218896 User submitted reviews online!!
Blue Mesa Point was rated 6 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (970) 641-3086
CGID10398

Blue Mesa Point

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
August 2010
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   6   10   9   1   10   9   10   3   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2010
$1
We were checking out RV Parks in the area for a future stay when we visited Blue Mesa Point. This place is very run down and unkempt, it looks more like an abandoned campground. It does have a view of the lake, but it is not that close. It is nothing like they advertise. I cannot understand how anyone could give it more than a 2 at best. We would never stay at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$31
We stayed at this park for 3 nights and it was great. The area is very nice and the park was clean and the people were very friendly. We had no problems parking there with our bus. Had a great time We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We camped here with our friends who camped in a tent.  We both have kids under 5 and really enjoyed the large meadows and trails.  The owners told us about the Jr. Ranger program at the Black Canyon of the Gunnison and Curecanti.  The owner has a big lovable black lab, which has given all of our kids puppy fever. We also rented a boat at Lake Fork Marina which is about 2 minutes from this campground.  We stayed for 3 days and it was not enough time to see everything there is to see in this area.  This was definitely the most family friendly and open park we've been too do far on our trip. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We camped here for a week and the natural setting is beyond beautiful. We saw many deer on the trail behind the campground. This is a rustic campground but exactly what we came to the mountains for. I had cell service through Verizon and was able to check my email and conduct some Internet business that was required. We have a 38' 5th wheel and had no trouble pulling in. They also had a spot for our friends to park their boat trailer. The convenience store came in very handy and they had great input about the boat tour and the Black Canyon. We will tell our friends about this friendly place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
In the words of Betty Davis, this place is a dump. I have never rated a park less than a 7 before, mostly because I do my research and always choose a park that has proven itself to those that have gone before me. But this time, I was fooled. I cannot prove anything, but does anyone else find it a little fishy the way this park has been rated? Prior ratings are 3 tens, a nine, a three, and a two. And while the reviewers who gave the park a three and a two have 15 and 11 other reviews respectively, the reviewers who gave the park the tens and the nine have three reviews between all four of them! And one of those reviews was for a park that was given a five, and just happened to be right up the road from this one!! And some of the comments in one review are taken verbatim from the website. Very strange indeed. This park is, without a doubt, the worst RV park I have ever seen. Junk is strewn everywhere. When I got there, the place was devoid of other guests, except for two- some personal friends of the owners who seemed to be far more important than us, and a nice fellow who said to us, "The place sure doesn't look like the pictures on the website, does it?" None of the sites are level and some have deep ditches to avoid. Even after placing three boards under the downhill hydraulic levelers, I still couldn't get my rig level. Then, I saw the electric was only 20A after being told it would be 30A, and when I told the owner, he said, "Oh, it's really 30 amps!" All over the park is junk- rusty fuel tanks, rusty and beat up porta-potties, RVs that look like they are from the sixties, boats, etc. We were close to the office, and the WiFi was still very slow, and I couldn't get a Verizon signal, so that meant no air card or cell phone. There were two large dogs that wandered all over the property; I don't know who they belonged to. There is no way I can describe the office except to say calling it a pigsty is an insult- to pigs. It doesn't look anything like an office- no counter, broken furniture you practically have to climb over, empty liquor bottles, dirt everywhere, etc. As you enter this "office" you see an old washer and drier, and a sign on the bathroom that says, "$5.00/shower"! It is highly ironic that the first park I came across that charges for a shower has a shower so filthy I wouldn't use it if you paid me $50.00! I thought about giving the park a 2 or a 3 based on the gorgeous surroundings, but it doesn't deserve even that. The place is a blight on the beautiful landscape and should be cleaned up or condemned. We planned on staying a week but left after one day. I don't even have to say it- we wouldn't stay here again if it was free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
We have just started camping in our new 5th wheel which was a big purchase after being in tents for years. This park had the most amazing views of the lake and a great trail to ride our ATV's on right behind the park. This went down to the Black Canyon of the Gunnison and was a great afternoon trip. We met some very friendly campers during our stay and shared our evening campfire with quite a few people. Their is a nice convenience store owned by the park that had all the necessities and even some fun things I didn't need: like glow necklaces for the kids. We will be visiting this park again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
We had a great time! This is a young campground that is just getting its footing, but its great to see what they are doing with the place. It was a great change from cement parks and cookie cutter parks. A true outdoor experience. Thanks for making our Memorial Day weekend a blast! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We were going to stay just for the holiday weekend but ended up staying for 10 days. We loved this park! The views were fantastic! We used 50 amp service with no problem and changed sites after the holiday weekend and still had 50 amp service. From what we saw all sites had 50 amps or better with water and sewer hookups as well as a picnic table and fire ring with grill. This is a true Rocky Mountain gem with a rustic touch. The pay shower was clean and unlimited in time unlike the showers at the state campgrounds just below by the marina. The store was great and informative. All of the people that worked at the park were quite helpful and nice. This is the perfect place to camp if you are looking for a base to check out Blue Mesa Reservoir, Black Canyon of the Gunnison, Currecanti, Crested Butte, Ouray, and Ridgeway. We drove to all of these places and were back before dark. We will go back and would highly recommend this park to all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Great view, only good thing about this park. Way over priced, no cable, Wi-Fi never worked at all, $5.00 charge for each use of shower or bathroom, which should have been condemned due to condition they were in. Our site was six inches out of level. They advertise 50 amp service but I only saw two sites that had that, the rest were 20 amp only. They tried to tell me that it was 50 but the breaker was a 20 amp. Owners were very nice and helpful but that does not offset the conditions there. Will not go there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This was a beautiful campground overlooking the west end and Dam of Blue Mesa Reservoir. The beginning of the Black Canyon of the Gunnison. We stayed for 2 weeks and had the time of our lives. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our group rode ATV's right from camp with spectacular views. The lake was beautiful and in less than 5 minutes had our boat in the water. The fishing was fantastic and we had a blast. We would recommend this campground for a destination. Lots of fun activities and the staff knew all about the area and had all the current information. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This campground is poorly maintained. Junk is all over the place, i.e.; old foundation pieces in the grassy areas, old cars, building materials. There are no bathrooms or laundry. There are some seasonal/permanent campers that appear to be poorly maintained. Don't be confused by the flashy web site. The campground is not worth even an over-night stay unless you get caught out in the area with no alternative. On the positive side the owners are friendly and helpful with local tourist info. We only stayed there because we had a reservation based on sight seeing in the area and their web site. Our $20 rate is the Passport America rate and definitely not worth that! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com