223556 User submitted reviews online!!
Dog Creek COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (270) 524-5454
CGID10597

Dog Creek COE

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   9   9   8   9   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
We were totally and pleasantly surprised by how nice this place is. The sites were level, easy to get into, not piled on top of your neighbor. Had a great waterfront site and it was perfect! So very clean, well maintained. Cell phone coverage was poor at best (Verizon), but not too concerning for us. No TV reception at all. Excellent value for an electric (50 amp) and water site! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
Very nice campground on Nolin Lake. It is about twenty miles off of I-65 so it probably is not an overnight stop. Very nice for extended stays. Camping area is on a peninsula surrounded by lake on 3 sides. No pool but there is a beach area for swimming. If you are visiting Mammoth Cave, the campground is a good base. It is about 15 miles from the Green River ferry which is very close to the Cave visitors center. We stayed 2 nights. Would stay there again. Rate reflects Federal senior pass rate (50% off) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
Clean and nice campground. The sites were large and roomy. The beach was small but nice for camping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$11
Question big rig friendly. Our 32' MH seemed cozy, even in pull-through. Disconnected tow due hilly access road in loops and tight turns. Rate is senior pass. Electric and water only. All sites have some water view. As this is KY and we learned since, smoking is still in fashion. The bathrooms, showers, stores, etc., areas very clean. Good patrons behaving very nice. Most sites fairly level. Out of way; isolated and challenging local roads; real challenge from I-65; easy from Western Kentucky Pkwy. Doubt return due location and difficult roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$11
We were in a lovely campsite on the shore of Lake Nolin. All campsites are well-sited and are certainly well maintained. Mammoth Caves are less than 30 min away. We greatly enjoyed the stay would stay there again. This is a Corps of Engineers campground. Our rate reflects the inter-agency senior pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This is a premier COE campground located in Central Kentucky. Positives include there is a wide variety of level sites, many can accommodate large units. Newer, very clean restrooms and showers, lake side or lake view sites, excellent dump facilities, all at a good price. The beach is pretty small with limited swimming area. If you go here, stock up on all needed supplies before you arrive since it is a long way to get groceries. The campground is a short beautiful drive to Mammoth Cave National Park across the free Green River Ferry. The National Park offers great hiking, canoeing, and of course, numerous cave tours. Reserve cave tours in advance during peak times. We camped in one of the many pull through sites that were on the lake shore. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
There are many things to love about Dog Creek - spacious & shady sites, lake access everywhere, plenty of green/open spaces, new electric service, well patrolled, quiet at night, generous host on site. Picky drawbacks are no ice or firewood available, zero TV and cell phone reception. Overall, glad to have come back here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
Dog Creek is a lovely campground on the south-eastern section of Nolin Lake. Compared with its big cousin nearby, Wax Campground, Dog Creek is smaller, prettier, and has better lake access and views from all loops. The property is mostly level (Wax is quite hilly), and splendidly maintained by COE. Sites have flat gravel pads neatly trimmed by curbing. Loop A electric offers generous sites spaced far apart, and mature trees which afford at least partial shade. New electric service is currently being added to sites on the outside edge of Loop A. Dog Creek has a boat launch, large picnic pavilion, and beach/swimming area. We continue to be impressed by the quality of the campgrounds run by Corps of Engineers: always tidy and well run, thoughtfully laid out. We will definitely return to Dog Creek! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Clean campground. State is improving/updating the site. Check in was easy and friendly. The date we were there the lower sites were under water due to flooding and the lake being up. But, it was quiet, and we had a enjoyable stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$10
Typical of COE campgrounds, Dog Creek is clean and neat and nicely situated on the banks of the Nolin River Lake with grass, trees and beautiful views of the lake. This is the smallest of about three campgrounds on the lake; and while there are 70 sites, there are only 24 with electricity (50amps) and water. These are generally above the floodwater elevation. There is a swimming beach, a playground and pavilion and a boat ramp with a large trailer parking area that fills up on weekends. During the week most of the campground sites are empty but weekends will find all of the electric and water sites filled. Most of the graveled sites are large and level with some of the sites satellite friendly (specifically B13 & B14) but Verizon cell phone and air card service is marginally possible on extended service. The managers are very friendly and helpful and pointed out the Green River Ferry shortcut to the Mammoth Caves National Park. A marina with boat rentals is nearby for boat trips to explore the lake. Unfortunately there are no showers at present but they are “in the works”. The price reflects the Golden Age Passport 50% discount, a real bargain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com