224124 User submitted reviews online!!
Kartchner Caverns State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 45 user reviews. Phone: (520) 586-2283
CGID105

Kartchner Caverns State Park

Camp Information
Sites
62
Date of Stay
February 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   9   8   9   7   10   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2014
$25
Very nice well maintained camp. The caverns are well worth the visit with very interesting rangers. Since these are "wet" caves they are justifiably careful with the environment inside. The campground itself has dirt roads, good size sites, a few mesquite trees and tables but not fire pits. This is another good Arizona State Park which is well managed and maintained. The reservation website is user friendly. We were pleased to find a number of open sites for February/March when we reserved in December. The birding from this camp was only so so at least in late February. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$30
Lots of room but not terribly attractive during the winter (deciduous trees = no winter shade). Cave tour should not be missed! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2014
$26
Kartchner Caverns is a must see destination. This is the second time we have stayed here, and the cave tours are nothing short of breathtaking! Having said that, we would highly recommend the campground on it's own right. The spots are large. You are quite a ways your neighbors and it's very pretty. It has plenty of small trees and great views. I would have given it a 10 but for the the lack of sewer at the sight. There is a two week stay limit, but if you were planning to do that, you would probably have to pack up and go to the dump station several times. If you are planning to stay at any of the AZ state parks in the winter, I would make reservations and if you do it on line you can pick your spot on a map that shows a picture of the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Nice park. Quiet in December. Good hiking trails. Biking not available. Caverns tour are good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Great location. Nice park, paved streets and pads. Pull-through fit our 44' 5th wheel just fine with room for the pick-up. Hiking trail around. Fire pit by bathhouse. Great host couples! Very friendly and helpful. Half-an-hour from Tombstone. There are tours available for the caves, but we did not have time, looking forward to returning! Quiet spot. Dog friendly, but not a area to let them run. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$25
We camped in a water & electric-site only. There was some shade from small trees. Clean bath-house. The adjacent cave tours end before 5 p.m. and don't start until 10 a.m., so we missed the last tour of the day and couldn't stay for the next-morning tour. Lots of nearby wildlife, so I wouldn't think this was a good park for pets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$25
Beautiful Mesquite trees, a clean quiet park, friendly staff, SUPER clean restrooms and showers, easy access - one of our favorite stays. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$71
Price reflects rate for 1 night camping and cave tour admission for 2 people. Sites are paved, level, and well-spaced. Bathroom clean. Cave tour is great, and it's an easy walk from the campsite to the cave tour/visitor center area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
This park is clean and the spaces are well apart. The only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it didn't have sewer at the site, although it had a dump station. The really nice thing is that the walk to the Discovery Area where the tours of the caves start is not far and there is a nice path. Nice place. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
This campground opened up in 1999 when the Caverns opened. It is very well laid out in two loops and two modern bath houses. Mountains surround the campground and there are many hiking trails up the mountains and to the Discovery Center (Visitor Center). It is an easy walk over to Discovery Center where the tours take off from. The Cavern Tours were all sold out the day we got there so it is a good idea to make reservations before you come. There were many sites available in the campground but this is April and many snowbirds are heading home. All sites have water and electricity and there are 61 sites. The Host introduced himself and asked if he could help. At the Bat Café at the Center they serve Green Chilie Pizza and Prickly Pear Lemonade which was excellent. If you are in AZ this is a must stop! In the summer some tours are not offered because of the pregnant bats. The cost per night is $25 but then with a $5 reservation fee is comes to $30. Some of the sites are not level and that is why I gave it a 9. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
Access to the campground is easy. The roads through the campground are paved and provide ample room for maneuvering. Most of the sites are spaced well away from each other, with many mesquite trees interspersed among the camp sites the sites have a paved parking pad, however, there is no patio area for the picnic table, and only just enough room to park the car and the rig. Most of the sites have just enough slope that it requires the use of blocks for leveling. There is no WiFi but we were able to acquire a minimal cell signal. Our satellite TV worked as mesquite trees are not that tall. There is no sewer connection, but the park has a dump. The campground is immaculate and has two clean restroom facilities. There is no dog park but there are a few trails and there is a 2.5 mile loop trail. The visitor center, within walking distance, has a nice gift shop and displays about the caverns. The cavern tours are very interesting. This is an excellent State Park. We stayed here on our way out and stopped back on our return trip. It is worth the 9 mile drive from the Interstate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
