218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Sycamore RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (815) 895-5590
CGID1043

Sycamore RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   9   7   8   8   9   9   8   5   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Always well maintained and a quiet park. Owner takes extra pride in keeping the park to this high standard. Restrooms are always clean. We had lot 57, which afforded us a front row view of the lake. My only issue is the firewood cost per piece, they are the highest we have seen. Otherwise I would have rated the park a 10. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2013
$37
The campground overall, had good fishing location. We arrived sat am. After my husband traveled 6 hours to get home and a heads up to the campground. I was told if I arrived before 9 am, I would be stuck waiting. Hmmmmmm, even though I paid for Friday too! And bought wood 5 bux a bundle. 2 bundles equal 8 soaked, not seasoned wood. Did not get key to shower or laundry. So, I guess if you don't mind paying for things you can't use or wood then it's ok. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We like Sycamore, and this park is almost close enough to the western suburbs to be useful. In fact, we used it for that purpose, but do find the drive in to be tedious after awhile. One could catch the Metra nearby. The campground has a nice lake, beach, spacious sites, and the owners keep everything up very well. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$36
We stayed here on a Saturay night in the middle of September We had a full hookup, back-in site in the gravel "parking lot" section of the park. There is also a heavily treed section. Most of the sites are for extended stay customers and were occupied by said customers on the night of our stay. According to the owner, only about a dozen sites are available for "one-nighters" like us. Thus, it may be difficult to get a site here at the last minute during the summer. This is your basic weekend/week getaway park for IL and WI locals. There are two lakes (large ponds) for fishing, swimming, and walking around; several sand volleyball courts; a half basketball court; and an impressive tennis court. There is a large building with modern restrooms and a laundry ($10 deposit for entry key). Surprisingly, their free TengoInternet (a provider with whom I often have a lot of trouble connecting to) service worked OK for us - probably because there was a coupon with a sign in code. This is a nice park with decent facilities and amenities that is OK for travelers as long as you can get one of the relatively few available sites and don't mind being in a gravel parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
Great park. No planned activities, no cable and have a pond/beach instead of a pool. Owners are outstanding, everything is VERY clean. There are permanents, but incredibly well kept. Sites have a great deal of space, the park is close to everything and anything you would need. Wonderful experience. Rate is based on a monthly rate including electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
Beautiful location between 2 lakes/ponds that both have walking paths around them. The larger lake has a nice beach that is free for campers. Verizon air card worked great here, but so did the campground Wi-Fi. Sites are a little narrow. TV reception isn't very good and the campground does not have cable TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Stayed five weeks and rate reflects monthly rate, plus electric. This is a beautiful resort with long gravel pull-through shaded sites with views of both lakes. Landscape is beautiful. It is dog friendly with trails around both lakes. Beach is very nice. It is family friendly. There is about a 1/4 mile walk along trail. Showers /laundry were spotless. Yes, dryer is .25 cents for 4 minutes, but dryers are industrial so a load of jeans and towels finished in 16 min ($1.00). Owners and staff are very helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$30
We enjoyed staying in this park. It is very clean, friendly staff, beautiful grounds with 2 small lakes and a swimming sandy beach. It is in town but seems like the country, close to restaurants, and shopping, churches. We stayed for a week. No cable or satellite TV if that is important. Some local TV reception. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This campground has a couple of very nice small lakes which add to the aesthetics. Very clean and well maintained. Only negatives are you have to pay a $10 deposit (refundable) for a card key for the showers and laundry; cypher looks would be more convenient. Also, the turn out of our campsite is a little sharp but certainly doable. The laundry area is very clean and modern. No cable TV in a town of 16,000? Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
This *could* be a great park. We were here for 10 days. There were very nice private park like sites available, but instead we were placed in our "premium" site, sardine-style, next to TWO abandoned trailers that are occupying two prime end-unit, lake view sites. By abandoned, I mean they are clearly unoccupied and have been so for a while judging by the flat tires and dilapidated condition. They belong in storage, or at least in the back 40, not blocking the view and crowding everyone. Very disappointing management decision. Wi-Fi is weak during busy times, but does work at the site, better at off hours and not super fast at any time. Laundry is very expensive (.25 for 4 minutes of dryer time). Nice location with two small lakes/ponds for swimming, fishing, and about 1 mile walking trail around each. Plenty of trash cans throughout park which is convenient. Clean, quiet place. Just bummed that we were parked in the full sun ghetto section when there were a bunch of nicer spaces available (and it is a heat wave). Wonder who they are saving the big, shady ones for, since we booked ages ago and we stayed almost two weeks at regular price (no discounts). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
