220367 User submitted reviews online!!
Sand Dunes Swimming Pool & RV Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (719) 378-2807
CGID10575

Sand Dunes Swimming Pool & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
10
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   9   6   9   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
The big attraction here is a really nice, really big, delightfully warm swimming pool in the middle of nowhere, with a view to the Sand Dunes. The pool is filled from a continuously flowing artesian well that supplies water at 118 degrees Fahrenheit (The pool temperature is around 98 degrees). Note: the pool is closed for cleaning on Thursdays, open to around 10 PM other days. A sandwich bar at the pool has a wide range of fast foods, including what must be the only Calamari available in southern Colorado. The park has a shelter belt of poplars, and trees between the sites, a blessing in the middle of the high, flat, mostly treeless, quite windy San Luis Valley. There are restrooms & showers in the pool dressing rooms, and also a pair of home-style restrooms with showers in the laundry building, which is open 24 hours (there are no RV sites very close to the restrooms). There are ten level gravel RV sites with grass lawns, picnic tables, water & electric service; people who are staying in the RV sites get to swim at half price. There are also about ten tent-camping sites, and a couple of rental cabins. Everything is very clean; the staff members are all friendly & helpful. The staff said the free Wi-Fi might not work unless a set up near the pool area, but it worked fine at the RV space I was in. There is cell phone reception. We paid $25 for one night, staying here in an Aliner popup trailer on September 18th, 2013. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$70
Amazing contemporary cabins. Walk to the pool which is always a very comfortably warm temperature. Great food at the restaurant. Very accommodating hosts. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Staff provided superb customer service. A very unique facility. The pool was the main attraction, with beautiful views of the mountains. Concessions were very good, observed many customers who came just for the wide variety of food being offered. With the number of patrons at the pool the restrooms were surprisingly clean and well maintained. Campsites were level and located within walking distance to the pool facility. Only suggestion would be for a separate restroom facility, as the restrooms are closed when the pool is closed. Will definitely stay they again when we are vacationing in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is a very interesting place in the middle of nowhere. Signage is poor and the pool, not the RV park, is their primary focus. It is about 45 minutes from route 160 and 45 minutes from Great Sand Dunes Natn' Park. They have a lovely pool and a really nice grill. We got there late on a Sat and stayed in the dry sites. Dry dust. Still, the place grew on us. The owners were very accommodating, even filled up our water tank. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Very basic sites and well leveled. Plenty of room for large rigs and slide outs. Staff is super nice and were always making sure the facilities were clean. My kids had a blast at the pool, but keep in mind there are no lifeguards so you can't just send them by themselves. Close to all the attractions, but far enough away from the traffic noise. We definitely will stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This park has 10 sites and is very basic. These sites are W/E only; there is no sewer on site. Closet dump is Alamosa. All sites are pull through and dirt. Sites are very long and can accommodate very large and long rigs. Electric was very good. The park is primarily used by people who are there to use the hot springs pool. It was very dark and quiet at night while we were there. You get a 50% discount off of the cost of admission to the pool. Showers and bathrooms are in the pool area. There is a small restaurant in the pool area that is reasonably priced. Wi-Fi is also available in the pool area but we did not use it so cannot comment on speed. Verizon cell phone and air card worked well. The cost of the campground was relatively high but this is the going rate for the area. Dry camping is also available but not advertised. At the time, the dry camp rate was $10. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This park is about 20 miles north of Alamosa . 2.5 miles off highway 17 so there is plenty of peace and quiet. Campers receive half price admission to the hot spring pools. Dry camping is also available for $10. The location is ideal for visiting the Great Sand Dunes National park, Zapata Falls, San Luis Lake, and the Colorado Gator Park. Also, it makes a nice reasonably priced stop over for traveling to and from northern Colorado. All sites have some shade and are long Pull-Thru's. WI-Fi worked well and was included with rate. We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com