A beautiful campground within walking distance of the visitors center where the cave tours begin. The caves are exceptional, and I highly recommend both tours. Large sites with clean, beautiful bathrooms and showers. Easy access to the campground, and only 9 miles from I-10. An overall great campground that I recommend even if you are not taking one of the cave tours. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$25
A destination campground with easy well marked access from Hwy 90, 9 miles south of I-10 located in the Arizona southern desert. All paved roads and big rig friendly paved sites with ample room to maneuver. Sites are well spaced with good access to water and electric and a picnic table at each site. Good cell phone coverage-no available WiFi. Wal-Mart and other stores in Benson, a short drive to the east on I-10. Showers/restrooms are clean and modern. Lots of hiking and cycling areas. Short walk to the visitor center and cavern tours. No sewer but dump station close by. Lots to do in the area. Cavern tours, Tombstone, Tucson, Air museum, Air Force bone yard and many many more attractions. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
Great campground. Sites weren't too close together and the surroundings were great. Lots of places to hike, and the caverns are well worth the price of admission. Lots to see in the area if you like old Western towns and desert drives. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Great Campground! We would stay here again even if we didn't come to see the caverns, which are a must see. The campground is meticulously maintained, rest rooms are clean, staff and campground hosts were very friendly and helpful. Most sites are quite level, and what we liked best is there is tons of space between the sites so you are not looking right into your neighbors' windows. Wish they had sewer but there is a dump station in the campground. Many of the sites have terrific views of the surrounding hills and valleys. Verizon phone and data worked fine here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$30
This was our very first RV trip. What a great park. The caves were great. We will go back. They have a dump station with easy in/out. Large pull thru sites. Tomb Stone is a short distance away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
This is the second time we have stayed here, in order to take the cavern tours. The first time, we were only able to take one tour since we didn't have reservations and the other tour was booked. This time we made reservations. Both tours are spectacular and well worth the money. The campground is pleasant with good sized spaces. Even with it completely full, we didn't feel cramped. On both stays, the camp hosts have been very helpful and friendly. There isn't a lot to do here other than the cavern tours, a nice visitor center and one moderate hike. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$25
Great State Park.caverns were awesome. We did the throne room tour. We also did the 2.5 mile hike which was fun. The kids rode there bikes around the park. Showers were very good and clean. Park is in excellent shape with asphalt. Our space 45 and space 46 were on slope. Most are flat spaces. We had a great time. No other hikes available here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Reserved cavern tour tickets on-line and had free overnight stay at campground included. We stayed the weekend and found more tent campers than RV'rs. No need for reservations during the hot months; there were never more than 6 RVs occupying sites. Cavern tour at $22.95 was well worth it. Nice cafe/snack bar with reasonable prices. The hiking trail has several benches to stop and rest and enjoy the view. Good internet reception with our Verizon. Great tent camping park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
Large paved site. When we first arrived around noon it was pretty empty, but by the evening, it was full. The bathrooms and showers were good. We wanted to go to Kartchner Caverns so this is a perfect place to go. We would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$25
This is one of the most beautiful parks I have ever stayed in. The people are friendly and the park was clean. It is beautiful and within walking distance to the caves. I would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Fairly new state park, and a memorable experience. The cavern tour is a must, even at the $23 price tag. The campground is very attractive, with widely spaced sites and mesquite trees providing privacy. The 2.5 mile loop trail is well worth the effort--which is not trivial, especially if you take the side trip to the overlook. (This adds another mile to the hike.) Restrooms spotless. Water pressure is minimal, but it is nice to have any water at all in the desert, folks. No wifi, and no onsite sewer hookup, which is not unusual in state parks. Don't miss this experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
