214866 User submitted reviews online!!
White River Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (317) 770-4430
CGID1061

White River Campground

Camp Information
Sites
106
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$22



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   9   8   9   10   9   10   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$22
This is a very nice campground that is well maintained. Most sites are paved including the campsite living area. Many sites have nice shade trees. The main bathroom was clean and in good condition. It is at one end of the campground so it could be a pretty good hike. During our stay it was relatively quiet during the week; however, it became very busy on the weekend. Unfortunately the group camped in the several sites next to us played games and partied for hours after quiet time began (until 2-3 am). The campground personnel does nothing to quiet those being noisy. This is the reason I did not give it a 10 rating. There is no 24 hour park personnel, only campground hosts. Know that while the website does not mention it, you can call for reservations and that would be recommended. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$30
Really nice park. Good roads paved pads. Restrooms and showers clean and well maintained. Staff very helpful. Wi-Fi is only available Office. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$22
Rate reflects weekly rate. We enjoyed this campground. The showers and stalls are a little "skinny" but clean. Only 1 bath house for the entire park and could be a hike from some of the spots if you walk. We were right on the river which was nice but I would imagine might have some mosquito issues. We had some but they were controlled by spray. Very family friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$20
This is a clean campground with full hookups. We stayed on site 9 which was on the river. Nice spot to fish, close to playground and quiet. This is a great weekend place to relax, but not much to do. Strawtown Koteewi park, however, is across the street which has an learning center and trails. Also, the staff informed us they were changing their dog policies. You'll need to register your dog with vet's information and rabies tag number. As a local, we'd consider visiting again if we wanted a quick getaway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
An absolute gem of a park run by Hamilton County. RV sites are generous in size and are all level, back-ins with mature trees providing abundant shading. At least 25 of these sites back directly on to the White River, offering a picturesque and tranquil site that exceeds expectations and offers lovely canoe or kayak access as well. The campground and facilities are spotless and well-maintained. It is gated with a security code at night, and the campground hosts and staff constantly are checking to ensure everything is in order. We stayed for 10 days, and during the week the campground was half-full while it completely fills on the week-ends. Although there are many families with lots of children on the weekends, everyone seemed to be incredibly respectful of quiet hours, and the park never lost its quiet and tranquil character. Free Wi-Fi was available, but only on the office porch. Lack of cable TV and Wi-Fi throughout the park is the only thing that kept this from being rated an 11 out of 10! We will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
There is a reason this campground is rated 8, 9 and 10 exclusively. Situated on the banks of the lazy White River one can sit and watch the kayakers and tubers float by. The campground is spotless with staff and hosts that take pride in this county park. The restrooms, showers and laundry are spotless. Even over the weekend when the park was full, it was quiet and everyone was respectful. The sites are concrete, large enough for most RVs with a metal picnic table and fire pit. Verizon service was strong. Only about ten minutes from Noblesville were all the chain stores can be found. Price reflects one week out-of-state. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
What a "jewel" of a find for a campground a few miles north of Indianapolis. We stayed here on site 94 in a 40' motorhome and toad. Easy maneuvering in the CG; wide asphalt interior roads and new concrete extra wide pads. Verizon cell and our MiFi worked well. Could not get satellite signal because of trees. Friendly staff. We definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Very nice park with concrete pads for motorhomes and trailers. Full hookups available and some sites back to river. Quiet and shady and check-in people are friendly. Stayed 2 days but had to move sites on the 2nd day as ours had been previously reserved. Many sites open but new guy liked ours on his last trip. Minor inconvenience. Would definitely stay there again but suggest calling for reservation, especially during the fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Wonderful county park along the river with mature trees and concrete pads. Well maintained and quiet with a very good staff. Close to Indianapolis with easy access to interstate via highway 37. All sites are back in. For larger rigs and full hook ups, I recommend the site numbers in the 90's. First stay and will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
This is the fourth time that we have stayed at this campground. The new concrete pads are a great addition. According to their website (updated with this review) there is wireless available at the office, but we did not try it. Free passes are given out to the local beach, but this year passes are for the local Cicero pool because of the drought. A small pool on the property would be a great addition. The water/electric sites toward the back share a common utility pole for every two sites and the bath house in that area does not have showers, so one must go to the entrance bathhouse to shower if desired. There are grass sites for tents and some grass sites with water and 15 amp outlets. There is adequate space between all the sites, but some sites have much more room behind them than others. It is near the Strawtown Koteewi "Prairie" Park which has a "nature" center demonstrating the archeological digs on that property and two nice trails through the prairie. If the opportunity arises we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
The White River Campground, maintained by the Hamilton County Indiana Parks Department, is a hidden gem and therefore I give it the highest rating. The new concrete pads are super-sized as we have a 43 foot rig. Staff is friendly and the location is perfect as major stores, Walmart and others are just down the road at Noblesville, IN. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$21
We stay in this park every time we're in the area. It's very clean and has a river for fishing and canoeing. There's space between the sites so it's comfortable. All the previous reviews are true so won't elaborate. Great for families and those that like to camp in a tent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$20
Wonderful clean campground. County owned. Paved asphalt roads, level concrete sited. We were visiting friend and family in the area and would definitely return to this park. Friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi available but in the office or pavilion only. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$21
