218707 User submitted reviews online!!
Fish Lake Beach Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (847) 546-2228
CGID1048

Fish Lake Beach Resort

Camp Information
Sites
639
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   5   7   7   10   6   5   6   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
Large campground with many seasonal installations. Great place for kids with beaches, pools, mini-golf, etc. We had a large site and found it easy to use. Friendly staff and they maintained the park well. Would use again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
We have stayed at this campground numerous times and I must say they have done so much in the way of improvements. The office staff couldn't be better. The washrooms we cleaned at least twice daily. The pool and beach and grounds were very well maintained. This is the most family friendly campground in the Chicago area. We have no complaints. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
To be fair, we visited this park on a holiday weekend and it was evident that many families had been here for the whole time. It was obvious that maintenance was unable to keep up. The 45 sites designated for short time renters was primarily tents and trailers which seemed to spread into each other. The showers were swamped and unpleasant. On the other hand, our site was beautifully shady and water and electric performed well. Much of the park is park models. We were thankful for special service as they squeezed us in as soon as someone vacated a spot and called to let us know they had a site. It is not on the way to anywhere, and I would not trouble to go again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
The rate reflects a month stay. This was a good place to stay. Most of the campground is for seasonal campers who own the park models they are in. The staff was for the most part great. The campground is located in a good area for shopping and entertainment. The only negatives for us were a lack of cable tv and the WiFi which, when it was working, could only be accessed in an open air pavilion or in the immediate area around the pavilion. This place gets busy on the weekend with locals using the campground beach and the transient spaces. It wasn't bad too bad though even when it was packed. The showers were very clean and the pool was good. We will stay here again when we are back in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
We were at a full hook up site which we loved. Our site was roomy and shaded with trees, we didn't even have to use our awning. Their bathrooms were very clean, and while using the shower I actually saw a work person come in and stock the bathrooms with toilet paper and make sure everything was in place. They had a nice schedule with activities for each day of the week. Firewood was reasonable-10 large pieces for $6. We liked the park and would definitely visit again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
We visited Fish Lake Beach again in June of this year in a tent and had a very pleasant experience. There are not many temporary sites as it’s almost all permanent trailer sites. Temp sites are a decent size and there are lots of trees and shade, however all sites are directly next to each other. The grounds are well maintained, with highly visible crews performing maintenance on a regular schedule. The bathrooms are very clean and fresh smelling with newer looking toilets and shower stalls. Playgrounds have some very new equipment added as well as older equipment. The pool area is very clean, with all new deck chairs and the water is a good temperature. The campground is very crowded on the weekends, 100% full, but it starts clearing out by Sunday afternoon. By Sunday evening only about 25% of the temp sites were occupied. All staff are very friendly. The camp store is well stocked and has very reasonable prices for everything including ice, firewood, bait for fishing, etc. The ice cream is delicious! Security is OK, but you do have to watch your own stuff, especially on the weekends. We will go again, but only during the week to avoid the huge crowds. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Sites were gravel with lots of shade. Roads were narrow and paved, but the trees were intelligently planted back from the roads so that backing in was not too difficult. Upon arrival, I ascertained that my pedestal was incorrectly wired. A worker arrived five minutes after I called the office and fixed it. Shower water could have been hotter. Memorial Day weekend was party time for the locals. The place was full and overflowing. It did quiet down around 11 PM. The campground was full making getting in and out slow and tedious due to cars parked in the road and people wandering everywhere. It was hot and the voltage dropped to 108. Restrooms were clean until Friday night and never were clean again until Tuesday. Rate is for a weekly stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
This crowded park includes everyone from permanent residents to over nighter and day use visitors; many, many day use visitors. Narrow roads, tightly spaced sites and a lot of trees require careful navigation but can accommodate big rigs. Utilities are adequate with low water pressure. Wi-Fi is available in the area but requires contracting with a source outside of the park. AT&T phone and data service are good. The price is based on a week’s stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
OMG, this park is very busy in the summer - lots of tents and children. They allow the general public to use the lake so that makes it extra busy on weekends. The pool was super crowded as was the laundry, which was outside in the heat and it was exceptionally hot and muggy last July. It's an old, old, old park and needs some TLC. Management was very courteous and helpful. Most of Fish Lake is dedicated to park models - some look great, others should be hauled away. We stayed for two weeks as we were working in the area, but I don't think we'd stay here again just because of all the noise and campfire smoke from the tent campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Nice, well-kept park. Most sites are long term. Offers fishing lake, pool, kids playground, laundry, and church on Sundays. We were here for several months and paid a monthly rate. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
