219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Bark River Campground was rated 5 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (262) 593-2421
CGID10591

Bark River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
245
Date of Stay
August 2012
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   1   6   5   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
General Description: This is mostly a “destination” RV park used as an escape for nearby city-dwellers. The vast majority of the sites are occupied by permanent or semi-permanent RVs. Many sites are owned outright by individuals. For the most part all sites have water and power only; no sewer hookups. No TV available. Wireless internet at the lodge only. Cell phone reception is spotty. There is a dump station on the way out. RV sites are in an open area, fairly easy to get in/out. The lodge has a restaurant. Pros: Friendly, helpful staff; no problem with my reservations. Water pressure was fine. Always had soap, toilet paper, hand towels or blow-dry in rest rooms. Cons: VERY poor showers. Very cramped stall and dressing area. NO control over hot/cold. Pay showers at 75 cents each (quarters only). My water temps were either scalding hot or near cold (same session). No warning when time was ready to end, but there was plenty of water. Very poor lighting (bulbs burned out). Restroom stalls very tight. Restrooms not regularly cleaned. RV pads are gravel; you can get level side/side, but way off front/back. A lot of driving on county back roads to get to park. AC power always below the 110-volt minimum. Swimming pool requires showers before using – but at 75 cents per shower, no one we saw did this. So most everyone using pool did not shower first. Over all, with the exception of the pool and playground, this park was not very well maintained, and showed its age. Final Word: We will never stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
This is a large, well maintained residence campground with about 18 transient sites. The transient sites are all in the open on gravel pads with water and (50A) electricity on various sides, often not the side for RV hookups, so bring a long hose and/or electrical cord. Fair Verizon voice, poor Verizon data. Good air TV. Sites somewhat sloping. PA park, but PA prices not valid Fri/Sat so regular price quoted. No sewer, but dump station available. Pool not operational when we were there. Park does not get fully operational (food/pool/lodge) until about Memorial day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
This is a scary place. We left after 1 night. We had intended to visit nearby Madison and stay 2 nights, but were afraid to leave the rig unattended. The rate was a Passport rate, but do not waste your time. Very difficult to find and get a large rig into. The so-called pull through sites were not level, spotty gravel and grass mixture, and hookups not properly placed. The full time residents, which were at lease 95% of the population, lived in run down trailers in a run down park. Do not consider this place under any circumstances. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The park is a mostly 'seasonal' park and the sites for 'overnighters' are interesting. The big rig, pull-through sites are big and you are definitely 'self contained' since the bathrooms/showers are not close. The few sites near the lodge where the facilities are located (and the pool) are on grass. The biggest concern is the bathroom which is not kept as clean as it could be and the water pressure varies. Showers are pay for use and the temperature is more on the cool side. It is OK for a couple of nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$15
This park is off the beaten path, but worked well for us as we have family in the area. Many older seasonal sites that need some cleaning and repair. Very good electric, with good water pressure. Good asphalt interior roads. We will use again. Restrooms appear to be port-a- potties, so being self contained is a must. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$15
Agree with previous review in that it is good for just an overnight stay. Lots of long term trailers on grounds but overnight section is in a field. The location is somewhat out of the way of major routes so we would probably not go back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
Not a bad spot for a short stay, although the over nighters sites are not very level. It has a "Lodge/restaurant" but if you are a non-smoker you will not want to eat there. We were traveling through the area on a long trip so we used the park for a layover day. Overnight sites are out in the open so satellites will work. Cell phone and wireless card reception is marginal due to the out of the way location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com