214879 User submitted reviews online!!
Hickory Hollow Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 119 user reviews. Phone: (815) 667-4996
CGID1047

Hickory Hollow Campground

Camp Information
Sites
90
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   10   8   8   10   9   7   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$19
This is a very nice campground and a real bargain at Passport America rate. Sites are level and spacious with nice grass between. Very few long term residents. Easy access from I-80 but no noticeable traffic noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$19
This is a Passport America rate. This is just a huge, lovely campground, all amenities worked perfectly. The grounds are kept nicely. They have additional camping up a small hill and it is very nice as well, again very well taken care of and grass! First rate operation. Ladies at the desk, polite and responsive. The overnight sites seem to be in the front and probably closer together than the rest of the sites, but still very adequate (puts KOAs to shame imo). This is a campground done right and wish we could stay longer than 1 night. We will definitely return here on our travels for a longer stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$19
Rate is for Passport America. Loved this park. Our site was level and we were able to remain hooked up. Access from the freeway was easy and the noise was minimal. We had a nice pull-thru with grass, table and fire pit. Management was very friendly, water and power were good. But, as we are finding in so many places, WiFi was not very good and during the peak time there was none. There were a few permanent residents but they are in a different area and unless you take a walk you won’t even see them. The bathrooms and showers were clean. They have a beautiful tent area in the trees that made for good dog walking. We would visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$15
This has become a favorite place for us to stop en route when near I-80. Clean, quiet and very reasonable rate for Passport America. Everything from sites for tents to cottages to RV sites. Easy pull-through access. We were here twice in June en route. Very helpful at the front desk, steered us to a fantastic local restaurant in downtown. There are some restrictions with Passport America and varies on rates depending. We have a 40 ft RV and tow vehicle, and it was easy maneuvering here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$19
Easy to find off Rt. 80 with signs. It looks like they have done some work by pouring new, long concrete pads. There are trees to provide shade. Can barely hear traffic from Rt. 80. Has a pool. Very clean campground trimmed grass, newer clubhouse. Even though there is no cable, I pulled in 25 digital air stations with my power booster. The Wi-Fi signal was good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
Easy access from I -80. Friendly folks in the office. Inviting looking pool and attractive surroundings. Many sites are concrete pads. A bit of highway noise or I'd have rated a 10. Stayed overnight and would return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$19
Great campground and an excellent staff. Rate reflects Passport America discount. Level sites with good utilities. Nice pool. Will come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$29
We really liked this campground. The staff was friendly, they drive around and check on you, but not to the point of being nosey or rude, just making sure everything is running smoothly. The Wi-Fi worked great the whole time and the park is very nice and clean. I would have given it a 10 but the bathrooms weren't very clean. Most sites are pull-through. Some sites have a concrete pad which was great because it rained while we stayed and it was nice not to have to step out into a puddle. I would definitely request a site with concrete when making a reservation. There is a little town not to far away to do some shopping and buy liqueur, and Starved Rock is about 15 minutes away. Do not skip hiking at the state park, it is truly amazing. Pack a lunch and snacks and make a day of it, you will be amazed. We could not find a grocery store close so be sure to bring everything you need or stop along the way because the camp store has a limited stock. This is a Good Sam park and we will definitely return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Campground is next to freeway, some noise. Easy off and on to freeway. Sites were level, good size, with some shade. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We stayed here for 2 nights at the PA rate of $18.50 per night. We had a long pull through, FHU site in back of this park. Had good 50amp electricity. The WiFi worked well even in the back of park were we were. Had nice wide sites, grass between sites, and was very clean. We would stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We just found this park by happen-stance on the way home from Wisconsin. We were looking for a PPA park, and chose this one. Wow, good choice! We were put on site D3, a perfectly flat, long, concrete pull-through with full hook-ups. A nice grassy yard with a large tree in the front. Plenty of room in every direction, I did not even have to unhitch. Everything worked great, and the Wi-Fi was about the best we have ever had. Friendly staff and workers, clean restrooms and showers, what else do you want for a "one nighter"! Our rate was the PPA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
If this campground was paved it would be a 10. Good electric at 122 VAC. Modern sewer hook ups, and water quality and pressure excellent. Large turning radius, easy to use pull thrus, a few sights are paved and wide, others gravel, all gravel roads, a little dusty. Landscaping is marvelous with lots off blue spruce, all well trimmed, very quiet. May need to ask for a satellite friendly sight. Rate depends on what time of year, week day or weekend, what holiday, PPA SOMETIMES: just all over the place. There are more "Rules here than I have ever seen in any campground in 12 years of full timing, one little old lady even drives around in a cart looking for infractions. Stayed 2 nights and our 45' bus with 4 slides and a large tow was very happy here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
We stopped here for one night and I wouldn't hesitate to come back. Very nice people in the office, Wi-Fi was really good, our Verizon and AT&T phones both had signal. As mentioned, some sites are packed gravel and some are cement. Most are very level, very long, and have plenty of room. It was quiet, without too much intrusive road noise (some "white" noise from the highway, but no jake brakes). There is a second section to this park that is behind the main section- it would be even more quiet up there. Our rate is the PPA rate. One issue we did have is that once in a while a large nut would fall out of the tree and bang loudly on the trailer. Not nice at 2 am. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
