214911 User submitted reviews online!!
Great Lakes Naval Base Training Center (Military Camping Only) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (847) 688-6675
CGID10592

Great Lakes Naval Base Training Center (Military Camping Only)

Camp Information
Sites
20
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   4   8   8   8   8   7   9   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2014
$17
First the only thing this has is the view of Lake Michigan. It's right on the lakefront. Problems: The check in process at the hotel is a joke. After three years they should have it down. Asked on the phone for a particular site and was told we don't reserve sites. Asked about a site when booking in and was told that it was reserved! Which is it? Got to the site and someone was in it. Assigned another and there was a heavy (very) picnic table on the pad. Seems the grass cutting crew put them there and never put them back. It had rained and some of the sites were flooded. Was told it happens whenever there is heavy rain. So step out the door into mud. This place could be a jewel if management would get a grip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$17
Only positive thing about this place is the view (on the lake) and the price. Facilities not clean, had to travel to the gym for a shower. Muddy not level back in sights. The hosts were not present. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Management changed last month from the Marina to the Gateway Inn & Suites. Check-in is required at the Inn Building 62. Address for GPS is 2423 MacDonough Dr., Great Lakes, Illinois, 60088. The Inn's staff are still learning about a RV & Campground operations. ( They have a long way to go.) However they gave us a base map and coupons for several locations to eat on the base. We were assigned to a lot #20, however the power plug in the box was mounted upside down and couldn't install our power surge protector. Called the Inn front desk and clerk wasn't sure it was "legal" for me to install a power surge protector. She had me call the clerk on the Marina before she would consider letting me change lots. Before I called her back I checked the other open lots and 2 others had the plug installed upside down. She did finally allow me to move lots but told me forms she gave me at registration clearly stated we weren't allowed to move to a different lot. That I would have to take my chances if I moved. I took my chances. Verizon Wireless coverage was outstanding--max Bars. The roads leading to the RV park & campground are steep. As reported by others the view of the Lake is outstanding. The beaches were closed the first couple of days because of rip tide currents. The beach is 1/4 mile walk or drive. I'd stay here again for sure. We had come to Illinois for a Family Reunion. There are a lot of great places to eat in the area. Several people had previously stated Gate 4/5 were to be use for RV and campers. We used Gate 1, the best way to arrive is via Illinois Route 137 from either I-294 or US 41. Follow Route 137 east until you get to the Northwestern Railroad overpass then go under the pass, stay in the right lane, turn right and take the 1st right into Gate 1. Once inside the Gate it's like Marching Left Right Left, the guard told us to building 62 Take 1st Left Turn then the 1st Right Turn after that then straight until T Junction then another left the Gateway Inn is about 1 block down on the Right. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$18
We often stay here. It's a wonderful site except there are no water or sewer hook ups. Both are available at the marina along with toilets and showers about 3/4 mile along the lakefront. There is a beach house with toilets and shower as well, but the Marina is nicer. They need to do something about the electric as there seems to be only a 200 amp service and voltage is always low (108v was seen at times). There is always talk about expanding and installing full hook-ups but this is the Navy and everything takes forever to get done. Note that the reservations are now taken by the Navy Gateway Inn on base NOT the Marina. Phone # is 847-688-6675 24 hour service. Make sure you emphasize RV Park and not "camping" because that is tent camping at a different site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$15
Lucky enough to get their only 50 Amp spot. Great location for visiting Chicago area. Outstanding view of Lake Michigan. More 50 Amp and sewer connection would be a great improvement to an already great small park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$16
What a neat park, we visited as a guest of my niece who is stationed here; will be here for four days. The view is a million dollar view of the lake. What a privilege to get to use this park as a civilian guest of my niece who is in the Navy. At this point electricity only; dump and fresh water is at the Marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$16
Beautiful view. Sites are close together. About half of the sites are long term users. There is one 50 amp handicapped site. Good showers and restrooms are down at the Marina which is a drive, not a walk. There are pit toilets at the campground. All water and dumping is done at the Marina as well. Be sure to get your passes at the visitor center beforehand and arrive at Gate 5 on a weekday and before 3 pm; otherwise, it's a hassle to get in. Good news: the newspaper published Sept. 1, 2010 as the date for water and sewer to be installed. Bad news: haven't seen any digging yet. It's close to METRA train station to get to Chicago easily. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
Site is on the lakefront at Naval Station, Great Lakes. Very quiet with excellent security. Navy spent $2,000,000 restoring the boat house at the marina (about 5 min drive along the lake) part of which installed new laundry, restrooms and showers. Presently there are plans to erect a shower block at the site and install water and sewer. The dump station is at the marina. Site is open all year and some people stationed there overwinter. Biggest problem is waiting at the badge and pass office for paperwork to be done. There is a separate tent camping are available at the south end of the base on the lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$15
If you are Active, Reserve, Retired military or DoD civilian and are passing through (North) Chicago, this is a great place to spend a night or two. As RV parks go it is pretty basic. 20 back-in concrete pads with electric only. Fire rings at each site. But to be 50 feet from Lake Michigan in a supremely quiet and well-kept park, this is a great bargain. Easy off base access to trains for Chicago for those wanting to see the sights and not fight the traffic. If you don't have a valid DoD sticker for your vehicle you'll have to stop in at the visitor center next to the main gate for a pass. You will be directed to enter through Gate 5, the gate designated for truck traffic at the north end of the base. If you show up after hours, or if Gate 5 is closed, then enter through the main gate. If you have advance reservations, just pull into the RV park and back into your site. Then you can go over to Bldg 13, the Base Marina office, and check in formally. Ditto if you arrive after hours and the Marina is closed (1800 - 6pm). Sewer and fresh water are available at the marina. Since this is a major Navy training base, be ready for lots of marching formations on base, but the RV park is at the bottom of a large bluff, on the lake, and therefore quite removed from other base activities. Sites 1-8 face away from the water; sites 9-20 face and are closest to the water. Since all sites are back-in, it was actually better to be in the sites away from the lake, because then you have a lake view from the back of your rig if that's where the most windows are located. The park is so quiet you can hear a pin drop. Military personnel using it are very courteous and are very non-intrusive. Gas station and mini-mart on base for authorized users; main commissary and exchange are located about 1.5 miles away off base. For $15 and location, location, location, it's great. Or, if you don't want to fight Chicago passing through, it's a great place for a one-night stay. The only reason I rate it a "6" is because it doesn't have all the commercial trappings of other civilian RV parks. But for tranquility and location at a bargain price, this park is hard to beat for authorized users. Definitely big rig friendly, as there were numerous Fifth Wheel and Class A rigs there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com