. Would stay again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$45
Nice park, everything was very clean and level sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
The place is well off the highway unlike most KOA’s and quiet save when a ‘certain’ engineer brings a shunt down the siding across the road. The place is surrounded by ponds, lakes, and standing water. Expect it to be a mosquito haven in summer. Getting anywhere involves a trip across a river on an expressway. Campsites are rather tight and the transient sites are mainly located in a dell which could get hot in summer. The water was not yet turned on while I was there and services were limited. The staff were polite. I was not amused when internet service failed minutes after all staff had departed one night. I’m always told this is a rare event, but for some reason it happens often when I travel. Most of the tenting sites are located on a berm between two bodies of water with a portable pottie the only available washroom. The berm is also used as an exit from the seasonal campsites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This is an AWESOME KOA! From the friendly welcome to the clean salt-water pool, this park was the nicest KOA we have stayed in. The owners were very nice and staff helpful with backing in our 30ft motorhome. The restrooms were extremely clean and updated, fresh gravel lined the roads, our electrical pole was new with lights and every outlet type needed. Our parking pad was level and long enough for our rig and extended into a nice patio with provided rod-iron dining table and chairs. The grounds were well kept and the staff couldn't have been nicer! The owners hosted a Luau where the pool was nicely decorated and they provided roasted pork sandwiches and your family's admission was a covered dish...man, was the food awesome and we met some real nice campers. The owner came around to each table and we couldn't tell them enough how much we admired their campground. This KOA will now be on our list of yearly destinations! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
We used this campground as an overnight stop during a cross-country trip. It is about 5 minutes off the I-280 bypass around the Quad Cities. It was more than adequate for our purposes. We called ahead because of arriving after closing hours. They moved us to a site that was better suited for arriving after dark and we appreciated that. We did not partake in any of the activities or amenities. We found our site to be level and the utilities in good working order. We would not hesitate to stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$58
Typical KOA price. Nice staff,friendly and helpful. Small pool which was very busy--many, many people. Nice area for kids, with basketball, volleyball, and tether ball areas. Reason I gave it a 7 was because of the grounds. Very dusty, no attempt to control dust. Every time someone went down road you are covered in dust. Sites have no grass, only dead weeds. Sites are not big unless you get a pull through. Those are limited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Very nice staff. Clean campground with lake and lots of privacy. We would stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
Nice family friendly park. Clean facilities and great staff. The kids had a blast fishing in the large lakes. Pool was a bit crowded and the kids water park section was closed during our stay. The site had a level concrete pad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
Let me start by saying that I normally do not stay at KOA, however this weekend was with my niece and nephew and the kids so I made an exception. The good part was that the showers, restrooms and pool area were very clean and well maintained. The office staff was very friendly and we had an escort to our site. Here begins the bad, the site was VERY narrow. I request another site but was told there were none available, even though I could count over 12 empty spaces (8 of which remained empty the entire weekend). The sewer connection required two full lengths of hose to make the hook-up. I had 2" of clearance for my driver side slide out at the electric meter post. On the passenger side, the slide had about 18" before encroaching on the adjacent site, and we could not open the awning as it would strike the adjoining camper, whose sewer connection was at the bottom my entrance steps. I remember now why I avoid KOA's. For what they charged, I certainly would have expected much better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
KOA is always known for being family friendly. We all know what to expect when we get here. I want to say a few words about the man I believe is either the manager or owner. He made an exception for us and put us in a site that was better suited for our rig. I just want to say that the staff here is great. The park is recovering from the flooding of the Mississippi river, and are playing catch up in getting things ready for Memorial Day Weekend. Great job everyone! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
Like other KOAs I have read about, this one has recently cut their sites in half making 2 sites out of 1. The electric box and water faucet for our neighbors site was under our awning. Upon arrival I asked for a new site and was told there were none other available; they were "booked up" for the weekend, however half the sites stayed empty our entire 4 day stay. The pool was extremely crowded and we noticed the majority of the people in the pool left the park when they were done, so this serves as a pool for the area NOT the campground specifically. The fees we received drove the price way up, although Wi-Fi was advertised as free we were required to pay for it after the first 24 hours. There were additional car fees, although no space provided to park the additional car. The rain caused our tiny site to turn into a mud puddle, and the staff was quite rude. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$48
Number one problem, this campground is severely overrun with geese, so much so, that we could not walk anywhere without stepping in droppings! The front desk girl could not even muster a smile, very cold. Gnats are everywhere, probably caused by the amount of goose droppings on the premises. We paid for 2 nights, but we left the next morning without even asking for a refund for the next unused night. We just couldn't wait to get out of this campground! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Not much ambiance here: space is tight and the feel is typical of KOA's. Have stayed twice as stopovers at this facility and been very happy with the staff and the cleanliness of the facility. It's very convenient to I-280. There's a nice new Hy-Vee grocery store and a few fast-food places nearby. Great stopover. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$30
Campground has very nice bathroom & shower building. Current owners appear to be attempting to make improvements and have many full timers. The site we had was advertised as "deluxe" with full hook ups with view of lake and with a deck. The site was large, but looking toward the busy & noisy road in front of the campground. We camped here in a 25' and could not position the motorhome to use the available deck and still hook up to sewer. This site should be advertised as "big rig only" and not "deluxe." Owners were not really friendly nor concerned with campers. She passed us several times taking others to sites but never checked with us to see if all OK. We booked three nights, but only stayed two due to road noise. Owners could make the general appearance better by just cleaning up "lakes" (ponds) and picking up the fallen limbs even in the middle of roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$55