This is a nice campground. Staff was great, sites were level, good water pressure and power, very well kept. The pool was nice. This campground was also close to places for shopping and Walmart. The price reflects the Pass Port America rate. I will make it a point to stay here again when traveling through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
Not bad campground. Level sites. As with most private campgrounds, sites are on top of each other. All utilities worked great. Staff need training and much better customer service. At check-in, clerk shorted me one day but I corrected her. Made no difference, my vehicle pass was completed to leave a day earlier than I paid for. I did not catch at time and never went back to get corrected. No one tried to kick me out because of the wrong day. Appreciate the night time security. There was a man checking car passes upon entry to campground late at night. I had family get together at Starved Rock State Park or I would not have returned to this campground. I called them in March to make Memorial Day reservations. Campground was not open so I was instructed to leave voice mail and they would call me back. Several days into April, no one ever called. I called again and no sites available for Memorial Day. I vowed at that time that I would never return. This is not one of my favorite campgrounds in IL. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Easy access off I-80 via Exit 81, then go north. Some interior roads and site driveways paved, but most are gravel. Decent green space between sites. Office staff was friendly. WiFi was spotty. Some sites have shade. Our site was more open, so getting Sat TV was easy. Verizon cell had 3 bars. Our rate reflected Good Sam discount, but not the Passport America that is not honored on Friday and Saturday. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
Long level gravel sites. Some Paved. No TV (Fox only) and the noise from I-80 are negatives. Good overnight stay if you don't watch TV and can't hear. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$31
This is a great overnight stop with easy access off I-80. It is big rig friendly! Our site was dirt but long and level. Staff was friendly. Can't give this park higher ratings with dirt, dusty roads, no security, etc. However, it is a good place to stay a day or two and we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
Some gravel and some paved sites. This place looks like they use a vacuum cleaner on it! One of the cleanest parks I have ever visited. Rate reflects Passport America rate - not accepted on weekends. We are staying two nights. Real easy access from Interstate 80. Lots of food nearby. J C Whittney factory closeout is only a mile away (not worth visiting. :( No cable - no major TV channels available off of antenna. (7 minor channels available.) Easy access for satellite viewing. Very, very courteous check in! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
One of the nicest Passport parks we've stayed at. Nice level pull through sites, good electricity, and great setting. The park was exceptionally clean. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
We stopped here for one night while traveling. Had very roomy sites and was very clean. Wished we had more time to stay longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$23
We thought this was an exceptionally nice, clean cg. There was plenty of room to drive in and park. There was also plenty of room between sites, and they were level. Ours wasn't shaded, but some sites had shade. We had a nice view of a cornfield, and there was a nice, wooded area for views and walking. The Wi-Fi was strong & fast. The rate is the avg. between 2 nights Passport & 1 night GS. We stayed during the week, but understand it is very busy on the weekend. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
It is not hard to get to this campground from the interstate but the approach road is a little off-putting as you pass an abandoned housing project en route to the entrance. The campground, itself, is quite nice with long, level, gravel sites. Ours was not shaded. The pool was large, but very crowded on the weekend we were there. We felt that the laundry room was barely adequate for the size of the campground, especially with the staff washing linens from the cabins. We had read that the staff could be abrupt and sometimes difficult and at check-in and we found this to be true. We felt more defensive than welcome. This campground has more rules and restrictions than any campground we have stayed in during our last five years of extensive travel. We would stay here again even though we feel the staff could be less severe. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Good Sam rate, Fri. night. Place at capacity on weekends, but well run. Pool smaller, but very clean and plenty of chairs. WiFi in steady. Pull-thru in front partially shaded. Spots level, cliche and concrete pads both available. Restrooms very nice. Nice amount of food/RV supplies in store. Great primitive tenting site. Easy access. We over-nighted, but could have stayed longer.Only major drawback--no cable TV nor any local major networks off your bat-wing antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$19
Rate is Passport America. Would have rated it higher, but clerk in office was nasty when my wife told her we may be late in checking out, due to a tire problem on the truck. They also shut off the water at 845 AM, without notifying anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
This park caters to kids & tenters. Our semi level gravel site in section H was wide. The trees blocked the Sat. and WiFi signals. The visit was quiet until the weekend and then it got busy. A lot of vehicle traffic and kids. This is a good place during the week only, unless you enjoy NOISE. There are several state parks near by for outdoor activities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
This was a nice clean park that had easy access to I80. We stayed here one night while travelling out west. Campground was clean and had large, easily accessible sights. Sights were level and had plenty of gravel for good drainage. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$19
Nice campground, easy access off I-80. Very well maintained and well laid out for big rigs. Sites are a little narrow, but acceptable. We would return if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Very easy access off and back on to I-80. It's close to the freeway and yet very quiet. We heard not a sound of traffic. This is a wonderful stopping place with gravel and level pull though sites for our RV. Friendly staff who escorted us to our site. We would stay here again, absolutely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
Price is Passport America discount. Very nice park with large pull-through sites. TV reception poor, but satellite friendly. We were here only a night, but would probably return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Very spacious sites and the office staff were very friendly. Antenna reception was terrible. We would stay here again however. Would rate it higher if they had cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
