223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Liard River Hot Springs Provincial Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (250) 776-7000
CGID10462

Liard River Hot Springs Provincial Park

Camp Information
Sites
53
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   8   7   8   9   9   9   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2014
$24
As a campground, Liard River Hot Springs Provincial Park is a throwback to the days before modern RVs. Most of the sites are too narrow to accommodate slide-outs, especially on both sides, and the road through the campground is too narrow for rigs over 25 ft. to back into a site. But there is a work-around: If the park is not too busy you can ask to camp in the overflow area, which is the day use parking lot. Any size rig will fit there. Why bother? The hot spring itself is worth the trouble. It has a clean, modern change room. The deck alongside the spring (made of teak?) is clean and tidy, as are the stainless steel and concrete steps into the spring and the gravel bottom of the pools. If you have never had the opportunity to soak in a natural hot spring it is well worth stopping for a while. As of September, 2014, construction was underway for new restrooms at the spring to replace the rather gross pit toilets there and in the picnic area. If you have a restroom in your camper you will be much happier using your own. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
Lovely,quiet park within walking distance of the hot springs. A little surprised by their rate which had recently been marked up but then you have free use of the warm spring pool. A sign at the entrance said bear in area but we were told this wasn't a "problem bear", it was just getting a "little too close". A very clean campground, sites are spotless (raked) and level,with lots of maintenance staff on hand at all times. Unfortunately there is a boil water order in place for the pump water, so the only potable water was at the entrance. Use of generators is restricted to 2 hours in the morning (9-11) and 2 hours in the evening (6-8). There is a book exchange in the main office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$24
Very nice provincial park with large sites. Park personnel very nice and helpful. Hot springs were worth the stop. No amenities but the park and the springs were all we were looking for for the night. Park seems to fill quickly this time of year so I would plan to be there early if returning. Not all sites would accommodate our 40' rig but there were enough for us to find one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$18
Beautiful setting, great hot springs. Sites are a little tight for big rigs but fine for an overnight at the springs. I'd definitely stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
A lovely park nestled in the trees at the Liard River Hot Springs. Each of the contractor employees we met were friendly and helpful, from the kiosk host to the young man delivering fire wood. Sites vary in size, from short to long enough for our 40' motorhome. Trees and other bushes provide privacy from neighboring sites. The Hot Springs area is very nice and kept very clean. Don't miss the hike up to the gardens. You can walk to the springs from the campground or drive your car over and park in the day-use lot. Saw many bears and wood bison in the area outside the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Water available, but no services. No showers or flush toilets, but the campsites were fantastic. Treed and well separated and an effort made to keep them clean. Hot Springs are included in the cost of camping and were beautiful. Impressive how the natural features of the Hot Springs is maintained. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
Large very private sites in wooded campground. Sites are well graveled and level with fire-pits and stationary picnic tables. Pit toilets are clean enough. The real treat here is the very natural hot-springs accessed by a 5-10 minute walk along a boardwalk with informative signs about the flora and faura. Pool heat diminishes as you go 'downstream' into the second pool; it was so hot 'up-stream' that most of our party couldn't get close! Even better, admission to the hot springs is included with your campsite and the pools are open to campers all night. Unfortunately, when we visited early July, the mosquitoes were so horrendous that we didn't spend as much time outside enjoying the campsite as we would have liked. (Of course the mosquitoes would have also been as bad in the RV park across the road!) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Price includes hot springs admission. Great primitive campground. Our site (and others) quite adequate for 36 foot class A; nicely wooded separation between them. No hookups, of course. But easy walk to the Liard Hot Springs which we did before dinner, after dinner, and after breakfast. Loved the hot springs; liked the campground very much. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
This is a great provincial park with a very nice campground. No services, as is the case with all BC Campgrounds, but you can't beat the setting. Hot springs were wonderful to experience. We did in the evening and again in the morning before we left. Campground is very well kept and clean. If you don't mind not having E/W/S, this is a must stop on your trip up the Alaska Highway. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$21
This is a very nice well-visited British Columbia Provincial Park right on the Alaska Highway. The chief attraction is, of course, the hot springs. The hot springs are very nice with great facilities and are well worth a visit. Use of the hot springs is free with camping; otherwise there is a charge of $5.00 per person or $10.00 per car. There used to be two separate pools, but now the second (Beta Pool) is closed. It looks to be a permanent closure. There is water with a tap, so you can put water in a holding tank. It has a notice that it should be boiled before consumption so we did not use it as we had enough water in our holding tank. There is no dump station at the park. There are pit toilets. The sites are big and well-spaced with some vegetation to provide some privacy, but it is a very busy park. Each site has a picnic table and a fire pit. There are some sites that can be reserved and some first-come sites. We had no problem getting a site, but we did arrive at about noon. The sites are all fairly level. There is some noise from the highway, but the highway calms down considerably at night. The park seems to be very well run. Each site is raked and cleaned between uses. Firewood is available for $5.00 for a good-sized bundle delivered to your site. Our Verizon phone did not have a signal and the vegetation precluded any satellite, particularly with the low angle that it has in this far north. This campground is well worth a night or two. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
This is a wonderful provincial park. The sites are large, private, beautiful. The campground is very clean. They rake each site between campers. The vault toilets were very clean. The staff was friendly. And we really enjoyed the hot springs. We knew the campground had no hookups, so I rate it based on what it does have. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
No services. Just hot springs. There is no electric and you can only use a generator from 8 am to 11 am and 6 pm to 8 pm. But the pools were incredible! Definitely worth stopping for a night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$21