We have stayed here many times, due to a nearby annual event. The owners have always been friendly. They have made significant improvements over the years. While we do think the rate for the only pull-through site (deluxe) is too high, we will return; we'll request a back-in site instead. The gravel interior roads could be improved. We've never noticed any train noise and have not been bothered by traffic. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2007
$40
Hard to tell the site layouts in the snow! We arrived with several inches of snow on the ground, and accumulated 3" more over the evening. The 2-room cabin was snug and cozy once the heater warmed it up, and had a prime location facing one of the little lakes, with a nice front patio containing a fire pit, picnic table & grill. Owners very friendly & nice, and concerned about their customers. Bathrooms and large individual shower rooms were very clean and exceptionally nice; I'd have rated them a 10 if the bathrooms offered paper towels instead of the blowers. This KOA is open year-round, amazing for how far north it is! Main drawbacks are the elongated shape of the campground, making it a long walk to the facilities & office, and the TRAIN (which, yes, does blow its horn right by the campground entrance). Some road noise from the local 4-lane road but not as bad as some. Would overnight here again. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
Yes it is a KOA. Where we were put, the site was grass which is not a good base for a 16 ton Motor home. Across the street, about 200 feet, we discovered a railroad track, and a train, with a horn. The folks on both sides of us had unleashed dogs. One of them left a pile in the grass while the owner was watching, he made no attempt to clean it up. If we come this way again we will keep on going. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
Sites are small and crowded. They are still completing some sites that have concrete pads but no rock or gravel on the sides, very hard to park. Very expensive, everything cost at KOA, $1 for 24 hr Internet. Families with kids, like the park because of the small pool and fishing lakes. We signed up for two nights and option for two more but we cut and ran. Our stay was not pleasant as the guy next to us with his two small kids on bikes, their two small dogs barking, all their towels, swim suits on their awning arms, and their fire pit under our bedroom slide all lit up at the same time. It was time to leave. Staff a little stiff, not my area. When I ask about the low power and no rock base to step out of the trailer on, just mud from the construction, it was someone else's job. It is close to sights on the river, John Deere and Arsenal Island were fun to see. Close to shopping. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Too close to busy road. On site construction equipment (improvements) started working before 8 am on Saturday morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$42
Relatively small, but busy KOA situated around a number of fishing ponds. The ponds seem to be the main attraction, but make for some tight turns on the access roads. Our pullthrough site had a concrete pad which barely fit our 40' motorhome, but the site was long enough for our rig and towed vehicle. Much renovation is going on and gravel trucks are constantly going in and out as the park management is in the process of reconfiguring sites for larger rigs. Desk staff and workamper were very helpful. We paid $42 for one night after the KOA Value Kard discount. Would not recommend for big rigs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
I don't particularly like KOA's. This one is not the worse I've been to. Unfortunately, we were sited right next to the shelter being used for the sock hop which turned into a heavy metal fest. I will not be going to this one again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
As mentioned in a previous review, this is a park where you feel like the owners take pride in their park and work to really serve you. This was by far one of the cleanest campgrounds my family has stayed in. The pool was a bit small, but served its purpose. The restrooms and showers were immaculate. The sites are a little tight, but we still had plenty of room to ourselves. The beauty of this place is the on-site fishing holes. My family and I fished every day and while it may not satisfy an avid fisherman, the kids loved it. Additionally the park is large enough to offer a different path for walking every day. The staff was courteous and friendly and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home, unlike other campgrounds where we've stayed. There were plenty of activities for the kids and adults available, including a hayride that the kids loved. Campground was peaceful at night for those wishing to turn in early and quiet in the morning for those wishing to sleep in. The campground is located not too far from state parks and shopping for those rainy days or one-day trips. Mosquitoes were an issue, but nothing that bug spray/yard guard could not handle. This was not my first choice for campgrounds, but it now will be. My family (wife, 3 kids & dog) loved it and will definitely return. Considering some campgrounds charge $55-60/night and think they're doing you a favor, KOA at Camelot is a diamond in the rough. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Nice owners and staff. Showers were okay. Roads and paths are big chunky rocks that are very hard to walk on. We got a long and narrow back-in site across from a highway and with a view of the lake. We couldn't see the lake because of trees, however, but I believe it was there. It was the noisiest highway I've ever camped by. The fan noise of the camper hardly helped to cover the traffic noise. They have pull through sites located further from the highway that I would request next time. The pool was closed due to their annual Hawaiian party. We paid the fee and attended, but my daughter commented it was a drunk fest and I felt the party was not very family oriented. We did not have a camp fire because the bugs were so bad. We tried fishing in their fishing hole and off the small dock, but all we caught were tree branches and weeds. Bikes and paddle boats are available for rent, but we didn't have time for that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
This is a park where you feel like the owners take pride in their park and work to really serve you. They were very friendly when we checked in, escorted us to our sight and even helped me back it in. They have a lot of retired campers working for them, and they were all friendly and seemed to enjoy working there. They have a regular pool, a zero entry pool with geysers and fountains, and a hot tub for adults only. Right next to the pool is a brand new bath house with 6-7 common individual showers, all very clean. We were there at a very dry period so we had no problems with mosquitos. The seasonal sites are in a whole different area, you can't see them from the overnight area. The seasonal sites are all along a lake and appear to be really tight together, but the overnight sites were your usual size, not large but adequate. On Sunday mornings they have a breakfast, where you can get eggs, sausage, pancakes or biscuit and gravy. The retired workers running this breakfast had it down to a T. It was set up in the game room with just 2 hot plates, but they took your order and cooked it while you waited with such efficiency you wished all restaurants were this good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2003
$28
Sites were not the greatest, small and somewhat shabby. Many permanent residents. Bathrooms and showers were "ok". Tons of mosquitos! We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com