Nice clean campground off I-80, had concrete pads for pull-throughs. Local TV channels only, Wi-Fi worked good, but only 4 people in the campground. Staff friendly and helpful. Good place for an overnight while traveling, would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$34
Pleasant staff. Very clean and tidy campground and facilities. Gravel spots were fairly level. Location is convenient to highway, but is pretty quiet. TV reception adequate with antenna. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Our greeting was friendly, and the price is Good Sam discount. Our site was long and level so we didn't have to unhook. Water, electric, and Verizon all worked fine. Restrooms were clean. There was no air TV reception, and the wi-fi was so poor we couldn't use it. It is a good, quiet, overnight stop. We may stop again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Basic campground with a mix of gravel and paved sites. Funny thing is that we found the folks behind the counter rather cold and unfriendly even when we tried to make conversation, which is odd since all other reviews say they were friendly. Other than that, our back-in site was adequate, although our electrical box cover was loose and the light on the top of the box fell off. Not a bad campground, but we would not visit again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Clean, Clean, Clean! All sites spotless, all washrooms spotless! Well laid out with level sites, gravel and paved interior roads. Very friendly staff. Great place to stop over or just relax. Not much to do at the campground, but very close to starved rock state park. I will return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$31
This is a nice campground. We stayed for one night and got a cement spot. The sites are a bit close but nothing to worry about. It was level and the hookups were good. We were not bothered with any road noise. The park is well taken care of and is easy on and off the highway. We would rate it higher if it had cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a very nice RV park with easy access from the highway. The sites are a bit close together, but they are long and the spacing is adequate. The park is well-maintained with a small store and a very good laundry facility. Noise was not an issue for us even though the park is close to the highway. The staff is friendly and very helpful, providing lots of good advice regarding the local area, shopping, restaurants, etc. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Passport America rate for E/W. Very nice park off the freeway but no noise. Wi-Fi works great. T-Mobile signal not too good though. High water pressure so make sure you have a regulator. Interior roads are gravel, some of the FHU sites have concrete pads for parking. Lots of tent sites, some walking trails through out the wooded areas. We are stopping here again on our way back home! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
This park is really nice, nice long pull throughs with plenty of living space between each unit. Despised the fact that is off the freeway, we still heard a lot of freeway noise. We would stay here again though because it is so well maintained. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
Very nice park and friendly staff which means a lot today. The pool was very nice and the bathrooms were very clean. Your choice on shade or not they have both. The road noise from I-80 was hardly noticeable, if at all. There is minor dust from there roads, but the good from the whole experience was still worth it. We will return again. We stayed on A-3 which was full concrete and was nice. This park also has pull throughs for people on the go, and every site seem to be pretty level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
Rate reflects Passport America discount. A very nice park west of Chicago near the intersection of I-39 and I-80. Long pull-through sites and room for slide outs. Some concrete pads. Clean pool, clean showers and restrooms and good laundry facilities. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
This park was outstanding. Nice sites with ample space between each. Grounds are nicely maintained and everything looks clean. Sites and roads are mostly gravel and dirt. You do get some highway noise but not overwhelming. Hosts were very nice and helpful. I would highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
We paid Passport America rate: a great bargain. Nice, large pull throughs: level and heavily shaded. No antenna TV. Good water pressure, nice area to walk dog. Near I-80, but highway noise minor. Well shaded, but also some sites that would allow satellite TV. Excellent free Wi-Fi. Exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional staff. In 4.5 years of fulltiming, I have rated 120+ campgrounds. This is only the 6th one to receive a 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$17
Stayed in a pull through site at $17 Passport rate. Looks to be a newer park: clean, spacious. Friendly and efficient staff. No highway noise. Very nice park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Very well kept smaller park. Near the interstate but far enough away to have no road noise. Nice place to walk the dog. Pads are decent size. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$23
Rate is PPA two nights and full weekday rate one night. Large trees in the front part of the park provided some shade. Sites were large and fairly flat, most were gravel but a few were concrete. Good water pressure. The pool was heated to a comfortable temperature (88 one day, 86 the other). No outside firewood is allowed. Mosquitoes are plentiful – apparently, like most private campgrounds, they don’t spray. Satellite is required to watch TV – no major networks available on the antenna and no cable available. The lower rating is because network TV isn’t available – if they had cable I would have rated them a 9 or 10. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
Nice host and campground. Again very wet because of the weather. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
This is a really nice park that is well-maintained with manicured grounds. They accept Passport America on week days and Good Sam any time. The directions to the park are not 100% accurate via Passport America as the access road has been moved recently, so call the park for better directions. The restrooms and showers are very nice and clean. This park is so large that you have plenty of room to walk for exercise or to walk your dog. We only stayed here one night on our way to Wisconsin, but we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$36
Nice RV park close to Starved Rock State Park. The noise from I-80 is an issue. Sites are small and few have much shade. Staff was friendly and helpful. The pool was clean and refreshing. Electric power supply may have issues. My converter failed, and my neighbors complained of erratic power supply. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$37