The short term RV area was very friendly, however it is completely covered by large canopy tree's. This makes it impossible to dry out and there is no satellite signal. The Wi-Fi was very unreliable and is not free either. It is very dark there and with all the dampness there are many mosquito's. I have just 2 words for the owners "Chain Saw". Get rid of some tree's and do it today! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This park offers full hook-ups, proximity to the northern Chicago metropolitan area and numerous activities. The pool was clean and well kept. Park has lake access, a nice beach with playground equipment. Roads are narrow and sites are tightly packed but some can be accessed by big rigs with care and patience. Most of the park is occupied by long term residents. There is a lot of tree cover, making satellite TV generally inaccessible but cell phone and aircard coverage was good (both AT&T). The resort provides facilities that are rare in northeastern Illinois. Our cost was based on the weekly rate plus electric. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
There are a lot of trees which is both good and bad news: it was a dark campground. The spaces were narrow and difficult to back into. There were some pull-throughs at the front of the camp but they didn't have full hook-ups. Probably 75-90% were park models, with the remaining sites for tourists. The laundry area was outdoors and had few machines. The exit road to the highway was very very rough: even going slow was very bumpy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
The park is mostly permanent residents with park model type RV's. There were some older trailers that were in a state of disrepair that needed updating and cleaning. The park does offer limited overnight camping at a fair price. The owners/operators are friendly and try to maintain a clean park. There is 24 hour security in the park on the weekends which seems to help with noisy campers during the night. My only complaint with the park was the dump station. This is not a level sight (running uphill). My rear galley holding tank would not drain all the way, hard to push water up hill. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This camp ground had lots to do for my nieces. Very quiet and friendly camp ground. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$34
This is primarily a permanent resident type park. They list 625 sites but only about 25 are not permanent and some of them are monthly. Our site was quite muddy (not much gravel) but most seemed to be OK. Other reviews pretty much cover it. If not for the mud, I would rate it higher. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$34
Friendly staff and clean facilities. The have a swimming beach and kiddie pools. Our site was spacious and everything was in good working order. They are not very close to Six Flags, I don't know why they advertise this. Overall a good pick. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
This one all depends on your tastes. We found it much too crowded and busy (on a weekend) but others, including many families, seemed to enjoy it well enough. A nearby state park would probably be a better alternative for those seeking peace and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$33
Looking for a one night stop over to see a friend. Campground is very big and active and has many really nice park models. However having to go by all this to check in and then retrace to get to site was OK but could have done without. Nice site 30 amp only. Badly placed water spigot made getting out harder than it should have been. Nice dump station, but required a 180 degree turn to get to gate to leave after dumping. I had a 38' MH and was pulling a car. I would not have wanted to do it in a larger rig. I found staff to be friendly and help full and the park very quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2005
$35
We stayed here in the fall of 05 and spring of 06, with two different experiences. The fall was great, the spring was wet, muddy and buggy... Staff seemed nice in the fall, grumpier in the spring. Less accommodating in the spring than in the fall. Dirtier showers in the spring (no hot water once), than in the fall. More activities in the fall than in the spring. Our recommendation...stay in the fall!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$32
We visited Fish Lake Beach in June of 2005 in a 31' fifth wheel. The sites lacked privacy, but I have seen much smaller elsewhere. This place is huge, but most is seasonal. If they tell you to walk to the office/store, make sure you have good shoes on! The employees I spoke with grew up as seasonals at Fish Lake Beach, and they seemed to take pride in their work. If campground staff was doing security or quiet hour rounds, they were doing it discreetly. I was unsure how safe our belongings were, so everything got locked up at night. If I fished, I would definitely come back to this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2003
$32
Even though this camp ground had received a 9 rating from a previous visit, we rated this campground just above average. The bathrooms were not clean, there are very few full hook ups, the camping area is far from the fishing or swimming beach. the camp sites are close together and your slide will probably be out over your neighbors fire ring. There are approximately 600 sites in this camp ground and only 32 are for weekend visits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$30
We have camped at Fish Lake Campground many times over the years. A fine family place with activities, pool and lake for swimming and fishing. Our kids love it and so do we. Family owned and it shows. Dances Movies, playgrounds, hay rides etc. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com