206892 User submitted reviews online!!
Indian Springs Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (828) 397-5700
CGID10517

Indian Springs Campground

Camp Information
Sites
26
Date of Stay
November 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   10   7   9   10   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$30
Checked by email 10 days before we needed one night. The owner said they were full but to try back in case of a cancel. Called day before we needed the night and she said come on, we have a nice pull thru for you for the night you need. This is excellent campground service and we appreciated it. Park is small but sites are long (we are over 65 feet). Hook ups are new and placed correctly and work properly. No cable, but they have satellite connections and the OTA antenna picks up about 12 channels. Yes, the road is rough and narrow but just take it easy. We would stop again when in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$40
A nice, quiet park with very attentive owners. For what it is, we give it a solid 8. Would score it a bit higher with shower / restroom facilities, and a bit of improvement on the entrance road, but a very nice place for an over night stay or a weekend. Be sure to take the short walk down to the river - it's beautiful. Also, a very nice pond a pavilion. As others have mentioned, the road in/out is quite steep and narrow and a little rough in spots. Not to worry, it will certainly handle even the largest of coaches, however I have to wonder what would happen if meeting a 40 ft DP coming the opposite direction. If both coaches are pulling toads, one would have to stop and unhitch. The road is too narrow in spots for two coaches to pass. But then again, that's unlikely to happen in this relatively small park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
As has been said by others; Owners friendly and helpful, nice park, easy access to town. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Agree with the others and won't repeat the observations. A very nice park that is cared for by very attentive owners. They are very friendly and helpful. They are always working on the park. Grounds are extremely well taken care of. WiFi was very good. Solid Verizon 4G service. They just added 3 pull though sites and 2 back ins. Very quick access to lots of shopping in Hickory. They give a Military discount. Lots of big rigs throughout our 2 week stay. We like this park and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
The staff here is really friendly and helpful. We stayed here without a car thinking there would be a lot of hiking nearby, and there really wasn't much. You can go up a nearby hill on a short trail, or a few feet to the river, but it's pretty tough to cross the river to get into the really woodsy area across it. Our dogs definitely couldn't get across. We stayed in a pull-through site in the middle of the circle. There wasn't any privacy but the sites around the outside had more. All the sites were pretty big, with plenty of room for awnings out, patio rugs, etc. We were able to get a satellite connection with no problem (our middle site had no trees). I think they had a way to hook up to their DirecTv too, although we didn't need it. We had a lot of mud because it was raining and really cold when we stayed there. I wouldn't recommend it except for an overnight stop without a vehicle to get you out and about, as there really isn't much to do there otherwise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Rate reflects military discount. NOTE: NO restrooms or showers available at this campground. So you must be self contained. This is the primary reason I gave them a 9 instead of a 10. Several other points to downgrade: it is cash (check) only, not credit card. Road in is narrow and steep gravel, could be an issue for new drivers. And only swimming is in river. BUT...having said all that, I still give them a 9. They are a small campground but as others have said, the owners are on site and VERY helpful and friendly. Sites are large and lovely. Though just a mile from I-40, because you are in a hollow, you have no noise other than nature. There are places for young kids to play, pavilions for groups, and horseshoes, volleyball for adults. Sites were level and well designed. We stayed for 3 days to visit a relative and wished we had spent more time at the campground and tried the river. People were very friendly. There are many regular seasonal's, but owners will work hard to accommodate you and find a site. As a bonus, owner's daughter was there and is a hairdresser; she gave my wife a wonderful (much needed) hair cut and it came out very nice. Reasonable price too!! Highly recommend if you are in the area and need a place to stay you give them a call. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Very nice campground and very friendly owners. Very clean and quiet. Owner went out of their way to assist us. A little bit off the beaten path but worth it. Great place to stay and will use this campground again when passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$27
Our second stay at this campground, and it's still just as great as before. Super friendly staff that will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. Great modern hookups (I love the two sewer hookups on the pull through sites for my double tanked rig!), nice laundry and a beautiful setting even in the winter. It's a little steep to get down into the hollow but its not a problem, just be aware of it. Right off the interstate and it's 15 minutes to downtown Hickory. Will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
In addition to previous comments, this is a great place. There is no cable, but they have Dish & Directv antennas where all you need to do is hook up at your site. Provided you brought your receiver. They offer a 10% discount for military service. Since it was hot I declined the discount figuring that I would use that much extra electricity but they would not hear of it. They are located on the Henry River and it is a great place for kids to tube and play on the rocks. You will see this park expanding in the future. We stayed here 3 nights to enjoy the Waldensen Festival in Valdese, a few miles west. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We stayed here based on comments from other reviewers. The campground is small with only 20 plus spaces but they are well laid out in a picturesque valley not far from I-40. I made a last minute reservation after failing to find a campground with availability closer to our destination, Boone, NC. I was told when making the reservation they do not take credit cards but do accept checks and that they do not provide public rest rooms or shower facilities. Booking at the last minute, the only site available was a “over-flow” site which did not have sewer or 50 amp service. This site worked great for us in that we did not need the sewer and with the temperature around 88 the 30 amps ran both air conditioners fine as long as other loads were managed. There is a moderately steep grade approaching the campground however it is not severe, just something to be aware of, and did not present any problems. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Wi-Fi was good. Nice and quiet. Nice little playground for the Grand kids. I will stay here again but am somewhat at a loss as to how to grade it. For two retired folks that like a spacious quiet environment near Hickory/I-40 it was very nice. Note, our rate was less due to no sewer connection and only 30 amp service as we were in an over-flow site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Awesome little campground convenient to I-40 in the foothills of the Blue Ridge. Very secure and the owners go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need to make your stay as pleasant. Very family and pet oriented; a great get away or stop along the way to the Smokey Mtns. Laundry on site but no bathhouse/restrooms, but every site has full hookups. Don't miss this one. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