We arrived on a Thursday afternoon expecting to be able to get a site for 2 nights but unfortunately were advised that all sites fully booked for every weekend now through February! The back-in sites, of which there are not many, are very long as are many of the back-ins. There is a huge distance between sites and in many cases trees are also growing between sites giving even more privacy. The washrooms were very nice and clean. There are a couple of nice trails one of which offers great views. Given how busy this park is I would recommend RVers planning on staying over a weekend to reserve their site or else you will be offered the privilege of paying $15 per night with no services to stay in the parking lot! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$25
Very nice state park with a lot to do in the area. Sites can be reserved on line or on a first come basis. Lots of room between sites. Register at the excellent visitor center & museum. We used this as a base to tour the area. An automatic gate closes up at 10 pm but you can get a key from the campground hosts. He was super helpful and clearly loved this park. Concrete pads for your rig. Astounding views. Walk to the cave tour. At night there is nothing but peace and stars. No sewer hook up so only a 9 but excellent dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Very new state park and campground. Lots of space between sites. Great visitors center to set up your cave visit. Great 3 mile trail up a hill behind the campground. Easy jumpoff point to Bisbee and Tombstone. Catch free Wi-Fi at the McDonald's close to the interstate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
We used their new online reservations for our trip and it worked great. System allows you to pick the spot you want (if reserving early enough). When we arrived, the camp host was here to greet us by name and was very friendly. This is a great park with paved roads and lots of room between sites. Camp ground is within walking distance of the caverns and is nice and quiet. We would definitely recommend this park if you are going to the caverns or not, as it is a great location to explore southern AZ. They have changed their 6:00pm gate policy to 10:00pm also. If you will be out later that 10:00pm you can get a gate key from the camp host with a $20 deposit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
This a beautiful, peaceful campground with large and small sites that are well spaced. There are few amenities but if you enjoy hiking and looking at the mountains, this place is great. The hook-ups are at the back of the site but we managed to reach with a 30-foot water hose. The campground host greeted us on arrival and let us know he was there for us if we needed anything. The volunteer who greeted us at the park entrance was super friendly, but the park ranger who checked us into the campground was downright rude. Pity. We stayed here because we wanted to tour the caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
Kartchner Caverns is a wonderful state park, which now takes reservations. Two caverns are available for tours, which is given by park staff. Park includes a museum, gift shop, cafe, hiking trails and much more. Pull through sites are 50amp and back-in sites are 30amp. The park is also located close (30 mile drive) to Tombstone AZ. Please view the campgrounds website for more details and local attractions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$25
It has great sites, and the lavatories are clean. The campground hosts let you know they are there. Great Verizon signal. It is very quiet. I would have rated higher but $25 for water and sewer seems a little high. There are less expensive places to stay in the area, as there is a lot of sights to see in the part of Arizona. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
This park is a nice park and is located about 10 miles south of Benson and 25 miles north of Sierra Vista but not all sites are level. Very well maintained park, very clean but you cannot make reservations as it is first come, first served. Utilities will be located as much as 30 feet from big rig electric lines and water lines so make sure you have the length to get hooked up. Why it was designed this way is very strange as I have not seen it this way before. Like I said, some of the sites are not level but all in all, this RV park is a nice value and the Krchner Cave State Park is well worth the visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
This is a great state park for camping. A nice combination of pull-through and back-in sites, that are well spaced. Surrounding mountains are beautiful. There is a nice 2.5 mile hiking trail that can be accessed from the campground. Park is closed up and gate is locked at 6:00, so it is very peaceful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$22
All roads and sites are asphalt and in good shape. Site was pull-through and all pull-through sites are 50 amps with water and a table. Site was off level, same as other sites near by. Back in sites were more level. Sites are set at correct angle to get in and out of. Lots of room from site to site. Park is nice and full of small trees, under 10 feet with little to no shade. Staff was nice at check in. Great place to walk or ride a bike. Park was close to empty on May first. Gates are locked at night. Verizon cell and air card worked well here. TV channels over the air were two and in Spanish. Cavern tour was good and different from other cave tours we have been on. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
Very large sites; clean and quiet. Sites in walking distance to Cavern. Staff is excellent. Park is extremely reasonably priced compared to commercial parks in the area. Conveniently located to Benson, Tombstone, Ft. Huachuca, Bisbee, etc. Gated and gate closes at 6:00 pm, so be sure to ask for a key card when you check in. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$22