We read many reviews and were a little shy on staying at this campground. I have to say that we were pleasantly surprised on how clean and friendly Hickory Hollow campground was. We have stayed at many campgrounds throughout Illinois and this by far is now our favorite. We had a wonderful stay at Hickory Hollow and will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
This is a beautiful destination RV park, although the park was able to accommodate a one night stay on a holiday weekend. Both gravel and concrete pads were level. Sites were very ample for a private park, some of the largest I've seen and I have just spent 3 months on the road RVing. The grounds for the tenting areas were very nice, lots of grass, trees and vegetation. While there wasn't a bad site in the park, the back area of the park seemed to have the nicest sites. I would definitely seek this park out for a return visit. This park can accommodate any RV from the largest to the smallest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
Price reflects average of PA discount and weekend rates. We stayed nine days. Customer service is superior! We were caught off guard with a road closure (they have re-routed the service road a block or so to the north) and a staff member actually came out to direct us into the park -- amazing! For the size of this park we found no dog residue -as courtesy among guests apparently prevails here. Also the staff/owner worked very hard to accommodate our needs over a pretty much booked weekend. Although we don't normally make use of the restrooms we encountered a problem with our hot water heater and found them to be immaculate. It looks like they have plans for expansion and have upgraded a few concrete pads, although most are gravel. We will absolutely, positively stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$25
We've camped all over the park, but would recommend the rear area of the park quieter, & more spacious. Nicely grassed areas, level parking areas, shade for tents, sun for satellite people. Staff was beyond friendly, bathrooms were all clean & the ones by the office are air conditioned! Showers were clean & hot or cold whatever you felt like. There are nature trails to walk through & playgrounds for the kids. We're NOT kid folks, so sometimes the pool area can get a bit crazy.. Any thoughts about having 'Adult Swim'?? We're going back this Memorial day, but also made our reservations for Wine fest in September! I would recommend this campground & will continue to go there ourselves! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
Nice, clean park. Like it being close to an easily accessible Love's. Sites are gravel and level. Staff is helpful. Restrooms are spotless. If you have satellite, be sure to tell the staff when making arrangements. They will try to accommodate you with a site for that. We will stay at this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Park is easy access, clean and well maintained. Restrooms are modern and clean. Staff was helpful and friendly. Will stay again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Good Sam rate. Very nice, wide pull-through site. Graveled, a few were concrete. Large clean swimming pool. Good WiFi. Nothing to remark particularly about the campground but it lacked nothing. It is very well taken care of. Office staff were very efficient and friendly. Nice location for I-80 access, about 3 miles from I-39. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$17
We stayed here one night heading east on I-80. Great location as it's right off the freeway. No noise overnight, which was good. Sites were gravel but level and long. We had plenty of room for our 40 ft RV and tow. Some trees and some open spaces. Walking the dog along the back tree line was nice. Office staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We used Passport America for a 50amp/sewer site. Easy in and out for a big rig. Definitely would stay here again even for a few days to enjoy the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
We enjoyed this campground on our overnight trip eastbound. If you are traveling eastbound from West of the Mississippi River, it makes a good place to stop for the night if you want to travel through Chicago the next morning. It is right off the Interstate and you pass a Love's on the way to the campground. There is definitely Interstate noise when outside, but we didn't notice it inside at all. We would also like this campground for a more lengthy stay. There are back-in and pull-through sites to pick from. The site sizes are generous. There are various rates available depending on the hookups you want. The $29 rate was Good Sam water & electric. There are full hookups available and a dump station. You can get shaded sites and sites in completely open space. The restrooms and showers were clean. It took a while for the hot water to get there, but it eventually got there. There is a very nice and well maintained swimming pool. There is a small playground, tether-ball, basketball and some walking trails. There is a store with basic necessities (food and camping equipment). There is also a game room. We will definitely be back when heading that direction. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
This was by far the greatest campground value on our 4,000 mile trip. Very nicely laid out, full up-to-date FHU sites. Had cement pad on our pull through and the lawn areas were manicured. Stayed with our Passport America 17 dollar rate. This one is a keeper for future reference. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
It is a beautiful park: shady, level sites. We were impressed. A bit soggy after a heavy rain. Everything was great except the WiFi wasn't working. Dang!!!! We needed it for my husband's job. We will return and hope the WiFi works. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
This park was a surprise to us. We did not expect such a nice park out in the country away from major attractions or towns. We had a hydraulic pump failure on the motorhome that put us behind schedule and this was on the faster route to get us on schedule again. Staff was excellent, they were there at 8:30 PM to check us in and the young lady was very helpful and friendly. The sites were level, easy to get in and out of, shaded (for the 1 hour of daylight we had left) and very adequate for a 40' motorhome and toad. We would stay here again, and were very happy with the overall condition of the park. It is clean, well kept, and is close to major shopping and fuel. Rate was for Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This campground was just what were we looking for: a quiet, clean place to relax for a week. The campground was booked for the coming weekend and the site they had assigned us was not level enough for our 40’ motorhome, so after some negotiating the staff accommodated us by putting us in a site on a level concrete pad and with a shade tree. This is a nice campground with lots of