220584 User submitted reviews online!!
Fireside Resort at Kruse Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (260) 925-6747
CGID1054

Fireside Resort at Kruse Park

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   5   6   8   7   6   7   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$35
I don't agree with some of the prior reviews. It comes down to what are you looking for in a CG. We stayed 2 nights while visiting the Auburn museums and Fireside served us well. Easy access, large level gravel sites excellent utilities. If you are looking for an RV resort environment this is not for you. Train and highway noise can be heard when sitting outside. The pool is closed and appears it has been for some time. However, the place is very clean, has friendly management and is an excellent overnight stop or stay when visiting Auburn. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We camped here for 1 night. The campground had very few other visitors, and it appeared that little maintenance had been done to the park. The swimming pool had a "closed for the season" sign (in July?), the water was dirty, tiles missing. The playground had railings falling off,and appeared unmaintained and unsafe. Several electrical posts at campsites had plastic trash barrels over them. We would not return to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
If you are looking for a no frills place to spend the night right on the interstate with a lot of heavy traffic noise then this is the place. A few seasonals & construction contractors utilized this location. To me it is just one step above a Wal-Mart parking lot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
Easy access off I-69 using exit 126 or 326 depending on which map you look at. Interior roads and site driveways are gravel. Small green space between sites. The office is not staffed regularly. It is a very informal run park. Traffic noise from I-69 and nearby trains. Free WiFi worked pretty well. Small trees offer little shade, so receiving Sat TV was no problem. Verizon cell had 4 bars. Entry driveway from county roads was undergoing construction. The park needs to put a sign by their drive. We missed the turn. The price is a little high for what you get. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$34
Cleanest restrooms I've ever seen in a campground! Have stayed here before and there have been great improvements in the look of the area with young trees now coming up. Good pull-through sites available. Sites are quite spacious, although I would not want neighbors on our left to use the fire pit. It's too close. They say there is WiFi, but it was too weak to accommodate us although we were only a short ways from the office. There is also a pool but it is not yet open. Nice playground for kids. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$30
This park is very close to I-69, but surprisingly quiet and peaceful. It looks like a new park that may need more gravel on the sites. They were quite muddy on our March stay. To adequately use the pull through spot, and get our vehicle out of road, we could not reach the sewer connection. The restrooms and showers were new, clean, and well-heated on our cold and snowy stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2012
$36
There is a temporary problem with this park because the entrance road is torn up. You cannot access the park from I-69. That is not their fault. They did not tell us when we made the reservation. That is their fault. You have to make a detour through the countryside, that amounts to about 10 miles. Call for directions. But, the office hours are very limited. If you can get there, it is a decent park. There is no cable, but the sites are level and large enough. It appears this is a park that is being rehabbed by new owners. The park was nicely mowed, but there appears to be a lack of attention to detail. The Wi-Fi was not dependable, there was plastic kitchen trash in the fire ring and the office is only open one hour in the morning and one hour in the afternoon. There are a lot of what look like long-term residents. Railroad and traffic noise is very noticeable. That said, when the road is finished and you want a convenient overnight for the auto events in Auburn, it is a good choice. It is not yet a destination park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$80
Stayed here during the Auburn Fall Classic car auction. This property is right across the interstate from the auction park. Made for really nice access, as I was working the auction. This park is just a place to park, which is fine, as it's right on the interstate. So for overnight stays it is fine. There's not much to do at the park itself, but there's a classic car museum in Auburn that's a good one, and the shopping and restaurants in Auburn are just a couple miles up the road. Park was just OK (used to be a KOA). Wi-Fi was decent, heated pool was freezing. The bathrooms weren't attended to that well, given that the place was packed and they were getting $80/night from everyone here. No camp store. Interstate noise is very noticeable if the wind is from the east. Trash dump is located on the way out, so you have to transport the trash in your vehicle until you get there. Not a destination park, but with full hook-up and big-rig friendly sites, it's a good stopover for travelling. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Stayed here to visit excellent museums in Auburn. Park office was not open when we arrived but we had made reservations and packet of info was in box near camp office door. Pull through campsites were very long but a little narrower than what we like. Gravel, level pad and grassy area where our dogs could romp. Met attendant after we set up and was very accommodating to meet our needs, including info on museums. We had excellent Verizon phone and Mi-Fi reception. Behind campground and within walking distance is the Victory WWII and Auto and Carriage museums which are some of the best I've ever been in. We stayed here for three nights and definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
A really nice home from home feel. Next door to the Kruse Auto Museum is a must see. Well kept site and had a leisurely feel to it. No noise from interstate, but easy access on our way to Michigan and will stay here many times I am sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$32
