219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Whittington Woods Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 102 user reviews. Phone: (618) 435-3401
CGID1049

Whittington Woods Campground

Camp Information
Sites
104
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   10   10   10   10   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$33
Easy access, had one of the 5 front pull-throughs, long, a tad narrow. Water pressure reasonable (after I removed the CG gauge), nicely treed, easy satellite, roads great shape. Clearly come back if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Easy to reach from I-70. Campground entrance was clearly marked. The owner greeted us and had all of our paperwork ready, even the Good Sam number. She escorted us to our wide, pull-through site. Very scenic, level, and quiet. All hookups were very accessible and worked. This is a privately-owned park, and the owners obviously take great pride in it. Quite the refreshing change from the franchised parks that only care about money and packing in campers. Only thing that could improve the park would be cable, but we didn't miss the TV, enjoying, instead, the tranquil setting. We wanted to stay more days, but we had to keep driving home to Florida. Highly recommend this gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
Whittington Woods was a beautifully maintained campground. The owner was very accommodating to our needs and especially kind to share her fresh garden veggies. We'd definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$33
Rate includes Good Sam discount. Superb Park. Can't fault in any way. Beautiful treed sites, level clean gravel., manicured grass. Very helpful hosts. Wi-Fi the best we have had anywhere. Fresh veg offered upon arrival from the extensive garden. If we didn't have to move on, would have stayed more than just 1 night. Totally professional. Will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$32
This RV park is easy access from I-57. The owners take great pride in their park and work hard to keep it beautiful. Check out the garden! The pool is nice and the bathhouses are spotless. We didn't use the Wi-Fi. We experienced some problems with our RV and the owners went out of their way to help us. This was our third or forth time to stay in this park and will stay again during future travel. Plan to pay with cash or personal check. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Easy access to highway, immaculate beautifully landscaped grounds, lovely garden area, pristine pool, sparkling and roomy bathroom/shower area, nice laundry facilities, and friendly owners. The entire park is beautifully wooded and shady with level sites and grassy areas. We received fresh eggs upon check in from their free range laying hens. A nice play area for the kids with retro style playground equipment. Reminded me of our playground at school. We stayed here on our way to WDW in Florida and again on the return trip home. We will definitely stay here again, anytime we are in the area. LOVE THIS PLACE!! What a gem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Really beautiful, spacious, and well run campground. The pool is nice, the showers and bathrooms are excellent. The shade trees keep the campers cool and there's lots of green space. The family running this place is wonderful. This is my model for what a RV park should be. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Don't give 10s! But this place is close. Clean, neat, level and very well kept and landscaped. Friendly and helpful owners. Easy access to I-57. Strong WiFi and good local Digital TV channels. Pull through had plenty of room for toad. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$32
This campground is very convenient to the Interstate. There is a pool, playground, swing set, and even chickens and a garden. It is well shaded and most of the sites are level. The site we selected is a pull-through with water, sewer, and 50 amp. I used the laundry, and it was clean and in excellent repair. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Rate is Good Sams. The new owners have turned a dump into a palace in 3 years. We come this way once or twice a year in our travels. Every time the park is more improved. They even have water sites available when it freezes. They prefer a check or cash instead of a credit card. Not far off of I-57. Would have given a 10 if there was more to do in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2013
$32
Very nice, clean and quiet campground. Wi-Fi was excellent and fast, helped by the fact that there were only about 5 campers there during our 2 day stay. We really appreciated the fenced dog run. Our dogs loved it! The bath houses and laundry were spotlessly clean. The owners were very nice and even gave us a dozen fresh eggs from the chickens they keep. They were well appreciated and tasty. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2013
$32