green space and trees. Most of the sites are gravel with grass between sites. The RV sites have full hook-ups and free WiFi which works exceptional well. There is no cable TV service and we could not get the TV channels on our antenna that the campground had listed in their brochure. However our satellite worked well. The campground is surrounded by fields which were planted in corn while we were here. It made for a serene view but might not be as pleasant during planting or harvest time. There is some road noise from the nearby Interstate however the sites in the back of the campground are less susceptible. Although we do not have children, the campground seemed very family/kid friendly. Has many playground areas, basketball court, swimming pool, video arcade, and pool table. The gravel/paved roads and wooded trails made for excellent walking areas. Price for all was reasonable: $187 for 7 nights (about @27 per night), using our Good Sam’s and Passport American discounts. Area attractions include a nice state park for hiking and two nearby public golf courses with reasonable green/cart fees. There is also shopping area about 7 miles from the campground which includes a Wal-Mart Super Center. If that is not your cup-of-tea then there is a family owned grocery nearby. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
This is a very nice campground. Clean, easy access, and clean laundry room (2 washers/2 dryers) small but clean. The views are nice, there are trees but not dense woods. Planned to stay 2 nights but a lot to see in the area and will probably stay longer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
The park is nice. Only reason for low rating is their idea of internet service. Very slow, troublesome. We have our own domain but they have port 25 blocked so I can't send mail via my own domain/address. They do this to prevent spammers from using their system to send out spam. AS IF spammers are really driving around in RV's to use campground Wi-Fi systems to send their spam. No, they don't. This is a control issue, overkill. Internet is important these days when checking weather. The TV stations are few, may as well say no internet, no TV. Other than that, the park itself is nice, well kept. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
Sometimes the photos presented on campground websites were taken years earlier, but the ones on Hickory Hollow's website are right on. Ignore their shabby signs off IL178 and E Eighth Street. They do not represent the charm of this campground. Hickory Hollow is well-groomed, scenic in its forest setting (don't worry; no low-hanging branches), clean and neat. The staff are friendly and helpful, too, which makes for a very nice stay. Has great Wi-Fi! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$34
Nice park that is located approximately 3 miles from Starved Rock SP. It's located just off of I-80. A clean well kept campground, with a clean pool and facilities. Has nice walking paths through the campground. The tenting area is separated from RV sites, which is a plus for the tenters. They have shaded and sunny sites. The road noise up front isn`t bad, just a light hum. if you don`t like any noise, then get a site in the back. We`ll definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
We stayed here very late in the fall, so many of the services were closed for the season. The basic water, sewer, and electric were still on, but were going to be turned off after we left. Nice park for summer camping. We may stay here again in the spring. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$35
We were here for almost 2 weeks and enjoyed our stay. However, to enhance your stay I would suggest you obtain a site in the rear of the campground. The road noise from I-80 can be pretty intense and is 24 hours. We have never commented on local restaurants but in this case let me briefly rave about the Nodding Onion in Utica. If you want fried food skip it, but if you want to dine at reasonable prices this is the place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$35
Stayed here the last two years. It's a great place; clean and very friendly. Pool closes too early. We like it because it is so close to Starved Rock. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$17
A great stop for an over nighter with easy access off the highway. Had a large level pull through with full hookups. Quiet with minimal road noise. Wi-Fi was good. Rates are Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$22
We stayed here in our 40' quad slide motorhome in site J4 at the end of the park. The site is very spacious with 50 amp, grass and a table. We had full hookups and a satellite signal. Very quiet. We missed the turn when first arriving and ended up going down the road to turn around. Be careful turning right off the freeway ramp as you could drop down off the road. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This is a great park. Easy to find, wide gravel roads, level pads, easy access to a site. It is surely a family oriented campground on the weekends. The sites are wide, well groomed and spotless. The only reason we could not give it a ten was because of the noise from the Interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$62
The staff here was wonderful and exceptionally accommodating. We stayed in a 6-person cabin with our 3 kids. One of the staff even let us borrow a nightlight from her own personal trailer. The night we stayed there were terrible storms in the area. The cabin held up nicely (at times I was nervous about possible tornados). It didn't leak or even creak in the wind. The pool was nicely heated: no need to "get use to it." The arcade was nice and the store equipped with the essentials. We didn't bring our dog but noticed there were many dogs around: leashed and quiet. The bathrooms were clean as well as the showers (soap dispenser equipped). We definitely will go back! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
I really enjoyed this campground. The store and the pool were very nice. The management I came in contact with were wonderful and helpful. I think the best sites are the "rustic" tent sites behind the bathhouse near the rear of the park. During the week, it was quiet, shady and just lovely! The weekend got busier, but the security guard was around every 15 minutes to make sure the quiet hours were not violated. With Starved Rock and the new Grand Bear Resort so close by, I will camp here again and again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Hats off to the staff at Hickory Hollow. What a pleasant surprise this campground turned out to be. Upon arrival we were met by a very friendly, professional, and informed staff. The site was spacious, level and well kept. I had heard before camping here that the staff was rude. That couldn't be further from the truth. Follow the rules and respect your neighbors and you won't even know the staff is there unless you need something. Restrooms and showers were very clean. I was so impressed with this little campground, that we have booked a family camping trip with our children and grandchildren. Thank you Hickory Hollow for very pleasant stay!!!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$31
