223219 User submitted reviews online!!
Crystal Beach Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (877) 433-2267
CGID10532

Crystal Beach Campground

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   8   9   6   4   7   7   3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$30
Rate reflects 7 day discount and Good Sam Discount. Stayed on ocean front sites. Long, but extremely narrow sites. Barely enough room for slideout and awning. Some trailers could not open awnings. WIFI was really really poor. Consider it non-existant. Staff weren't overly friendly, but not rude either. Many campers were there short term only. Laundry was $2 a load, and the dryer was $0.25 per 7 mins. Overall, the campground looked a little run-down. We probably would not camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
Our site was a pull-thru right on the ocean. Unfortunately the Wi-Fi was not good there, so we chose to move to another section which was not as packed with campers, still had a view, and the Wi-Fi was excellent there. The sites are gravel and grass with 30 amp hook-up. We were able to get 2 channels with our antenna on TV. The water pressure is variable but adequate. The pool was an above ground, which was refreshing and clean. The showers and laundry facilities are old, but clean. Summerside is 4 miles from here with great shopping for our grocery needs. Peaceful, nice place to stay for 5 days while seeing the island. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
Sites are a little tight. There were not many campers when we were there, but some sites, including ours would have been difficult to maneuver if they were full. All grass sites with good power and water. Convenient to seeing PEI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
This is the second time we have stayed here and we love it. The location is close to everything. We were here for 9 days, so laundry facilities were used and they are fine. The site was close to the ocean and fully serviced, which is what we prefer. The staff are always working to improve things. There is no problem having a dog. They have great activities planned all summer long. Looking forward to coming back. Our nightly rate was $35, but we got our 10% Good Sam discount as well as a free night for staying a week. Many places won't honor the free night and give the Good Sam discount as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
Unfortunately for us, they put our large 5th wheel in K section, and the site was hard to get into. The electrical poles have lots of guy wires. On the way out we snagged the electric wire on our air conditioner. If you are a big rig, don't go to K section. As mentioned, there is a large open field that is easier to navigate, but its further from the office and thats where the Wi-Fi issues may come in. Wi-Fi was fine for us. They block streaming and certain websites, like Youtube so people can't hog the bandwidth. They honored PPA for the two nights we were there. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28
Rate reflects group rate. As others have said, the view and location are wonderful. The people there are friendly and quite helpful. The location is convenient to Summerside and nearby sites and attractions. The sites were level and spacious. They were all grass and, as it had been raining, some were quite muddy. Getting out was a bit better than getting in but required covering the fire pits (after removing the fire rings) with wood so as not to pick up nails on the way out. The low rating is primarily based on the quality of the power. I guess I was with a few others at the tail end of the power run and had some very low voltages causing my power to cut in and out (as my EMS should do). And it didn't help that the Wi-Fi was spotty. I don't normally rate campgrounds on Wi-Fi but am starting now. I figure - heck - it's in the rate, they advertise it, so why shouldn't it work as well as the water, sewer, and electric. I think there are other campgrounds in the area with good views that might have better power and WiFi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Very nice campground and very friendly owners. Very nice Canada Day fireworks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
We weren't wowed at Crystal Beach, but all in all it's a nice place, pretty much in the middle of PEI. We chose it because they are Passport America members. Roadway in to campground is paved, but once at the office, it becomes broken pavement, and dirt. Sites are grass and close together. Waterfront sites are designed for motorcoaches, ie, hookup allows bus to face water, but a 5ver's back window won't see it. We pulled in the "wrong way" and used the utility pole to the next site. Told campground that if anyone did need to use that site, that we would then bring our utilities under our rig. They seemed ok with that plan and to our luck, no one chose the site next to us. Campground sites are grass and come with picnic table and fire ring. You can see burn spots throughout the park as people move their rings to where ever they want. 200 sites, with a good number of seasonals. Transient sites are crowded while seasonals are large. Transient are in the open field, seasonals under trees. There are a few pull through sites (4?) near some trees for shade. View of Malpeque Bay is lovely and great to see all day. The tides are odd: they don't have 2 "normal." Some days it seemed like we had 1 high and 1 low, other days there was a middle high. No way to tell when the tide would be in and for how long. Lots of jellyfish in water as well as seaweed, some of which looked like tp. Check the weather forecast as they have very poor drainage with rain: major puddles throughout the campsites and roads. Campground has a swimming pool and playground for kids, but no other entertainment. Did not use the bathrooms or laundry as they looked dingy as we walked by. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
I would love to have given this park a better rating. It's location alone would make it a 7 or an 8 (on the water and central to the island), but. First the positive items. The owners and the staff are among the friendliest we have every encountered; our site was level and "nose to the water" with stunning sunsets through our windshield. We were permitted to wash our vehicles (at no extra charge). The park is being expanded (this is a 'real' RV park, not one of the many being positioned to sell to a developer). Now, regrettably, the negatives: rough, narrow interior roads, some with old pavement, others red gravel; when we dumped our tanks two of our neighbors had to contend with sewage backup and not unusual to be subjected to sewage odor wafting through the park (maybe due to heavy rains?). Most sites are long enough but relatively narrow; utility posts and service outlets are "old and tired." The Wi-Fi (at least in C11) was frustratingly weak and intermittent. Nevertheless, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is an old park with mostly seasonals and permanents in the treed area. Transient sites are mostly on the water where there are no trees but level sites. They advertise paved roads and no dust but that must have been when the park was new. We were here on sunny days and rainy nights and had no problem with mud. The washrooms and laundry are old and unkempt but clean. Campground location is very convenient to the North Cape, Coastal drive, Summerside shopping, and not that far from Charlottetown. Rate is with Good Sam discount. We would stay here again for the beautiful sunsets. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$30
While there were trees, sites were too close together. While many of the "paths" are paved, red soil means lots of soft wet ground when raining. Quite a few seasonals also. Washrooms and showers could definitively use more care. This was our first campground in our trailer, we found campers were friendly and helpful. A "6" that could have easily been an 8 or 9 with a little more care. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
This is an old park made for the days of 18 foot trailers, very narrow broken roads. As long as it didn't rain the sites were fine but when it rained they were virtually flooded out. Very close together. On the plus side, the Wi-Fi worked well, 5 miles from Summerside for shopping, and the sunsets were gorgeous. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com