206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Northwest Michigan Fairgrounds Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (231) 943-4150
CGID10661

Northwest Michigan Fairgrounds Campground

Camp Information
Sites
132
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   6   6   7   9   8   7   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
Large, level, gravel sites. Easy back in. Convenient location to Traverse City and Sleepy Bear. This is not a destination. This is a great place to park the RV with electric and get out and have fun in an amazing area of the country. Verizon cell/MIFI strong. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
Very quiet park, with good cell phone service. Sites are level; the outside perimeter sites now have water. Would stay here again when in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$20
There 132 level, gravel sites all about 40-feet long with grass between them. There are no curbs or barriers around the sites, so longer rigs can extend into the grassy area. The interior roads are well maintained gravel and the campground area is open with few trees. All sites have good electric (ours was 50 amp) and perimeter sites also have water hook-ups. There is a dump station on site which is easily accessible, but larger rigs cannot readily turn around in the area past the dump station. They can more easily egress by backing up. The hosts are conscientious and friendly. There are two Porta-Potties in the camping area and restrooms and showers are several hundred yards away in the fairground complex. The sinks and toilets are clean and the four showers on the “mens” side are adequate, but could use some attention. DirecTV and Verizon are easily accessed. During our week-long stay, there were only a few rigs there during the week with considerably more on the week-end, but the campground was still less than half-full. This facility is ten miles from the water-front in Traverse City and is a great place to stay if you are not seeking entertainment and amenities for kids. The weekly rate is $120. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
Campground Hosts helpful and friendly. Nice, clean, quiet place to stay. Water hook ups coming to sites by Spring 2013. Hopefully they will also have Wi-Fi. We travel with two retrievers, so like having a large area to exercise them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This fairground type campground was adequate for us, as the electricity here is superb and we are used to dry camping without it if need be. The State park campground was not suitable for our big rig with satellite antenna on the roof, although we tried to stay there. The fairground campground had a very nice camp host available and about six sites were being used. For the $ it is a good deal, and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
I'll second (or third) the previous comments. No way can you beat the location and price. Only down side is the long walk (or drive) to the restrooms/showers. Easier to be self contained. Host's are super friendly. Location is good for seeing all of the surrounding area, including Sleeping Bear Dunes. A previous reviewer said the dump station was awkward: it points you to a very tight left turn to get back to the campground. Easily remedied by backing up, or turning across the grass. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Very nice campground at a steal of a deal. I believe the reason they are never that busy is because they are not listed on Google Maps when you do a search for RV parks. Neither are they listed in the Woodalls Directory. This is a great location minutes from everything. LOTS of space here. Flat, gravel, grass between sites. This is the only campground I've been to where they give you a second site to park your car. We also used a third site for the picnic table. Easy access dump and water station. Brand new shower building but a long walk. A little advertising would do some good here. Your seventh night is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Good value and nothing fancy. Great, friendly hosts on site. Sites are very level and a stone gravel mix. No water hookups, you must fill your water tanks as hooking up to one is not allowed. Good TV reception via batwing, Verizon cell and broadband both very good. Dump station layout not the best, but doable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We stayed here 11 days in order to have ample time to visit this area of Michigan. We paid the weekly rate of $125 for 7 days, and then $20 per night for the next 4 nights. Easy in and out for a big rig. Sites are not long enough for a 40' plus a toad so we parked in the site next to us. There are some lots with shade. Lots are level and gravel, grass for the patio area. The campground hosts were very helpful and friendly. We felt safe at this fairgrounds location. Pet friendly with a small dog park. There are shared water faucets (need a long hose). A dump station is also on site. It is a great place to park at a reasonable rate - close to many towns to visit. We would return here again - great for big rigs (level, no tree limbs, easy access, satellite reception). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
NW Michigan Fairgrounds CG became our private campground as there was only one other camper in this 132 site park during our stay. We opted for this CG because of the $20.00 per night price. Other commercial CG’s in this area are much more pricey. Sites are gravel and reasonably level. They offer 50/30 & 20 amp at the sites but water is only located about every 6-7 sites and you cannot stay plugged into the water source so you should arrive with full tanks. This is why we checked NO to water hookups. Same with sewers: they only have a dump station. They also have a very strange adapter device that you get from the office/host in order to tap into the water to fill your RV tanks. There are faucets at the spigots that we used to fill gallon jugs for coffee in the morning. There is No Wi-Fi and the restrooms (other than two porta potties) and showers were a brisk 5-7 minute walk from the actual camp sites, so are NOT convenient. They do have tables, but at the time we were here, none had been placed and the grass had not been cut (the camp hosts had not arrived). There are fire pits but we didn’t see wood for sale. They open on 15 May and we were here on 10 June and enjoyed the sightseeing (wineries, lighthouses and Sleeping Bear Dunes National seashore). The Forty-Five North Vineyard and Winery in Lake Leelanau, MI was the ONLY one that didn’t charge $5.00 for their wine tasting. We also found a fellow selling UP style pastries on 8th & Munson that we’d highly recommend for some good eating. Yes, we’d come back to the fairgrounds again if we were to be in Traverse City. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
We just left this campground, had a nice stay and enjoyed the people we met. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This is a large level grass field with a few trees here and there. Good voltage, level sites, very helpful, hardworking hosts. Nothing fancy (as reflected in the low price), but well maintained and quiet. Nothing here for kids. Restrooms are outhouses, so it is best to be self-contained. Verizon signal is strong. This worked very well for us during our visit to Traverse City over the 4th of July camping madness weekend. : ) We would return. Current weekly rate is $125. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
This is a great bare bones alternative to the High Priced private campgrounds and cramped State Parks. The park is located on the Northwest County Fair grounds. Open level sites with gravel pads and grass between the sites. 50/30/15 amp service available at each site with a picnic table and fire ring. Potable water faucets located throughout the park and a central dump station. $20 per night, $100 per week makes it a great low cost alternative when visiting the area. The park is clean and well maintained with a friendly on-site campground host. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com