220521 User submitted reviews online!!
Honcho Rest Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (231) 264-8548
CGID10611

Honcho Rest Campground

Camp Information
Sites
91
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$40



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   8   8   8   8   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
The campground says it's on Cairn Highway, but it's called Ames Street too. There are a lot of permanents, but no problem there. Nice level site with a concrete patio. Good place to stay to explore Traverse City and environs. We needed an oil change for our rig and found a great place to do business. I recommend Uncle Rod's - 231-264-6070 -in Elk Rapids. We find it difficult sometimes to get an oil change for our 30 foot motorhome, so if this helps someone, that's great. They were very accommodating. We had called an RV place in Traverse City and they wanted way too much money. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
We stayed for six nights at this campground. It is a medium size campground with about 2/3 of the sites taken up with seasonal lease campers. There are two sections: an older one and a newer one. The sites in the older section are smaller, but generally have more shade. The sites in the newer (north) section are larger, but with few trees and many trees that are there have died. All sites have a concrete patio, which is nice. While the campground is on a small lake, there are no lake sites available to overnight campers. Lake access is pretty limited. There is no real camp store, but the campground is relatively close to town – we rode our bikes there several times. Campground roads are gravel and can be dusty. Main bathhouse is a “trailer” type unit with several private bathrooms. While generally clean they could have been maintained better (example: wastebasket never emptied during stay) and better ventilated (always hot and stuffy). The Wi-Fi reception and speed usually pretty good for public Wi-Fi. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Beautiful sites on a lake. Some sites shaded, some with cement pads, some gravel. All with cement pads under tables. Bathhouses were generally clean but little place to hang clothes. Overall a good place to go back to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
There are tight quarters in this campground on Bass Lake, although it is clean and neat. All the lakefront sites were taken by seasonal campers, and many other campers were seasonals as well. Everyone was friendly. The bathrooms are individual toilet, sink & shower combos, and were pleasant and clean. The playground area is spacious and kids seemed to like it. There are two docks by which to access the lake, but only a small area that could really be used by anyone without a lakefront site. It would be nice if there was a picnic table or a seating area down by the lake for use by those without the prime sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Nice park with full hook ups, cable and WI-FI (both worked very well). Staff was very friendly and helpful upon check-in. Sites are pretty tight if you have a big rig. I had a pull thru but they only have 3 of those in the park. Most sites are occupied with seasonal campers. Rated an 8 because of the small sites and difficulty in maneuvering. Otherwise a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
This campground is beautifully maintained. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. There are a lot of seasonal campers here, but there was still plenty of spaces when we were here. We had a nice big pull-through site, but there are some sites that are pretty tight. We did not use the restrooms, so I can't comment on those. It is very convenient to downtown Elk Rapids and grocery. The owners are very helpful with restaurant, etc. suggestions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Extremely clean park. Owners are friendly, hardworking and helpful. Smaller, lovely, park, on a good sized, pretty lake with plenty of boat parking. Quite a lot of seasonal units. Lots are a generous size and level. Good fire pits. There are 2 long fishing docks. They do try to route the traffic "one way" inside the park. The signage could be better and it's a little goofy to figure out at first. Nice park, quaint town, plenty of unique shopping and places to eat. We look forward to returning and recommend it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$33
We stayed here on opening weekend to shake out our newly acquired motorhome. The campground is well maintained and facilities are very good. There are a couple of pull through sites but most are back in. The sites are paved with paved patio areas and are reasonably level. The sites are close together with some shade. It's a short walk to a grocery store and there is a public golf course right across the street. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This is a great campground, located right on Bass Lake just 1 mile off US 31; 18 miles north of Traverse City. Elk Rapids is a charming, clean village with many shopping and entertainment venues and an excellent marina for Traverse Bay. Torch Lake is 10 minutes away; great fishing all around. We used CampClub USA for the two nights we stayed here. WI-FI worked ok in all sites we checked, and the cable TV was great. Sites 90-95 are best for satellite. Normal rates are $35-40/day. Good level sites all around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com