Very well kept campground. Owners are very friendly and professional. We were given fresh eggs from their chicken coop upon check in. Camp sites are very well groomed and level. Wi-Fi was excellent. Very limited satellite sites available due to very large oak trees and no cable. Washrooms and showers were spotless. Wood scuptures on site were very unique. Our dog loved the place. Will definitely stay again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Only gave this park a 9 because they charged us extra for the kids. Not sure why places do this; it's not like they take up more room, and our kids are older. Be aware that if you stay here in October you will experience raining acorns because the park is filled with oak trees. The owners share their eggs and fresh vegetables in season. Also note that the shower attached to the registration building is the one to use. The other bath house is older and the showers are timed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Immaculate grounds and facilities. Friendly, helpful and professional owners. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
As other people have reviewed - great place! Great host, everything was great. We ate dinner at Gibby's on the Green about 2 miles from the RV Park. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$31
What a gem! Everything an RVer could look for in a campground! Sites were large and level, easy access from major highway, very pleasant staff, free veggies, and extremely quiet. Stayed overnight but could have stayed much longer! If ever wanting to add anything, a hot tub would be a nice touch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Excellent park. Camped here in a 5th wheel and got one of the pull-through sites in the front. Owners were out of town, but their friends were handling the campground duties and doing a great job. Free tomatoes and eggs at check-in. Good shade, trimmed trees and good TV antenna reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Lovely, clean and attractive place with nice level sites. The only thing that could make it better would be a cable hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$36
Great park, Have stayed here previously. Easy to find off the highway yet quiet. Kids love seeing the chickens and both times they have given us fresh eggs. Tomatoes this time, too. They are just so friendly and helpful. Level sites, lots of shade. Will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Very nice campground among the trees. Gravel access roads with level gravel sites. Some pull throughs long enough to avoid dropping the toad, but most sites are back-ins. Some sites rather close together. Our awning came within a foot of the rig next door when extended. No problems maneuvering as the trees are all older and trimmed high. Water pressure good, power good, WiFi slow. Some highway noise from the interstate and frequent train horns. We will stay here again when in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Close to highway but amazingly quiet. Courteous, welcoming staff. Level easy access sites. Clean and well maintained. Pool was clear and cool. We stopped here in the afternoon for an overnight stay. As "strangers" from out of state we were not expecting a big welcome, but the woman who checked us in made us feel like regulars. She offered us free pie from a local bakery and free tomatoes from her garden. She traded recipes with my wife and really made us sorry we were unable to stay longer. Will mark this in our journal as one of the good ones and include a stop here the next time we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
The only reason I did not give this park a 10 is because there was no cable TV hook ups. Otherwise, this park is phenomenal. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. You are escorted to your site no matter what time it is. The store is well stocked. I cannot say enough about how clean and well maintained this park is. There are trees everywhere. There is a fantastic wooded area dog walk and if your pups are well behaved you can unleash them to play. The water pressure was almost as good as my home pressure. Wi-Fi service was very fast and even though we had no cable, we picked up all the local stations with clear clarity. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Park is very clean and inviting. It looks great from the moment you arrive and as you walk around the campground. The bathrooms and showers are very clean. There is a nice pool, but the playground is lacking (only a slide, teeter totters, and 3 swings). The pads are gravel, but our site was level enough that I didn't even deploy the leveling jacks. The sites are a bit too crowded for my liking and our pull through overnight site did not have its own fire pit (other sites have their own fire pits). This campground is very, very nice, but could be even better with additional offerings (e.g. bigger playground). Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
Overall this is a very nice park. Gravel sites but very level, and they have nice shade trees. The staff was very nice and lead us right to the site. Would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
GREAT park - lovely, quiet, clean and friendly. Good Wi-Fi, with bandwidth monitoring so no one person can use too much and knock another person off the internet. Really earned their '10' rating. Our price is with the Good Same discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We had an overnight stay and we enjoyed the park. Great owners and staff. Park is well maintained. Did not have time to enjoy the pool or amenities. Easy access from Hwy 57. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
This is a very nice clean park. The bath and showers were very clean. The pool was nice. Our site was pull through. All site's looked level with nice shade. Good Wi-Fi. Rate is Good Sam cash or check. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$32