Great Managers, nice setting. Came here in 43 ft RV, finding very adequate facilities and a pleasant atmosphere. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
We love this campground and stay here as often as we can get away. The camp hosts are just delightful and always make us feel welcome. There have been a lot of upgrades to the campground this year. The new concrete sites, asphalt drive, and picnic tables are great. Bathrooms could use some upgrading but they are always clean. Many of the campsites are along the White River. I'd recommend requesting one of those sites, if possible. Reservations are suggested since they are usually full on weekends. We love to canoe. A great benefit of this campground is the ability to launch or take in your canoe right from campground. There is also a local livery that will rent you a canoe too. There are beautiful walking and bike trails nearby and a nice museum. Lake Cicero is nearby for boating. We would definitely recommend this park. It's perfect for a weekend or week long stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Wonderful park. It had flooded twice in June 2010, but when we got here July 5, there was no sign of flooding conditions. The cement pads are level and big with a picnic table. It's not the easiest to back into since the pads are straight instead of angled with a tree right where you need to turn. That was the only downside. The managers and hosts are very helpful and friendly. We'll come here a lot, it's on the way from NC to Chicago. We stayed a week. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$21
This campground was very nice. All the roads are newly paved. All the sites have nice concrete pads for your RV. The campground host was very friendly. The campground is gated in the evening. A pass code is given when you register. If you are a golfer, there are very nice courses close by. I would definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$17
This is a very quiet park during the week with several sites on the river. The biggest drawback with this park are the roads: lots of potholes and mud on the turns in every site. It is close to good restaurants in Noblesville/Cicero. Will definitely return here when the roads are repaired. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
It's hard to find full service campgrounds in the area. This was a nice campground although the roads are in need of filling in the holes that create standing water when it rains. (yes, it rained) The sites are very small but it still accommodated our motorhome and slides. There are no private sites but there are many large trees to provide some shade. The laundry room has two washers and two dryers. The large playground looked very inviting to the younger generation. If the roads had been in better shape, I would have given this a higher rating. We would stay here again - good price for full service. There was no internet or cable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
While this is arguably the nicest campground in the area, it is not, in my opinion, as good this time as it has been. Roads in campground need work - lots of puddles/mud when it rains. Grass was not mowed as often as I remember. Concrete sites along the river (17 are 50 Amp) have large trees that could use a good trimming. Low hanging branches interfere with awnings, lots of sap on car and RV, leaves constantly falling on awnings and picnic tables. Forget about roof mounted satellite TV if you are on one of the 50 amp river sites; too many trees - even interferes with broadcast TV reception. Bugs (mosquitoes and black flies) were a problem for us, probably because of the rainy weather here this spring/summer.On the positive side, staff is friendly and helpful. Park is quiet during the week and busy with lots of kids/bikes/family get togethers on weekends. Playground is newly redone. Reserve early for weekends - seems always to be full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Very nice, clean campground. There is a security gate with a code to get in. Fishing is available in the river or a small pond. Restrooms were clean. Attendants were available for any questions. Some of the sites are right on the river. There are shade sites available. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$21
This county park has paved roads and concrete RV pads with a picnic table. There is grass and trees which can interfere with satellite reception in some sites. We had a full hook-up back-in site along the river, which was very good. No Wi-Fi but the air card worked fine. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
Site location was a backup to the river and on a level concrete pad. Choice of full hookup or not available. After all the rains in the area river was very high and running fast downstream. Park personnel friendly, drive around to overlook area and do routine work. Park filled to about 90% capacity over the weekend. No problem with noise. Couldn't believe with all the campers here at that time it would be so quiet. Already planning a return visit this year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$20
Ditto on previous posters comments.Stayed 8 nights - we will stay here again. Well run municipal park - clean,quiet (except for July 7 fireworks from the neighbors). Full on summer weekends-make reservations early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
This is a very nice campground. We camped here 3 nights. We had full hookups on the river. Beautiful We will camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Very nice campground, helpful staff, well-maintained grounds. We were not along the river, but that was OK since we used it as a base to visit Indy. We would have enjoyed staying longer. The sites were spacious and it was very quiet at night. Would highly recommend it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$20
This is one of the greatest parks that we have ever camped in. One of Indiana's best kept secrets. Everything was clean, neat and tidy. The staff is first rate, the grounds well kept and clean, restrooms wonderful. We had a spot along the river, it was very relaxing to watch geese, and canoes come floating past. We mainly have camped in state parks most of the time. We will definitely be back. There are not a lot of organized activities, but there is a very nice playground and nice grassy areas for corn hole or polo bolo to play with groups of family and friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
Very nice campground. Handicap accessible. One of Indiana's best kept secrets. No planned activities but they do have a nice playground, volleyball, hourseshoes, recreation room, river and creek fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$15
This is one of the best campgrounds that I have found to date in Indiana. We have been camping for many many years in everything from a tent on up. The grounds are kept up very well, reminds me of a golf course. The Playground equipement is kept in great shape. The rest rooms are always clean, the staff is top notch. When the park closes for the day it, they shut the gates, which require a code to enter. There are campground hosts to help those that arrive late. The price just cannot be beat at 15 a night for full hook up, then taking into account high level of attention the staff provides, it just puts the icing on the cake. Can't say enough good things about the campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com