221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Shields Park NAS Recreation Area (Military Camping Only) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (361) 961-1293
CGID10488

Shields Park NAS Recreation Area (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
116
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   7   10   10   8   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
Some long term people here that let their dogs use any open area as the bathroom and didn't clean it up. No recycling. Other than that the campground is in a conscientious location to enjoy the sights in Corpus. The newer area seemed nicer but then you have to deal with the salt spray from the ocean. We were in the older area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2014
$18
Very nice park, clean, easy access in pull thru site, with grass and a concrete patio with a picnic table. We camped very near the bay. Fishing available on the pier and boat launch to bay. Wifi worked great when connected, but did disconnect a couple of times a day. ATT NetGear would always work great. If you have pets look out for cockle burrs. Our dogs picked up a few while we were here for a week. Staff personnel were outstanding. Would stay here again. Since you are right on the Bay expect the wind to blow on a regular basis, but was tolerable for us. Diesel if available on base and the exchange and commissary were first class. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$20
Nice bay side campground. Well maintained. Good place to stay if you plan a week or more to visit Corpus Christi. You will need to obtain a MWR Guest Pass, unless you are in the military or retired. This costs $20, and takes a minimum of five days to obtain. Call them and apply ahead of time if you plan to visit. Really not much of a hassle. Wi-Fi was not too good, but our Verizon card worked just fine. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$18
Shields Campground and RV Park on NAS Corpus Christi offers nice big patios, full hookups, and lots of wind w/some salt spray. Their “gas” station does sell diesel fuel, and they have a BX and commissary. Their free wi-fi ranged from “so-so” to non-existent– but our Verizon air card worked when the campground wi-fi was “bogged down”. They offer free laundry, but both the showers and laundry were some distance from our side of the campground, so they were not convenient and not enough to serve a park of this size. Dog owners have lots of areas ( on leash ) to walk your dogs, but these areas have an abundance of cockleburs. The Texas black tailed jackrabbits are plentiful at our site and somewhat entertaining. Like so many other military campgrounds and because they now have to pay for a park host ( IRS interference ) so they can then tax the host’s earned park income, there is no host and no real in park scheduled activities. On the plus side their golf course walking rate range from 10.00 – 14.50 for 18 holes. It is a wide open course and greens reseeding was going on while we were there in Nov so the greens were slow. If using a GPS to enter the base we plugged in 100 NAS Drive and it took us to the main, 24 hr gate. We’re not sure if we’d go out of our way to return to this park. We were here for a week before heading southwest to our Rio Grande Valley winter camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$15
We love this place! Everything is kept spic and span, sites are spacious, fun fishing off the pier and we like the Gulf breezes. Nice small commissary and Navy Exchange on base, good espresso available at the Flight Deck. Big H.E.B. and small Wal-Mart and several restaurants just outside the gate at Flour Bluff on Waldron. We stayed on the grass sites at Paradise Cove. Wish we could stay all winter! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$15
This is a wonderful campground! The sites are good sized and close to the gulf. The laundry and showers were clean and there a beautiful beach and pier to walk on. We had no complaints: everything worked as it should. We stayed here for several weeks and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Shields is a great bargain for its location. Civilian rates are about $2 more than military. Sites are very big especially in the Paradise Cove section. Their are two fishing piers on either end of the facility as well as a marina which is being modernized. Although Civilians are accepted, the military and retired are given, and should be given, priority. A new Manager was hired in September and apparently doing a nice job. She has added activities that were wanted by the guests and is still accepting suggestions for more activities. All base facilities are within walking or quick driving distance and the newly trained staff has learned a lot about customer service and hospitality. It is usually windy and therefore we were unable to open our awnings, but you learn to live with it. Lots of very good but inexpensive restaurants in the local area and a great little sandwich shop on base called the Flight Deck. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
The Park accepts the General public, not military only as advertised. It is on the Navy Base and therefore it is safe and secure. They have added new management and it is obvious things are changing for the better with activities and programs being added. All sites are within 200 yards of the Gulf of Mexico and if you like salt water fishing, this is the place to be. The park offers rentals of all watercraft as well as good fishing gear and bait. Sites are very large and roomy and Guests and staff are very friendly, while the mosquitoes are not. Bring plenty of repellent. The health spa is very well equipped and the golf course and first class clubs on base are open to all guests. This park is the best kept secret in south Texas. Top notch accommodations at Military prices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$15
This park is not worth the monthly rate of 430 dollars. There is no actives at all. the mosquitoes (in swarms) will attack you if you walk across the grass and even on your concrete patio. Does have large concrete patios and all people are friendly. Like all campgrounds, the people are let their dogs do their business by their campers. Some are tied up outside so the owners won't have to walk them. We got here the 15th of Nov 09 and will be here till may of 2010 I guess if there is anything left of me from the mosquitoes. The commissary is great and the fitness is one of the best I have used. I hate the wind and all the rain but sure enjoy the view. Lots of dead fish from the red tide around the banks and piers now. The Wi-Fi cost extra but they inform you that its not worth it. I use Sprint and Verizon air cards on EDO. Works great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Military Campground on NAS Corpus Christi. Lots of great fishing. Swimming was really only good in base pool located next door. Very windy location with many stickers. Host and other campers were friendly. The park was quiet and dark which I like. We might stay again. If you want the beach, I would suggest staying elsewhere. Although driving across the bay to a Padre Island beach was only a 15 min. drive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com