223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Chain O'Lakes State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (260) 636-2654
CGID1051

Chain O'Lakes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
431
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   2   3   9   9   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
Very nice park. Good kayaking, but water levels were low and there was a lot of moss. Only complaint is that after the weekend, Sunday actually, the restrooms were a total disaster. Inmates came in on Monday and scrubbed everything and worked on landscaping. If you want quiet, drive around the park as it is very large, very nice, and you can get more secluded site than we had, but won't have 50 amp. We were close to playground and a group of four tents and they were very noisy. You could be more selective but the tents moved in after we did. Tenters thought it was daylight until 1:00 a.m. We stayed for four nights and would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Very pretty state park with ample, grassy sites. Fairly level sites. Great canoeing and kayaking. We would definitely stay here again, especially in good weather. We stayed here on a caravan and everyone loved this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$18
This park is beautiful. There is so much to do here. Several of the sites are shaded. It's full of mature trees. Some lots back to the woods. Being in the woods, the bugs can be persistent at times. So, bring repellent. There are a few sites that are pretty sloped. We had to change sites because our first site was too sloped. The bathrooms and showers were not well maintained and didn't always work. You showered with spiders. The men showers shared a common changing area. It was quiet during the week and filled up as the weekend approached. Despite all of that, it is worth staying here and we plan to go back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
This park is big! Over a mile wide and 4-miles long, there are 11 lakes (8 that are connected) in park. There are over 10 miles of hiking trails and numerous paddling opportunities. Campsites are well spaced, quite large and most have at least partial shade. In general, the park is quiet, even though it was nearly filled on the early September weekend I stayed there. There is a weak cell signal available (try the parking lot near the entry station). However, I couldn’t obtain a reliable Wi-Fi connection to Verizon’s broadband service. Several over-the-air TV stations are available. Note that in addition to the nightly rate, there is a one-time $7 entrance fee required to enter the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is a huge campground but very few spots our 32' 5th wheel would fit and most of the sites aren't even close to level. There was no one on duty at the entry post so no way to know what had reservations. Only stayed 1 night as the only site we could find that we fit was reserved for the next night. The computer system crashed twice loosing all my info both times when trying to register. We would not return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
The family and I camped at the Indiana State Park, Chain-O-Lakes over the August 27th weekend. I want to warn you about parking above the canoe/boat rental area. A lot of folks might be tempted to keep wallets and purses in the car – to avoid getting their stuff soaked should the canoe go over. The low-lives in the area are aware of this. Coming up from the boats we discovered that not one, but two cars had passenger side windows smashed out – and credit cards stolen. One woman had discovered this and was talking to the police. We overheard her telling the officer that she’d already been in touch with her credit card company and the card had already been used twice (at the local Wal-Mart and Meijer) for a total of nearly $1,000. I guess that the safe place to leave your wallet is in your camper – or maybe better still in a zip-lock bag right in your boat. Regarding the campsite itself: I wasn’t overly impressed. The sites are rather narrow – there are WAY too many people, smokers and dogs. No one seemed aware that there was an 11pm curfew, didn’t mind washing dishes at the water-pump, and thought smoking in the bathroom was just fine. There were more barking dogs then at a kennel. I’d keep looking. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Wonderful campground. We try to make an annual trip here for a long weekend. Sites are level, clean and for the most part, spacious. Hookups typical for a state park in Indiana (30 amp at site, community water faucet, dump at exit). Store well stocked and facilities clean. The park itself is great. Fantastic canoeing, hiking, etc. A great treat for the family We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$23
Very nice state park. Lots of amenities. Boat rentals, beach, concessions, store, hiking trails, nature center. We stayed here over 4th of July in a 40' Motorhome and had a ton of space (site 23), the campground was full, but still had lots of room to move around. Very peaceful setting. A lot of sites were unlevel, but that's earth for ya! We will be back :) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
We have stayed at this campground many times. We enjoy it. Some of the sites aren't level. But not all of them. Rent a canoe and travel between the lakes. It is quite an adventure. The store is well stocked, and the staff is friendly. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Like the previous poster, we found the graveled sites to be mostly unlevel and often difficult to get into, due to pad layout. Loved the shade though, and found it to be a clean, well-kept park, albeit with older facilities. The camp store is exceptionally well-stocked with all kinds of necessities and souvenirs. Showers are clean & effective, with good shower heads and almost-too-hot water; however, the men's showers have no private changing areas, a definite negative. This park is popular with families and groups, giving the campground a crowded feel and appearance. It's located far from major 4-lane highways, hence no road noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2006
$25
We stayed here in June 2006. We found the campground to be in need of updates. The sites were closer together than any other Indiana state park that we've been to, and we've been to over a dozen. The roads were very narrow and made it a little difficult to maneuver your camper into the site. Our site was O.K., but not too level and the pad was at a 90 degree angle to the road. The restrooms are old and there is no soap or hot water to wash your hands with; the showers are also old and didn't appear very clean. I don't believe that cleaning is lax; rather I think the facilities are old enough that no amount of cleaning is going to make them presentable. The playgrounds had virtually no equipment. There was a note explaining that some would be coming soon. The camp store was well stocked; firewood was reasonable ($3.50 for 8-10 decent size pieces.) The scenery was nice, but with so many campers crammed into a relatively small area, it's clear to us that there are nicer state parks to stay in Indiana. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$23
Wow! A terrific place to kayak, canoe, fish, and swim. You can kayak from one lake to another because 8 of 10 lakes are connected. The lake edges are covered with water lilies, cattails, marsh plants, and water hyacinth. In some places it feels like you are paddling through the everglades because the vegetation almost closes over the canoe path. It was an exciting experience. Very peaceful because only electric trolling motors are allowed. We saw a heron, woodpecker, geese, turtles, dragonflies, and fish. There are 212 surface acres of water. The campground is well maintained but the bathrooms could have been a bit cleaner and hand soap would be very welcome. There isn't a swimming pool at the campground but you can swim at the beach at Sand Lake. There is a concession stand there. The park has rental cabins, picnic areas, playgrounds, shelter houses, and a campstore. If you have a long vehicle such as a motorhome, you may want to check with the park if they have a space that will accommodate your RV's length. The majority of camping was done in tents, trailers and fifth wheels. This state park is close to where many recreational vehicle manufacturing factories are located. This is convenient if you are picking up or dropping off a RV, in for service, or scheduled to tour one of their factories. We enjoyed our weekend at Chain O' Lakes State Park and look forward to staying here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$15
Very shady, clean campground. 8 lakes in park, with rental boats, paddleboats, fishing, swimming, hiking, canoes and a nauralist on duty during busy season. Water is available all over the campground, and two dual island dump stations are available. This park is a nature lovers dream. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com