Nice clean park. Easy access from I-57. Friendly helpful staff. It was raining and cool when we stopped as an overnight stop so we didn't do anything at the park. Looks like it would be a nice place to spend a few days when the weather is better. We will stop here again when returning this way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Very clean park with level sites. Treed but limbs were cut very high. Hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Quiet locale off the highway. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
Large park, but doesn't feel like it! Plenty of room between RV sites, plus it's in a wooded area, so the trees help set areas apart. There's ample space to walk dogs through the woods, so they get to enjoy new smells as we enjoy the trees. Owners were really pleasant and accommodating. Nice place to stop and relax after a long day's drive. We plan to stay there again whenever we're though that part of Illinois. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
On our way home to Georgia after three months in Minnesota and this was a timely place to stop and I'm glad we did. Originally planned on one night but stayed for two. You know you are somewhere special when there is fresh produce in the office with a sign that says "help yourself". The campground is clean and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. There is also a book exchange, though not large, had a nice selection of books. Though close to the highway, our stay was peaceful and quiet. We have put Whittington Woods on our very short "Places to Stay Again" list We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
We stayed here on our way home to Chicago from Texas. Planned just a one night. The people were so friendly and the park was in such nice shape we decided to stay two nights. We had a pull through site that was very level. Excellent utilities but no cable. Wi-Fi was excellent. 10 miles from a large Walmart. A nice little winery was close. Easy access on and off the interstate. Lots of trees. Restrooms and showers were excellent. Everything was very clean and well maintained. We are leaving for Florida in early November and this will definitely be our first night stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Used this park as a stopover for one night. Shortly after arriving and setting up my wife asked why we weren't staying longer; this is a nice park with very nice owners whose hard work and improvements to this park is obvious. Very nicely landscaped throughout and all aspects of the park are new or very well cared for and kept. This park well deserves the good ratings it gets. Downsides were very few for us (1) no cable and no chance of getting satellite reception, and (2) pull through were very close together but with only a few campers staying they spaced us apart so it was never an issue. If pull through beside us was occupied we probably could not have put out our awning. Easy access from the highway and maneuvering in and out of the park was easy in our larger RV. Quiet at night. Utilities all worked well. Overall a great experience. We would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Beautiful, wooded setting, very clean and well kept. Peaceful and quiet. Slight noise from freeway and an occasional train but not bothersome. No cable , few over the air channels (I only got ABC and FOX). Pull throughs are long and level, but narrow. I could not put out my awning. I would ask for a back in. Some back to back hookups. Friendly, helpful hosts. Pool was closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$32
Very pretty campground. Long level pull-through sites: very Big Rig friendly. No cable, but good Wi-Fi. Lots of shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Lovely campground. Long, pull through, level sites. Have stayed twice at this campground on our travels. Very clean place with a friendly staff. Campground far enough from interstate that you do not hear any traffic noise. Easy in and easy out !! Would stay here again if in area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
This was a very nice clean campground. We had a level shaded pull thru lot. The park is well taken care of and worth the price! Stayed at one the night before that was the same price and could not even hold a candle to this park. Would stay here again. Very friendly owners. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
This place is wonderful. Sites level, long, wide. Bathrooms are incredible. Clean and large. The owners have a garden and even gave the campers vegetables. The only reason this isn't rated a 10 is no cable and not much Tv reception. Satellites tough to use because of the wonderful trees on each site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
The owners were nice and showed us to our lot after registering. The campground was well maintained, very clean and nicely manicured. We only found a few negatives. The campsites are much closer together than we prefer. There may be a few lots in the back that have a little more space. The pool was nice, however, there was no shade or umbrellas on the patio tables. So, when we went to watch our children in the pool, we had to sit in direct sunlight, which was VERY unpleasant on a hot summer day. The playground was very basic. Their rate of $32/night only applies to the first two people. We had to pay an additional $4/night for our two children, making the total nightly rate $36. This is a nice campground, but we didn't feel it was worth $36/night. We have stayed at nicer campgrounds for much less. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$36
