219983 User submitted reviews online!!
Honeybear Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (828) 963-4586
CGID10568

Honeybear Campground

Camp Information
Sites
82
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   9   8   8   7   7   9   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Awful bath house with dribbling shower. But very good wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$37
Very quiet campground. We stayed here while visiting local attractions like Tweetsie Railroad and Blowing Rock. Campground was clean and well kept. They had video games and movies on Friday/Saturday. They were also giving out free root beer floats and vanilla lattes. The only issues we had was that our site was not exactly level and narrower than expected. They had a ton of magnolia trees providing lots of shade. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
We have been RVing in North Carolina for the last four years and our trips always include stays at Honey Bear Campground. The length of our stay has grown increasingly longer, from one week up to four months, so it is clear that we really enjoy Honey Bear! The setting is beautiful with lots of trees and a pretty mountain stream. It is very quiet and you really feel like you are away from all the hustle and bustle, though it is a short drive to all the conveniences the area has to offer. There are many great things to do in the area from driving on the Blue Ridge Parkway to hiking the trails to visiting the nearby wineries. The staff at Honey Bear is always very pleasant and they go out of their way to be helpful. The facilities are always sparkling clean. The coffee shop is great. Internet access is provided at the campsites. There is plenty of space for kids to run, while still allowing for quiet areas at the campsites. There are lots of weekend activities to keep the quests entertained. We love Honey Bear and can’t wait for our annual return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Our group of seven camped here for a week, our second time at this campground. We LOVE this place. Sites can be small and unlevel, but the staff was great. They assisted us in backing in for a couple of tight spots. It rained a lot, and some sites could really use some more gravel to help with drainage. Cable worked great, Wi-Fi was not great, but better than last time. Had an issue with a dryer not working well, they refunded our money. The stream and shade here are just amazing. We used the coffee bar behind the office as our group hangout spot during the rain, worked out great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
We enjoy the cool mountain air with lots of mature trees - 15 degrees cooler than July at home in the DC area! WiFi better than most, maybe because an antenna is mounted on a tree across the drive. But, they must have good band width because throughput is good all times of day. This is a hilly park accessed via a narrow road with switch-backs from the main Hwy (105). Few pull-throughs (some are parallel to driveways): think twice if you have a very big rig. Many fifth-wheels and motor homes have made it in. Convenient to downtown Boone and nearby, mountain attractions. The camp has a funky name and the city is named after pioneer Daniel Boone, but it has a lot of cosmopolitan amenities as well as country / bluegrass music. My neighbor is here for a 2 month stay and his advance reservation was not honored for his choice of site, but staff delivered some gravel to fix a muddy area next to his RV. We got a 10% military discount; no other discounts. On-line reservation system not well designed, especially for low band-width access: better to call. We would come here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$45
Very nice setting. We were there early in the season and it was private. Pretty fishing pond that was catch and release. Grounds were nicely landscaped. Many sites were carved out of the hillsides and there was still work to do. The owner was very nice and welcomed us and provided a lot of local information. Bathrooms/showers were very nice and clean, too. The cons were roads in the park were in bad shape-rutted and steep in areas. Hook ups located in rear of site, not fifth wheel friendly. This was the rule not the exception. Water pressure was really bad at the site, fine at the bath house. Dog area there, but you could not get into it. Luckily, there were manor places to walk and we were well equipped with doggie bags. Not the worst place that we encountered. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$45
Loved this campground but had a couple of gripes. The bad: we were a day late arriving because we had RV problems and they would not credit us for the lost deposit - this was just ridiculous. So we paid for 3 days instead of the 2 we were there. Also, they are in the process of upgrading some of their facilities. Ffor example, the laundry has 2 ancient washers and one was broken. BUT here are the good things: the park has a lot of charm. There are lots of bushes and trees and the multilevel layout gives each site a private feeling. The nice stream has several hand-made wooden bridges crossing it lined with LED lights. There is a fishing pond. Good areas for dog walking or for kids to run around. Hook-ups are so-so. Water pressure was really poor. This area has a lot to offer and there are many hikes and activities close by. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