Apparently this park has gone through managers, but has been newly bought in September 2011. We have seen the owner busy with some planners so it looks like there is something in the works. The employee on duty was very pleasant and helpful. Gave us pick of the sites: one of which was concrete. It rained all that night and we didn't have a problem leaving. We would come back for a layover. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$30
It was rainy and the park was a mud hole. I didn't get stuck but it was close. Roads were solid but with deep potholes. My site was nothing but mud. If you stepped on the grass you come up mud covered. Needs gravel on the roads. Place is flat so I don't know if you could ever fix the drainage problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
New owners are in the process of taking over this park. They have some work to do: Buy a weed eater, pick up the trash, and order 200 tons of gravel. This park has great potential: Good location, level property, nice size sites, lots of grass. It just needs an owner on site who wants to make it nice. Currently it is very muddy if it rains. Gravel will fix most of this. We had cigarette butts and beer cans in our fire pit. Road noise is constant. We will try it again if we pass this way next year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This park is close to I-69 and is almost treeless so road noise can be an issue. There are 30 amp sites on the north side and 50 amp sites on the south. There were quite a few large motor homes on the south side, very few on the north where we parked. The gravel drives were partially overgrown but quite level. Quite a bit of grass between all sites but it had not been cut for several weeks. Only a few sites have tables. The Wi-Fi was terrible - only up for a minute or two at a time - the sending antennae seemed to be pointing at the ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$18
I stayed here for 7 weeks during a work assignment. The rate I listed was based on the monthly rate of $520. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. It is a no frills park but was just fine for my needs. The shower facilities were very clean. The laundry room had 3 working washers and 5 working dryers, and the air conditioner worked very well which was nice. The Wi-Fi signal was strong, but I could never connect to it. Verizon cell signal was also very strong and my air card worked very well. The park is just off I-69, and a short drive to both Auburn and Ft. Wayne. The water has a very high iron content so I recommend draining your hot water heater after you depart. The sites are gravel and mostly level. This is an old KOA which in currently in receivership so no money is being put into upgrades. If I were assigned to this area in the future, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2011
$28
Sites not level and muddy, but they had extra planks at the site if you didn't have enough. Was along the Interstate so expect road noise. Internet very unfriendly. We asked to fill our propane tanks at check in but he never came to the site to fill as he promised after his internet conference. No fuel or food at the exit so plan accordingly, next options south are heavy traffic areas BOL. Great shower rooms. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$29
Easy access off of I-69. There was also easy maneuvering within the grounds with 90% of the sites being pull throughs. Friendly and helpful staff. Was a nice stop for an overnight stay. Clean restrooms and laundry facility. We would have liked to have visited some of the auto museums located in Auburn. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This park is under new owners apparently. The grounds are in need of TLC. The semi-level gravel sites are roomy, but need the holes and ruts fixed. The staff was nice, and the interior of the building (office, laundry, showers ) was very clean. There are no trees or cable. We stayed one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This is a nice little RV park conveniently located off I-69. Staff is friendly and helpful. Needs more trees and landscaping in the park. Nice spot to spend the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
This is a very nice park. It is close to I-69 so there is some road noise but easy to find. Very neat and clean. Lots of car museums to visit. We went to the National truck museum and the Auburn - Cord - Dusenberg museum. The RV Spaces are about normal size so getting through with your RV is no problem. No Cable and no trees if you have satellite. This would not be a destination for me, but if passing thru I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
Very nice park for a short stay. Sites are mostly grass and are very adequate in width and length for a 40' motorhome. Staff is very friendly, and they were mowing when we came in. They stopped and came to our sites to mow them before we pulled in so they would be done. Would stay here again. Close to Wal-Mart, Home Depot, and a number of eating places just 3 miles north. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$25
This park is now known as Fireside Resort at Kruse Park, having undergone a change in ownership. We stayed here as it was the only campground open in this part of the state, at this time of year. The exterior of the buildings are in real need of some TLC, although the interiors are good. Driveways in the park need some attention as there were many puddles and a lot of mud. Lots of noise from the nearby highway. The lady in the office was doing her best under the circumstances and it is hoped the new owners make a go of it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$29
Our third time at this park. Always stop on the way south or north. It's consistently clean, maintained and friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
It is now called Forest Park and is under New Owners, and they are very helpful. The park is looking very nice under them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
April 2009
$31