Dry camping only at this park. There are vault toilets to help with tanks and there is a water faucet to fill your fresh water tank. No dump available in the area. Free entry to the hot springs (if not camping there it costs $5.00 per person to use the hot springs). The springs are wonderful, very clean and there are changing rooms available. Great way to spend an hour or so. Very sociable placce. Great camp sites. Large level sites of pea gravel, nice big picnic table on a cement pad and a fire ring. Lots of space for your unit and lounge chairs and tables. The buffalo walking by are a bonus and the moose near the springs are too. We enjoyed our stay here and would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
The park is very nice and well kept, but does not have any hookups. Water is available, not at the site. The roads are good gravel and wide. The sites are wide and deep and no issue with backing in. The sites are level and very hard packed. It is a short walk to the hot springs. The pit toilets were clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
Nice, level, roomy sites. Quiet and wooded. Enjoyed the hot springs and had a couple of nice campfires ( stayed 2 nites ). Will definitely go back there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$21
The hot springs are amazing. They are the best hot springs we have ever been too. They are in a natural setting. Temperature is perfect. They contain lots of minerals that do not smell. This is a must stop destination on the Alaska highway. Reservations are accepted. All other sites are FCFS. The campground was full when we stayed and it took 90 minutes to get a site (we are 34' long with tow - tent sites were available). Don't expect people to leave early. Most people left within an hour of check out. The campsite is treed. Lots of private sites available. Beautiful and easy walk to adjoining hot springs suitable for all ages. One receives a discount on the hot springs when staying at the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
What a great Canadian provincial park! The campsites are long, clean, shaded. In this area they do not have shower, water, or electricity - but since this was not expected, it was not a problem. What the park does have is a wonderful hot springs in which to rest your tired body! Stay here - you won't be sorry. Make a reservation at holiday times or if you'll be arriving late. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
Very nice, rustic CG. Nice, mostly level gravel pads that offer adequate separation from your neighbor. Hot Spring offers a wonderful soak after a long drive on the Alcan Hwy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
This is a must-stop on the Alcan (Alaska) Highway! The hot springs are wonderful and a great place to meet people. Price is right for a place without hookups. Bring mosquito repellent. Get here early; it fills up. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
We camped in site number 32 which was an extra long and spacious back in for our 36 foot fifth wheel. This park is absolutely immaculate and beautiful. If there were any services at all, at each site I would rate it a 10. The nightly fee includes entrance to the hot springs. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$21
Rate is for a no hookup back-in site, which is the case with all the sites in this wonderful little park. You come, not for the campground, but to soak in the hot springs. The springs are a short walk from the campground and are included in the cost of camping, which is $21 per site for the 2010 season. A large raked gravel site met us, and there are many sites that will accommodate big rigs. While they accept reservations for a limited number of sites, we arrived early in the day and had no trouble finding a site for our large motorhome. Interesting to note that the low rated Laird Hot Springs Lodge, which is not at the Hot Springs is listed at Laird Hot Springs, while this great park, which is at the Hot Springs is listed as at Laird River in the reviews, We almost stayed at the wrong place because of that. We would absolutely stay here again at this wonderful park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
We loved this campground, although none of the camping spots have hook-ups. The campground does have a place to fill your tanks and a dump station. Our spot was a roomy, private back-in slot with a fire ring and solidly built picnic table, and it was fairly easy to back into. The park staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The campground host collects registration door to door. When he saw that we were leaving to swim at the springs, he urged us to go swim and said he would come back later to collect our money. The trail to the hot springs from the campground area is a long boardwalk in good repair with changing facilities and bathrooms near the springs. The hot springs are well maintained, beautiful, and lots of fun. We stayed here at the end of September, so the air was crisp and nippy, and the hot springs were perfect. Although much of the rest of the Alaska Highway was basically deserted at this time of year, this campground was much fuller (although we had no trouble finding a spot). We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$19
This was our first Provincial Park and we thought it was very nice. The sites were very large and level and there were plenty of trees and greenery between sites for privacy. All sites are back-in and our 39' fifth wheel went in nicely with plenty of room for the truck. Sites are gravel as are the interior roads, which were in good shape. There are no hookups although there is water available from a hand pump which you are advised to boil. From the color of the water, I wouldn't use it boiled or not. There are pit toilets but no showers. We didn't arrive until late afternoon and had no reservation, but also had no problem getting a site, but they did fill up very shortly after that. It's a pleasant walk to the hot springs which were very nice and I also enjoyed the many wildflowers and ferns growing along the boardwalk. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
Reservations might be required in July & August. There are two hot springs natural pools accessed via a 10-minute very pleasant walk on a boardwalk. Moose can be seen!. Our 40' motorhome fit just fine. The toilets are vault but clean. There are hand pumps for water. No dump. The $19 includes use of the hot pools. There is an overflow area across the highway that is the same price as the campground but there is an additional fee to use the pools of $5/person. Arrive early in the day for a non-reserved site. This is the ultimate experience. Wonderful! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Nice wide back in site with lots of shade and a lot of space between sites. Good gravel roads and sites. Can use the hot springs with no addition charge. They did truck in water, but ask that you take only what you needed, as their well was out of service. The hot springs where wonderful. The staff was friendly. Firewood for sale. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$17
This is a beautiful no hook-up park. The sites are very roomy with lots of greenery between them for some privacy. We had site #11, a level, gravel back-in with no utilities but nearly every site looked very good to us, we had lots of room for our 30 ft class A and toad. There are no showers in the park and the water from the hand pumps should be boiled. The hot springs were about what you'd expect, right down to the sulphur smell. They were very busy. We liked the wildflowers that lined the boardwalk path to the hot springs but the hanging gardens looked mostly dried up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com