Stayed here for 3 different weekends in July. Looked at all the choices in Boone area for campgrounds and this was by far the best choice. The road from Hwy 105 to campground can be a little tricky - but easily done. They have a main lodge area, game room, nice pond, and plenty of room to let our dogs run - open field near front! The new owners are fantastic. Changes being made already and they are doing it right. Excellent customer service. Our electric box had weak breaker when we hooked up 9 PM, and they sent someone right out to replace it. Across the street, they forgot the cable hookup and they brought them one right away. Ice and firewood delivered to your campsite. Saturday night movies on big screen in the main field and campfire for families - had 75 plus at the movie this weekend. Some sites are tricky to get into and some are uneven, but again they are making the investment to keep this our favorite spot in the Boone area! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
This place is in a nice location and is clean, but needs a lot of help in several areas. The hook ups in some sites are in bad locations. Some sites are very unlevel. The washer dryers are terrible. The office needs to get organized. There is also a older woman which needs some customer service lessons. Because the hookups are in bad locations, you will have to borrow sewer hose and electric extension cords. I gave them a 10 dollar deposit on a electric cord. When I returned it they said I never gave them any deposit. The old woman got huffy and said I did not have time for this and then slapped 10 dollars on the counter. I will explore other options in the area if I return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
This is our 2nd time at this campground and we asked(back in March) for a 50 amp site. We reserved a week and so this gave us the weekly rate, but no other discounts. The grounds are clean and quiet. Neighbors we've had are nice. I gave this an 8 because we don't use the bathrooms or the laundry--we have our own--and we use our own Wi-Fi. There are brand new owners and if they continue the traditions of old, they'll do OK. Just off 105 and if you've had mountain experience you'll have no trouble getting here. Our total length is about 53(36 for the rv; then the truck). Our site is back-in. It is very close to attractions, grocery, and we will stay here again. The dumpster is on one's way out of the campground. The office is helpful about attractions and even has tickets for some venues. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
There is nice management. The baths are clean. The last mile of road to access is not the best, very curvy, but doable. It is a great location near Boone and Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
The location of this campground was great. Most of the campsites are located in the woods with lots of tree cover. Our site had a small stream directly behind the site which the kids played in. The site was a bit small (10x30) but that was explained in the site description. It was a bit close for my liking to the neighboring camper. The sites were not perfectly level but close enough with some leveling boards. It was a stretch for my sewer hose to reach the connection so I had to use an extension. Not all sites are this way but ours was. The main reason for the somewhat low score was the power. With nothing hooked up we had around 114 volts. With my AC on it dropped quite a bit and once the water heater came on it dropped to around 103-105 volts. I had to turn off the water heater. I asked the office about it and they told me their service does not support electric water heaters. For a full service site this should not have been an issue. There was a small bridge next to my site that had lights on it during the night. These lights, while nice to look at, were plugged into my outlet which drew about 4 volts when they were on. The roads can be a bit tricky to navigate. Some are very steep inside the campground. Overall the campground was nice and I will probably return. The kids (plus me and my wife) loved the huge tree swing near the entrance. There is a small fishing pond on site as well. You would never know you were within 3 miles of downtown Boone. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
This campground was a real gem. We were here only 2 nights but the sights are well graveled and the staff friendly. Very close to Boone off Hwy 105--about a mile in to the campground and 7 miles from Blowing Rock. Be careful of your GPS as ours took us downtown Blowing Rock and then off Schull's Mills Road and by Hounds Ears Golf Club and Resort--this is an extremely harrowing road for a 35 foot 5th wheel and big truck. You'd be better off calling for directions or going by a map. It made the mile in off 105 to the campground a real breeze to traverse by comparison. The only drawback is this park only has 4 50 amp hookups--granted, it was cool and we ate outside most of the time and probably only needed 30 but talking with people we met, it had been muggy and hot before we arrived. We'd definitely stay here again--and for much longer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$37
