214620 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Acres Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (260) 665-9843
CGID1053

Happy Acres Campground

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   8   6   7   8   6   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
There was a very friendly staff There was lots of room at each site, and there were long pull throughs. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This park is near the interstate with easy access via a mile or so of paved, but narrow, road that parallels the freeway. Considering its proximity to the highway, there is not a lot of noise. The first thing we noticed was all the green space, acres of grass, great place to run the dog. They only have a few pull-through transient sites, but when we were there during midweek, there was only one other coach. The sites are very large with a gravel/grass parking area. They were close to being level. There are a lot of seasonal campers here, but almost all the RVs were in good condition and they didn't detract from the park. The park is old and this was shown in the utilities. The site we were assigned had a circuit breaker box that was just hanging from the end of plastic conduit for lack of a screw to affix it to the backing post. The threads on both water faucets were defective and we had to connect to water in an adjacent site. The ownership of the park changed recently and hopefully these problems will be repaired soon. The park has a lot of potential for one-night stays. There is no Wi-Fi and marginal service with Verizon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
I am the same reviewer who left the September, 2011 review. We stayed at Happy Acres over the Labor Day weekend 2012 (along with a couple of other times this past season). Happy to report that everything is as ship-shape as set forth in last year's review. This campground is under new ownership and the only thing different that we noticed is that the seasonal campers seem to be a LOT happier and welcoming to us "transients" (weekenders). We'd be sitting by our fire and they'd drive by on their golf carts just waving and smiling, yelling "hello," etc. This in sharp contrast to many other campgrounds where we're regarded as "outsiders." A couple of them stopped by and talked a few minutes, thanking us for spending the weekend, asking us where we were from, etc. And these are the SEASONAL CAMPERS, not the owners! The owner did indeed stop by a couple times wanting to make sure everything was OK. I don't want to overstate all of this: it wasn't like we were being bothered every few minutes. People were just very friendly without being overbearing. It was like they were genuinely concerned about the reputation of their campground. All of the transient sites, including a water/electric grass site section for groups were full and everyone seemed to be having a good time with the bingo, hayrides, etc. The pool is well maintained and spotless with lots of tables and chairs. Another pleasant trip to Happy Acres. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
We've stayed here before, and it's as nice and friendly as ever. Had a pull-through full hookup site. Nice, well-maintained hookups. Fairly wide/level site compared to other private campgrounds. We were here on Labor Day weekend and the place was pretty well full. Everyone seemed to be having a good time, what with the planned activities including a corn hole tournament, bingo, a hayride that we jokingly dubbed the "Harley Tractor" (it was really loud and clacketing, and went around and around and around the campground many times). The pool is small, but when we got in on Thursday, we were just one of three couples. On a 90-degree day, it was HEAVEN! Very clean, clear pool, with plenty of chairs, and tables/umbrellas. On Labor Day weekend Saturday, the pool was indeed packed. However, it was virtually all families having a great time - and we still found 3 chairs poolside!! There are many big lakes and Pokagon State Park within a few miles of this campground (we were fishing/swimming Coldwater Lake this weekend). The road noise can be kind of annoying if you're outside (but we couldn't hear it inside our hard sided 5th wheel), and the Wi-Fi was completely out. No cable, but we picked up a couple dozen channels with our antenna. However, the friendliness, roominess, and cleanliness of this campground outweigh those relatively minor annoyances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$32
Nice enough park with about 30 FHU, pull-through, open field sites, some W&E, and the rest seasonal sites in the pines. We were there on a Sunday night and only a handful of the FHU sites were taken. The utilities worked well, and the sites are decent size. There is no cable TV (I did not try antenna reception) but most FHU sites are satellite friendly. Did not ask about WI-FI at check-in, but when I tried to connect later, I got the "limited or no connectivity" message even though it showed a strong 4 bars. I did not try to resolve the issue since it was late. Nice small pool and some play stuff for kids. The bathrooms could use some updating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Nice quiet park except for noise from the interstate. Great friendly owners. Excellent Wi-Fi. Stayed a week and had a reduced rate of $170 for the week. Will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This CG is great! However access is a bit of a challenge due to construction on the access road. Unfortunately the road is not marked due to the construction. Just turn south at the "Gas America" station, take it slow until the pavement begins. The park is huge complete with ponds and local wildlife. Roads are gravel and sites are level. The staff is very helpful and the Wi-Fi performed well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
Had a little trouble finding the park as their signage is amateurish and poorly placed. We called & staff had trouble with directions. Park is locate on frontage road next to I-69 so there is some traffic noise. Park has gravel roads which are very dusty. Staff was friendly. Pull thru sites were long enough for any size coach without unhooking toad. Sites wide enough for any number of slides. The utilities were modern and well placed, but the water faucet was dripping & mounted to an insecure post. There was trash in the site when we arrived. The Wi-Fi is only available in the office. Pool closed at 6pm on a very warm day. We felt the park was adequate for an overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Friendly helpful staff. Level, gravel, spacious full-hookup sites. Pull-thru sites are separated from seasonal sites, however seasonal camp sites appeared clean and well-maintained. Very close to I-69, but could not hear traffic noise inside our RV. There are small trees planted between the sites, so someday there will be shade in the pull-thru sites, but not now. I would definitely camp here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
Where we stayed there is no shade, so if you are staying in the mid summer, be prepared to use air! You are right next to the major freeway, but luckily for me that put me right to sleep and the kids loved playing how many trucks passed before a car came. The owners were really nice and overly helpful. The $5 for wood, is definitely worth it - huge bundle. Although we only stayed 1 night, we didn't use it all! The seasonal sites are kept up pretty well, although I didn't like being woke up at 8 with a lawn mower We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$28
These owners did anything/everything to make sure we were taken care of. It wouldn't have surprised me if they would have come over and helped us set up our hybrid! They and their staff were always buzzing around the campground checking on things, but not bothersome. Activities for the kids, pool was spotless. DJ on Sat night - varied dance music, kind of like a wedding reception, stopped promptly at 10:30pm. LONG pull-through sites. A lot of overnight big/fancy rigs with toads. Back-in sites are near well-maintained seasonals, but not too close. All sites are fairly large by private campground standards. Our first assigned-site was a back-in near the end of the road where it curved. Would've been OK, but we would've been facing the backs of three seasonals (sewer hookups, et al). Owners changed us to a pull-through with minimal fuss. However, I'd recommend requesting a pull-through away from the highway when making reservations. The only problem we had was the highway noise, since we were at pull-through site #1, the closest to the highway. We were in our hybrid, so it was very noticable at night. Not so bad in my brother-in-law's full hardside TT. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$20
Easy on/off expressway. Large and level pull through sites. No complaints. Have returned when traveling through area We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$24
We camped here August 6-9 2004. Nice quiet campground except for the noise from the interstate. Very large pull-thru sites. I would camp here again. They give a discount for Good Sam's We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com