An impressive campground for motor homes and a great base camp for the Benson and Sierra Vista area. We were here during the off-season with just five other campers including a very friendly and helpful campground host. The thundertorms were great and the cavern tour is most worthwhile. The pull through sites have the 50 amp service, plenty of space, and we were able to easily level our motor home. The tall mesquite trees provided plenty of shade and we had great views of the Whetstone Mountains. There is a public dump station between the entrance station and the campground. We will return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
This special campground was just as good in 2009 as it was when we stayed here previously in March 2006. The sites are very well spaced and the trees have shown a lot of growth. Most people stay here for one or two nights while visiting the caverns but we liked it so much we stayed for 5 nights and used it as a base to take daily drives in the toad to different places like Sierra Vista, Fort Huachuca, Tombstone and even Bisbee. Reservations are not accepted but you will have a good chance of getting in during the busy season if you check in between 8-10am. Two traveler notes to pass on in the area. If you get off I-10 at hwy 92 to go to the caverns be watchful of your two choices of fuel. The Shell was $2.62 and the gas station across the street was $2.03. According to the clerk at Shell, there is always a huge spread in price. Second, Sierra Vista has just about anything you might need from supermarkets to retail stores (Walmarts, Marshalls, Target, etc) and virtually any type restaurant you could want. Kartchner Caverns State Park is a don’t miss place with an awesome cave and a terrific campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
The campsites were very nice, great views, and warm weather. We toured the Kartchner Caverns which were very interesting. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$22
This is a great state park with the added attraction of Caverns that are reported to be fabulous (I'm not a cave person) and the park is so lovely, well appointed and has such beauty that it is hard to leave. Good base to see Tombstone and Bisbee if you are so inclined. Shopping is better in Sierra Vista than Benson and distance is just a little greater. Ranger presentations, hiking and birds abound. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$22
This is a wonderful campground-one of our very favorites! This made us a big fan of Arizona State Parks and prompted us to seek them out whenever possible. The spaces are roomy, and the showers are spotless! The rangers and volunteers are very helpful and friendly. This state park is state of the art, gate key entry, great hiking, clean air, fabulous views, amazing cavern tours, viewable wildlife, good Mexican restaurant in Benson. Every time we stay, we want to stay longer!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2007
$22
Nice desert setting with large sites. Beautiful sunset views. Quiet park. Pull throughs 50 amp and backins 30 amp. Nearly empty. Caverns right here, tours expensive and redundant. Throne room is best tour. Shopping at least 10 miles away. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$20
Great Location. It was walking distance from the visitor center. The facilities were very clean, and well maintained. The spots were on a first come, first served basis. Very quiet at all times, and the staff was very helpful. Water pressure was fine, and electric gave no problems. Dump station was easy to get to, and fairly clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
This is a really nice campground. Not a lot of RV Park amenities but a nice spot to camp in when one wants to see these wonderful pristine caverns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
Very nice, clean State Park campground. All paved interior roads and paved pull through and back-in sites. Sites have water and electric hook-ups. Area would be a little more scenic with "green" in the trees, but, this time of the year, not gonna happen! The showers and restrooms were detailed every day by the staff and were extremely clean! The tours of the caverns are WELL worth the expense! Tombstone only 30 min. drive away. We'll be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2004
$22
Pretty new campground, only opened a few years ago. Well laid out and very clean and updated bathrooms. We really liked the hiking paths that started right nearby; you can hike as long or as short as you want. Lots of coyotes barking at night, don't leave the cat out! No cable/internet/telephone, but that's okay with us. Good security, park locks up at night. If you go, definitely call ahead and get tickets for Kartchner Caverns, recommend the Big Room tour first if you haven't ever been. Superb! This park is one of our top five in 16 states we've visited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$22
Newer park, rangers very friendly, camp hosts nice. Spaces are very wide and spaced well at different angles. Beautiful scenery all around and the stars are wonderful at night with no streetlights to bother you. Local wildlife roams through the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$15
Dump station in area. This is a great campground and state park. You need reservations to tour the caverns [ usually booked ahead 2 to 3 months ]. Well worth waiting to see. The campground and tour are both handicap friendly. The sites are natural surroundings and very long and wide. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com