We had a nice drive through with huge shade trees. It was fairly level. The laundry room was clean and the staff friendly. It is good for short extended stay. WiFi was not particularly efficient as afternoon produced sporadic service while in early morning it was easy to get on. We would recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
This was our first Passport America park. Very nice park, friendly staff, clean, well-kept. Nice layout. Parked our 40' motorhome in the back section for good satellite reception. Good wi-fi also. Quiet and peaceful during the week. Highly recommend this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
Large park, lovely layout. We wanted to use our sat, so we went to the rear area, next to a large soy bean field with lots of lightning bugs-neat. Water pressure in all the parks we go to starts out good but dies out. The shower pressure was OK. Showers were large and had a bench. Lot was level and hard gravel. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$16
Sh-h-h-h, don't tell anyone else about this great campground. Whether you are overnighting or spending the weekend, this park is great. Passport rate makes it even better. I'd use it anytime I was traveling I-80. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
This is a great Passport America member park for an overnight or longer stay. The park is convenient to the Interstate yet far enough to be fairly quiet at night. The level, gravel pull-through sites are long and wide enough for slides and awning and hookups are convenient. The park has a nice pool, small store, and walking trails through the woods. Verizon AirCard worked well and the park's free WiFi worked well depending on the amount of users. A Flying J is 10 miles west, and the town of Utica is nearby. A nice stop, we'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Nice campground and well spaced campsites. There is a railroad nearby and Interstate 80 traffic could be heard. A pleasant place to stay. It is in the country which is enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$31
On a Sunday night in a pullthrough site, this was a great overnighter. Convenient to I-80 but road noise not a big problem. Clean facilities (though the ladies' room had 2 toilet stalls out of order, just as on our last visit several years ago!) Office folks friendly enough, utilities worked well. In fact, water pressure was such that a regulator is advised. Good fast Wifi, though no cable TV hookup. We had a site on the end of the row, so had a little more space than some of the other pullthroughs - very nice. Site was very level, graveled. We noticed that the back-in sites had been recently graveled; many of them share a water hookup, but have individual electric posts. Interesting layout in this CG - one side is all pullthroughs, the other, separated by a heavily wooded ravine, is pretty much all backin sites for smaller rigs. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
Wi-Fi rock solid. Nice to see this site offering tent camping. Website has site map. Would go back. Cabins and meeting room in front of facility can have some loudness. Not an issue, just a note. A few good semi-secluded sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$32
Very nice park. Clean and seemingly well run. Pick you site carefully, some are bigger than others. The site we stayed at is big, level, and partially shaded. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
It is very convenient to highway. The site was good sized and level. Bathrooms were always clean. Just a few minutes to Starved Rock State Park as well as area towns. This was our second time staying at this campground and we plan on staying here again next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Nice clean campground, convenient to highway but fairly quiet at night. Nice tent sites with electricity, picnic table, and fire ring. Very clean bathrooms and showers. Owners were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$16
This is a convenient stop if you are heading west from the Chicago area. The campground is located not far from the freeway exit 81 along the frontage road. The sites and roadways are compact gravel with lots of green grass between each site. Large shade trees in the right areas that do not block satellite service. We had a long pull thru D2 that provided FHU and good wifi service. Nice area to walk our small dog. We did not use the pool or other facilities, however, everything appeared to be in nice condition. We travel with a 40 ft. motor home and tow vehicle. We would not hesitate to stop here again. Our nightly rate was discounted by Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
This is a nice clean campground. We had a 50 amp full hook-up in a level, gravel site. It was just fine for the two nights we stayed or even longer. The traffic noise is a little loud, but not too bad unless you're a light sleeper. We had poor, but usable wifi connection in site G6. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean and inviting. We stayed here two nights in a motorhome at the Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$30
The entrance is nice and easy to find. Office and check-in area are well kept, clean, and employees are very good. The store was pretty well stocked although they were out of the one dairy item we needed. Everyone was very nice during our stay. We stayed in a pull-through section "G" and the first pull through was barely long enough for our coach and our tow vehicle. The "K" section for big rigs seems like a much nicer area and is more like camping. If we were staying for just one night the "G" location would have been just fine. For two nights, the closeness to the front entrance and the dust kind of dampened our experience. "G" locations get better as the number increases. Satellite was no issue in our location. It could be in some others and they have no cable. Wi-Fi was horrible in our location. Park is clean and seems to be maintained well. It is close to the interstate but that did not bother us. Speed limit did not seem to be maintained and that helped contribute to the dust. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
This is a large park. Some of the bathrooms were not clean when I went into them, but if they were maintained a little bit better, I would have ranked this park a 10. The park itself was well maintained and there are a lot of activities for the kids. The staff was helpful and friendly. If you are planning on staying here, make a reservation. We stayed during the week and they were packed. The sites were pretty good size. We did not feel like we were on top of our neighbor. There is plenty of room to walk. We have two large dogs and they got plenty of exercise. The park is quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$29