Exceptionally clean and neat campground with long, level pull-thru sites. Very nice spacing between sites and very quiet at night. A little pricey for just a one night stand but the amenities are such that it would be an excellent longer term stay especially for families with kids. We will stay here again though hopefully for a bit of local sightseeing the next time. The "Mrs" was very cheerful and helpful and showed to our site. 'Mr`s" garden is a sight to behold. Definitely a green thumb there. Just watch for the chickens as you drive in the park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
Have stayed in many campgrounds over the years, this is by far the nicest campground I have ever been to. Staff is excellent, bathrooms are clean. Huge oak trees, I saw no fallen limbs anywhere. Biggest pull-through sites I've ever seen. Outstanding! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$32
We have stayed in this RV park on several occasions and highly recommend it! It's easy to access from I-57. It's a beautiful park with lots of shade trees and level lots. The owner/manager take pride in providing a nice campground. The owners do not accept credit cards but gladly accept a personal check or cash. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$32
Lovely quiet campground dotted with hardwood trees and chickens scattered about the park. Woods at the back where you can run your dog off-leash. We stopped for one night but stayed two to rest up. There is the soothing sound of a train coming through in the distance at night - we loved it. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$36
Was welcomed by the friendly owner. Campground is very well maintained, with good level sites and easy access. Used trailer facilities so cannot comment on showers and washrooms. However based on condition of park, I expect that they are very good. Easy access from interstate, but not too noisy considering that interstate is visible from park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$31
We stopped here for one night while on the road. Staff is very friendly & helpful. Lots of beautiful trees. Very handy to I-57 from exit 77. Restrooms/showers & laundry are modern, very clean & open 24 hours. Sites & roads are gravel, but very nicely done & kept up very well. Gravel is clean & large stone, so no mud. Waling through the grounds is like taking a walk in a peaceful park. They have about 30 chickens that run lose - but stay close to their coop - they're actually quite pretty & are entertaining to watch - and they're very friendly. Our dog looked at them, then ignored them. The managers offer each guest a half dozen fresh eggs! We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
Wonderful park. New owners are very friendly and you can see all the fresh improvements. A lot of trees but all trimmed so no worry about hitting them with your rig. Chickens free roaming but no rooster which is a favorite sound of mine. I would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Nicely wooded spots, very peaceful. The manager gave us some free range chicken eggs from the chickens that roam the park. Very cool. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$32
Nice setting under high well trimmed trees. We received fresh eggs and garden fresh radishes when we arrived. They must have 50 chickens, no rooster to keep you awake, though. The down side is you can hear highway noise. We would camp here again. Our RV is very tall and we felt comfortable being able to maneuver without the worry of low branches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
Easy in/out from I-57 to this beautiful park. The owners bought this campground three years ago, added a new office, and have successfully turned a defunct campground into a wonderful stop. Sites are adequately separated and utilities are thoughtfully located. Trees are mature and completely shade all sites. Nice pool and "rally room". Site is complete with 1/2 dozen fresh brown eggs courtesy of a few free roaming chickens, some tomatoes, and peppers. We would enjoy staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This is a beautiful park that is great for families and others looking for a nice place to spend a day or a week. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There are chickens running loose in the park which are neat to watch. We even got a half dozen eggs when I checked in. The Wi-Fi was adequate and the site was level. This park has easy access on and off of the interstate. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This is a very nice campground with beautiful, stunning trees (OK, I am a tree lover). They were tall and will not cause issues to any navigating through the park. OK: maybe for satellite TV, which we do not have. The owners are onsite and very nice. It's a fairly new owner working hard to make the place nice. Very well kept with pull throughs up front for overnighters (like us). If there is a nit pick, some of the sites may be a bit close together. