214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Clark Canyon Recreation Area was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (406) 683-6472
CGID10512

Clark Canyon Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   6   6   5   1   9   9   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
Admin. Note: As of May 2014 all campgrounds are open according to BLM district office. Park is closed until further notice due to very low water. We just drove by today. Will add more info if I hear from anyone in Dillon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
This reservoir is managed by Bureau of Reclamation and there are several campgrounds all around the lake. The pay camp is at the Marina and has full hookups for $30.00 per night and 1/2 price for National Senior Passes. Many other campgrounds around lake are all free with tables and firepits and some even have cabanas. Beautiful historical setting for Lewis and Clark's expedition. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Rate is for Golden Pass. Regular rate of $30 seems a little high since water is undrinkable. Park has a number of campsites but only one with hook-ups. It's about 1 mile in from I-15. The RV sites are mostly back-ins and, as marked, are very short. All hook ups are at the very rear. Its not well laid out or developed. It used to be run by a concessionaire, but now has a camp host with little support from BOR (Bureau of Reclamation). At $15 it's OK, at $30 I'd go somewhere else unless you are into boating or fishing. Weekdays are quiet, I imagine weekends might not be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Rate reflects senior discount. As noted by another person, there was a sign to boil our water. We didn't have a problem with that as we wanted to stay by the lake. The view of the lake from the sites was wonderful. If you are interested in fishing and have a boat, this is a great location. No trees. We had a FHU site with a 50 amp service. Park is very quiet and The park host was most accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Didn't stay - pulled in and large sign says to Boil Water - - not going to stay for that. Place is kind of a DUMP. Not like the COE parks which is what I was expecting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
This is a FIND! For only $10.00 per night, if you have a Senior Parks Pass, you have a site on a lake with full hookups. They have a boat ramp and space to park your boat. There are no other amenities except that they do have picnic tables at the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We really enjoyed the solitude here. It was us, the host and 1 other trailer. But it was the end of the season. Located in the high desert area between Dillon & Lima at the mouth of the river. Right on the edge of the lake with wonderful sunrises and sunsets. It was quite windy so we didn't put out the awning. The host said it was not always that way but is frequently. If it's windy you may want to position your rig for shade and wind block. Great for people who love to fish or hunt...or those of us who are spectators. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
The rate reflects 50% discount for "America the Beautiful Pass" (now the Interagency Pass) which is a great deal for a full hookup. There are multiple campgrounds, but the one that offers this deal is the first on the left as you go over the dam: there is a big sign saying "RV PARK." It is next to the Lewis and Clark exhibition and only 18 miles from Dillon. It's a good base for the Pintler Scenic Highway. It can get very windy here. The views of the mountains and lake are unlimited. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$10
There are actually nine campgrounds on this Bureau of Reclamation reservoir, the site of Lewis & Clark's Camp Fortunate. This review concerns the single RV camp that has hookups and approximately 50 sites. The sites are close together, totally treeless, and a little rough in appearance, but there were so few people camped on the weekend that the spaces were actually quite large. Most sites had full hookups, but a few had only water and electric. The rate reflects a 50% discount for the Senior Pass. In the late July heat, electric for the AC was a must if staying for longer than overnight. The boat launch at this campground was reasonably busy, although activity on the reservoir was very light, even on a hot weekend. This part of the country is big-sky spectacular and worth a visit. Particularly noteworthy is Bannack State Park, a preserved abandoned mining town managed by the state as a park. Although we didn't do it, also worthy of a visit is Lemhi Pass, the place that Lewis & Clark crossed the continental divide into Oregon Country. We'd stay here again when in the area; it's a great bargain. Although there is no WiFi here, our Verizon air card worked great at this location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com