We stayed here after being turned away from another campground. The owner was kind and found a site for us for the last three nights of our ten day trip. The campground is very clean and quiet and has a beautiful lake! We would return. Very nice people! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is a very nice,quiet campground; very clean and well kept. Bathrooms and laundry room were spotless. Washing machines and dryers are all front loading, quality machines. That said, it was quite expensive to use. Lake was "catch and release" only, but provided a beautiful view. Management was friendly and helpful. Sites are all gravel - no grass. We would definitely stay here again. Rate reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
The whole site area we were in, was a gravel lot. There was a big grass field between us and the lake. There was another area that had more grass but it seemed to be full of seasonal/full time units. The place was clean and the WiFi worked well. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Rate reflects monthly rate; electric is metered for monthly. Family owned and maintained. Owner is hands on, and picky. One of the few campgrounds where rules are really enforced, that's a good thing. Sites and roads are gravel; but from inside looking out we had a nice few of one of the lakes and green grass. Laundry is new and clean, but twice the average cost; have plenty of quarters. The Sycamore/Dekalb area offers everything needed for a long stay. The street in: North Ave. can be easily missed. There is a blue campground sign, but the road blends into the local businesses and looks more like a drive way. For the Chicago area, I'd say it's probably the best. Lot of permanent/seasonal campers but most were neat and cared for. We had a spell of above average heat and our spot had no shade, so it did give the AC a workout. Overall a good place to stay, it filled up on weekends so plan ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
We visited this park to see if we might want to stay when we visit family, friends, etc. in the area twice a year. They have a lovely "basic" campground but they nickle and dime you for everything! The rate of $36 per night was excessive to begin with but they charge $5 for 1/2 hour worth of paddle boating and $10 deposit for the laundry room key. The beach is all the way on the other side of the lake requiring bike or auto transportation to get there. When we left, we decided not to return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
We were disappointed with our site. There is no grass just gravel, which was not great for our dog. The Lake was o.k. for fishing, but not great for swimming. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
Pros: This park has nice owners; it's a nice town; has a good rate and good hook-ups. Cons: Was hard to find the park's entry; and was badly in need of fresh gravel on all the park roads. Rate reflects weekly rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
I like this park, it's our forth time here and each time I see improvements. Has two nice lakes so you have a view from most sites. It's very quiet and peaceful. The owner is a hands-on kind of guy, so the park is well cared for. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
We went on the spur of the moment early in the season. I called at the last minute, and we were at our site two hours later. It's a nice little campground, lots of shade trees, two little lakes. The complaint someone made about the beach being so far away is pathetic. It's a three minute walk. The whole lake only takes ten minutes to walk around. Our site was nice, quiet, right on the lake. My only complaint has to do with finding the place. It's very easy to miss the entrance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
Nice park, quiet, clean and the owners are helpful. Only stayed one night, but will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2009
$31
A nice park: a lake, fish, beach, BB court, tennis court, new updated restrooms and W/D (W/D was very expensive). This campground offers propane, and firewood for assigned pits at each site. The MH spots are basically stone, which is dusty and hard to walk on. The grass area is nice: walked the pooch there, but be sure to pick-up, the owner watches and you should do this anyway! There was plenty of room between motorhomes. The shaded area is basically for the trailers, 5vrs's or smaller MH's; they have a good area to park, plus grass sites for patio's. DeKalb is 10 minutes away with all the restaurants and shopping you need (good Chinese Buffet near-by). CG charges extra for guests: $2 a visit and $5 per day if they stay over-night. Kind of over-kill. The owner is not to friendly, but chalked this up to poor people skills. We would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
This park was clean. There were nice people in morning but crabby in the evening. This was a boys fishing weekend. The lake was about 20 feet from camper they showed lots of pictures of big fish catches. I don't know if it was the weather we had a cold front and rain come through but we got nothing but small to med bluegill. We got yelled at by the owner. I think he was the owner. Our site was by his house and I guess we were loud. We weren't that loud, just guys around a camp fire drinking and laughing and talking. The guy told us that quiet hours were at 8pm, but the rule sheet said 11pm. It was still light out at 8pm. The web site said they had all this food and store. There is no store and very little food. There are restaurants and stuff down the road about half mile walk. It is a nice place to camp just dont make noise after 8pm and bring your walking shoes. I would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
Nice neat clean park, friendly staff. We were just here for an overnight and didn't even unhitch. For you fishermen, they have ponds and a pile of pictures in the office of some nice catches. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
The park was very clean and quiet. Updated bathroom /shower house was clean. There is some shade at some of the sites. Nice concrete patio at our site (#7). They are in the process of installing tennis and basketball courts. Nice size lakes for fishing. Good size bluegill. Staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$29