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Great overnight spot. Well shaded, new gravel. Host lives on property & provides escort to your site. Interesting that they have a flock of chickens on the property, but the birds don't seem to wander into the RV sites. Nice little dog walk area in the woods. Some sites had electric service too far in the back for us to reach with a normal cord. Overall, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This RV Park is very close to perfect. Very friendly staff, escort to space. Wide clear roads with fresh gravel. Nice wide and long spaces that are shaded with the trees trimmed. We liked the visit from the chickens. The bathrooms and showers are new and kept very clean. Wi-Fi worked great. Easy to get to from the interstate. Be sure to visit Benton just down the road. We would definitely be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Very friendly employees and a great campground! The weather was almost 100' so swimming wasn't all that refreshing, but the pool and restrooms were clean and nice. Large, level sites too. Close to town if you need anything, but a little too close to the highway. Overall, an excellent experience and we will definitely camp here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$31
One of the best campgrounds we have visited. Very friendly and helpful on-site owners, wide interior roads, easy access to I-57, large trees that are kept trimmed so they aren't an issue while driving through the campground or parking. Several pull through sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We love this campground, cannot say enough good things about it. "New" owners (about 3 years now) take such care with everything and their hard work is evident everywhere you look. WiFi is a bit "iffy" if the park is full, but we find that everywhere we go. There is no doubt we will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
This is a very clean and efficiently run campground; conveniently located! The sites are shaded and easily accessible! The owners are terrific as we had “dinghy” issues and were a little late leaving out at the required time. One of our favorite remembrances was the half dozen fresh eggs given to us when we checked in! The lot spaces were a little small for a motorhome with four slides. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in April of 2011. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
After driving in rain most of the day, we were tired. Easy fast check in and assured me no problem with a big rig pull though site. No problem driving in campground with wide gravel lanes. Here is the best in customer service as the owner insisted on escort to our site. It was pouring down rain and windy. Didn't want us to get lost. Offered a flier where pizza can be delivered to my site, if we wanted. Very friendly, good Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$30
Stayed overnight on way down South. Excellent pull through with full hook ups. Did not use water as temperatures were below freezing at night. Very friendly staff who took you to your site and made sure you got hooked up properly. Family operation that seems to be keep getting better each year. Would stay there again either going or coming back from our Southern winter trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Park has big, long pull throughs with almost level gravel. Good ATT, Verizon. Campground WiFi slow. Very dense trees and unable to get DirecTV. I felt the rate was high. Good water pressure and friendly helpful staff. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
This is a nice park that's convenient to the freeway but the woods muffle the road noise. Our site was plenty long and wide. The hookups worked fine. It's evident that the owners take pride in their park and work very hard to make staying there a pleasant experience. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
We stayed as a one-nighter along the way. If you use a GPS this may show up as a Holiday Travel Park. Everything seems redone since the new owners took over two years ago. The only thing they really lack is a rally room for various RV Clubs. They do have an open pavilion and a game room. The grounds are very clean and well kept. The newly remodeled bathhouse is immaculate. The owners are friendly and welcoming. They have really worked hard to make the grounds attractive and functional. I would definitely go back . They asked if we wanted to try for satellite service and put us on a site where we could hit all 3 needed for Dish HD. If you go to the Forum section, I have posted some pictures. Just search for Whittington Woods. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Neat, clean, very well shaded campground. Owners are very nice, friendly. We stayed a whole week. WiFi excellent. Close to Interstate I-57; Would be a good stop over for 1 night as they set you up in pull through up front. Owners always available, and I was surprised at the road noise was so quiet. There were a couple of trains at night in the distance, but other wise, highly recommended. Very close to Rend Lake State Park area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We were very impressed with this campground. The grounds are very clean and well kept. The newly remodeled bathhouse is immaculate. We used the pool which was well kept, clean, and so refreshing. The owners are friendly and welcoming. They have really worked hard to make the grounds attractive and functional. I would definitely go back and recommend this to friends. If you go, be sure to meet their free-roaming chickens! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We stayed as a 1 nighter along the way. We found this campground to be quite pleasing. The noise from the highway was not noticeable and the trees in the park are just beautiful. It's not far from the interstate and we would gladly stay here again. The owner had a sign up for lunch and the office was closed but she came out of her home and over to the office to check us in and escort us to our site. The next morning she even came out and waved goodbye. Just very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$38