My new favorite park! This place was great for relaxing but also close enough to plenty of activities in town to keep us entertained. Within 15-20 minutes you can be at Grandfather Mountain, zip lines, rafting, hiking, etc. Downtown Boone is nice too for shopping. The campground has large sites and we were on a stream as well. Lots of privacy between our site and the neighbors. There is a huge game room, a nice "living room" area for reading, TV, etc. They also have a computer with Internet access for campers to use. Wi-Fi was stronger than any campground so far but could not get at my site (had to go to living room with my laptop). Nice open field for playing with dogs and there is a lake for fishing. I am looking forward to my next stay here! One last thing...do not worry about other reviews saying the drive is too difficult for large rigs. It is your typical country road with curves and no shoulder but nothing out of the ordinary. This worried us (we are from FL with flat, straight roads) but we did fine in a 33 foot motorhome. Worth the drive! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We arrived somewhat late (within an hour of the office closing) and the staff was very friendly and they even encouraged us to look around to see if we liked something better than what we had reserved. We did actually find a different site and they were very accommodating in changing our reservation. There is a good mixture of sites - some right next to each other and some with good privacy and distinct borders. The bathrooms did show they got a lot of use, they were cleaned daily. We are already planning a return trip. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$37
This is a wonderful campground and should be considered a destination park in the Boone area. The road to the campground is winding but this is normal for Boone area. I have a 25 ft rig and towed a vehicle so total length was close to 40 feet. Take it slow. The campground is worth the drive. The campground was spotless and the entrance area was filled with lovely flowers. Plenty of activities for children, quiet at night and the stream singing behind my site lulled me to sleep. Most sites have vegetation (rhododendron is typical) and there was privacy but not isolation. Wi-Fi is available but it did not reach to my site. I did not go to office area to use it so I can't rate signal strength. I did not use the bathroom areas but did check them and they were clean and user friendly. Showers had curtains for privacy with large dressing areas for each shower. There is a laundry facility available but I did not use and don't know the fees. Cable TV service was very good: numerous channels available. Sites require some leveling: some more than others and there are various lengths and widths available. Campground map on their website provides pictures for many sites. I will stay at this campground if in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$32
The office person was very friendly and helpful. We camped in site A11. Our site was not level due to winter storm damage. The bathrooms were very clean, although a little dated, and the shower stalls were large. There is a nice lounge behind the office. The road to the campground was very winding - not a problem for us in a truck camper, but it must be tricky for the bigger rigs, although there were several camped here, so it is possible to get in. The campground was perfect for a fall getaway as it is mostly wooded, which may be why we did not get the Wi-Fi at our spot. I would have rated this a 9 overall if we had gotten the Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
The staff was helpful and friendly. We had sites reserved in advance and when we arrived there was a family on one of our sites. The staff had them move and even helped. It is a beautiful location. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
A great place for peace and quiet. Steep climb up to the campground. We only spent the night and moved on. Great hosts and super clean restrooms. We would stay again. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
The sites were very small, very narrow and needed some gravel on them. They have a first-class game room, a separate great lounge behind the office. But they really need to spend some money on the sites. One really unusual thing we encountered here was that every power box we saw had a sticker on it saying that it was unsafe for us to use our water heater on shore power. It suggested we use gas to be safe. Curious. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
I would give this campground an "A" for effort, but nonetheless a few things are lacking. The sites are pretty cramped and not too private, and most are on hilly roads that make getting in and out a challenge. We had a great, fairly private site on the stream (D3), but had to back up a long way down a hill to get into it. The bathrooms are old and worn looking, but they were clean. Weirdly, though, you have to walk across a large field of grass to get to the bathhouse. It was rainy when we were there, making me think that a gravel walkway would be nice instead of walking through wet grass. The Wi-Fi didn't work at all at our site, even though we were relatively near the campground office. All that said, the management were about as nice and friendly and helpful as we've ever encountered. They have provided all sorts of fun stuff for the kids, including swings and a game room and a big screen TV in a playroom near the office. They also lend out books and DVDs, and were very knowledgeable about what to do in the area while we were there. The campground is also very well located near Boone. One final note, there are some beautiful sites just for tents. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
