214866 User submitted reviews online!!
Thomson Causeway (COE) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (815) 259-3628
CGID1044

Thomson Causeway (COE)

Camp Information
Sites
81
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   7   9   9   8   8   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
This park is well maintained and in high demand. Please note that there are reservable sites for 3 loops at recreation.gov, and these are often full most weekends. There is one remaining loop, arguably the best one (has boat launch, great sunset views, and one of the only two bathhouses) that is first come first served only. Many locals come out on Thursday and very early Friday to snag a prime site in this loop. Grand Illinois Bike Trail is adjacent for nice rides to Fulton or Savanna. Nearby Thomson has a neat cafe with regular live music, the Heirloom Market/Cafe. Thomson also has a fun estate auction house; look up Tipton Auction Service for the schedule. Halfway to Fulton on the highway is a very nice flea market on weekends. No water/sewer at site, but at the exit is one of the nicest dump stations you'll ever see. This is a river island with a causeway built to reach it, so expect lots of bugs. Bring good bug spray. That's really the only negative, though. Nice place and super bargain camping, especially for seniors. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
I was a little concerned to learn that I reserved one half of a double site that wasn't listed as such on the website but after arriving the site worked out for us. We were right on the Mississippi River. Had to chase away some geese when we arrived to set up. The park is very well maintained and free of litter. The showers were very clean and cleaned every morning we were there. The dump station, with fresh water, is along the road before you get to the gate and looked fairly new. It allowed for easy in and easy out. Small child's playground in our loop and a pit toilet which we didn't use. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
We love to camp at Thomson Causeway. Its close to home, inexpensive & the views are gorgeous. My son loves the fishing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$10
Nice COE park. Our site was small, but all those around us were nice size, which is probably why ours was the next to last one open. Next to bike path, really nice. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
Golden Age rate for the non-reservable site of $18. We had a nice long level concrete pad, site 65 on the MS River. The Verizon signal was strong and could use both our phones and broadband. The broadband connection speed varied at times. TV via batwing was very good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
This is a beautiful place! We camped here 10 days in our 35' motor home traveling across the U.S. There were a lot of first come sites and most of them in this area had concrete pads. We were in site # 58 which was facing the river. It could get a bit windy at this end of the park, but the view made up for it. We were disappointed that there were only 2 shower houses in the whole park, but they were clean. Great place to view wildlife and we would definitely come back and stay if we were in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$9
This is a nice Corp of Engineers campground. It is located on the Mississippi River with some site having great views of the river. Other sites are located by inlets with great fishing. I would rate this campground higher if it hired more more temporary workers and had more than one volunteer. It was a pain to pay the campground fee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
We really enjoyed this campground. Sites are tidy and spacious, with either gravel or paved pads; some sites back up to woods, some to a marsh, with gorgeous water lilies, some to the Mississippi River. No sites are truly private, but most are well spaced. Water fill up allowed in the CG, and the water here tastes quite good. Locals use this CG a lot, and even during the week, many sites were full. Restrooms & bathhouses are clean, but the facilities seem a bit limited for the number of sites here. The views of the river and marsh are beautiful, and the birding is great, pelicans, sandhill cranes, orioles, and many others, both water birds and songbirds). Heavily used train line goes thru the town of Thomson, about a mile away from the CG, so you hear it, but it's not bad. Speed bumps and lots of camper cooperation enforce the 10 mph speed limit, and there are several CG hosts around if help is needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Beautiful well maintained park. Most sites were fair size. We have already camped there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$16
We had a roomy, private wooded campsite that backed up to a forest. The waterfront sites had less trees and seemed closer together. Most of the campground is on an island on the Mississippi River, but access is fine for any vehicle. We hiked (not a lot of hiking) and went canoeing (the Mississippi is very safe for this). We saw lots of egrets and big fish, some herons, and some loons. Bugs were not a problem, but could be later in the summer. Neighbors were friendly but not noisy. We would definitely go there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
2004
$16
We were very disappointed in this campground. The campsites were extremely close together with many in an open field. There was some shade available and some shoreline sites, but most were out in the open. We reserved a site and the maps on the ReserveUSA site were nothing like the reality of the campgrounds. Some sites were so close that an awning couldn't be deployed. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$16
This is the nicest COE campground we've stayed at so far. A beautiful setting, and the groundskeeping was first rate. The showers and rest rooms were immaculate. This campground is located adjacent to the Great River bike trail, and there are many places to ride within the campground itself. You can also tie your boat up near some of the campsites. It's about 45 minutes from Galena. There isn't a bad site in this campground. We definitely will return here. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com