218071 User submitted reviews online!!
Custer State Park - Stockade Lake North Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (605) 255-4515
CGID10417

Custer State Park - Stockade Lake North Campground

Camp Information
Sites
43
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   10   10   10   8   9   9   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$20
Nice wooded site, we camped near the top, 2 slots down from the host. Nice and quiet. The toilet/shower house was very nice. You have to make reservations by calling a toll free number. If you wait until you get to the park you probably won't have cell phone service, but each campground has a phone that you can use to call and make reservations. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
The setting was very nice, campsites separated nicely as in most state parks. It was an excellent site to tour the park and surrounding areas from. One drawback is the fact that sites do not have individual sewer, not even a dump station in the park. I would have had to travel to the east side of the park or go into Custer to dump. The reservation system for Wyoming State Parks was not very good, I was assigned a site that barely fit my trailer and I had to block one side up 6" to get the trailer level. There is no reason for a site being out of level by 6" over an 8' span. Next time, if there is a next time, I would check out the sites before phoning for a reservation, and then I would have been able to tell which site I wanted. The only reason I stayed at Stockade North was when I searched the sites on the internet, it appeared to be the only one that could handle trailers the size of mine. After driving through the park, most of the other campsites in the park would have had more suitable spots for my trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
A beautiful state park campground. Excellent restrooms and showers. Very friendly camphost. Well separated sites with a table and fire ring. All of the scenic beauty, wildlife, and attractions nearby make this a great choice to use to see Mt. Rushmore and the area. If it had water and sewer hookups, it would be perfect. Almost is now. We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
This is the best public park I have ever stayed in. It has electricity, a dump and access to water for your holding tank. There is unlimited stuff to do in the park. Game watching is wonderful--buffalo, deer, elk, donkeys. Mt Rushmore, the Badlands and Deadwood are easy day trips. The little town of Custer is delightful. Don't miss this place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
This state park was a big surprise for me. It was huge, and had numerous campgrounds within it. The scenery was beautiful, and the camp hosts very friendly and helpful. When driving from camp to Mt. Rushmore, herds of buffalo were crossing the road and we had a very up-close look at them. Definitely worth checking into. Free showers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$24
I normally would not give a 10 to a park without water and sewer hookups but this state park is amazing!! It has as many facilities and programs as a national park. We had site 19 which was at the peak of the hill so we had decent Verizon cell phone service. However, due to the trees we were not able to get satellite. The site was level and spacious. There is plenty of room between each site. Keep in mind that you don't "check-in" at a specific location but just go to the site indicated on your reservation. As with the other posts, there is a reservation fee and a $15 entrance fee for our tow car. All the roads are paved and in good shape. Each staff member we had the pleasure of meeting was very helpful and courteous. Be sure to go on the ranger led wild life caravan program. He took us down a road that put us right in the middle of a herd of bison. What an awesome event!! This is a great location for all the fantastic places in the area (i.e. Mr Rushmore, Wind Cave NP, Jewel Cave NM, Devil's Tower, Deadwood, Spearfish Canyon Scenic Drive, all the scenic loop drives in the park, etc). Be sure to attend the nightly illumination program at Mt. Rushmore. It is unforgettable. We would definitely camp here again if we were in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Nice stay. Nice park with good clean facility. Enjoyed the trails and wildlife. Does cost $15 for the park entrance fee. Need reservations this time of year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
We spent 4 nights here and had a great time! We originally had reserved 3 sites for family/friends, but asked if we could merge into two sites and the hosts were very accommodating. They even called the office and got us a refund for the other sites without us even asking, and when the refund wasn't enough, they called again to get the correct amount. Bathrooms were cleaned frequently (more than once a day), showers were hot, even at peak hours. Ranger talk was informative and entertaining, and the whole park was quiet, even though it was full. 1 point taken off because our site was not level and took lots of blocks & levelers to get comfortable, but we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$18
Overall this is a great campground. It has large, dirt, level sites (easily accessible to big-rigs) most with shade and electric and good separation between campers. There's central potable water, flush toilets and free showers too. You can walk to Stockade Lake from the campground and there's a large grassy area w/ playground on-site for the kids. There's no real hiking trails from the campground, but you're within driving distance of everything in Custer State Park. The only negative is that this place books up FAST in the summer. We booked a month and a half ahead of time and got the only site left (a non-electric, thus the $18 price, electric sites cost $22). Many campers we talked to had booked 6-8 months ahead. Nearest dump is Sinclair Gas Station in Custer ($4 to dump). NOTE: There is a non-resident and park entry fee ontop of the nightly camping fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
Price reflects the $7.70 non-resident fee AND the $12 state park entrance fee (good for a week). Very nice campground set in the beautiful Black Hills. Many sites are large and fairly level. The campground feels very modern and is a great home base to explore the Black Hills and the nearby National Parks. Make reservations early as the sites fill up quick. No dump station in Stockade North but there is water available near the restrooms. The Game Lodge campground (also Custer State Park) has a dump station but is 10 miles away. We will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Everything about Custer State Park enhanced my vacation experience! This has got to be one of the Top 5 Parks I've ever been to! The campgrounds were clean, well serviced, and quiet. The Campground hosts were friendly, and knowledgeable. This is, in my opinion, the GOLD standard in State Park camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
This was a wonderful campground for our family. We stayed five nights with two small children and we all enjoyed our stay. The restrooms were very clean. The showers were hot, except one day (we slept in and my wife tried showering about 10 am). The campsites were clean. The host and staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The playground was well maintained and there were evening naturalist talks in the campground. We were very convenient to all the parks, sites, and the Town of Custer. The only thing keeping it from being a 10 is the lake of water at each site. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
It is a beautiful campground full of big pine trees, very close to the town of Custer and easy access to all of Custer State Park. It is not lakefront, but Stockade Lake is a short walk away. The fishing in the lake was pretty good. While the road through the campground is paved, the driveways and pads are dirt, and our site required considerable leveling. Also, accessing the site via backing up our trailer was a bit of a tight fit, but we made it. Once set up though, it is extremely beautiful and quiet. There is lots of room between sites, and the shower building was kept very clean. There is only electricity at the sites, but there is abundant water through the campground, including a faucet on the shower building that you can pull up to and refill your fresh tank, if you so choose (note that you can pull or drive your rig with an empty fresh tank and fill it when you get there using this faucet). There is a dump station behind the Cenex station in Custer, maybe a 5 minute drive away. Dumping is free if you fill up with gas, otherwise it would be $3.00. This is a perfect place to use as your base camp for exploring the Black Hills! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com