Great spot for an overnight or to unwind for a couple of days. Staff is great, sites are level bathrooms are clean, store is well stocked. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$16
Interesting on the ratings. 1 to 10 and a few in between. For us only stayed one night. Used Passport America. Was in a pull through site #B-6. Was able to get the free Wi-Fi at our trailer. Interstate is close by but wasn't a noise problem. Gal in the office was friendly to us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
On October 12 & 13th, 2007 we set up our tents on their campsite. I was very disappointed with the management staff/ownership. They were very rude and we felt as if we were being babysitted. On the 13th we set a campfire soon after the man with glasses patrolling the site came up and kicked us out at 11:30 p.m. because he was accusing us of chopping down a tree. In fact he was very rude, telling us to get our s**t and get the F*** out. They denied our refund for not staying the night, even though it was not stated anywhere. This is the last time I will step foot in that area and the ownership must learn better customer service and watch their langauge. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
The only thing keeping this from rating a 10 is the lack of TV. Grass is full and well kept. Pads are well graveled. Full Hookups. Passport America rate is great. Yes, there is some construction on one side but they can't help that. Very friendly grounds keeper. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
October 2007
$30
Our stay here at Hickory Hollow was very disappointing. The owner and management here have very much to learn on the duties of being a camp host. We had three sites side by side and the combined experiences in camping years add up to over 81 years. This is travel experience to campsites from Florida to West Virginia and through the mid-west area. In less than a hours time at Hickory Hollow we knew this was our worst experience of all our travels. The so called camp host was a very rude vulgar woman. Seemed all she wanted to do was pick at very small details and argue about them. Your wheel is touching the grass, your dog needs water again, don't touch the trees, they are our treasures you know. One thing after another. Also the pictures on the web site are far from what your going to find there. Large development on property line, very dusty and noisy. I am suggesting to everyone I know, not to waste your time at this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2007
$27
We just returned from Hickory Hollow in Utica IL. We were only there for a few hours. The management was rude when checking in. The campground stunk like dead grass. Mosquitoes were veracious. We had over 100 bites in those first few hours. We went back to the office to tell them that we would not be staying and they refused to refund our money. Its interesting that the needed us to pay up front for an entire weekend and then neglected to tell us, before paying, that the area was experiencing an unprecedented Mosquito outbreak due to recent flooding. The management told us that “people like us belong in hotels”. I have been camping every year for 30 years and this is the worst place I have ever seen. I have never posted a negative report, but this place demands that people be warned. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
This is a nice park and easy pulling off the Interstate for a night. Our only complaint is that it was impossible to get antenna TV and satellite would be a challenge with all the trees. They need to get cable. We used Passport America and paid $15. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
This was a very clean campground. The staff was very friendly. Lots where of good size, and you didn't feel packed in like so many other campgrounds. The playground didn't offer much for the kids. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
Passport America Park. Easy on and off highway but not noisy. Didn't hear the road noise except when we went outside for our exercise walk and stopped to listen. Nice park with good facilities. No sewer hookups but plenty of pumpout tanks pulled by golf carts and a nice clean easy access dump station. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$16
This is a Passport America park that we use a lot enroute from north to south. It is very nice with fantastic WiFi. Plenty of grassy room between the gravel sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
For some reason we could not ascertain, this area is exceedingly busy for what it offers. Starved Rock State Park is nearby, not a spectacular park by any stretch of the imagination, so what is the draw? We couldn't guess. We stayed here passing through on our way to Badlands/Black Hills area of South Dakota, the KOA was booked solid. This campground luckily had a cancellation and took us in. We stayed a second night (so we could go to Starved Rock) and had to move to another site in order to stay. We are not complaining, we were glad to get a site at all. This was a very busy, hectic campground, but well maintained. A lot of people moving around, but it was nicely laid out, with some shade trees and the abundance of people did not bother us. We used the pool, it was crowded, but everyone was friendly and it was not a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$32
Nice campground. Can tell they are doing some work in the back adding sites and things. The kids enjoyed the pool. We were in a pull thru near the office. Pull thrus are a little narrow and tight, but are ok. Bathrooms are clean, but could be a little cleaner. We would stay again if we need to come to the area again. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
The rules are enforced and the staff do a great job at keeping the place clean and up to date. The water is clean and so is the pool. Speed bumps keep folks from driving too fast. We liked the country feel in the back sites. Even there, you could hear trucks on the highway (I-80). The noise at the front sites was from the highway and also trucks at the Love's Travel Stop at the exit to the East. With windows closed and A/C on, it was not audible inside. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Nice to see a CG in IL that doesn't have a bunch of trashy seasonal sites. Most sites are generous in size and very level. Enough, but not too many trees. Owners very nice and friendly. Great area with tons to do. Very well stocked store and nice game room. Ideal for groups and rally's as there are many wide open areas with community fire pits, and a nice rec hall. Campground and buildings new. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
A real nice, clean park. Wifi works good and we had a long, shaded pull-thru site. Big rig friendly, trees and such are nicely trimmed. There are new condos being built all around the east side of the park, and have large dirt wall pushed up next to the park. It blocks construction noise, but also blocks some of the sites TV reception. A few too many kids running around for my taste, but it is summer! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