There are not-so-good, good and great things about this CG. Not-so-good: if you are using anything larger than a 19' trailer, I honestly have no idea how the big rigs got in here- VERY windy road coming up to the CG (not their fault though!), but the sites are tight for even our trailer. We had a pull-thru, but we couldn't pull all the way through, we had to pull in, and back out at the end of our stay. We had to pull between a tree and a boulder. Site was covered in mulch-ish substance, which got all on the inside of the trailer, but it was livable. Bad part was possibly just our site, but when we pulled in, the trailer door faced the road. The electric/water was on the opposite side which was fine, however the picnic table was on the road side and the campfire pit was on the backside. It would have been nice to have the table and pit on the same side, but there was no room- definitely a tight space with a trailer. Good: staff was friendly at check in, and campground was rather quiet. Great: Wooded, secluded, and serene at night. Piece of advice, check for ticks (also not their fault). All sites where we were (up on a hill), was completely covered in trees, so we found 3 ticks on us at the end of one night by the fire. Definitely would return again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
We camped at A18, at this nice campground. We had plenty of room but no privacy, was right next to the road. The Wi-Fi was in and out, worse in the evenings. Best sites are on the creek, very shady. Biggest problem was power. We noticed our refrigerator kept switching from gas to electric and thought the refrigerator was on the blink. Found out later on a very warm day, there was not enough power to run the AC. Kept tripping the breaker. It was so bad when we used a fan the fan speed went up and down. Won't stay here again unless AC is not needed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This park is improved quite a bit with new ownership. Having said that it still has a way to go. Restrooms are clean but OLD and need replacement. Wi-Fi non-existent outside the office. Our site had the sewer dump placed higher then the trailer so it was difficult to dump at best. $5.00 to dump at central site. It's better but has a long way to go. Price too high for what you get. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Our group of five spent a week here. We really liked this campground. Some sites can be tight to get into, but doable. This is a campground on the side of a mountain, so there are some tight turns and inclines. This is a very wooded, rustic setting. Our group had some 34’ rigs that did just fine. We had site C-5, with a 30’ rig. We parked the TV sideways in front, but fit just fine. We really like this site because of the access to the stream. Most of the “C” side sites have stream access; most of the “B” side stream sites do not. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The Wi-Fi was an issue, and the owner said it was being worked on. We had to go to the game room to connect. If Wi-Fi is an issue for you, I would call to check the status of the system update. We were on vacation, and it was not a “must” for us. We look forward to returning to the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$39
Overall a nice campground. Staff was very friendly. Our site was terrific (D1), but others seemed a bit tighter for large rigs. My only complaint is that Wi-Fi is advertised, but it is only available in or very near the office - and I mean VERY NEAR. We had to drive up and sit in the office parking lot with our laptops - very disappointing. As internet access is a must for me, this will probably keep me from staying here again in the future. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$37
We rented a stream site but could not see the stream! It did have privacy shrubbery around the individual site. Had a couple of others attempt to camp near to us, but they were not happy with the unlevel campsites around us. Ours wasn't too bad. The wireless internet was not dependable: had to be outside your RV and unfortunately, it rained the first 24 hours we were here. Once the sun came out, we took our dogs out and ventured around the grounds. The public wash room was clean, but we did not use it. Had a large area for the kids/pets to play. The road coming into the campground is narrow with hairpin turns. Fortunately, the road is not very heavily traveled. This campground is not far from town. We recommend the town of Blowing Rock and Sledgehammer Charlie's: great food! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
The staff is very friendly. I do not recommend rig over 26'. Some sites tight and not completely level. Overall, it is a beautiful campground with stream. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$39
Great Campground. Under new ownership and she is doing a lot of improvements. Some of the sites are a little tight to get into but not that bad for a 26' Travel Trailer. Rates are a tad high but they do have cable hookups at the sites and that is included. We will be back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com