220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Shipshewana Trading Place RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (260) 768-4129
CGID10539

Shipshewana Trading Place RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   7   4   8   8   8   8   5   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$33
Excellent spot to visit flea market. Self pay - no staff unless find someone at the flea market office. Busy on Mondays and Tuesdays due to market. Will give 7th night free, must contact office during business hours. Water hookups are shared between two sites - so a longer hose will likely be needed plus bring a Y to attach two hoses - one for you and one for your neighbor who did not bring a Y! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
We only came here as we had service scheduled the next day to have a new air cooling unit installed. Hookups are side by side, but both sides. Shared electric on one side and shared water on the other. We only used electric so it was overpriced for that. Site was mucky, a couple were OK, but there are a lot that have a bit too much grade for our liking. It served its purpose, but we won't be back anytime soon. We will stay somewhere else and drive in the next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This is a decent campground to stay at and very close to many activities in Shipshewana. The park roads and sites are not very well defined and some are a little tight for big rigs. Free Wi-Fi is nice but there is a lack of park oversight. Some camper's dogs run lose and many pet owners don't clean up after them. Placement of some site utilities are a little inconvenient. There are no bath houses so you must be self-contained. After all is said, the rental is a little less than the other parks in the area which make it a good choice for an overnight or a short stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2012
$22
We stayed at the Shipshewana Trading Place RV Park, to attend the flea market with our two children. We found out that they do not take online reservations, and everything is based on the honor system for paying with cash. We were going to arrive on Tuesday morning, and attend the flea market; but decided to go a night in advance in case they book up as it is a first come first serve basis. For this, when we arrived at noon on a Monday, 60% of the park was already filled up. They allow people to come in and "hold" a spot with lawn chairs or hoses or what have you, without even paying, as these people wanted the "good spots." There are very limited, level spots to choose from, as there is only one row of about 10 spots that are actually flat and level. All of the others are on a hill. The water connections are also shared as there may be four or five water hook ups for 12 spots. So if you plan on staying here make sure you bring a Y connector for your water hook up. As we were not made aware of this, we could take the only spot that had water, which unfortunately was on such a steep incline that we could not even drop our trailer or level off in anyway. Another good thing to bring, would be an additional hose as you may have to extend them to a further water connection point. The area in general is fairly quiet, not much noise and is right at the flea market campgrounds, so is extremely accessible for this. There is a lot of foot traffic and people driving in and out. So for safety and security we locked everything up and left nothing outside unattended. For one of the "good" spots, arrive extremely early Monday morning for your own pickings. We would come back again as it is very reasonable, but would be better prepared if the owners made campers aware of these things. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Large clean park and facilities. Easy access for our motorhome and toad. We had a pull-through with full hookups. Close to area activities. Would have rated it higher if cost had been lower or if more amenities for the cost were offered. Our $40 was in the off-season, no pool available and 30 minutes of Wi-Fi allowed per day in a continuous block. More time wanted: $4 per day. Wouldn't stay again given the same terms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Best deal in the area, close to the town of Shipshewana and on the grounds of the Shipshewana Flea Market. You must be self contained and the water hookups can require 50' of hose depending on the the direction you park on the campsite. There is no shower house or on site office. Registration is done at a drop box at the entrance to the campground. The sites can be un-level and some have potholes, but very few have these problems. This is our 4th trip here and will return again next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$33
Great place to stay at if visiting the flea market, if you are lucky enough to get a site. The problem is that most of the sites are taken up long term by vendors of the flea market leaving potential customers searching for a spot to overnight. WIFI is iffy at best. We arrived before noon on the second day of three flea market & got the last site available. There are shared power pedestals & voltage may be a little low. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$33
We opted for the boondock area, as we are self-contained and just wanted a safe place to sleep overnight. Gentleman in the front-office was most helpful, guiding us to the location and inviting us to stay either in the full-service park ($33 for pull-through), or boondock area for free. We will visit (and pay) the Flea Market vendors in the morning. This place is clean, the developed sites are pretty level, so easy to stay "connected" for a pass-through visit. We have a large fifth wheel and large truck for TV; they accommodate any size RV. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
There are no restrooms or showers, no playground, no shade, and poor Wi-Fi; about the only thing this park has going for it is location. We would try for one of the other campgrounds if we go again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$33
Back again, the grass has filled in and as before this is a no frills park situated in Shipshewana. We used a full hookup site which most are back to back pull throughs. There are no bath houses on the site as no restrooms, so being self contained is a must. Still the best deal in town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Friends recommended this park over the others in town because of it’s proximity to the flea market. It’s on the grounds. We had a little difficulty finding the park. The address is listed as 345 N. Van Buren, but the entrance sign shown on the website is actually on W200N. The designers of the park layout have tried to maximize the sites in the available space, the sites are about 12’ apart. However, I’m not sure they ever used an RV. The utilities are arraigned very strangely. If the park was full I wouldn’t have enough water hose to reach the faucet that I think belongs to the site I’m parked in. There were no management types on site to guide us and payment is made by filling out the forms and leaving payment in a box near the entrance. No provision on the form for credit cards and no one answered the phone when I called. If there are restrooms and shower facilities I didn't see them. The park seems to be for fully self-contained units only. In spite of the above criticism, the park is quiet and as billed, close to most of the attractions of Shipshewana. In reading reviews of the other parks, this one is at least as good as those. I do like the fact that they take overnighters who don’t need utilities at a greatly reduced price and they don’t add fee for a third adult. We would probably stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$33
Best place to stay and visit largest flea market in Indiana. Back in sites are $27 per day, pull through sites are the rate listed at $33 per day. Dry camp, without hookups, $12 per day back in, $18 per day pull through. No Reservations accepted, 1st come 1st served. Open April 15th through November 15th. Direct access to flea market via foot bridge over drive, much closer location to Shipshewana attractions than the two other RV parks here. No bath house, toilets or dump station, your RV must be self contained. The 900+ vendor flea market is open Tuesday and Wednesday, May through October. Will definitely return again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com