Great place. Very clean with big sites. Pretty campground. The Wi-Fi was about the best we have had, and we traveled from California. A campground. I hope to come back as the people that run it are very nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
We spent several nights here. This is an excellent park that is extremely well kept and clean. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome and helpful. There is a river that is a short walk. We camped with three dogs and they had a ball playing in the river. Some permanent sites that are very clean and well kept. You can tell everyone here takes pride in their sites. Small pond and very nice pavilion with picnic tables. Would definitely stay again. Very close to the Hickory furniture mart. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
A very nice place to relax. Sites are large, with the Henry River backing up to some of the sites, with a small pond for fishing. The park is well maintained and clean. Laundry room is spotless. There are no showers or bathrooms. Hickory is very close with a lot of shopping and restaurants. The park is gated so we felt very secure. Staff are very friendly and helpful, they have done a great job with the park and helping to make your stay pleasant. If I come back to Hickory this is where we will stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2010
$30
Park staff were very accommodating. We nearly got snowed-in at Christmas. The drive out is fairly steep as is access road. The staff plowed on Christmas Day and the day after, including the public road to top of hill so we could tow out. They even offered us free stay if we were trapped by snow. For access: do not believe a Garmin GPS. Use exit 119 South from I-40 and take first local road to left. The camp is quiet and pleasant but facilities are lacking - no toilets or bath house. The Wi-Fi was good. The helpfulness and friendliness of staff was tops, which tipped the scales for a relatively high rating. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is an out of the way park down a gravel country road opening up to a cleared camping area. Owners are very friendly and keep the park in good shape. Sites are level on gravel pads. Mostly contractor campers leading to a very quiet site. Just like you are in the middle of the forest at the base of the Appalachians. An excellent campground for shopping the Hickory Furniture stores. There are no restrooms on site, nor are there camping sites for tenters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
This is a great little campground with owners who want to make your stay a great one. This is the second time that we have been here for an extended stay. It is hidden away in a quite valley but with easy access to Interstate 40 and the city of Hickory. Also just 40 minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway and the mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
We came up to this campground for a regular weekend, and we were pretty happy overall with it. When you first turn off of I-40 you think that it is a mistake. You turn down some side streets and the campground is tucked back in the woods, not hard to find though. The good: big and level sites, sewer hookups, nice facilities for children, nice owners that work very hard on their campground. Location is great for going to South Mountains SP and Blowing Rock. The bad: you are in a valley so very little breeze, no shade trees, nowhere to really walk your dog, Wi-Fi is hit and miss at your site, limited facilities for adult fun. If this campground had a pool or hot tub it would be a 10. BRING YOUR FLY SWATTER! Big creek through the campground that you can swim, wade in, or fish. Small pond that you can fish also. That being said, we would return again. It is a good campground for the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$30
Indian Springs is a beautiful little park just a mile or so off of Interstate 40. Very friendly owners that obviously take great pride in the property. We really enjoyed the campground, and will definitely visit again. Some previous posts noted the steep hill entering and exiting the park, but we had no problems either way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
We stopped here for a week and decided to stay a month. The owners are fantastic. They are experienced RV'ers and will do whatever it takes to make you happy. Don't let the hill scare you. As you pass through the gate the hill looks steep but we had no problem with our 42 ft motor home towing a Jeep in or out. Nice hiking trails and river fishing. Level sites and close to city of Hickory or the NC mountains. There is easy access off I-40 exit 119. We will surely stop here again when we visit NC mountains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$30
This small and tidy park is located on the Henry River where the river is accessible. It is quiet and secure. The owners are very friendly. A fifth wheeler may want to consider the very steep, lengthy, single lane drive coming into and out of the park. Call for a reservation and gate code to enter the property. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$30
Very nice small campground on the Henry River. Campground was clean and well taken care of. The owners were always onsite and working on the grounds. Very friendly and safe environment with a gate at the entrance. All sites are very roomy and graveled. All sites were level. Activities, such as bingo, pot luck dinner, and hay rides were planned during our stay. Get directions before trying to find this campground. GPS is incorrect on this location. We highly recommend this campground and will return when we are in this area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
We stayed here two years ago and didn't think we'd return. Glad we did, as the owners have been working hard on upgrading the grounds and facilities since then. As mentioned, plan ahead and get a reservation and gate pass code. There is a phone to the office outside the gate, but with so few short term sites it's also a good idea to know there's a spot waiting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Beautiful campground in Hickory, NC. Fantastic owners. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Our favorite NC campground. You must make a reservation for their 4th of July pig pickin, as they do fill up fast. Best BBQ! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
Small, quiet park adjacent to the Henry river. Mostly seasonal and longer-term campers but a few short-term sites available (all are enormous). Owners live on-site and are very welcoming and friendly. Park is well-kept and has a small playground, basketball court, fishing pond, and horseshoes for kids. There's a small laundry building available, but no bathhouse as of yet, so therefore, only self-contained RVs and trailers are accepted. Park is located down a steep gravel drive that is gated, so you must make reservations in-advance to get the gate code. Free Wi-Fi, electric and sewer all worked flawlessly. A nice place to stay when visiting Hickory and Catawba county. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com