Only reason we didn't give this campground a "10" was how narrow many of the sites were. While we got an end site, we actually could put out our awning, however there was only about 4 feet between our e/w/s hook-up area and the neighbors slide-outs. Don't think they were happy our slide outs eliminated the use of their picnic table. But this was not true of all sites. Other sites had more room and seemed quite nice. Pool, laundry and other areas all in great condition, and staff was great! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This gives new meaning to a stopover campground. It's close to the Interstate but protected by woods. There are lots of trees and lots of shade but trees are trimmed high so there is no problem with trees hanging over your RV. Sites are nicely spaced, well designated and graveled. Roads also are graveled. There is a nice swimming pool and new playground equipment. Ten miles down a back road is Benton, an antique center. Bicyclists can access miles of paved trails from the campground. We stopped here because of a storm and are delighted that we discovered this campground. The owners have worked hard to reclaim an old campground and their work shows! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
The campground was clean and nicely landscaped. My children loved the pool after a long, hot day driving. The bathrooms were clean and well-kept and the Wi-Fi worked great. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$23
Nice campground. Stayed one night passing through. Easy access to interstate, with shady pull through level lots, and nice staff. Would stay again. Don't know what to do in area, as we got in late and left early. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Good Sam rate. Park has welcoming and cheerful staff. Check-in was efficient and pleasant. The campground is lovely, lots of shade trees, level sites spaciously placed. Very nice and clean swimming pool and good playground. Would definitely like to stay here longer. It's a gem! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
The owners are very friendly. There was tons of shade with level, gravel, and well marked sites. It was neat, clean and pretty with flowers, bird houses and grass. Interstate 57 was fairly quiet in the distance. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
We stayed a single night. The owner(s) are amazingly friendly and accommodating. The park is very well maintained, not modern but extremely well kept. This is perhaps the best campground we've stayed at. Highly recommend you visit here if you're in the area. We will make a point to include this RV park in our future trips. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Only stayed 1 night. It is a beautiful setting and quiet. Park owner was extremely friendly and helpful even though we arrived after office hours. They were looking for us since I had called ahead and let them know we'd be late. Site was level, shaded and near to restrooms and showers which were the cleanest we've ever seen. We would stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
Very friendly staff / owners. I mentioned that I had some electrical problems on our motorhome, and the owner offered tools and any help we might need to get it fixed. TV reception is limited but satellite should work from most sites. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Nice park that is easy on, easy off the Interstate but far enough away to be quiet. Long, level pull-through spots available. Lot of shade (did give us a problem with our roof mounted dish, but they had offered me another spot further in that had a clear shot to the southwest). Local TV channels are "reachable" for a digital antenna. Small but nice pool. All in all, an enjoyable overnight location that I would have stayed longer if we would have had the opportunity if for nothing else, just to kick back and relax. We will stay here again if we are ever back in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Very nice shady park. Just north of Benton but easy very little traffic exit 77 off I-57. New owners have already done much too this park and will soon be an easy 10 rating. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
We camped overnight on the way to Kansas City and found the campground to be very well trimmed and neat, very shady. The new owners were exceptionally friendly and helpful both confirming our reservations by phone and also in greeting us. It is obvious that they take pride in having a nice campground both for overnights and also longer stays to enjoy the nearby lake. (A special thanks for the fresh eggs!) We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Site 82 fit our Landmark Augusta just right and is the only site that allowed our rooftop satellite to work because this is a park with lots of trees. Hosts are friendly and our neighbors were friendly. Wi-Fi available but we didn't use. I-phone showed Edge connection. Did not try our AT&T air card. We were greeted with fried pies!! What a treat. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$29