We've camped from California to New York. Some sites here are close to each other, but better than we've seen elsewhere. On the other hand, large lawn area, exceptionally clean showers, laundry, two large lakes, beach, fishing, nearby golf, access to Chicago via Metro station 15 miles distant, small-town atmosphere, wonderful friendly and helpful hosts, and continuous improvements make this a desirable temporary home. Tennis courts under construction now. We will go out of our way to stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$31
Ok for a pass through, which was all we were interested in, so we can't comment on activities. There is a pond you can swim or fish (catch/release) in but we didn't care. Lots of semi-permanent at the current time, due to some nearby construction bringing in an influx of out of town construction folks in their big rigs. We were staying 2 nights with friends so we were both assigned back-in sites on a huge, football-sized expanse of crushed rock and hard gravel, with hardly a blade of grass visible! Made me wonder if that's what camping at Wal-Mart with hookups would be like. Not much ambience at all, as I define the word (trees, grass, etc). At least the sites (which are perdendicular to the access roads, not at an angle) were easy enough to back into, and quite level. My other two little gripes about this place are: their wifi is without a doubt the best I have ever encountered at a campground. I logged in immediately and got a strong signal the whole time I was there. But their software requires you to type in info in about 3 pages before you are actually online. Not a big deal, and in exchange for the strong signal, not worth a lot of complaining, but it was worth noting. Second: this place nickel and dimes you to death! We were there to meet family members for a picnic supper by our trailers, and the CG requires every visitor to pay $2 a head for even that minimal amount of visitation! It's not that good a place!! If it hadn't been for that, and the rocks, I might have given them a strong 7 or maybe a weak 8, but there is still the huge expanse of crushed rock to contend with and that means this place will never be more than a 7 or an 8 for me! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$31
Nice park. Nice lake. Camped here to take advantage of Metra train to Chicago. Elburn station is about 15 miles from Sycamore RV Resort. Yes, the spaces are a bit close, but still OK. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$25
All gravel. Gravel drive, gravel site. Only grass to be found was around the lake. Nice lake, clean buildings, and well maintained. Sites too narrow to have a camp fire. We spent four nights here. There were much nicer sites that seemed to be full of regular customers. There is swimming area on far side of lake. Would have given a higher rating if we weren't so cramped. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Our camping club was looking for a campground close to a dinner show in Schaumburg Il. This was it. It was a decent campground but I don't know that it would be a destination campground. The owners were friendly and helpful. The sites were a little small and all white rock where we were. There were some small trees in our area. I got to pull through because I was 1st in line, the rest had to back in. The WIFI worked good. Those in our group that used the showers said that they were nice. The worst part was the signage. There is a blue CAMPING sign that led 4 of us into grain storage area 100 feet before the CG entrance. Fortunately there was a circle there that we could turn around in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
We enjoyed this park. Very quiet but near town. Sycamore is a pleasant small town, and, of the RV parks that are near the western suburbs, (although none are very near...) this is our 1st choice. It was 18 miles west of St. Charles where one can catch the METRA commuter train to get into downtown Chicago and other western suburbs. Driving to Lombard, our destination most of the time, was acceptable. They have a new bath and laundry house. WiFi is due to be installed very soon; in the meantime we found the town library to be quite convenient. Great nearby golf. Try the town course for sure. We stayed here one month for $350 + elec. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$25
I stayed here in 2003 and was one of about 5 coaches in the new section. This year I could not get in the new section and ended up in space 63 which was much too small for my rig. Be sure to make reservations in advance - couple weeks at least. The best park in the area. All roads and pads are gravel which get gooey in the rain - means tracking it into the coach. At $25 it was reasonably priced. But I'd would have paid more for paved roads and pads. A new bath house/laundry is under construction is almost finished. No wireless or modem hookup. Nice young, couple own the park. Probably will not stay here again - too rustic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
This place has both shaded and newer, unshaded sites. All sites have full hook-ups, including telephone. The resort has planted trees in the newer unshaded sites, but it will take a few years for the trees to create shade. Therefore, you will be able to use your satellite dish. There were a few seasonal campers in the resort. There are two lakes on the property, both former gravel pits. Fishing is allowed on a catch and release basis. Boats are allowed on the lakes, but only with electric trolling motors. There are plenty of areas for bank fishing, as well. On one lake, the resort has created a swimming beach. The lakes also have nice walking trails along the banks, providing great nature walks. The owners were very nice and helpful, even taking their guests to their site and providing assistance in parking their rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$20
A clean, quiet big-rig friendly park about an hour out of Chicago. Sites are all back-in, completely gravel, with tables, fire rings and cottonwood trees. Though sites aren't small, the squared-off, back-to-back arrangement feels rather cozy. Satellite users, bring a long length of coax, as you may need to set the dish on an adjacent site to find a signal. We also needed every foot of a 50' water hose. Instant phone hookups charge $5/week PLUS 5 cents a minute local calls--no charge for toll-free. Fishing lake is clean and lovely, close to sites. Campground owners are on-site, very busy but friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com