We were told at check-in that we would get wifi. Could not receive at our site. Had to bring computer to rec room to receive wifi, which was very noisy. If you want wifi request a site near the office. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$28
The woman at check-in was extremely nice and helpful, especially since we were later arriving than anticipated. We are a 45 ft motorhome towing a trailer, and had no problem getting into the site. Free WIFI. One problem we had was that due to our trailer, we were unable to reach the sewer hook-up. No cable tv, and our satellite was apparently blocked by a tree. Oh well! It's supposed to be camping, right! We would probably stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Small, but cozy and clean. The store and game room was really nice and the pool was clean. Although it is just off of I-80, really didn't hear the traffic. We also had a visit by 'Patty', the roaming park deer. The kids loved the fact that she came right up to our campsite to beg. Really liked this CG and would go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
The jury is still out for me on this facility. While very clean and the staff seems pretty nice,(very strict!) I can't put my finger on what bothers me here. Very close (but no problem) to the Interstate. Also the state parks are close by. Shopping is not a problem as several large towns and even a few RV stores are within easy drive distances. Going to give this place one more try in October. I will be with a group, so we'll see how that goes. I do agree that big rigs may take some nifty handling to navigate the roadways... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Location is nice by Starved Rock, but the customer service is terrible. After staying there a few times and talking to the owners, I had thought they were good people, I was WRONG. I called early to change a reservation due to a sick child and was treated very poorly, they could not care less. The funny thing was since they would not change my reservation, I took my other child out and my wife stayed at home. I got there and they had rented my RESERVED site!! I demanded my site and they asked the other guy to leave. I felt bad, but I was not going to lose money. So they got my $27 for that night and I spent all night just telling my story. Hopefully the $27 they got has cost them much more in the long run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This is a very nice campground. We did not notice any seasonal sites. The owners and staff were very friendly and accommodating. Some of the pull through sites are a bit narrow, although very long. We probably would have preferred the sites in the back of the park even though some of them were W/E only, as this area was more spread out and shaded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$15
This was a spur-of-the-moment overnight stop. Close to the highway, but no noise; gravel, level sites, wifi (pay) if you're close to the office. If you need satellite access, ask, and they'll give you a site with a southern view. Rate is Passport America. Everybody's friendly, and the book swap library is very well stocked. If we're in the neighborhood again, we'll stay here. And if you're into automotive stuff, the JC Whitney distribution center and outlet store is on the other side of the highway. (no cornfield this year) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$30
We stayed here for a week in April '06. The park is located about an hour west of Chicago off I-80. Despite proximity to highway, road noise was not an issue. In fact it was negligible from inside our rig. There are several long pull through sites, all gravel. The nearby towns of Utica, Ottawa and Peru offer all of the big box stores, wineries, good restaurants and pubs. Having lived in Chicago area all our lives this is by far one of the nicer campgrounds. The park is only four years old and and it was evident that the owners have plans to expand and improve the park. Office staff is friendly and helpful. We'll be fulltiming and this will be our destination when visiting family. They honor Good Sam and Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
Decided to try this cg after seeing the reviews, and I must admit we were disappointed. Most sites are very narrow, not unexpected, and some hookups are on the "wrong" side; I also don't care for the pump-handle water connections. Personnel are pleasant, but the bathrooms are old, worn and not as clean as I would like. (Very hot and humid inside too, due to lack of good ventilation. ) Some nice walk-in tent sites in the woods, and the cabins look nice - they appear to have indoor plumbing, which is a plus. There was much less road noise from I-80 than we expected. The cg is ok for an overnight on the road, but for camping in this area, we will definitely choose a state park or area KOA over this one. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
My first impression was very nice. The access road is gravel and a bit dusty but in very good shape. The office staff was very friendly and check in went smooth. The interior roads are also gravel and very drivable. The sites are grass and ours was a large pull through with full hookups and 50 amps service. Leveling was no problem at all and the site was clean. Our site was out in the open but they do have many sites with shade trees. There is a playground and a clean pool. They also have an arcade for the kids and an area for the adults to sit and enjoy free coffee. I was disappointed they didnt have wireless or even a phone line to use to get on the internet. They say they are working on Wireless though. The grounds were in good shape and clean. Although it appears to be right next to the Interstate, noise was not a problem at our site. This campground reminds me of the movie Field of Dreams because it appears to have been built in the middle of a cornfield. Right outside our site was the end of the cornfield with 6-foot stocks. If the corn was ready for picking I could have had some real fresh corn since there is no fence between the field and us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2005
$27
This was a nice clean campground. The bathrooms and showers were very clean and everyone was friendly. A well kept campground. The only issue we had was the road noise from the Interstate. Overall we would stay here again.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$28
This is a clean, modern, friendly campground, and only 5 minutes from I-80. It's the best campground near Starved Rock State Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Level sites and very helpful staff. Spent the weekend with a Good Sams Chapter and had a wonderful time. Close to Starved Rock State Park. It is just off the interstate but did not hear any road noise even on Friday night when the Interstate was busy. Clean bathrooms, showers, and grounds. They are adding more sites and additional bathroom and showers. Mostly pull through sites. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com