Stayed at this park on our way north from our trip to Florida. Very close to and easy to access from I-57. Close to the highway but no traffic noise. Because of a bad stretch of weather the park was covered in snow, but it was plowed perfectly and the sites were clear and ready to pull into. It is a beautiful location with gorgeous mature trees. The best part of the park are the couple running it. We needed to winterize but did not have RV antifreeze. We planned to park and run back out to get some, but they would not hear of it. She found some they had left and would not take a dime for it. How rare and wonderful is that?? These folks are making improvements in the park and are serious about providing a good experience. We would definitely stay here again and encourage all passing by to give Whittington Woods a try. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$29
This place isn't just "OK" for an overnight stay. It's "PERFECT!" With a 40 foot MH, we look for overnight spots that are hassle-free. And, this park met our every need. Access from the highway is quick and easy. Getting into, around and out of the park is a breeze. The owners are warm and welcoming and escort you to your long and level site. The trees make the you feel like you're in a remote hideaway. We couldn't hear the nearby interstate at all. This is a great spot for a relaxing and restful night. We will definitely be stop again when we're passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
Great place to overnight in a big rig. Beautiful sites, not too big, but easily accessible from the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
Our large slide out broke the bracket weld while I was extending it. It was only partially out. The owners bent over backwards to help. With their help we got the slide out extended enough for the night. At 8:00 pm they knocked on the door to tell me they had a welder that would be out early the next morning and he was. The campground is beautiful, the restrooms are clean, but above all: management really cares. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This campground is everything that it's advertised as and more. It's an 11 in my book. The bath house is spotless, bugless, and extremely user friendly. The managers have gone above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we are happy campers. No problems with the utilities, easy entry and exit, extra parking for toys. Did I mention the managers, hosts and owners are the most friendly folk on planet earth? Pictures of the sites on-line, are the real deal. It's four to five minutes to the boat launch for Rend Lake and to the Golf Course. Wal-Mart and whatever else you may need, is about 10 minutes away. Family friendly: this is it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
This is a very well kept campground with friendly staff. The bathrooms near the pool have been newly renovated and are fully tiled. We were a bit surprised by the number of trains that we heard. We would definitely visit this campground again. Easy off and on I-57. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$28
This is a really nice park: lots of tall trees and an almost rustic setting with all the amenities. The owner was wonderful and took the time to show us to our site. Just a few things spoiled our stay. The Wi-Fi system is very up to date and very fast, but it has a very sensitive limiter that locked us out of high speed access when I engaged the speed test. I'm sure it would prevent any online gaming as well. The wonderful trees here also made satellite reception impossible, even from the "best" satellite spot in the park. I also needed a good hot shower due to back problems, but the showers are rigged with a push button system that provides only 60 seconds of somewhat warm water per push and is not adjustable for temperature. Our special needs would probably prevent us from returning to this park, as beautiful as it is. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
An excellent over night site. Great rural CG for a few days to relax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$28
This is a really nice campground! It reminds me of a state park campground, but with full hookups. There are tall trees everywhere and lots of shade. The spots are long, packed gravel and pretty level. It is very close to I-57 but quiet and well worth the 15 minute drive from I-64. The owners are very friendly and have obviously spent a lot of time working on this campground. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
What a nice place to stop for the night. We have a 40' motorhome and were towing. Sites are big so you do not have to unhook. So nice to have such a friendly owner that enjoys her job. Very easy access to I-57. Pretty setting with grass and trees. A real pleasure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Easy access to freeway although it is QUIET. Beautiful setting.Lots of nice trees and grass with picnic tables,but still has bigrig access adequate for 40ft motorhome towing. Even though they do NOT have cable tv at this time they do have some sites where your rv satellite dish has reception (like ours did).New owners enjoy owning an rv park and act like it. They are friendly and responsive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$28
