223350 User submitted reviews online!!
Waterside Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (717) 248-3974
CGID10413

Waterside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
223
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   9   6   5   10   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
Waterside the campground, very aptly named, we camped beside the river, two days pouring rain. Hook-ups not user friendly and here's the reason why. Water 30 feet away, sewer capped to high. Cable at first was fuzzy, then came in crystal clear. Cell phone signal strong, WiFii not good here. We didn't use the bath house. Room for transients yes, but definitely a "seasonal's" park. Some sites really run down, others nicely done. On the battle between nature and "chachkas", the latter clearly won. If you enjoy the sound of trains, and hearing whistles blow, be advised it is constant, know this before you go. Not a family run campground, but employees are very nice. We had a "Good Sam" discount, but still a bit high priced. The Riverwalk was scenic, the Canal was just okay. They have a pool, reasonably sized, and a place for kids to play. Also, a picnic table and fire ring. It was a fairly roomy site so to me a score of "7" for Waterside seems just right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
There were eight of us and a dog in a cabin (shed) and two RV sites. My RV site had a large bright light over it, so it was like daylight all night long, thus my trailer has an abundance of bugs that came home with me. Sites were nice size, grass and gravel, but grass needed cut. Everything drained pretty fast, as the rain poured while we were setting up, so we hid under our awnings. Many seasonals with golf carts would cut between my RV site and the cabin, even after we put up a screen room. I understand there were many rules to sign off on at registration, but we had no problems. The cabin was pet friendly and had AC, so that was a plus. Most seasonals were friendly. Canal was across street, for fishing, more like fish feeding for me, little fish and big hooks = entertainment. Pool was small, but nice, bring your own chair. We missed tubing as the staff was working the carnival activity after 2:00. The tubing run we discovered was only from the upper end to the lower end of the campground, on the Juniata river. Canoe and kayak rentals available, however, no livery service. Very reasonable Good Sam rate for an overall pretty good experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$38
Good hookup facilities. Large grassy sites. Gravel pads. Very level. Staff helpful. 2 washers and 2 dryers in the back laundry. Very clean. Would come again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$48
Our site was on the river and it was shaded, big, wide and mostly level. Electric and cable were good but the water and sewer hookups were below par. Sometimes you could smell sewer, which was very unpleasant. The office staff was very nice and accommodating. The camp store had little to no supplies, and the game room was below average. Was told that they had canoe and kayak rentals, but you had to carry them down to the river yourself. And if you wanted to go on a Sunday, there was no one to pick you up when you were finished. Also, I was told if we wanted to rent the canoes on Saturday, we could go up stream and paddle back to the campground, or go down stream to the end of the campground to be picked up. Not a good system if you are a family with little ones. I should have asked more about the rentals when I booked our site. Did not use the rest rooms because we had our trailer. Firewood was cheap: $4.00 per milk crate full. Went to the pool for "Olympic games." What a joke that was. No prizes for the winners, which could have been anything of low value, but the kids would have appreciated something. Overheard one women who seemed as if she worked at the pool, yelling at two young kids, one being a teenager. I will say the woman was out of hand the way she was talking. Soon after, an angry man (parent of the young kids) yelled at the woman for yelling at his kids. He created a huge scene and was using the "F" word while yelling at the woman. Adults and children all heard and witnessed this. None of this was acceptable and made us very uncomfortable, so we left the pool area not to return again. This incident left a bad impression of this campground. I doubt we would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$48
An okay campground, but sites could be wider and have more shade. There could also be events to do. The kids got bored there. Staff was not friendly at all. Don't think I would recommend this campground We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$10
We stayed here on Coast-to-Coast points. Paved interior roads with entry gate control. Wide level sites, most with shade trees. Many seasonals. Cable TV was not available at short term sites but over the air was OK. Nice location on the river. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$41
This park was mostly full of seasonal/full time residents. They majority of the places were well maintained. Decent fishing in they canal, and the park is located close to major highways, Wal-Mart close by. Good cable TV, hookups in good repair, all back in sites but room to maneuver and they are nicely angled for an easy back in. Decent laundry when the last few parks had none, it was a welcome site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
I'm new to the RV lifestyle. This was only my second stop, so I had some trials. The whole staff was VERY friendly and VERY helpful during my stay. They went out of their way to make sure I was ok. The park is very clean, attractive, and a great overall environment. I would highly recommend this park to anyone: singles or families. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Great park. Very friendly staff and very organized. Pool is small but well kept. Everything is clean and neat. Lots of seasonals but their sites were very clean. Bathrooms were very clean. 25 cents for 4 minutes for a shower, lots of hot water. We were on a site on the river side, very scenic. Very quiet during the week. We were not there for a weekend. Follow the signs for Locust Campground. If I didn't know about the signs I would have been very confused. We would stay again for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$40