I have stayed at this park at least 4 times over the last two years. Each time, the sites are muddy, uneven and the WiFi advertised is never available. I believe the modem or router is disconnected since bringing the laptop to the main building provided no change to the signal. There is "no signal". It appears that the property has changed management or ownership. However, signage on I-69 exit signs identifies it as a KOA. If an option was available at the time of the year I am returning from the South, I would avoid this stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Please avoid this campground at all costs. As the other reviews indicate, this campground is poorly managed. I made a reservation at least 60 days in advance via phone and was told I was confirmed for an RV site. Upon my arrival, there was no one in the locked office. I hooked up only to have the campground owner tell me that the site was reserved and there were no other sites that would allow support of my very large motorhome. My wife had cooked dinner but we had not had a chance to eat when we had to hurridly unhook and move on to a rest stop in the Indianapolis area. Let all RV owners send a message to this campground that RVer's cannot be treated in this manner. This park does not deserve to be patronized by any RVer. The attitude of the owner is just as the other reviews have indicated - very bad. PLEASE DO ALL RVER'S A FAVOR AND DO NOT PATRONIZE THIS CAMPGROUND. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$29
This campground has wide gravel sites and a couple of the sites have concrete pads. It is right next to the interstate but road noise isn't a problem. The interior roads are level and wide. The campground is older but has a lot of potential. The problem is that this is basically a one person operation and it is apparent that she can't keep up. There are signs of deterioration everywhere but it still isn't too bad. When we checked in we were told that the wifi was spotty but it has worked fine for us and we are as far from the source as you can get. It would be nice if they had cable but there are no trees so satellite works fine. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This campground was the KOA in Auburn, but no longer, they were taking the KOA sign down the day we stayed there. The manager not very happy with KOA and it showed in her dealings with us. This is a great stop for overnight when traveling I-69 and a good location for anything in and around Ft Wayne, In. Everything was clean and worked well, but it is due for some upgrading at the sites. We will stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$32
This was a pretty nice KOA. There have been some complaints posted by some about the owner, an older lady. This lady has to run the campground by herself, and she works 6 or 7 days a week all year round. The campground is open all year. There is a nice little store, laundry room, and wonderful showers. I had no issues. I would suggest cable tv. I will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Good overnight stop near the interstate 69. Good access for big rigs of 45 feet and towing. Gravel sites but solid pads. Good exit and entrance. Much to see and do in Auburn. Plan to spend a few days here. Will not allow washing of motorhomes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
One of the nicest bathrooms I've seen in a campground. Sites are not great, especially in bad weather. Easy access off I-69. Wi-fi did not work and office didn't seem to care or know what to do about it. I was leaving so didn't pursue it. Nice pavilion and kitchen for rallies. Apparently the manager can be difficult to deal with. I personally had minimal contact and no problem. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$29
She's still here. Other than a manager who should not be permitted contact with customers it' a fine Kampground. A few small trees, fewer small children, lots of big rigs. Very clean and well kept, no doubt the rules help this. I've stayed here before and will again. Just be sure that when you park your car it is pointed in the same direction as your rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$29
A little noise, close to I-69. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2005
$28
Arrived at campground with reservation. 5-6" of snow on ground, covering roads and sites. Checked in and told site number, were not escorted to site. Pulled into site, set up, power kept going off (50amp). Owner walks up and asks if there is a problem; after looking at parked truck with disgusted look on her face. Tell her power won't stay on. She tells us not to drive on grass as ground is very soft, and walks off. Returns later with volt meter, checks 50amp plug and finds it not working. Tells us we can use 30 amp or move. Since we are set up, use 30 amp. No refund of additional 50 amp charge offered. The owner comes out and tells again not to drive on the grass. On day we leave there is again 5-6" of snow covering sites and roads. We pull to end of road, stop to deposit trash in bin. We are now stuck in snow. While trying to gain some traction, truck and fifth apparently slide onto grass again. There was no confrontation on our part to cause this woman to be so rude. We were on road as far as we could tell when covered in snow. We have never encountered such a rude campground owner or worker anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2004
$28
We stopped at this campground for an overnighter. It was right off Interstate 69. We asked if there was a pull-thru site so we would not have to unhook. Our total length (with bed extended in rear) is 52'. The campground owner said not a problem. Our site was so compact, our bed hung over onto the road by 3-4 inches. The owner would not let us move even though there were several longer sites available. I saw the owner talk to several other customers in the store and she was very rude. It was basically her rules, her way, or LEAVE! The park itself had a lot of permament residents (which I didn't know you could do in a KOA). They had the concrete blocks, the garbage, outside cats and all. I was not impressed with the park. The swimming pool was nice. The bathrooms and showers were in the Store. Each individual rooms like you would have at home. Thought that was a nice feature. We didn't use either one. I would not stay at this park again. If the owner was more pleasant and treated customers like they were number one instead of herself, and with some outside clean-up, this could be a really nice park. As I said earlier it was very convenient to the interstate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$25
A very, very nice campground with nice, level, easily ingressed and egressed sites. Good place for overnight or for a longer stay. Highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com