206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Robert Moses State Park (Thousand Island region) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (315) 769-8663
CGID10664

Robert Moses State Park (Thousand Island region)

Camp Information
Sites
215
Date of Stay
September 2012
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   8   6   8   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
We stayed in the Barnhart Loop on a premium waterfront site and it was perfect. Lovely view of the river plus a tree lined sandy beach. If you kayak or canoe, they can be launched directly from the site. The campground marina can accommodate small john boats up to 35 foot or larger vessels. We enjoyed bike riding on the miles of paved roads. Definitely stop at the Eisenhower lock near the campground entrance and watch one of the ships go through. For a waterfront lunch spot, go to the Massena Country club by car or boat. The park employess were great: helpful and friendly. The grounds crew were constantly mowing or weed wacking keeping the park grounds well maintained. Some of the roads within the park were in need of repaving. A very quiet state park campground in the evening most campers were tucked in by 9pm. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$27
Robert Moses State Park is one of NY's best in my opinion. If select you select one of the sites with frontage on the St. Lawrence Seaway, you can watch the ships entering and exiting the Eisenhower Lock right from your campsite. Visiting the nearby lock in person (free) is even better though. The gravel sites are fairly level and spacious, and many are separated from the next site by trees and bushes, offering some privacy. The RV sites are electric only, but water spigots are plentiful and not far from any site. There is a two lane dump station that serves the entire park on the entry road, and that can get pretty busy on the popular departure days, such as a Sunday morning. The bathrooms/showers are clean and well maintained, and at least some include a separate family facility. Garbage is collected from multiple drop sites at least a couple of times each day. This park is very popular with families, and there are usually a fair number of kids and adults riding bicycles, or walking on the roads, so drive carefully. The over the air TV stations are few, and the heavily treed sites may be difficult for satellite service, but the more open sites should be OK. Our Verizon voice and data signals were about as strong as it gets, with a tower located within sight of our campsite. We have stayed here multiple times over the years, and we will definitely be back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Beautiful campground. Road in through tunnel a bit rough-go slowly. Everything was nice, but checking in was quite the process. 1st a long walk to where you register; then NY tends to charge for almost everything. Folks from out of state pay an extra $5, Saturday or Sunday add $4. Reserve on-line-$9. Just show up- $2.75; view water- $6; 50 amp= $2. Showers are free, but NY regulates the temperature. If you can put up with that stuff, the place is really terrific with mostly very nice level sites in both areas. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
The sites are dirt and gravel and fairly good size but not very level. Really tall trees required that I used a portable dish to get satellite signal. There is only one dump station for the whole park, even though the two loops are separated by quite a bit. That made for quite a line and extending dump time on a Monday. It is a good camp ground, but not a great one. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
This is a beautiful state park campground on the St Lawrence Seaway near the Eisenhower Lock. The sites are clean and spacious, with a fire pit and picnic table at each site. Most of the premium sites have a good view of the seaway, with ships passing by regularly on their way between the ocean and the Great Lakes. There is no water or sewer available at the individual sites, but there are communal spigots throughout the park, and a dump station along the entry road. A visit to the Eisenhower Lock is highly recommended, and it's free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$29
Cute park, big campsites, plenty of room for the kids to run around. Restrooms were updated and clean (except for 1 and we didn't use it) and the showers were spacious, with hot water and good water pressure. We were 6 on our site, with 2 camping units and still had plenty of room. However, sites are not very shaded and there is no privacy from the neighbors. The Beach is beautiful. Will definitely come back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We did not stay here, but did check it out. Wished we had stopped here instead of Cole Creek State Park. You drive through the Eisenhower tunnel under the lock (13' 6") to get to the park. The lock has a nice visitor center (free) and raises or lowers ships 42 feet. Very interesting to see. The campground is large and spread out over two different areas. Water is located throughout the park. There is a nature center here (free) and a dam with a power plant and visitor center (free) nearby. Much more here for active people. Massena is a good sized city with everything you need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
It is a very nice campground as with all New York State campgrounds. The lawn could have been cut a little lower. It was tall and in the morning it took a long time for the dew to burn off. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com