This campground itself will not "wow" you, but the superior service and beautiful surrounding area will. We stayed here this past Memorial Day weekend and had a great stay. The staff was so very friendly. When we arrived our cable was out. They fixed it immediately. We accidentally locked our keys in the motorhome during a huge storm around closing time. Many from the staff stayed just to help us out. Plenty of planned activities for the kids along with great fishing either on the river or canal. Pool was nice, but small. Need to get rid of the 25 cent showers. Do you really need to charge for that? Very nice sites directly on the river, but most seem to be seasonal. Again, the staff was friendly, fun, and helpful. Can't go wrong with this place. No issue with the seasonals either. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We just spent a weekend here. They gave me a Good Sam rate although I did not have my card handy. It was very nice. The free Wi-Fi only reaches to certain areas of the park. It seems that is being corrected. The pool appears to be new but small. Shopping is minutes away in the neighboring small towns. Beautiful scenery, must be breath taking in the fall. The Juniata river is on one side of the park and an old boating canal on the other offering a free canal boat ride to campers. There are sunny and shaded sites. The grass is lush but needed mowing. Lots of wildlife to see. There are many friendly seasonals and their sites are well maintained. The new manager and employees were very nice and friendly. This is a wonderful quiet and relaxing park from the reservation process to the check out. The staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The road signs direct you to the Locust campground but it recently changed ownership and name. You can tell the new owners are making improvements. The views are amazing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We just spent Memorial Day weekend here. They gave me a Good Sam rate, despite it being a holiday weekend. It was very nice. There were so many activities planned, almost every hour there was something different. I only had a few minor complaints. It advertises free WiFi, but it only reaches to certain areas of the park. No big deal. Others in our party had to request several times that their fire ring be cleaned, it was too full of ashes to start a fire. The pool is new and nice, but not large enough for a CG of this size, especially on a holiday weekend. Wal-Mart is less than 2 miles away. You can take a ride through scenic Amish country or go shopping in neighboring small towns. If you take the canal boat ride, be sure to ask about the second largest tree in the state. There are sites out in the open, or sites in the shade. Some of the sites could use a little bit more grass planted. There are a lot of seasonals and for the most part, they are well maintained. There is a lot of golf cart traffic and small children on bikes unsupervised. Twice my heart dropped when a small child on a bike darted in front of a vehicle. The new manager and all of the employees were very nice and friendly, even when they were overwhelmed on this very busy weekend. We would go back again, and recommend the park to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Rate is Good Sam price. This is a wonderful park from the reservation process to the check out. The managers go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We were there over their Trick or Treat weekend and we loved it. They had several planned activities for the kids. Our site was a large end site and we loved it. Ask for site A. It looked like many of the sites were very roomy as well. There seem to be a lot of seasonal but very friendly and very well maintained. This used to be the Locust campground and has recently changed ownership. You can tell the new owners are trying to make improvements. Playgrounds are for smaller kids but maybe this is one thing that the new owners will address. The views in this campground are amazing! Since we were there in the fall, the leaves were starting to turn and it was just beautiful. They also offer a free canal ride to campers staying in the campground. We didn't get a chance to go on it but it looked like it would be a great experience. Cant wait to go back next fall and see all the improvements! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
We camped here 10 days, so we paid the weekly and daily rates. This park has the highest density of seasonals that we have ever seen. At first glance, the park is kind of dumpy: second glance too. Our gravel pad and the parks roads were plenty big enough for our Diesel pusher. Water, sewer and 50 amp power worked fine. There is no pool and Wi-Fi only in the dumpy clubhouse. We had 0-2 bars on the T-mobile air card so Internet was on and off. Most of the pads are well shaded. Ours was and the trees made a real mess of our coach. However, you can wash your RV here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
The campground is very clean and the management is very friendly and accommodating. The majority of the sites seemed to be seasonal sites but were pretty well maintained (even the older units that we saw). The rest room and laundry facilities that we used were old and very well used but were clean and seemed to be maintained several times during the day. Many activities for kids though we didn't bother with those (only kid is our 3 legged English Cocker Spaniel). The sites were gravel and drained very well after the thunderstorm and downpour. There were plenty of shady sites available. The campground was quiet, however several times a day the trains from the nearby crossing could be heard (this was not a serious noise problem). Very pet friendly although it was difficult to find an appropriate pet walk area. We would come back when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com