Whittington Woods Campground is another private campground that is being brought back to life by hard working new owners. Whittington Woods is a new name and its new owners have made dramatic improvements. The owners have brought grass back to the campground and restored a woods-like setting to the landscaping. They’ve put fresh gravel at site pads and reworked service hookups. All the services we used were excellent (Wi-Fi, water, sewer, 30 amp electric). Some sites are available in more open sections of the campground for big rigs and for satellite reception. Tent sites are also available. The RV sites were level, well graveled, and nicely spaced. Distances are a little bit long for some service hook-ups at some sites. An extra length of hose or cord for water, power, or sewer connections may be needed. We stayed at Whittington Woods as part of a rally event. The hosts were helpful and gracious as they worked with the rally coordinator and participants to make the event pleasant and successful. The new hand laid stone fire ring and the spacious pavilion are ideal for group activities in any weather. The bathhouse facilities were being upgraded and were clean and available. As we left, the new swimming pool had been completed and was being filled. The campground is easy to find at Exit 77 off Interstate 57 and about 1/2 mile towards Benton on Hwy 37. With the woods as a buffer, interstate noise was not intrusive. The campground has a great proximity to Rend Lake and the lake activities, to the Artisan Center, local wineries, antique shops in Benton, and events in Du Quoin, IL. We will definitely be return guests to Whittington Woods. The campground is a great destination place for rallies, family reunions, and social gatherings as well as overnight stops. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
This park is now called Whittington Woods. It has been taken over by new owners and they are doing a great job fixing it up. It is a great campground to just spend the night or stay awhile. Pool is being overhauled. Easy on and off of I-57. Have stayed here many times in the past, but it is getting nicer due to the new owners. They are great and very helpful We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
Overall this is an average private park close to the interstate. The good part is it is far enough from the highway that you do feel like you're away from it all. The campground is set in some trees, but you don't feel like it in the camper. There seemed like a few long-term campers were there, and the music was very loud until past 11 pm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$33
This was a nice campground. Despite the trees, there's not a whole lot of privacy between sites. The owners were friendly. They had Karaoke one of the nights we were there, and our family had as much fun as if we were at a wedding! I felt the Karaoke should have ended sooner than 11 though since we have little ones. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2008
$32
We were not overly impress with this park. We were on our way home from Florida so it was only overnight and close to I-57. We arrived at 6 pm and the office was closed. You could not use a credit card since the office was closed so you had to use the night deposit with an envelope with cash. Had to use the intercom which was hard to understand since they were cutting down and trimming trees. It was muddy and soft. The rest rooms and shower was locked so you could not use them. There were only about 4 of us staying there. Never did see the owners. Will not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$30
Just an overnighter. Friendly owners, informative check-in with local attraction info, GSC 10% discount. Dirt and gravel roads and sites. Lots of shade from pine trees. Good hookups (30 amps for us). We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$30
Very disappointing. We were put by the odoriferous drainage field, despite the fact that the park was not full. The hosts blamed the smell on the wind direction and were not interested in moving us. We were there for only one night so we didn't argue. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$26
Very nice park with mature trees that provide a canopy over the entire park. Great pool to relax in. Level pull through sites. Great park to pull off I-57 for the night and relax. Would stay again. Great owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$27
Beautiful location with tons of trees (like camping in a forest). Very easy to get to from I57. Would be a 10 except: Hookups were very poorly placed (water and electric on right side rear and sewer on driver side 1/2 way to driver door). Had to park with rear hanging in the road. Also we had very loud (drunken) neighbors that were up well past the 11 pm quiet time (2 am) and up again at 6 am for breakfast. We'll stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$23
Lots of trees. Some marginal drivers with larger rigs may find the roads daunting. Place was sparsely occupied, but voltage was low at our site. Nice store and manager. We would go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$24
This is a very nice facility that is a short distance from I-57. There is no traffic noise from either the interstate or the local highway. he park can easily handle the largest units without problems. The management is very eager to please the camper and maintains a clean, pleasant, and attractive facility. This is probably the finest facility in Southern Illinois. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$22
The sites are very narrow. A good overnight park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$22
Scenic, easy in/out. Very pleasant and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com